The Lieven Princes: How minor nobles from the Baltic spread their wings on the currents of Swedish and Russian empires

The Baltic states of Estonia and Latvia were long dominated by German nobles who settled in the wake of conversion crusades led by military orders in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. Over the centuries that followed, they formed a fairly closed set of families, intermarrying and retaining their authority over the local native populations (Estonians, Letts, Semigallians, etc), and occasionally rising to greater power and rank due to service to foreign powers like Russia, Sweden, or Poland-Lithuania. Eventually they lost their dominant position following the first World War, and most were then expelled completely following the second World War and Soviet occupation of the region.

coat of arms of the House of Live, Liewen, Lieven

One family amongst these did claim to have local Baltic rather than German roots, though this may have just been family mythology. In the 1260s, a certain Gert Live (Gerhardus Lyvonis) appears in the records as a vassal of the Archbishop of Riga (today’s capital city of Latvia). The family story was that Gert was a descendant of a local chieftain of the Letts, also called Livs or Livonians, Kaupo, who converted to Christianity in 1186, and travelled to Rome in 1203 to gain support for his position as an independent prince or quasi-king and for the conversion of the Livonian people. The surname Lieven ultimately is said to derive from Live, or ‘the Livonian’. An independent Livonian state run by its own Livonian Brotherhood did not survive very long, however, and by the 1230s was subject to the Teutonic Order who constructed their own Baltic state called Terra Mariana.

The medieval Baltic states

Several generations later, Gert’s descendant Hincke or Heinrich exchanged his lands in Livonia for some further north, in the diocese of Ösel-Wiek, in what is now the western parts of Estonia. This semi-independent diocese is known in Estonian as Saare-Lääne, formed of the island of Saaremaa and the mainland county of Lääne (which means ‘western land’). The new family base was the manor of Parmel, which today is called Liivi—I’m uncertain if the family took its name from this manor or the other way round (it is also the name of the local river). From the 1380s there was a stone fort at Parmel; Heinrich’s family held this manor until 1694 and there are still remnants of the stone building today.

In the fifteenth century the family split into its two main branches: the line of Jürgen of Parmel stayed in the north and ultimately became prominent in Swedish affairs, and rose to the rank of count in the 18th century; while the line of Johan moved south into what is now Latvia and formed what is called the Courland branch, who ultimately entered Russian service and became princes in the 19th century—hence the family’s inclusion in this website.

So we need first to look at the growth of the Swedish Baltic empire. In the 1560s, Jürgen’s son Heinrich sided with a Danish prince, Duke Magnus, who was attempting to erect the northern parts of Estonia and Livonia into an independent kingdom (with Russian support). Magnus was attacked by a coalition of Polish and Swedish forces (the ‘Livonian War’) and ultimately chased out. Sweden took over these territories and Heinrich Live was taken as prisoner to Sweden, his possessions confiscated. The northern parts of the former Terra Mariana became Swedish Estonia, while the southern parts became (eventually) Swedish Livonia. The Swedish Crown would govern these territories—with not insignificant impact on Sweden itself, since Riga was the second largest city in its empire after Stockholm—until they were conquered by the Russians in 1721.

In 1582, Heinrich Live’s son Reinhold swore an oath of loyalty to the Swedish king and regained his father’s lands in Swedish Estonia. He was appointed a noble deputy to the Estonian Landrad (the local estates) in 1599, and became a colonel in the Estonian contingent of the Swedish army. His son, Bernhard, was also part of the Swedish government in Estonia, and married a woman from another local Baltic family (with the wonderful name of Yxkull, or Üxküll), but his grandsons began to integrate more fully into the Swedish court nobility.

Reinhold, who began to use the surname von Liewen (or Liven) was a Captain in the Swedish Royal Life Guards, 1645, and in 1653 was created a baron by Queen Christina, with lands centred on the city of Eksjö in the Swedish county of Småland. Småland is a large but mostly rural province on Sweden’s southeast coast. It was not the richest province in the realm, but Eksjö was conveniently located on trade routes between the north and the south, and the coast and the interior. Eksjö was one of the few territorial baronies to exist in the Kingdom of Sweden—most were simply tied to the family name.

In 1654, Reinhold von Liewen was sent back across the Baltic: he was governor of the island of Ösel and its chief fortress Arensburg Castle (Kuressaare in Estonian). He acquired more lands in Estonia in the parish of Rötel (Ridala in Estonian), not far from their ancestral lands, notably Weissenfeld, or Valgevälja (‘white field’ in Estonian), which also became known as Kiltsi manor (after the name of its former owners). The old castle there had been rebuilt in a Renaissance style in the early 17th century; today only ruins remain.

ruins of Weissenfeld (today in Estonia)

His younger brother Bernhard Otto was also created a Swedish baron in 1653, and also expanded landholdings in Estonia, at Raggafer (Rägavere) further inland, southeast of the capital of Reval (today’s Tallinn). In the 1660s he led the Estonian noble company in the Swedish army and in 1673 was named colonel of the Turku County cavalry regiment—Turku is in southwestern Finland and was an important base of operations for the Swedish empire of the Baltic, of which the Liewens were now at the very centre. He and his older brother formed the two main branches of this now baronial family, the ‘Black Liewen’ and the ‘White Liewen’.

The senior line, ‘Black Liewen’ served at court and in the military, and acquired more lands in Sweden, notably Vik and Bärby in Uppsala County). These were acquired by Baron Bernhard von Liewen, a soldier who had gained experience abroad in France and the Dutch Republic, then returned to Sweden to emerge as a hero in the 1670s war defending Scania against the armies of Denmark. When war broke out between Sweden and Russia, King Charles XII took Baron Liewen with him to Livonia to help him navigate the territory, but he was killed in battle soon after, in 1703.

Bernhard, Baron von Liewen

Vik Castle had been built by the powerful Bielke family in the 15th century, and is considered by many to be the best preserved medieval castle in all of Sweden. Located on the shores of a picturesque lake south of the city of Uppsala, Vik was renovated in a more ‘French’ style in the 17th century, and again by later owners in the 19th century. The Liewens acquired it through marriage to an heiress in 1689; in 1809 it passed by another marriage to the Essen family who owned it until 1912 when they sold it to a banker, who then sold it in 1923 to the local county government—today the county runs it as a conference centre.

Vik Castle, near Uppsala

This branch of the family also continued to maintain its presence in other parts of the Swedish empire, as commanders of the Estonian regiments of the Swedish army, or as governors of military garrison towns in the newer Swedish provinces in northern Germany, such as Wismar in Pomerania. By the end of the 17th century they were marrying noblewomen with surnames from the highest Swedish nobility—Oxenstierna, Bonde, Brahe—and were now being buried in Stockholm, not Reval.

the Swedish version of the Liewen coat of arms

This branch moved more closely into the favour of the royal house in the early 18th century: Baron Carl Gustaf of Vik was named Chamberlain to Duke Carl Friedrich of Holstein-Gottorp, whose mother, Hedvig Sophia of Sweden, was for a time heir to the Swedish throne. Ultimately the Holstein-Gottorp family succeeded to the throne, from 1751, and the von Liewen family benefitted. Carl Gustaf’s widow, Ulrike Juliane Brahe, became Chief Mistress of the Court in 1762, while her son Carl Gustaf II was Marshal of the Court from 1759. Carl Gustaf II had been a chamberlain since the 1740s, and a gentleman in waiting in 1751. The next year, the new king, Adolf Frederick, appointed him a caretaker, as ‘knight of honour’, of his second son, Prince Carl (born 1748, who would later become King Carl XIII). Carl Gustaf was also sent on diplomatic missions, to Hesse and to Russia, and ended his career as Governor of Stockholm County in 1768.

Carl Gustaf von Liewen

The most prominent member of this branch at the Swedish court was Carl Gustaf’s daughter, Ulrika Elisabet, known as ‘Ulla’, who was a Maid of Honour to Queen Lovisa Ulrika from 1764, but became the favourite, and (probable?) mistress, of her husband, King Adolf Frederick. They are rumoured to have had a daughter together, but this is not certain. Perhaps more importantly, she became a well-known leader of an intellectual salon in Stockholm, and was involved in the liberal politics of the reign of King Gustav III, but died relatively young in 1775.

Her brother, Carl Gustaf III, first spend some time commanding the Royal Suédois Regiment in France in the early 1770s, at a time when Sweden and France were renewing friendly ties (against mutual foe Prussia), but returned to be Chamberlain to the Dowager Queen Lovisa Ulrika and then Colonel of the Regiment of Life Guards. He ended his days as a Lieutenant-General and President of the Military Court. When he died in 1809, this branch of the family ended.

The junior branch in Sweden, the ‘White Liewen’ had a much broader spread, with many sons and grandsons forming sub-branches of their own. There were numerous commanders and generals in Swedish service but also in Austrian, French or even Spanish service. Several commanded the Turku regiment in southwest Finland, and there were also a number of commanders of the military fortress at Landskrona in western Scania, built by the Danes in the 16th century to help control water traffic through the Øresund, which separates Scania from the rest of Denmark (Scania became Swedish only after 1658). The Liewens also acquired property in this southern region, for example Lärkesholm a bit further inland (in the northern part of Kristianstad County). As a now more ‘southern’ Swedish family, they frequently commanded the regiment of the County of Kronoberg, just north of Scania in the province of Småland (thus closer to their barony of Eksjö), and they acquired lands in this county too (Malteshom, Silkesnäs).

Of all of these, one branch stood out, founded by Hans Henrik von Liewen, who was a successful military commander, rising to the rank of lieutenant-general in 1714, He was rewarded by being elevated to the rank of count in 1719, and a Councillor of State. Much of this was in recognition of the confidence he gained with the king, Charles XII, when in 1713 he journeyed to the Ottoman Empire to try to convince the warrior king to return to Sweden following his huge defeat by the Russians at Poltava in 1709. Instead he joined the King in his self-imposed exile and built up a friendship; when they both returned Hans Henrik was put in charge of re-constructing Sweden’s navy from its main base at Karlskrona. King Charles died in 1718, so it was actually his sister Queen Ulrika Eleonora who granted the new elevated title. The first Count von Liewen died as a respected member of the Swedish court in 1733.

Both of his sons were prominent in the Swedish army in the decades that followed, but the eldest, Count Hans Henrik ‘the younger’ brought the entire clan to its greatest heights so far. From the mid-1740s he was part of the inner circle of Duke Adolf Frederick of Holstein-Gottorp, who had been elected as heir to the Swedish throne, so when Adolf Frederick became king in 1751, Count von Liewen was favoured. His sister, Henrika Juliana, also became a court favourite, as a maid of honour to the new Crown Princess, Louisa Ulrika of Prussia, and one of her chief confidantes. The six maids of honour of the Crown Princess were known for their beauty and intelligence, and were painted in a curious ‘hen picture’ (Hönstavlan) by Johan Pasch in 1747, with the playful caption: ‘Who is the cursed rooster that would not crow, Hens, in seeing your features and your charms?’ But in 1748, this close confidence with the Crown Princess was apparently broken, and Henrika Juliana is believed to have been the informant that exposed a coup she had planned against those Swedes who wished to limit the power of the monarchy. Later in 1748, Henrika Juliana married and left the court, but she remained politically active, in the ‘Hats’ party who advocated a strong parliament dominated by the nobles, and thus a weak king. She is credited with editing the party’s provocative pamphlet, En ärlig Swensk (‘An Honest Swede’), published in 1755-56, and subsequently denounced by the King in the parliament.

The Hens Picture

Her brother Count Hans Henrik retained royal favour, however, and that same year was promoted to the rank of Lieutenant-General. In 1759 he was sent as Ambassador to Russia, where Adolf Frederick’s nephew, Grand Duke Peter, was preparing to take over as Tsar as heir to Empress Elizabeth. Back in Sweden, Hans Henrik was appointed a Privy Councillor in 1760, then Governor-General of Swedish Pomerania, on the northern coast of Germany, in 1766. He governed there until 1772, then returned to take up a post as Chief Marshal of the Court and Marshal of the Realm for his old friend’s son, now King Gustav III. When he died in 1781, the title of count died too.

Hans Henrik the younger, Count von Liewen

The other, still baronial, branches continued, but declined in prominence in the nineteenth century. Baron Frederik (d. 1875) was a merchant in Linköping, while his cousin Jakob Vilhelm (d. 1858) became a captain in the merchant navy. His grandson, Baron Christian von Liewen, was a sea captain who founded a shipping company in Helsingborg. When he died in 1917, the Swedish branches of the House of Liewen came to an end.

And so we must jump back across the Baltic to Livonia. The branch that was established by Johan Live back in the early 16th century acquired lands in a region known as Vidzeme, today the northern part of Latvia. In 1533 they founded a new town a bit further to the south, in lands governed by the archbishops of Riga, which they named Lievenhof in German (today called Līvāni). In 1631 they were formally admitted into the nobility of Courland (Kurzeme in Latvian), an independent duchy founded in the 1560s by the last Grand Master of the Livonian Order, Gotthard Kettler. This territory, now the far western part of modern Latvia, was nominally a vassal of the Kingdom of Poland-Lithuania, but increasingly came under Russian influence in the 17th and 18th centuries.

In the early eighteenth century, the seat of the family in Courland (now called ‘von Liven’ or ‘Leeuwen’) at was Bersen manor (Bērze in Latvian, or Lieven-Bersen, today called Līvbērze), which had a long grand frontage and a prominent gateway tower that became a symbol of the locality. The gateway and its tower were destroyed by the Soviets when they needed clearer access to the farm after nationalisation, but since 2020 there has been an exciting burst here of archaeology and regeneration of the house and its estate (referred to as ‘Live Manor’).

a historic photo of Bersen (today in Latvia)

Another grand manorhouse built in Courland in the mid-18th century was Dünhof (also called Livens Manor), now Daugmale, on the banks of the Daugava River before it flows into the city of Riga. A few miles away was Baldone Manor (Baldohn), acquired by the family in 1750. Friedrich Georg von Liven (d. 1800) was a Russian army officer who retired to this estate to beautify its parks and gardens, and to establish a resort in its sulphur springs. This resort remained quite popular well into the 20th century, but declined in the 1930s and is now mostly a ruin.

Baldone health spa in the late 18th century

When Courland was incorporated into Russia formally in 1801, the head of this branch of the family (Georg Philipp, d. 1847) was given the title of Count of the Russian Empire. His son, Count Wilhelm Heinrich, born at Dünhof in 1800, made his name as head of the Imperial Division of War Topographers in the 1850s, then was promoted to the highest position back in Livonia, as Governor-General of the Baltic Provinces, based in Riga, from 1861 to 1864, and a member of the Imperial Council of State.

Count Wilhelm Heinrich von Lieven, Governor-General of the Baltic Provinces

But another line of the Courland branch of the von Lieven family rose even higher than the rank of count: the Princes Lieven.

In 1766, a major-general in the Russian army, Baron Otto Heinrich von Lieven, married Baroness Charlotte von Gaugreben. Her family were not originally Baltic Germans, but Westphalian nobles, but one branch (a Catholic branch) had emigrated eastwards to establish themselves in Russian service. Two years after she became a widow in 1781, Charlotte was appointed as governess of the daughters of Grand Duke Paul, son and heir of Empress Catherine II. Her charge was later expanded to include Paul’s younger sons, Grand Duke Nicolas and Grand Duke Michael. Her influence at the court grew as these royal children matured, and formed a bond between the two families that would last generations.

Charlotte, Princess Lieven

In 1794, Charlotte von Lieven was named a lady-in-waiting to Catherine the Great in her last years. In 1799, in the new reign of Emperor Paul I, she and her children were promoted to the rank of Count of the Russian Empire. After the death of Paul I in Spring 1801, the new Emperor (Alexander I) promoted her further, appointing her Mistress of the Household of his wife, Empress Elizabeth Alexeievna. Finally, in 1826, after her former pupil Nicolas had succeeded his brother as Emperor of Russia, she was given the highest honour, princely rank, which was extended to her children as well. She died in 1828 in her apartments in the Winter Palace in Saint Petersburg.

Catherine the Great had also provided the faithful Charlotte von Lieven the use of a grand estate back in Courland, Mesothen (Mežotne in Latvian). Located on a broad bend of the river Lielupe in southern Semigallia, due south of Riga (now near the border with Lithuania), this grand neoclassical building was completely rebuilt from 1797 when Paul I rewarded Charlotte for her past services to his children by granting ownership outright. He also gave her the estate of Tersa on the Volga in the Saratov District; and later she was given more lands in Russia itself, including Baki in the Kostroma district, also on the Volga but much further north, and still more estates back in Courland. By this point Mesothen was a grand palace (its old manor house now became the caretaker’s house), with extensive gardens. The family resided here until 1920, when the new Republic of Latvia nationalised most large estates in a sweeping agrarian reform movement. An agricultural school was established in the 1920s, which persisted in various forms until the 1990s, when it was transferred into the ownership of the state heritage bureau, and in 2001 was opened as a hotel,

Mesothen Palace in Courland

Princess Lieven had four sons and two daughters. Three of the sons married and founded separate lineages of this now Balto-Russian princely house. The eldest son, Carl Christoph, who in 1828 became the 2nd Prince Lieven (the Russians tended to delete the ‘von’), was at first a keen soldier. At 21 he was an aide-de-camp of General Potemkin, and by 1799 was a lieutenant-general and commander of the elite Preobrazhensky Regiment. After the turn of the century, he turned more towards religion and in particular evangelical pietism. He worked to develop the newly re-founded University of Dorpat (today’s Tartu, in Estonia), supporting the adoption of courses in medicine and the natural sciences in particular. Years later he was given an honorary seat in the Russian Academy of Sciences. But in terms of religion, he was one of the founders of the Russian Evangelical Bible Society and President of the Evangelical Lutheran General Consistory, from 1819 to 1821. But in 1826, along with his elevation to princely rank, he was recalled to imperial service in Saint Petersburg, with a seat on the Council of State and a role in the Supreme Criminal Court. In 1828 he was appointed Minister of Education, an interesting nod to his earlier work in the Baltic, but also to his mother’s role as educator of children of the imperial family. In 1833, Carl Christoph retired back to his estates in Courland. He died in 1844 having married twice, both times to daughters of the Baltic German nobility, and fathering five children, whose stories will be picked up below.

Karl, 2nd Prince Lieven

The 2nd Prince’s brother, Prince Christoph Heinrich, was a respected ambassador, first in Berlin then in London, and a participant at the famous Congress of Vienna, 1814-15. But it was his wife, the former Dorothea von Benckendorff, who left a bigger impression in history—in fact, she was one of the most well-known women of her century. The Benckendorffs were a baronial family from the Altmark in Brandenburg, who had moved to Riga in the mid-sixteenth century. Dorothea’s father was a Russian general and Imperial Governor of Livonia. Her mother was Senior Lady-in-Waiting to the Empress Maria Feodorovna (wife of Emperor Paul), and in 1800, the 17-year-old Dorothea was named one of her maids-of-honour. She soon married Christoph von Lieven, and in 1810 he was appointed Ambassador to Berlin, so she accompanied him there, then on to London in 1812. It was here that Princess Lieven (as she was known after 1826) thrived. She became a leader of London’s political and social world, a close friend and confidante to leading statesmen including Lord Castlereagh, Lord Grey, the Duke of Wellington and the Prince of Wales (the future George IV). She is reputed to have had more intimate relations with Lord Palmerston, and even with Metternich, but this may just be gossip. The truth was certainly that by the 1820s people were clamouring to get invitations to her salon or her balls (where she is said to have introduced the waltz to England, or at least of making this shockingly intimate dance respectable and fashionable). More than just a society hostess, Princess Lieven was considered almost as a second ambassador, and was known to be connected in some way to every diplomat and crowned head in Europe. In 1825 she acted as an informal interlocutor between Russia and Great Britain, conveying Alexander I’s thoughts about the growing conflict in the Mediterranean over Greek independence with the Foreign Secretary, George Canning, while they were holidaying at Brighton. She is also credited for getting her friend Palmerston appointed as Foreign Secretary in 1830; but this backfired when he quarrelled with Tsar Alexander in 1834 and the Prince and Princess Lieven were hastily recalled to Russia.

Prince Christoph Lieven, Russian Ambassador to Great Britain

Back at the Russian court, Prince Christoph became governor and tutor to the young Tsarevich Alexander, while Princess Dorothea took up a post as Senior Lady-in-Waiting to Empress Alexandra Feodorovna. But she soon grew tired of Russian life, far from the diplomatic and cultural centres of Western Europe where she had flourished, so she left for Paris—never seeing her husband again before he died in 1839 while on Grand Tour in Rome with the Tsarevich. In Paris, Princess Lieven once again became a social and political force, hosting a salon in her residence in the First Arrondissement, and making friends with key statesmen like François Guizot, Minister for Foreign Affairs for much of the 1840s (and briefly Prime Minister of France). She attempted to act as a mediator once more for Russia, this time with France over the growing conflict in Crimea (1853), but was unable to prevent the outbreak of war. She died in Paris in 1857, leaving behind a vast treasure for historians of diplomacy in the form of letters and diaries, much of which has been published, covering nearly half a century, from the 1810s to the 1850s.

Dorothea, Princess Lieven

The third son of the original Princess Lieven, Johann Georg, also good a good start, as companion to Grand Duke Alexander in his first military campaigns in 1796. He served in all of Russia’s campaigns in the Napoleonic Wars and rose through the ranks to retire in 1815 as a lieutenant-general. He returned to Courland where he purchased an old castle at Cremon (Krimulda in Latvian). This castle had been built by the Livonian Order in the 14th century, and was mostly destroyed in the wars of the early seventeenth century. It would become the seat of the junior branch of the family, to which we’ll return at the end.

Prince Johann, or Ivan Andreievich Lieven

The third generation of Lieven princes was headed by Prince Otto Andreas (also known as Andrei Karlovich), born in 1798. Unlike princely titles in Western Europe, Russian princely titles did not really favour the eldest son in the same way, and with all children being titled prince or princess, so although the genealogist in me wants to call him the ‘3rd Prince Lieven’, this isn’t really accurate. Instead, elder brothers often spent their careers tending the family estates in the countryside, as head of the entail, while younger brothers could forge careers at court or in the military. In this case, Prince Andrei did rise, after an early suspicious involvement with the liberal Decembrist Uprising of 1825 (questioned, but not charged), to the rank of major-general in the army and commander of the Uhlan regiment of the Life Guards, but did retire early and married a cousin (another Princess Charlotte Lieven), to begin producing the next generation of Lievens on their estates in Livonia.

the Russian version of the Lieven coat of arms

The most prominent Lieven prince of this generation, however, was indeed a younger brother, Alexander Friedrich, who started his military career auspiciously as aide-de-camp to the now quite close friend of the family, Tsar Nicolas I, in 1826. In 1844 he was appointed Governor of Taganrog, an important naval city on the Sea of Azov which the Romanov emperors often used as a summer residence. When he retired from active service in 1853, he was promoted to the rank of lieutenant-general and named a Senator of the Russian Empire.

Prince Alexander in turn had two prominent children: Prince Andrei Alexandrovich was Governor of the Moscow District, 1870, then a Councillor of State and Imperial Senator. In 1877 he was appointed Minister for Imperial State Properties, responsible for looking after the imperial estates all across Russia. In 1881 he retired to an estate at Spasskoye, near Moscow and devoted himself to the study of astronomy. Much later in life, a floundering Tsar Nicolas II once again turned to a member of this trusted family, and Prince Andrei was recalled to the State Council in 1910; he remained in government until his death in 1913. His descendants emigrated and founded a branch who emigrated to England and Canada.

Prince Andrei Alexandroch Lieven

Andrei’s sister Princess Helena (or Jelena) continued the family’s tradition of education, and made a name for herself as a pedagogue in Saint Petersburg where she was principal of the prestigious Smolny Institute for Noble Maidens from 1895 to her death in 1917 during the Revolution.

Princess Helena Lieven

The fourth and fifth heads of the Lieven family did not leave much of a mark on history: Prince George and his brother Prince Michael both died within a month of each other in the summer of 1909. The senior position thus passed to a cousin, Prince Alexander Nikolaievich (b. 1876), who lived not at Mesothen (which by this point had been given to a junior branch), but at Senten (Zentene), still in Courland but much further north near the coast, west of Riga. Purchased by this line in 1818, a new palace was constructed here in 1850. They also owned a grand manorhouse in southern Courland called Fockenhof (Bukaišu). When riots broke out following the Revolution of 1905, Fockenhof was destroyed and Prince Alexander emigrated to Germany, where he died in 1919. Following the Latvian agrarian reforms of 1920, his cousin, Prince Nikolai, was allowed to live on at Senten, but as a tenant; nevertheless the government established a sanatorium there and he was gradually pushed out. Zentene Manor now houses a local school.

Fockenhof before its destruction, 1905
Zentene today

Prince Alexander’s son, also called Nikolai, was born in Dresden in 1906. He had no children with his first wife, and in 1949 he married a second time, to a French noblewoman (noble twice over: born into the old house of Bridieu, and adopted by a great-uncle of the Chateaubriand family), who inherited a château in the Rhône valley, in the heart of the Beaujoalais wine region. Their son Prince Alexander (b. 1953) is the current head of the princely house of Lieven (the ‘8th Prince’), and proprietor of the wineries at the Château de Bellevue where one of their best-sellers is named for his mother, Princesse Lieven. They have three sons whose names retain their Russian heritage: Nicolas, Pierre and Dmitri.

Bellevue in southern France
fine wine!

While there were by now many, many members of the Lieven family, one other stands out in this senior branch. Prince Alexander Karl (b. 1860) served in the Russian Imperial Navy and made his name as a brave captain whose vessel broke through enemy lines in the Russo-Japanese war of 1904-05. He was promoted to admiral in 1911 and served as Chief of the Navy’s General Staff in 1912, but died in February 1914 just before the outbreak of war.

Prince Admiral Alexander Karl Lieven, Chief of the Naval Staff

Lastly, we come to the most junior branch of the princely Lievens, the descendants of Prince Johann Georg. In several ways, this became the most prominent branch of the family. Prince Johann’s son, Paul (b. 1821) became an important figure in politics in the Baltic provinces, and then one of the most senior members of the Imperial court in Saint Petersburg. In the 1850s he began to redevelop the castle at Cremon (Krimulda), in a region known as ‘Livonian Switzerland’. Perhaps adhering to this theme, he built two ‘Swiss chalets’ in its parkland that overlooked a romantic gorge of the Gauja river, which runs through this part of Livonia (northeast of Riga). When on a tour of the region, Tsar Alexander II heard of Cremon’s beauty and paid a special visit in 1862. Like the other properties in Latvia owned by this family, it was nationalised in 1920, and turned into a sanatorium. Today it is on the market for nearly 3 million euros.

Cremon (Krimulda)

The same year as the Tsar’s visit, Prince Paul was named Land Marshal of Vidzeme (the region in which Cremon was situated), and a few years later elected to the local Landrat, or parliament. With this platform he became a leader of the liberal party in the Baltics and worked to achieve freedom of religious expression in this part of the Russian Empire—recall that several members of this family were evangelicals. In fact, his wife, Princess Nathalie (born von der Pahlen, yet another of these Baltic German noble houses), was an avid adherent to the evangelical movement, and years later, as a widow, purchased a grand residence in Saint Petersburg (the former Demidov Palace), on fashionable Morskaya Street, where in the 1870s-90s she hosted famous Baptist preachers and convened great gatherings aimed at religious conversion. Sold in 1910 to the Italian Embassy, the building is now part of the Baltisky Bank.

Princess Nathalie Lieven
Lieven Palace in Saint Petersburg (better known as Demidov Palace)

Perhaps charmed by his visit to Cremon Castle in 1862, Tsar Alexander II named Prince Paul as one of his court chamberlains that same year, then in 1866 appointed him a Privy Councillor in 1870, and Master of Ceremonies of the Russian Court. This was a powerful position at court, as it controlled much of the Tsar’s activities and, crucially, access to the Tsar’s person.

Prince Paul Lieven, Grand Master of Ceremonies of the Russian Court

But Paul was not finished building up his estates in Livonia: in 1874, he acquired the ancient ruins of Bauske Castle (Bauska in Latvian), not far from the other family seat of Mesothen Palace in the south of the country, the part of Courland called Semigallia. The site has a long history: the tribal Semigallians built a hill fort here, and later the Livonian Order constructed a stone castle (circa 1450), with a central tower and a prison and several buildings for a garrison. Its purpose was to guard the southern frontier against the grand dukes of Lithuania. When the Livonian Order secularised and became the duchy of Courland for the Kettler family in the mid-16th century, Bauske became one of their main residences, and was used as a meeting place for the local estates. The duke of Courland modernised it in the 1590s, but just over a century later it was blown up by invading Russian forces in 1706. Prince Paul Lieven purchased the ruins and restored the ducal palace (leaving the older medieval fortifications as a romantic ruin). Today it is open for tourism.

Bauske Castle, Courland (now Latvia)

Prince Paul Lieven, Master of Ceremonies, liberal reformer, builder of palaces and gardens, died aged only 60 in 1881, leaving behind his widow Princess Nathalie, and several very young children. The eldest, Anatol, was only 9. He followed in his parents’ footsteps in politics and religion, and in 1900 became a member of the Courland Peasant Affairs Council, and in 1909 chairman of the Council of the Russian Evangelical Union. In 1903, he built a brand new Lieven residence, Pelzen Palace (Pelči) in the far west of Courland, in art nouveau style. Today it is a school.

Pelzen Palace

Prince Anatol served as a cavalry captain during World War I, then became a commander of a Russo-German battlegroup (the Liventsy) in the Latvian War of Independence, 1918-20. Though allied with the Russian ‘White’ armies fighting against the ‘Red’ armies of the Soviets, he also faced pressure to assist in a pro-Imperial Germany takeover of the new Latvian government, which he wouldn’t do. He also forbid his soldiers from fighting against an Estonian army that was seeking to expand that new nation’s territory from the north.

Prince Anatol Lieven

When the war ended and the Latvian Republic secured its independence, Prince Anatol’s estates were nationalised (as we’ve seen already), including the main estate, Mesothen, now called Mežotne in Latvian. The age of the Baltic German nobility had come to an end, but Anatol Lieven did not emigrate like many others. He obtained permission to keep part of the estate and converted it into a brick factory, which he ran successfully for many years until he died in 1937.

Anatol’s younger brother, another Prince Paul, was also a liberal reformer, and long before revolution or nationalisation, had already converted his estate (purchased in 1893), Smilten (Smiltene), in Vidzeme (not far from Cremon/Krimulda), into something productive for the general populace. Trained as an engineer, he developed roads around the estate and built its own short railway line, as well as a power station, a hospital and a sawmill. He divided up the estate into smaller rentable plots for local people. Yet unlike his brother, he did not stay in Latvia to participate in the agricultural reforms of the 1920s; he migrated to Germany in 1919, then to England, where he died in 1963.

Prince Paul in his motorcar
Smiltene manor today

Both Anatol and Paul left descendants, the former in Canada and the latter in England. Paul’s son Alexander Lieven, born in Rostock in northern Germany in 1919, grew up in England, and served as a Captain in the British Army in World War II, then worked in the Foreign Affairs office as a Russian specialist. In the 1960s-70s, he was Head of the Russian and East European Service for the BBC.

Finally, four of the five children of Alexander Lieven (who died in 1988) have all maintained their family’s notoriety, all in very different fields. The eldest, Elena, is a developmental psychologist at Manchester University and the Max Planck Institute in Leipzig. The youngest, Natalie, is a magistrate who in 2019 was appointed a Justice of the High Court of England and Wales, and Dame Commander of the British Empire. Brother Anatol is a prominent journalist and policy analyst specialist on counter-terrorism. While last but not least, is my colleague in the study of the history of monarchy and aristocracy, Professor Dominic Lieven, of Cambridge University, whose many books focus on, what else, Imperial Russia.

Prof. Dominic Lieven

Two Royal Favourites for the Price of One: George Villiers and George Villiers, the Dukes of Buckingham

It is rare for any aristocratic family to place one of its members so high in the court hierarchy as to be known as ‘the royal favourite’, but for one family to produce two in as many generations, and both with the same name—George Villiers, Duke of Buckingham—is really extraordinary.

George Villiers, 1st Duke of Buckingham, by Rubens

Many aristocratic families spend decades rising to the top, and, once achieved, manage to stay there for generations. The Villiers family rose quickly, from provincial gentry to the top of the peerage, then proliferated into a number of different branches, all with titles, and then very nearly petered out altogether. There are only two dukes of Buckingham in the Villiers family, George I and George II. The first features in a new television drama “Mary and George” that portrays the very essence of becoming a royal favourite in early Stuart England, and a cheeky portrayal of the relationship between King James I and one of his greatest male favourites. For the second, a fun portrayal on the small screen can be found in BBC’s “Charles II: the Power and the Passion” from 2003.

There were other dukes of Buckingham. One of the mightiest families of the 15th century, the Staffords, were so titled between 1444 and 1521 when they were cut down by a jealous Henry VIII who feared their Plantagenet blood. Then after the Villiers dukes, the Sheffield family, prominent Yorkshire landowners, were dukes of Buckingham and Normanby from 1703 to 1735. Finally the title was re-created in 1822 for a family who were actually from Buckinghamshire, the Temples of Stowe (though with other inheritances they became the incredibly quintuple-barrelled Temple-Nugent-Brydges-Chandos-Grenville. Their title was extinguished in 1889, and it has not been revived.

Beyond the two Villiers dukes of Buckingham, there were other Villiers royal favourites: one of the most famous royal mistresses in British history, Lady Castlemaine, later Duchess of Cleveland, was born Barbara Villiers. Less well known was her cousin, Elizabeth Villiers, Countess of Orkney, a mistress of William III. Altogether, this is four royal favourites from one family! And there is a fifth…read on!

While the greatest prominence of the Villiers favourites, male and female, diminished by the end of the 17th century, the Villiers family did continue. Overall they obtained four earldoms—Anglesey, Grandison, Jersey and Clarendon—between 1623 and 1776, of which two (Jersey and Clarendon) continue to the present.

To start, the Villiers family appears in records going back to about 1230, as landowners in the area around Brooksby in Leicestershire, the rich agricultural heartland of England’s East Midlands. The claim, as for most English aristocrats, was to be from solidly Norman stock, and certainly ‘de Villiers’ does have a French sound to it (and in fact there are several French noble houses with surnames like Villers, de Ville, or Villars—the latter is a duke’s family, so will get their own blog post), and would mean simply a ‘town dweller’. But it is also possible the name comes from an old Anglo-Saxon word wyler, a trade name for ‘wheelmaker’ (similar to the name Wheeler), and early variants of this family’s name are indeed seen as Vyler. Regardless, they were a solid gentry family for several centuries in the county of Leicester, with a manor house at Brooksby (or Brokesby). The house that is there today was built in the early 17th century, when the family was moving up the social hierarchy. It was extended in the 1890s, and today houses an agricultural college run by the county.

Brooksby Hall, Leicestershire

Sir George Villiers (d. 1609) increased his family’s wealth through sheep farming. He served as High Sherriff of Leicestershire in 1591, and as Knight of the Shire for the county in Parliament, 1604-06. He married twice and had two families: the first wife was connected indirectly to the Zouche family, one of the more prominent noble houses of Leicestershire.

Sir George Villiers, of Brooksby

Sir George’s second, much younger wife, Mary Beaumont, was a member of the extended Beaumont clan, also prominent in Leicesterhire, but not the same Beaumonts who had governed the county as its earls back in the 12th century. The barons Beaumont came from France to England later, after the Norman Conquest, and one of them married a daughter of the Earl of Lancaster, a Plantagenet, meaning that their descendants had a drop of royal blood. Mary Beaumont Villiers, later Countess of Buckingham in her own right, is the bold character played by Julianne Moore in the new television show.

From Sir George’s first marriage came two sons, William and Edward, who would later give rise to the lines of Villiers baronets and three of the four earldoms. From the second, came three more sons, John, George and Christopher. As the television show demonstrates, it was this second son (actually the fourth overall) who would be the making of this family’s fortunes for the century to come.

Young George was placed at court in August 1614 as a Royal Cupbearer to the still fairly new king of England, James I (James VI of Scotland since the 1560s). Rivals to the King’s current favourite, Robert Carr, Earl of Somerset, saw an opportunity to unseat him by placing in the King’s entourage a young man of 21 who was by all accounts, extremely beautiful and also a pleasant conversationalist and skilled dancer. By 1615, he was a regular feature at court, danced in the court masques before the King, and was promoted to the rank of Gentleman of the Bedchamber. Only a year later he was appointed Master of the Horse, one of the most senior posts at court, and one with a lot of close access to the King as he accompanied him any time he went on procession or hunting. He was named Viscount Villiers in 1616, a Knight of the Garter, and Lord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire. Only a year later he was promoted again, as Earl of Buckingham, and again in 1618 as Marquess of Buckingham. A marquisate was still a fairly rare title in England, and James was surely reluctant to promote his favourite to a dukedom since there were at that time *no* dukes in England (Somerset and Norfolk had both been removed and would not be restored until later in the century). So it was a bit of a shock when the King announced in May 1623 that he was creating two dukedoms: one for his cousin (Ludovic Stuart, already Duke of Lennox in Scotland), and one for this favourite, the son of a provincial gentry sheep farmer. George was also named Lord Admiral of the Fleet, 1619, and by 1625, Lord Warden of Cinque Ports, a very lucrative office. His coffers were also enriched by his marriage to the daughter of the 6th Earl of Rutland (see the Manners family here), Lady Katherine, who was in her own right 18th Baroness de Ros, with a seat at Helmsley Castle, in North Yorkshire.

Katherine Manners, Duchess of Buckingham

Helmsley was a Norman castle, overlooking the river Rye, and guarded the southern entrance to the Yorkshire Moors. It was held by the Roos or Ros family until 1508, then the Manners until the 6th Earl died in 1632. His seat was at nearby Belvoir Castle, so George and Katherine made Helmsley their seat. Most of the military aspects of the castle were dismantled in the English Civil War of the 1640s, and the rest of it left to decay after a new country house was built next door by new owners in the 18th century.

the ruins of Helmsley Castle, Yorkshire

Meanwhile, George’s brothers were benefitting from his amazing rise. The eldest, Sir William, made a good marriage in 1614 to the daughter of Lord Saye and Sele of Oxfordshire (the same family that much later produced Ralph and Joseph Fiennes), and was given a hereditary baronetcy in 1619, with its seat at Brooksby. He was the Sheriff of Leicestershire and his line maintained the Villiers family’s local influence until its extinction in 1712. Second son Edward was given positions in the government, as Master of the Mint, 1617, and Comptroller of the Court of Wards, 1618. He was later ambassador to the Palatinate and Lord President of Munster, one of the four provinces of Ireland. He married a niece of Oliver, 1st Viscount Grandison who was Lord Deputy (or Viceroy) of Ireland, so their eldest son William inherited lands in Ireland, and succeeded as 2nd Viscount in 1630—this title was in the peerage of Ireland, so it didn’t give him a seat in the English parliament. We will return to him below. Interestingly, of these older half-siblings of the first Duke of Buckingham, Anne Villiers married Sir William Washington, the elder brother of Lawrence Washington, great-great-grandfather of General George Washington.

As for the children of Sir George Villiers’ second marriage, to Mary Beaumont, the eldest, John, was also given prominent positions in the household, as Groom of the Bedchamber and then Master of the Robes, 1616. He was also married to a prominent heiress, Frances Coke, daughter of the Lord Chief Justice, and in 1619 was created Viscount Purbeck (in part to make his new mother-in-law agree to the marriage), and Baron Villiers of Stoke (in Buckinghamshire). It was clear by 1620, however, that he was mentally ill or disabled, and the marriage soon broke down. Viscountess Purbeck was later convicted for adultery. There were no children from the marriage.

Younger brother Christopher (‘Kit’) was created 1st Earl of Anglesey and Baron Villiers of Daventry (in Northamptonshire), also in 1623. Like his brothers, he had been named a Gentleman of the Bedchamber, and took over the role of Master of the Robes from his unfit brother in 1620. Their sister Susan had long been married to William Feilding, another country gentleman, and both of them rose in the court hierarchy as well, created Earl and Countess of Denbigh in 1622. The Countess was soon appointed as a Lady of the Bedchamber to the new wife of King Charles I, Henrietta Maria, and would remain one of the Queen’s closest companions for the rest of her life, accompanying her into exile in France, and even converting to Catholicism (as indeed had done her mother, Mary Beaumont, back in 1620, but that’s another story).

Susan Villiers, Countess of Denbigh

Fetching Henrietta Maria to marry Charles I in 1625 was in fact one of the elements that made the 1st Duke of Buckingham’s name in history—and even in fiction, as his life crossed over into the stories of ‘The Three Musketeers’. By 1623, George was effectively ‘prime minister’ for James I, and, extraordinarily, continued as royal favourite under the new king, Charles I, who succeeded his father in March 1625. Buckingham had grown close to the young Prince of Wales when they travelled together to Spain to attempt to negotiate a marriage with an Infanta; instead they had made the acquaintance of young Princess Henriette-Marie of France when attending a ball in Paris en route to Spain. Their betrothal was announced in December 1624. In the coming years, Buckingham did involve himself frequently in French politics, at first aiding Louis XIII in his war against the Protestants of La Rochelle, then turning around and sending ships and supplies to defend them. He did not however, become the lover of Queen Anne and have to send d’Artagnan racing across northern France to replace her diamonds in order to avoid the menaces of the villain Cardinal Richelieu. In the Dumas book, Milady plots to assassinate the meddling Duke, but is of course foiled.

In reality, the English Parliament was growing increasingly fed up with the Duke of Buckingham’s mismanagement of the war to aid to the French Huguenots, and a botched attempt to capture the rich Spanish port of Cadiz. Parliament had twice attempted to impeach him, but King Charles had rescued him both times by dissolving Parliament. Public opinion was inflamed: the Duke was widely seen as a public enemy. In August 1628, he travelled to Portsmouth to organise another campaign to aid La Rochelle, but was stabbed to death at the Greyhound Inn by a disgruntled army officer.

the Duke of Buckingham as warrior and commander of the English navy (also Rubens)

The Duke’s widow Katherine continued to live with their three young children, Mary, George and Francis (born posthumously), at their very grand residence in London: York House. One of the series of large palatial residences on the Strand, with terraced gardens leading down to wharves and docks on the Thames, York House had originally been the London residence of the bishops of Norwich until it was given to the archbishops of York in 1556. After it was given by the King to George Villiers in the 1620s, the new Duke and Duchess of Buckingham embellished its interiors in the fashionable Italianate style of the early reign of Charles I, of which the only remains we can still see today are the very ornate archway to the Watergate the Duke had constructed on the river—now stranded in the middle of Embankment Gardens. This house remained the seat of the 2nd Duke of Buckingham until he sold it in 1672. It was subsequently dismantled, though street names remained to maintain the family’s presence in London, notably Villiers Street, now next to Charing Cross Station.

York House as depicted in the early 19th century
the water gate as it stands today

The 2nd Duke of Buckingham, the 2nd George, succeeded to his titles at the age of one. He is certainly one of my favourite people from English history in this period: a fighter, a scientist, a politician, a poet, a dandy and a libertine. He was sometimes King Charles II’s best friend and sometimes his worst enemy. His father having died, and his mother re-marrying and moving to Ireland when he was about 6, George and his brother Francis were taken in by the King and Queen, and raised in the royal nursery with princes Charles and James, only a few years younger.

George, 2nd Duke of Buckingham, and Lord Francis Villiers

As a teenager, George fought in the Royalist armies in the English Civil War, then went on tour abroad with his brother. When they returned in 1648, they again joined the fight, and Francis was killed in a skirmish near Kingston in Surrey. George then went into exile with the Prince of Wales in France and the Netherlands, and returned with him for his coronation as Charles II at Scone in Scotland in 1651, and led some of the troops south in the invasion of England. After this failed, he returned with the King to the Netherlands. Here they fell out, over money issues, George’s growing interest in low church Protestantism, and his flirtation with the King’s recently widowed sister, the Princess of Orange. He returned to England in 1657, and, rather strangely, married Mary Fairfax, the daughter of Lord Fairfax, the former commander of Parliamentarian troops and the man to whom his confiscated estates had been given several years before. It seems that George’s move towards low church politics, and Fairfax’s own move towards a reconciliation with the monarchy, met in the middle, and by 1659 both were working for the Restoration.

In 1660, Buckingham reconciled with Charles II when he arrived back in England, and was appointed Gentleman of the Bedchamber and Lord Lieutenant of West Riding of Yorkshire, where he and his wife would ultimately inherit the Fairfax properties, including Nun Appleton on the River Wharfe, south of York. Nun Appleton had been a priory from the 12th century, dissolved in the 1530s, and acquired by the Fairfaxes who built a new house in the 17th century. After Mary, Duchess of Buckingham’s death in 1704, the house was sold; replaced by a Georgian mansion, it passed through many hands and now sits decaying and empty—apparently its owner plans to restore it to the original 17th-century design, but is blocked by regulations protecting the later 18th and 19th-century alterations.

Nun Appleton in the 17th century
Nun Appleton more recently

https://www.examinerlive.co.uk/news/local-news/gallery/inside-yorkshire-stately-home-abandoned-19146862 [article from 2020]

Anyway, George now became part of Charles II’s ‘Merry Gang’ of drinkers and carousers at the Restoration court. Like his father, he was sent to Paris to participate in another marriage between a Stuart and a Bourbon, this time Henrietta Anne and Philippe, Duke of Orléans (Louis XIV’s brother). But as he had in The Hague, Buckingham seems to have overstepped the mark and flirted too openly with the Princess and was soon sent home. Also like his father, this made it into the Three Musketeers tales of Alexander Dumas (in the Vicomte de Bragelonne). Nevertheless, Buckingham remained close to the French king and a persistent advocate of a French alliance against the Dutch. This put him into opposition to the King’s chief minister, the Earl of Clarendon, who, by 1667, Buckingham was powerful enough to bring down and remove from power. Indeed, from 1667 to 1674, the Duke was now Charles II’s unofficial prime minister, or ‘minister-favourite’, and leader of a faction known as the CABAL—taking its name from its five main leaders, including its ‘arch’ in the middle, B for Buckingham. This clique is considered he kernel of Britain’s first formal political parties, and after its disintegration, one of Buckingham’s former protégés from his now vast Yorkshire patronage network, Lord Danby, would become the next great political leader (Thomas Osborne, later created Duke of Leeds).

arms of the 2nd Duke of Buckingham, with ducal coronet, and quarterings for Villiers (upper left), Ros (top centre) and others

But Buckingham was no great statesman. The only official post he held was Master of the Horse—as above, a position of intimacy and trust with the King—and his ties with absolutist France were increasingly uncomfortable, especially after the Secret Treaty of Dover of 1670 was revealed and seriously embarrassed the King. Despite his pro-French views, the Duke was also vehemently pro-toleration and supportive of the rights of non-conformists—this too put him at odds with the general mood of the populace and the Parliament, and again put the King in a difficult position. Matters were not helped by Buckingham’s personal life: like many noblemen of Charles II’s court, he drank and gambled and duelled, usually over a mistress. In 1668, he duelled with the Earl of Shrewsbury, who was mortally wounded—then installed the now widowed Countess of Shrewsbury as his mistress in his new grand suburban residence, at Cliveden. Cliveden House was built in 1666 on a clifftop (earlier spellings of the house are Cliffden) overlooking the River Thames in Buckinghamshire. It had replaced an older hunting lodge built in the 16th century and was a marvel of grand architecture, a tall pavilion over an arcaded terrace built by William Winde. After the Duke’s death, it was purchased by the Earl of Orkney (whose wife was also a Villers), and in the 18th century was leased to Frederick, Prince of Wales (son of George II), who made it one of his favoured residences. Cliveden burned down in 1795, and the estate lay dormant for some time until the house was rebuilt, on an even grander scale in 1824, then burned down again in 1849, and was rebuilt again in 1851 by the Duke of Sutherland. It then passed to the Duke of Westminster who sold it in 1893 to the Astors who made it one of the most fashionable spots for the beau monde in the early decades of the 20th century. Today the estate belongs to the National Trust, but the house itself is leased to a luxury hotel chain.

Cliveden in its original state (c1717)
Cliveden today

In January 1674, Charles II finally acquiesced to demands in Parliament that the Duke of Buckingham be removed from any positions of authority and influence. He was sent away, to live at his Yorkshire estates at Helmsley and Nun Appleton. He began to reform: he attended church, was attentive to his wife, and paid off his debts. Still he meddled in politics, leading a ‘country party’ that was forming in opposition to a more centralist faction in Parliament (the origins of the Whigs and the Tories), and even began making contact directly with Louis XIV over another possible alliance—until he was discovered and threatened with imprisonment in the Tower.

George Villiers, 2nd Duke of Buckingham, as an older man

Buckingham distanced himself from the Whigs by about 1680 (due to their insistence on exclusion of Catholics from government), and reconciled with his old friend the King before the latter died in 1685, and before his own death two years later. His wife the Duchess lived on until 1705, but they had no children; nor did his sister Mary, Duchess of Richmond, who also died in 1685. So the Villiers estates were dispersed.

Mary Fairfax, Duchess of Buckingham

But the age of the Villiers favourites was not quite finished. From 1660 to 1672, the other most dominant person in the life of King Charles II was his mistress Barbara Villiers Palmer, Lady Castlemaine. And following her dismissal, her first cousin Elizabeth Villiers rose to prominence—albeit much less overtly—as a favourite of Charles II’s nephew and (eventual) successor, William III.

Barbara Villiers was the only child of the 2nd Viscount Grandison (above). He died when she was only four, in a battle during the Civil War. The title and estates passed to his brothers, the 3rd and 4th viscounts (founders of later Villiers branches), and young Barbara was left with very little. She was described as one of the most beautiful young women of the age, but had few financial attractions. She did not attract a high-ranking suitor, and in 1659, in seeming desperation, she married a relative nobody, and a Catholic to boot: Roger Palmer, a landowner from the Welsh borders. Barbara and Roger both saw their fortunes tied to a restored monarchy, so went to the Low Countries to meet with the King in the months leading up to the Restoration in Spring 1660. That year he was elected as an MP, and she was selected as the King’s favourite. In 1661, Roger was created Earl of Castlemaine and Baron Limerick (in reference to her father’s Irish titles; and Castle Maine, in County Kerry), which was more mocking than an honour, since an Irish peerage brought no position in England, and the terms of the title’s creation specified that it would pass only to sons born from his marriage to Barbara, not any future wife—in other words, he was an official cuckold, and everyone knew it. The new Countess of Castlemaine was given a position as Lady of the Bedchamber to the new queen, Catherine of Braganza, a humiliation for a pious foreign queen newly arrived and with few friends at this quite anti-Catholic court.

there are many portraits of Barbara Villiers. This is my favourite

Roger and Barbara legally separated in 1662, in part to avoid his attempts to make claims on the children she was giving birth to. These children were at first called Palmer, but later the King formally recognised them and gave them the name FitzRoy (‘son of the king’). At times this was very confusing: the eldest son Charles was at first known as ‘Lord Limerick’ (Roger Palmer’s courtesy title), and was baptised as a Palmer in a Catholic ceremony, only to be re-baptised later as Charles FitzRoy in a Protestant ceremony. Eventually it was clear these children were royal bastards, and the King gave them increasingly grand titles—all three boys were created dukes: of Southampton and Grafton (both in 1675) and of Northumberland (in 1683). These Stuart dukedoms that descend from Charles II (as with the Duke of Saint Albans, written about previously), will have their own blog posts. Only one of these three ducal lineages founded by Barbara Villiers survives today (Grafton).

By the mid-1660s, Lady Castlemaine was a major figure at court, and with significant influence in government as well. In tandem with her Villiers cousin the 2nd Duke of Buckingham, she brought down the King’s old favourite, the Earl of Clarendon, in 1667. But it was Buckingham who then manoeuvred Nell Gwynne into place as the King’s favourite mistress in the following year, seeing his cousin now as a rival instead of an ally. The King granted Barbara financial privileges and several properties, including Nonsuch Palace, as well as the title Baroness Nonsuch.

Nonsuch Palace, as painted in the early 17th century

Nonsuch was a famous Tudor palace, built by Henry VIII in the 1530s amidst hunting grounds in Surrey, south of Hampton Court. Its name suggested that there was ‘no such place’ equal to it. In the 17th century it had been used as part of Queen Anne of Denmark’s jointure and as a hunting lodge for James I and Charles I, and finally as a residence for the Queen Mother, Henrietta Maria, during the Restoration. In a great act of cultural vandalism, Barbara ordered the palace’s dismantling in 1682, and its parts were sold to pay off her mounting debts. Nothing remains.

Barbara Villiers was also created Duchess of Cleveland in her own right in 1670, with the letters patent specifying it would pass to her eldest son, Charles FitzRoy. Cleveland took its name from the region of high peaks (cliffs or ‘cleves’) and dales in north Yorkshire. There had been an earl of Cleveland (Thomas, 4th Baron Wentworth), who was part of the clientele network of the 1st Duke of Buckingham, and his son a close companion of Charles II in exile. The Earl died in 1667 and perhaps the King wished to remember him and his earlier Villiers connections in re-using the title for Barbara in 1670.

The name was also given to her London house, which she acquired from Clarendon’s fall in 1667. Cleveland House, directly behind St. James’s Palace and overlooking Green Park in Westminster, had been built for the Earl of Berkshire (a Howard) in the 1620s, then was the residence of the Earl of Clarendon as First Minister in the 1660s. Barbara expanded and refaced it in the 1670s, but before she died, she sold it to the Egertons, later dukes of Bridgewater. Since then it has been called Bridgewater House, but the address is still Cleveland Row. It was rebuilt in the 1850s, then sold off after World War II—it was used for offices until the 1980s when it once again became a private residence.

Bridgewater House in the 1830s

By about 1672, it was clear that Charles II’s favourites were Nell Gwynne and the newly arrived Louise de Kérouaille. The Duchess of Cleveland lost her position as Lady of the Queen’s Bedchamber due to the Test Act of 1673, since she was a Catholic (having converted back in 1663), and the King sent her away from court. She lived in Paris, 1676-80, then was briefly reconciled with the King before he died in 1685. Her life after that was rather sad, with increasing penury and foolish romantic liaisons, culminating in a marriage of 1705 to Major-General Robert ‘Beau’ Fielding, whom she later had to prosecute for bigamy once she discovered he was already married. She lived her last years in a large brick house in the western London suburb of Chiswick—this ‘Cleveland House’ was later renamed Walpole House for its 18th-century owner, and hosted a prominent school in the 19th century, before being restored as a private house again in the 20th.

Walpole House in Chiswick

Barbara died in 1709. Her long forgotten husband, Roger Palmer, Earl of Castlemaine, had actually risen in favour after the death of Charles II, since, as a Catholic, he was esteemed by the new king, James II. He was named to the Privy Council in 1686, and sent as Ambassador to Rome. After James’ fall, of course, this brief prominence faded, and Castlemaine spent the rest of his life either as a Catholic suspect in the Tower of London, or on his estates on the Welsh borders where he died in 1705. The dukedom of Cleveland passed to Barbara’s son Charles, Duke of Southampton, and to his son, William FitzRoy, who died in 1774. The title was re-created in 1833 for his grand-nephew, William Vane, Earl of Darlington (and so continued until its extinction again in 1891).

Barbara, Duchess of Cleveland, as a clearly depressed older woman

As Barbara Villiers’ star was fading, her cousin Elizabeth’s was rising. Her father, Edward, was the youngest brother of the Viscount Grandison (Barbara’s father), and her mother was Lady Frances Howard, daughter of the Earl of Suffolk. Like all of the family, he was a staunch Royalist and went with Charles II into exile in 1649. During the Restoration, his wife was appointed governess to the King’s nieces, princesses Mary and Anne of York. So when Princess Mary was sent to the Netherlands in 1677 to wed her first cousin, William, Prince of Orange, she was accompanied by some of Sir Edward and Lady Frances Villiers’ daughters, including Elizabeth, to serve as her maids of honour in her court at The Hague. It is uncertain when (or even really if) Elizabeth became a mistress of Mary’s husband William, whose affairs with men were becoming fairly well known, especially his primary favourite, Hans Willem Bentinck (who, incidentally, married Elizabeth’s sister, Anne). When William and Mary became joint King and Queen of England, Scotland and Ireland, Elizabeth Villiers returned to England, and continued to act as a royal favourite—perhaps a ‘beard’ for the King’s relationship with Bentinck? It seems that, after Mary II died in December 1694, William was committed to ‘cleaning house’ to honour his late wife’s memory, and dismissed Elizabeth by rewarding her (a quite traditional way of signalling the end of a royal relationship): he granted her extensive lands in Ireland in 1695 and married her off to one of his military lieutenants, Lord George Hamilton (a younger son of the Duke of Hamilton); the following year they were created Earl and Countess of Orkney. This is the same Orkney who purchased the palatial Cliveden House (above), and so it was yet another Villiers who played grand hostess there in the early Hanoverian era of the 1710s-1720s. She died in 1733, leaving her estates to daughters.

possibly Elizabeth Villiers, possibly by Kneller

The Villiers legacy therefore was carried on by Elizabeth’s brother, Edward. He too was in King William’s favour, and was named Viscount Villiers in 1691, then Earl of Jersey in 1697. He was Master of the Horse to Queen Mary, then Lord Chamberlain to King William. He was sent as Ambassador to The Hague and Paris in the 1690s, crucially representing England at the treaty negotiations at Rijswijk in 1697. He was named one of the King’s secretaries of state in 1699, but didn’t survive long after the King’s death in 1702—Queen Anne dismissing him from all of his posts in 1704. Perhaps this last of the Stuarts had finally had enough of the Villiers family…

Edward Villiers, 1st Earl of Jersey

The Villiers family in the 18th century were thus represented by the last Viscount Grandison (John) who was created Earl Grandison in 1721 (still in the Irish peerage) and given a seat on the Irish Privy Council. When he died in 1766, this branch ended in the male line—the earldom of Grandison was re-created for his daughter and grandson (George Mason, who took the name Villiers in 1771), and the viscountcy passed to his cousin the 3rd Earl of Jersey. This 3rd Earl (William), had built a new county seat at Middleton Stoney, located in the rolling green hills just west of Bicester in Oxfordshire. Middleton Park remained the Jersey seat, rebuilt in the 1930s by the 9th Earl, until it was developed as apartments in the 1970s.

Middleton Stoney in the 1820s

Of subsequent earls of Jersey, the 5th Earl (d. 1859) stands out as a prominent Tory politician in the reigns of William IV and Victoria, as Lord Chamberlain in the 1830s and Master of the Horse in the 1840s (and briefly again in 1852). He added his wife’s mother’s surname, Child, to Villiers in 1819, as heiress of the vast wealth of the Child Bank, and their grand house, Osterley Park, in the western suburbs of London. The 6th Earl married a daughter of Prime Minister Robert Peel, but was only earl for 21 days, before he followed his father to the grave. The 7th Earl of Jersey was Governor of New South Wales in Australia (1890-93), while the 8th Earl re-trenched in the 1920s by selling the Child Bank. Today’s earl, the 10th, is William Child Villiers (b. 1976), whose family home is actually on the island of Jersey (Radier Manor). His heir, Viscount Villiers, is appropriately named called George.

As for the extant junior line, the line of earls of Clarendon (a seemingly ironic title, given the family’s concerted efforts to bring down the great Lord Clarendon in 1667), was founded by Thomas Villiers, second son of the 2nd Earl of Jersey. He was a diplomat, sent to Warsaw, Vienna and Berlin in the 1740s, then a Whig MP (in contrast to his mostly Tory family) in the 1750s-60s, and joining the Government as a member of the Privy Council and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster in the 1770s-80s. In 1752, he married Charlotte Capel, daughter of Jane Hyde, the heiress of Henry Hyde, 4th Earl of Clarendon. Thomas Villiers was thus created Baron Hyde (of Hindon, Wilts.) in 1756, and later Earl of Clarendon in 1776. He built a new family seat, The Grove, near Watford in Hertfordshire (which, like so many of these grand country houses, is now a luxury hotel).

Thomas Villiers, 1st Earl of Clarendon

Of the later earls of Clarendon, the 4th Earl (George Villiers, d. 1870), was the ‘Great Lord Clarendon’, a prominent diplomat and Liberal politician in the reign of Queen Victoria: three times Foreign Secretary, Lord Privy Seal, and like his grandfather the 1st Earl, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster. He also renewed some of his family’s old links with Ireland by serving as Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, 1847-52. In the 20th century, the 6th Earl of Clarendon was Governor-General of South Africa, 1931-37. Today’s 8th Earl (b. 1976) has a son, Edward, known as Lord Hyde.

There was one last royal favourite connected to the Villiers family: Frances Twysden (1753-1821). No stranger to scandal from the moment of her birth, she had been born posthumously to the Right Reverend Philip Twysden (from a Kent family), who, despite being Bishop of Raphoe in the Church of Ireland, was shot dead in 1752 while (allegedly) attempting to rob a stagecoach near London. Just over 17 years later, Frances married George Villiers, 4th Earl of Jersey (d. 1805), a Gentleman of the Bedchamber to King George III. In about 1793, Lady Jersey became the mistress of George, Prince of Wales; in 1794 she was appointed Lady in Waiting to the new Princess of Wales (Caroline of Brunswick), and her husband was subsequently appointed the Prince’s Master of the Horse, making them quite a power couple for—as it was anticipated—the reign soon to come. But George III, though he went mad, did not die until long after Lady Jersey had lost favour, in 1807, when she was dismissed as Lady of the Bedchamber. As fate would have it, there would be no great Villiers royal favourite for this particular royal (this time with the name George) when he became king in 1820.

Frances Villiers, Countess of Jersey

The Farnese: dukes of Parma, Piacenza and Castro

The names Farnese and Parma evoke a number of images from Italian and European history. The ‘Villa Farnese’ embodies the beauty and grace of the Renaissance palaces of the Roman countryside and of one of its chief patrons, the beautiful and graceful Giulia Farnese. The name Parma in contrast, beyond the most immediate associations we now have with ham—and rightly so—will remind English readers of one of the most famous speeches in English history, as the Spanish Armada approached the shores of England in 1588, and Elizabeth I rallied her troops at Tilbury with the cry: “…and think foul scorn that Parma or Spain, or any prince of Europe, should dare to invade the borders of my realm.” This ‘Parma’ was Alessandro Farnese, Duke of Parma, one of the great military leaders of the era.

Paul III appoints his son Duke of Parma, by Ricci (c. 1685)

The real founder of the family’s swift rise to the top of the social hierarchy of 16th-century Europe was Alessandro’s great-grandfather, and Giulia’s brother, another Alessandro Farnese, who became a cardinal in 1493, then in his mid-60s was elected pope (1534) and took the name Paul III. One of the great reforming popes, who launched the Catholic Reformation and the Council of Trent, the Farnese pope had initially been under the patronage of the infamous Borgia pope, Alexander VI—who was Giulia’s lover. But unlike Pope Alexander, Pope Paul was able to achieve something most papal families desired: a sovereign territory in which to permanently plant his family amongst the premier ruling dynasties of Italy.

The first of these semi-independent territories was the duchy of Castro, northwest of Rome in the borderlands between Lazio and Tuscany, created for his illegitimate son in 1537. Far grander was the duchy of Parma, across the Pennines in the province of Emilia, granted to the same son in 1545, and augmented with the neighbouring duchy of Piacenza. The Farnese family could now rival the other ducal families of northern Italy, the Medici, Gonzaga or Este, and they build grand residences in their capital cities to compete with these in genuinely princely splendour. They also constructed grand palaces in Rome and the Roman countryside to maintain their position in the hierarchy of the great aristocratic families of the Eternal City. Though they would eventually lose Castro in 1649, Parma and Piacenza continued to flourish as a small state, and the Farnese art collections grew to become one of the greatest in the world, until the dynasty itself died out in 1731, and its heiress took the inheritance to the Bourbons of Spain by her marriage to King Philip V. After 1748, a new Parma dynasty was born, Bourbon-Parma, which would rule Parma and Piacenza—aside from the major disruption of the Napoleonic era—until the unification of Italy began in 1859. The Farnese dynasty, as dukes and princes, only had a lifespan of about two hundred years, 1537 to 1731, but their legacy lives on in much of the architecture of Parma and Rome, and in the great Farnese art collections now housed primarily in Naples.

The Farnese family had its origins in the hilly lands to the north of Rome in the province of Latium (today’s Lazio) in the valley of the river Fiora which forms part of the boundary with Tuscany. This region features several almost perfectly circular lakes, the calderas of extinct volcanos, notably Lake Bolsena, on which one of the early Farnese residences, the Rocca Farnese in Capodimonte, beautifully sits. Most of the hills in this area are volcanic, and on the top of one of these tufa hillsides rose the castle and village of Farnetum, which gave its name to the Farnese family, sometime in the 10th century. It is suggested that the name comes from a local variety of oak tree known as the farnia. The town of Farnese remains a picturesque walled town. After the lands in Lazio were lost to the eponymous Farnese dynasty, the town and lordship of Farnese passed into the possession of the Chigi family (originally from Siena), who were created princes of Farnese (1658, for the nephew of the Chigi pope, Alexander VII), a title which they still hold today, though the property itself passed to the Torlonia princely family in the late 20th century. These princes will have their own separate blog post.

Capodimonte, the Rocca Farnese on the right (photo Sergio de Ferra)
the walled town of Farnese today (photo WikiRomaWiki)

The earliest ancestors of the family, who claimed, like most grand noble houses of northern Italy, to be descended from ancient Lombard warriors, were condottieri, soldiers for hire, and they made their mark mostly leading pro-Guelph (that is, pro-papal) forces in the 12th and 13th centuries. They were rewarded with papal fiefs in proximity to the village of Farnese, notably Canino and Cellere, which, like Capodimonte, also feature buildings that still bear the family name: the Rocca Farnesiana (in Cellere) and the Castelvecchio dei Farnesi (in Canino). In the hills outside Canino, they acquired a former Benedictine monastery overlooking the river Fiora, the Castello dell’Abbadia, with its treacherous bridge, the Ponte del Diavolo—the ‘Devil’s Bridge’. This castle served as one of the primary residences of the family after they acquired the fief in 1430. Canino was later given as a principality to Lucien Bonaparte, brother of Napoleon, who is buried in the town chapel. The line of Bonaparte princes of Canino and Musignano (a neighbouring village), continued into the 1920s.

Castelvecchio in Canino (foreground)
Rocca Farnesiana in Cellere
Castello dell’Abbadia and the ‘Devil’s Bridge’ (photo NikonZ711)

The most prominent early Farnese condottiero was Piero, who was employed as Captain-General of the Papal Armies, re-asserting Rome’s control over the city of Bologna in 1359, then Captain-General of Florence, leading its army to defeat the great rival Pisa in 1362. His nephew, also called Piero, was Captain-General of the Army of Siena, 1408, and waged a long-term vendetta with the rival noble family in this region, the Orsini. Two of his many sons founded the two main branches of the family, Castro and Latera, each with a duchy in the 16th century. We will return to the line of Latera below. The senior line would be founded by Ranuccio ‘il Vecchio’ on a castle (or castrum, castro) near Farnese and Canino, called Ischia di Castro.

Ischia di Castro

Ranuccio Farnese also acquired the lordship of Montalto (de Castro), which is on the seacoast, and enjoyed the privilege of exporting grain without paying the normal tax to the pope. He too was a condottiero, but was astute enough to accumulate levels of debt (years of back pay) from the papacy instead of cash or fiefs, so that by the 1430s-40s he was himself one of the bankrollers of the papacy (a trick the Medici similarly performed to perfection!). Many of the fiefs he did hold from the papacy were given time limits for repayment, and when the popes did not pay, they became Farnese assets outright. Ranuccio was appointed Captain-General of Papal Armies in 1435, and consolidated his family’s hold over this part of the province of Lazio. He also ended the long and bloody feud with the Orsini by marrying his son Gabriele to Isabella Orsini in 1442. When he died in 1450 he was buried on a family tomb on an island (Bisentina) in Lake Bolsena.

Ranuccio ‘il Vecchio’, painted later as part of the family history frescos
the church of Saints Giacomo & Cristoforo, on the island of Bisentina in Lake Bolsena

Ranuccio’s younger son, Pierluigi, had made a different marriage: to Giovanna Caetani, from one of the leading aristocratic families of Rome, more firmly linking the Farnese to Roman high politics. The eldest of his two sons, Angelo, continued in the family tradition of military service to the papacy, but died before he reached 30, in 1494. By this point, however, a new star had risen for the family, Giulia, ‘la Bella Farnese’. She had been sent by her mother to Rome to be brought into society by the Caetani family and in 1489 was married to another Orsini (Orsino Orsini to be exact). While the details are patchy, it seems that through her new mother-in-law, Adriana de Mila, a cousin of the Borgias, Giulia became acquainted with Cardinal Rodrigo Borgia, and in 1493, when he was elected pope as Alexander VI, she rose to great heights as his mistress, and he installed her in a palace near the Vatican, which she shared—perhaps uncomfortably?—with his daughter Lucrezia. She made sure that her brother, Alessandro, was favoured by the Borgia pope, and he was indeed made a cardinal, in 1493, at 25, and a few years later, Bishop of Montefiascone and Corneto, the local diocese near the Farnese properties in Lazio.

Giulia Farnese, with the Farnese unicorn

Cardinal Farnese was not of course universally praised for his means of securing high church office: he was called ‘the Borgia-in-law’, and much worse. Like a good Roman aristocratic cleric of his day, he took a mistress, Silvia Ruffini, from a Roman noble house, and had four children between 1500 and 1510. His patron Alexander VI died in 1503, but successive popes were unusually generous in legitimising the Cardinal’s children so they could inherit the Farnese lands—especially important since, by 1512, the senior branch founded by Gabriele had died out. The new pope, Julius II, was no fan of the Borgias (or their clients), so perhaps as a means of getting Alessandro away from Rome, he promoted him to the bishopric of Parma, 1509, thus initiating the family’s connections to that city.

Alessandro, Cardinal Farnese, painted by Raphael

The city of Parma had grown up around a crossroads, important since antiquity—and possibly derived its name in antiquity from palma, a circular shield used by local Etruscan warriors. The famous Via Aemilia ran straight through it, connecting east and west, while the Via Claudia ran north and south, connecting Lombardy and the broad Po valley to the Apennine mountain passes into Tuscany and Latium. In fact, the main medieval route taking merchants and pilgrims from France and northwest Europe down to Rome ran through Parma. When Charlemagne and his Frankish lords extended their rule into Italy, they had established a count in the city to guard this important crossroads, and this county of Parma remained (loosely) a part of the Holy Roman Empire, though it later gained a degree of autonomy under its local bishops. The magnificent Cathedral was built in this time (completed about 1100), followed by an even more spectacular Baptistry later in the century, which serves as an important marker of the transition between Romanesque and Gothic architectural styles.

Parma in the 16th century, looking south towards the Apenines
Parma’s medieval cathedral
the baptistry (photo Norbert Nagel)

In the 15th century, Parma lost its independence, and was incorporated into the territories of the Sforza rulers of Milan. By the end of that century it found itself in one of most contested zones of the Italian Wars, fought by French, Imperial/Spanish and Papal armies. Parma was annexed briefly to the Papal States in 1512, then occupied by the French until it was returned again to Papal rule in 1521. Cardinal Farnese’s reign as bishop was in the middle of all this. But by 1524 he was back in Rome, where he became Dean of the College of Cardinals, and in 1534, rather surprisingly, was elected pope, as Paul III. Many electors thought due to his age and infirmity, his papacy would be a short, and they would thus have time to prepare a proper campaign for his successor. But he lived, and thrived, for another fifteen years. He began a campaign of bold activities we now call the Catholic Reformation (or the ‘Counter-Reformation’) right away, for example revising rules of papal governance in 1536, excommunicating Henry VIII in 1538, and approving the founding of the Society of Jesus (the ‘Jesuits’) in1540. Paul III also launched one of the largest reform projects, the Council of Trent, in 1545.

Paul III and his grandsons, by Titian

But from the perspective of dynastic history, Paul III was not a reformer at all. Almost immediately upon becoming pope, he appointed his son, Pier Luigi, as commander of papal armies and Gonfalonier of the Church, and two of his grandsons, both teenagers, as cardinals: another Alessandro Farnese and Guido Ascanio Sforza. He even made a cardinal of his former mistress’s legitimate son (who was, many thought, actually his own son), Tiberio Crispo. But following in the footsteps of previous Renaissance popes, the Farnese pope wanted to create a significant territory that his family could rule as princes and pass on for generations. Pier Luigi, a warrior like his Farnese ancestors, had already made a name for himself—and not necessarily a good one, known for his cruelty and ruthlessness—fighting for Venice and for Emperor Charles V (including the famous sack of Rome in 1527). In 1534, he was given the marquisate of Novara, part of Charles V’s Duchy of Milan. In 1540, Pier Luigi sealed this Imperial alliance by marrying his son, Ottavio, to the Emperor’s illegitimate daughter, Margaret of Austria. Margaret was already the widow (though only 15) of Alessandro de Medici, first Duke of Florence, who had been murdered only three years before. She brought as a dowry the lands of Penna in the Abruzzo and estates she was given by her father in Naples. Pier Luigi tried to solidify this imperial relationship even further by offering his daughter Vittoria to the recently widowed Emperor himself, but Charles declined.

Pier Luigi Farnese, Duke of Castro, Duke of Parma and Piacenza

On the papal side, in 1538, Paul III created a new duchy for Pier Luigi, formed from the various Farnese properties in northern Lazio, and gave it the name Castro. It would reach from Lake Bolsena to the sea, and would be formally a vassal state of the papacy, but de facto an independent state. A brand new capital city was built, called Castro, not far from the old main Farnese towns of Ischia and Canino. The Pope also added the neighbouring duchy of Nepi, which had been initially created for Lucrezia Borgia in 1499. In 1540, he also gave his son the confiscated duchy of Camerino, on the other side of the Apennines near Ancona.

the Duchy of Castro, from a map of 1640 (north is to the left)
the city of Castro

Pope Paul also tried to balance his son’s pro-imperial leanings by sending Pier Luigi’s younger son, Orazio, to the court of François I in France. By the late 1540s it was understood that Orazio would marry the Dauphin’s illegitimate daughter, Diane de France, which he eventually did, with the proviso that he would be a ruling duke himself, not just a second son, by inheriting the Duchy of Castro.

The Pope decided that Orazio’s elder brother Ottavio would be compensated for Castro with something much grander: Parma. While the Emperor was busy dealing with Protestants north of the Alps, Paul III thought he would seize the moment and enfeoff his eldest son with the duchy of Parma, which, as seen above, had only fairly recently become papal territory. He added to it the neighbouring duchy of Piacenza, on the River Po. Like Parma, the city of Piacenza also had ancient roots, as the ‘pleasant place’ or Placentia in Latin. It too had been ruled by Milan in recent centuries, but was annexed to the Papal States in 1521. The gift of these duchies was done in 1545; in exchange, Pier Luigi agreed to give up Camerino and Nepi (and to cede Castro to Orazio). The new duke established himself in the ducal palace in Piacenza by 1546, with plans to build something more permanent in Parma. But he soon revealed himself to be a tyrant, imposing heavy taxes and curtailing the traditional independence of the local nobles and clergy. He swiftly made many enemies.

a map from the erly 19th century that shows Parma (and Piacenza) clearly, in yellow.

At first the Emperor approved of the creation of the twin duchies of Parma and Piacenza, since it would, after all, ultimately benefit his daughter Margaret, who would become a sovereign, not just the wife of a papal bastard. But by 1547, Charles V changed his mind, and thought Parma really ought to belong to the Duchy of Milan after all, so encouraged his governor there, Ferrante Gonzaga, to fan the flames of the unrest Pier Luigi was already creating in his duchies, and to back an assassination coordinated by representatives of the leading noble houses (Pallavicini, Landi and Anguissola). His body was hung outside a window of the palace in Piacenza.

Piacenza, Palazzo Farnese

This started the short War of Parma, 1551-1552, which did not play out as you might have expected. Paul III had initially made peace with Charles V by acquiescing to the loss of Parma and Piacenza in 1547. But his grandson Ottavio, did not, and retook the city by force—supposedly angering his grandfather so much he died of a heart attack in 1549. Ottavio now allied himself with his younger brother’s patron, his father-in-law the King of France (the former Dauphin, now King Henry II), since his natural enemy was the Emperor Charles V—who was of course Ottavio’s father-in-law. This is very confusing! This short war was fought between Henry II of France and Ottavio Farnese on one side, and Charles V and the new pope, Julius III on the other. In the end, Ottavio was restored to Parma and Piazenza (and also succeeded his brother Orazio as duke of Castro when he died suddenly, fighting in a French army in Flanders in 1553), and France became the chief ally and protector of Parma—which it remained (sometimes) for the next century and a half.

Ottavio Farnese, Duke of Parma, Piacenza and Castro

Before moving on firmly to the history of Parma and its dukes, we should stay in Lazio and look at properties—and two more cardinals. The eldest grandson of Pope Paul III, Alessandro, was made a cardinal when he was 14 in 1534. The younger brother Ranuccio was made cardinal at 15 in 1545, and though he held many benefices and administrative offices, and a lucrative commandery as a knight of Malta, he died at 35 before really making his mark.

the gorgeous portrait of young Ranuccio, wearing the cloak of a knight of Malta, by Titian

Alessandro, however, rose right away, first as Vice-Chancellor of the Church (an office he held for over 50 years), then from 1538 as his grandfather’s principal secretary. By the 1540s, he was conducting much of the business and political affairs of the papacy. At first he was also used to solidify the Farnese family ties with the Habsburgs, as Cardinal-Protector of the Holy Roman Empire and of Spain from 1541; in return, Charles V named him Archbishop of Monreale in Sicily. But he also had French interests, as Papal Legate to Avignon from 1541 to 1565 (and he had a French mistress, Claude de Beaune de Semblançay, a lady-in-waiting to Queen Catherine de Medici, and a half-French daughter, Clelia). He sided with his brother in the War of Parma, so lost several of his Imperial benefices, but became instead an important channel of communication between France and Rome (though here too he gradually lost out due to the growing influence in France of Cardinal Ippolito d’Este). His clout rose again in Rome in the 1560s-70s, and he was a serious candidate for the papal throne in the conclaves of 1566 and 1572. As a grand old man, he was Dean of the College of Cardinals, from 1580 until his death in 1589.

Alessandro, Cardinal Farnese

This second Cardinal Farnese’s main legacy are the buildings. He took over the residence in Rome his grandfather had built in the 1520s, the Palazzo Farnese, which he expanded in the 1530s, and laid out the Piazza Farnese. This is still regarded as one of the most beautiful squares in Rome, and, as is fitting for the long-term Franco-Farnese alliance, is now the seat of the French embassy. It was in the 17th century, the home of the huge Farnese art collection, but after the Farnese properties passed to the Bourbons, these were shipped to Naples, where they formed the collection of the new Capodimonte Museum.

Palazzo Farnese in Rome (the Embassy of France) (photo Myrabella)

Across the Tiber, in the more leafy suburb of Trastevere, the Farneses acquired a villa built earlier in the century by the wealthy Chighi banking family. This villa, famous for its Raphael frescos of ancient Greek myths, was renamed the Villa Farnesina. It later was the residence of the Bourbons of Naples when in Rome, but after the unification of Italy in the 1860s it became the residence of the Spanish ambassador. Now it belongs to the state and houses the Accademia dei Lincei.

Villa Farnesina in Rome (photo Jean-Pierre Dalbéra)

Also in Rome, Cardinal Alessandro built a summer house and gardens on the slopes of the Palatine Hill (the Farnese Gardens, built in the 1550s), with different spaces devoted to pleasure or to botanical research. He sponsored the building of the main Jesuit church in Rome, the Gesù (in the 1560s), and chose it as his burial place.

Farnese Gardens in Rome

All over these buildings, you can still see the ubiquitous Farnese lilies (or gigli), which conveniently aligned the family visually with its protector, France (and in inverted colours: blue lilies on gold instead of the French golden lilies on blue). The Farnese coat of arms was also augmented: the papal keys were added in 1545 (a right for any Gonfalonier of the Church), and in 1586, Ottavio’s son Alessandro would add a quartering for Austria-Burgundy, for his mother’s family.

the older Farnese arms, and a unicorn crest
the augmented Farnese arms

Every good Roman cardinal needs a country retreat, so Cardinal Alessandro Farnese rebuilt his grandfather’s villa in the Lazio, not far from his brother’s duchy of Castro. The Villa Farnese at Caprarola, with its famous pentagonal shape and circular courtyard, would become a model of the Roman country house and the showpiece for the family. One of the most famous rooms is the Sala dei Fasti Farnesiani (the ‘Room of Farnese Deeds’), which features a fresco commemorating Cardinal Alessandro’s efforts at bringing peace to Europe by coordinating a meeting between François I and Charles V in 1540. This palace too became part of the unified Italy after 1860, and was selected as the residence of the heir to the throne. Today the villa’s secondary building, the casino or summer house, is the country residence of the President of the Republic of Italy, while the main building houses a museum.

Villa Farnese at Caprarola in the 18th century
Villa Farnese today showing its unique shape (the Casino is about 500 m to the right)
the meeting of Charles V and Francis I, 1540, with Cardinal Farnese (to the Emperor’s left). Note the coats of arms on the canopy include the the eagle of the Empire, the lilies of France, and the Farnese gigli

By the mid-1550s, Ottavio Farnese, 2nd Duke of Parma and Piacenza, settled in to rule his new states. Despite violent beginnings, the next thirty years of his reign was fairly unremarkable. He was moderate and popular. He focused his attentions on creating a ducal capital in Parma, and left Piacenza to his widowed mother, Girolama Orsini, who had been a key asset during the Parma War, using her Roman family connections to smooth relations with the papacy, and governing Castro as regent while her youngest son Orazio was in France. The other most important woman in his life, his wife Margaret, soon departed and became a separate actor in the history of the dynasty: in 1559 she was named Governor-General of the Low Countries by her half-brother, Philip II of Spain, and lived in Brussels for the next eight years, where she tried, unsuccessfully, to keep a lid on the boiling resentment against Spanish rule in the Netherlands. When Philip sent the Duke of Alba to put down the unrest and gave him full powers that undermined those of Margaret of Parma (as Margaret of Austria was now known), she resigned, and retired to her property of L’Aquila in the Abruzzo (part of the Kingdom of Naples).

Margaret of Parma, Governor-General of the Netherlands

Meanwhile, Ottavio set up his residence in Parma in the old Bishop’s Palace—an austere building dating from the 11th century—while he oversaw the development of finer buildings worthy of a ruling dynasty. First he built the Palazzo del Giardino, across the river (also called Parma) from the centre of the city. Starting in about 1560, it was constructed on the site of an old Sforza fortress and surrounded, as its name suggests, by gardens and parklands. The Palazzo del Giardino would be enlarged in the 17th century and again in the 18th century, and its gardens would be developed by Bourbon dukes along French formal lines.

Parma, Palazzo del Giradino

Back across the river, closer to the old medieval core of the city, was a complex of buildings known as the Palazzo della Pilotta, which Ottavio developed in the 1580s, taking its name from the game of pelota, played by Spanish soldiers stationed there. The oldest building, on the river bank, was the Rocchetta, or keep, which was linked by a Corridore to some townhouses that served as the ducal court until a more grand palace was constructed in the next reign.

Palazzo della Pilotta in the 19th century
The Pilotta today, mostly destroyed in World War II (photo Sailko)

Duke Ottavio also patronised churches in Parma, notably the Shrine of Santa Maria della Steccata, named for the picket fence (steccata) which protected a miraculous image of the nursing Virgin from throngs of pilgrims. Here the Duke commissioned new interior frescos and constructed a crypt that would become the Farnese family sepulchre, and later that of the House of Bourbon-Parma (it remains so even today, with the most recent interment in 2010). I was annoyed last summer when I visited Parma and was unable to visit the crypt despite signage suggesting it was in fact open for tourists…

Santa Maria della Steccata, Parma (photo Witold Muratov)

Ottavio and Margaret had only one son, Alessandro, a surviving twin whose brother had lived only a few months in 1545. After Spain agreed to recognise the independence of Parma and Piacenza in 1555, Philip II required the presence of young Alessandro in Spain as a sort of hostage. So while Margaret of Parma was sent to Brussels, Alessandro was sent to Madrid to be raised alongside Philip’s son, Prince Carlos, and Philip’s illegitimate half-brother, Don Juan (all about the same age). Alexander, Prince of Parma, grew to be one of the greatest commanders of the age, and would eventually be sent to the Low Countries to continue in the struggle to retain the loyalty of the rebellious Dutch provinces. In 1565, his semi-royal status was confirmed by his marriage to Maria de Guimarães, daughter of Infante Duarte of Portugal (the youngest son of King Manuel). He commanded three vessels in the important victory over the Turks at Lepanto in 1571, then in 1577 was sent to the Low Countries with an army to support Don Juan, who had been appointed Governor-General the year before. But Don Juan died just a year later, in October 1578, and so Alessandro Farnese replaced him as military commander, while his mother was recalled from her peaceful retirement to act again as Governor-General. The partnership of mother and son proved to be unworkable, however, and she retired once more in 1582, leaving Alessandro as Governor-General himself. He was successful in winning over the southern Catholic nobles who proclaimed their loyalty to Spain in 1579—thus creating in essence the modern nation of Belgium—and became known for his successful sieges, most notably at Antwerp in 1584-85. His greatest fame to English readers, however, came in the following years.

Alessandro, Duke of Parma

In 1586, Alessandro Farnese succeeded as 3rd Duke of Parma and Piacenza. He entrusted these duchies to his teen-aged son Ranuccio—legally old enough to rule, but in need of adult guidance since both his mother and now his grandmother were dead—while he remained to command Spanish forces in the Low Countries. Parma defeated the English troops sent by Queen Elizabeth I to aid the Dutch, and in 1487 secured the port of Sluis in Zealand—ready for an invasion of England once the grand Armada arrived from Spain. Of course, as is well known, the ‘Protestant Wind’ blew the Armada out of the Channel, so no landing was possible. Still hoping to secure victory in the Low Countries, Parma found himself pulled away as Philip II ordered him to France in late 1589 to aid the Catholic League in their defence of the true faith from the usurping claimant king, Henry of Navarre. With Parma’s aid, they did prevent Navarre from taking Paris, and again in Spring 1592 the same for Rouen, but by this point the great commander was getting sick and was pulled back and forth between France and the Netherlands, where the armies of Maurice of Nassau were growing in strength every day. Journeying once more to France in December 1592, he weakened in the border town of Arras and died.

The new duke of Parma and Piacenza (and don’t forget, duke of Castro as well), Ranuccio I, now 23, would have a long and mostly successful reign. As a teenager there was a brief glimpse of a much grander future, for him and for the Farnese dynasty, as he was put forward in 1579 as a successor to the childless uncle of his late mother (she died in 1577), Henry, the Cardinal-King of Portugal. But Philip II of Spain had a strong claim too, and given Parma’s quite strong connections to Spain at this time, when King Henry died in 1580, Ranuccio’s claims were not pressed (though later generations did add the arms of Portugal to the Farnese coat of arms, see above).

Ranuccio I, Duke of Parma

Instead, Ranuccio initiated a fresh wave of building in Parma. He decided to turn the townhouses linked to the Palazzo della Pilotta into a proper ducal palace, which was completed in about 1620. The jewel at its centre was the Teatro Farnese, built in 1618, totally out of wood, with capacity for over 4,000 spectators, and what is considered one of the first permanent proscenium arches in the history of theatre. The rest of the palace complex included a ducal stable, a gallery for the display of the family’s growing art collection, and the Church of Saint Peter. In the eighteenth century, this magnificent palace complex would be augmented further with the addition of the Biblioteca Palatina by the Bourbons. Much of the Pilotta was destroyed by bombs in World War II, but the Theatre and the Library miraculously survived, and the complex now houses two major museums, one of fine art and the other archaeology. He also revitalised the University of Parma.

Teatro Farnese, Parma

Duke Ranuccio was also successful in curtailing the autonomy of some of the Duchy’s major feudal families, notably the Pallavicini and the Landi. From the Sanvitale family, he confiscated the estate at Colorno (in 1612), after a fairly brutal trial and public execution of its chatelaine, Barbara Sanseverino. The palace at Colorno, started by the Correggio family in the fourteenth century, became the chief summer residence of the Farnese dynasty, and would later be rebuilt by Duke Ranuccio II, employing one of the leading architects of the seventeenth century, Ferdinando Galli Bibiena.

Palazzo Colorno (photo Agnul)

Part of the impetus for this great ‘purge’ of 1612, was a reaction to a plot by which the Duke thought that several prominent nobles were conspiring against him, and in particular, encouraging his former mistress to practice witchcraft to ensure he had no male heir. In 1611, the spurned woman, Claudia Colla, was tried and burned at the stake. But it was true he had thus far no children from his wife, Margherita Aldobrandini, the niece of Pope Clement VIII, whom he married in 1600 (granted, she was only 11 when they married). In 1605, he took matters into his own hands and legitimated a son (from a different mistress), Ottavio (b. 1598), and began to raise him as if he were the heir to the duchies. But in 1610, Margherita did have a son, Alessandro, then another, Odoardo, in 1612. So Ottavio was removed from his father’s favour formally in 1618—he rebelled in 1621 and was imprisoned in the Rochetta for the rest of his life (two decades later). Duke Ranuccio hardly survived this rebellion and died in 1622.

His eldest son, Alessandro, was passed over as a deaf-mute, so the succession fell to ten-year-old Odoardo. He was at first guided as regent by his uncle, Odoardo, a cardinal since 1591. This latest Cardinal Farnese contributed to the family’s reputation for artistic refinement, by commissioning Carracci to paint frescos in his private camerino (study) at the Palazzo Farnese in Rome, and the famous Farnese Gallery ceiling, ‘the Loves of the Gods’ around the turn of the century.

the vault in the Galleria in the Palazzo Farnese, by Annibale Carracci
Cardinal Odoardo

Cardinal Odoardo died in 1626 and was replaced as regent by the young duke’s mother, Margherita Aldobrandini. For two years she ably kept these small states out of the growing conflict that would later be termed the Thirty Years War. When Odoardo came of age, however, he was brimming with enthusiasm for battle, and in 1633 directly challenged the might of the Spanish Habsburgs parked on his doorstep in Milan, by re-aligning his state with France. The neighbouring Italian prince, Francesco I d’Este, Duke of Modena, who only two years before had married Odoardo’s sister Maria Caterina, led a Spanish army to capture Piacenza and devastated the countryside. France, sadly, did not send help, and Odoardo was forced to sue for peace in 1637.

Odoardo, Duke of Parma and Piacenza

Duke Odoardo had spent heavily on raising troops, so pressed his already ravaged estates for more taxes. He also borrowed significant amounts from Roman bankers, and when these appealed to the pope (Urban VIII) for aid in getting re-payment, the Pope decided that this was a good opportunity to gain a duchy for his family, the Barberini, just as Paul III had done one hundred years before. He occupied the Duchy of Castro and declared the Farnese no longer vassals there. Odoardo and his ally the Grand Duke of Tuscany, Ferdinando II, whose sister he had married in 1628, were unable to defend these possessions in this ‘Castro War’, but by 1644 had made peace with the papacy, promising to pay the creditors. Castro was restored for now, but the Duke died soon after, in 1646, aged only 34. Once again a younger brother, another Cardinal Farnese (Francesco Maria), was called on to act as regent—but he too died young (at 27) in 1647.

Margherita de’ Medici, Regent of Parma

In a repeat of the previous generation, Duchess Margherita de’ Medici now became regent for her son Ranuccio II, but only for a year, as he came of age in 1648, and immediately provoked a rematch with the Papacy over Castro. Not only did he refuse to pay the debts as his father had promised, he also refused to recognise the newly appointed Bishop of Castro—and worse, was probably involved in that prelate’s murder in 1649. Not a pope to be trifled with, Innocent X again revoked the fief of Castro, sent in his troops, and razed the city of Castro. It was never rebuilt, and its diocese was even transferred elsewhere. The main branch of the Farnese were now un-rooted from their ancestral homeland.

But there did remain another branch of the Farnese family in Lazio, the dukes of Latera—see above. Their castle, the Palazzo Farnese in Latera, located near the western shores of Lake Bolsena, was an ancient medieval castle, enlarged in the 15th century once it became a ducal residence. A new building was built next to it in 1550, in a more elegant Renaissance style—then they were joined together in 1625. Today the complex has been subdivided into various residences but still dominates this hilltop town.

Latera (photo Marco Lodovichi)
Latera, Palazzo Farnese

I don’t know much about the earlier generations, from the founding of this branch in 1408, but they began making waves in the later decades of the 16th century. Mario I, 5th Duke of Latera (r. 1579-1619), was a soldier: he served under his distant cousin the Prince of Parma in the Low Countries, in the 1570s, then for the Emperor in Hungary; he was later instrumental in the Papal takeover of the Duchy of Ferrara from the Este family in 1598, and was named Captain-General of the Church in 1603. His older brother, Ferrante, was a churchman, and was appointed Bishop of Parma—an interesting dynastic cross-pollination—in 1573. The dynastic relationship was not enough however, and he clashed continually with the dukes and the local nobility in trying to extend greater Church authority over the city. The situation became so tense that the Pope intervened and sent Bishop Farnese away on long missions, first as Papal Legate to Bologna in 1591, then as Apostolic Nuncio to the Imperial court in Prague in 1597. Another notable member of the clergy at this point was Mario’s daughter, Isabella, who entered the Order of Poor Clares and took the name ‘Suor Francesca’. Her father built a new monastery for the Poor Clares in the village of Farnese (Santa Maria delle Grazie) in 1618, and she became its first abbess. She later founded monasteries all over Lazio and in the city of Rome itself, and when she died in 1651, was declared to be ‘venerable’ (a step below sainthood).

Mario, Duke of Latera, in the Church of Poor Clares
The Venerable Suor Francesca

Duke Mario had numerous sons, who succeeded as Duke of Latera in succession. The last of these was Girolamo, who was also a cleric when he became the last duke in 1662. He had been Apostolic Nuncio to the Swiss Cantons in 1639, then Governor of Rome in 1650 and Prefect of the Apostolic Palace and Governor of Castel Gandolfo (the papal country retreat) in 1655. Finally elevated to the cardinalate in 1657, he then succeeded as Duke of Latera and governed for six years before he died in 1668. With no heirs, the fief returned to the Papacy. There were now no Farnesi in Lazio at all.

Cardinal Girolamo Farnese, last Duke of Latera

Back in Parma, Ranuccio II had now settled in, after the 2nd Castro War, to a relatively long reign, from 1646 to 1694, which marked a new cultural high point for the Duchy—he patronised artists and musicians and brought to Parma many of the great treasures from the family’s residences in Rome. He tried to re-purchase the Duchy of Castro, and the Papacy extended the terms several times; but finally he gave up (by 1666), and focused more fully on Parma and Piacenza—he was a good ruler, re-developing the local economy after the Thirty Years War, and improving agriculture by draining wetlands near the Po. With the money he saved, Ranuccio purchased two more imperial fiefs—those of the Landi family, at Bardi and Compiano—to add to the duchy in 1682. He married three times, maintaining dynastic ties with his neighbours in Turin and Modena.

Ranuccio II, Duke of Parma and Piacenza

Duek Ranuccio II’s foreign policy was also balanced: his first younger brother, Alessandro, was destined for the Church (every Farnese generation needs a cardinal!), and the second, Orazio, was given a commission to lead Farnese troops in the service of Venice against the Ottomans. When Orazio died of a sickness on his journey home in 1656, Alessandro took his place, then was sent to Spain to try to revive the glorious career of their great-grandfather of the same name. The King of Spain repeatedly appointed him to high commands, as a general in the war against Portugal in 1664, then as Viceroy of Catalonia in 1676 to defend that province against French invasion, but in both cases he was soon withdrawn, having offended many of his officers and those back at court in Madrid by his extravagant and pompous lifestyle and his relationship with the prostitute Maria de Laó y Carillo, who lived with him as a wife for many years. Yet due to close dynastic connections he had with the Spanish king, and the many persuasive letters of his brother Ranuccio back in Parma, Alessandro finally achieved the family goal and was named Governor-General of the Netherlands in 1680. Here too his insistence on being treated as a royal highness and his lavish spending made him an embarrassment for the Spanish court, and he was once again dismissed, in 1682—much to his relief as armies of creditors closed in on his residence in Brussels. He returned to Madrid in 1687 where he was appointed a Gentleman of the Chamber, Councillor of State, Admiral of the Spanish Navy and Knight of the Golden Fleece…but he died just over a year later, leaving his massive debts to be paid by his brother and his illegitimate son Alessandro.

Alessando, Prince of Parma

Meanwhile, Ranuccio II feared the ongoing conflicts between Austria, France and Spain, which usually used the plains of northern Italy as their battleground, so he continued to solidify his links with the Habsburgs by arranging a marriage of his son Odoardo to Dorothea Sophia of the Palatinate, in 1690. She was incredibly well connected: as younger sister of the Holy Roman Empress, the Queen of Portugal, and the new Queen of Spain. A new heir for the dynasty, Prince Alessandro, was born in December 1691, but lived only until August 1693, and was soon followed to the grave by his father, the Hereditary Prince Odoardo, in September, and then by Duke Ranuccio II himself a year later in 1694. Only one daughter remained, Elisabetta, born in October 1692, who would later become one of the most famous women of the early eighteenth century as Isabel, Queen of Spain.

Dorothea Sophia, Countess Palatine of Neuburg, Duchess of Parma

When Ranuccio II died in 1694, his state was nearly bankrupt, so his second son, Francesco, took extreme measures as new Duke of Parma and Piacenza. He dismissed huge numbers of servants, musicians, jesters and dwarves, and stopped the practice of regular court spectacles and lavish banquets so enjoyed by his father. He also married his brother’s widow, Dorothea Sophia, so he wouldn’t have to return her sizeable dowry. She was of a much more sober (maybe we can say ‘Germanic’) temperament, so she worked closely with her husband to restore the Duchy’s finances. Together they did sponsor the arts, however, and in particular stressed learning, improving the University of Parma and founding a College of the Nobility which encouraged Parmesan noble sons to become useful servants of the state by studying law, languages or mathematics. When the War of the Spanish Succession broke out in 1702, Duke Francesco managed to keep his states neutral, though they were occupied by Austrian troops led by Prince Eugene of Savoy, and towards the end of the war he was forced to recognise that his duchies were now fiefs of the Empire, no longer vassals of the Papacy. Seeing that neither he nor his brother Antonio had sons, both Vienna and Rome hoped to incorporate Parma and Piacenza into their domains. But in 1714, Francesco and Dorothea Sophia played their one remaining trump card—in an effort to stave off absorption into the Austrian domains—and married off Princess Elisabetta to King Philip V of Spain, a Bourbon and thus a rival of Austria. She changed her name to the more Spanish Isabel and soon became a crucial part of Philip’s reign, as a strong-willed princess able to counteract his increasing depression and mental instability.

Francesco, Duke of Parma and Piacenza

In 1718, the Treaty of London was signed between Austria, Spain, Britain, France and the Dutch, who all recognised that Isabel Farnese was the heiress of Parma and Piacenza (and in fact of Tuscany too, via her Medici great-grandmother), with the assumption that these territories would be given to her eldest Bourbon son, the Infante Carlos of Spain.

Isabel Farnese, Queen of Spain, with her son Infante Carlos

In February 1727, Duke Francesco died and was succeeded by his brother Antonio, a prince of a very different character. Forbidden from living a life of parties and luxury by his austere brother and sister-in-law, he had lived for years at his country house, the Rocca di Sala, another of those country seats taken from the feudal nobility by Duke Ranuccio I back in 1612. The Sanvitale family had held the fief of Sala, a few miles southwest of Parma, since the mid-thirteenth century, and had built the Rocca as their residence in the fifteenth century (when their fief was elevated by the Duke of Milan into a county). In the seventeenth century it served as one of many hunting lodges for the Farnese family, and in 1723, Antonio decided to make it his seat, which he enlarged and renovated. As duke, he continued to reside there, reviving the more extravagant court of his father, with gambling and feasting late into the night, living openly with is mistress Countess Margherita Bori Giusti.

Antonio Farnese, Duke of Parma and Piacenza
the Rocca di Sala, Duke Antonio’s country seat

Duke Antonio’s first minister convinced him to marry, which he did in July 1727, to a local Este princess, Enrichetta, daughter of the Duke of Modena. But his health was terrible—morbidly obese, like his cousin Gian Gastone, the last Grand Duke of Tuscany—and there was little chance of a child. Yet his niece Queen Isabel, concerned for her son’s agreed inheritance, arranged with France and Spain in 1729 to permit the stationing of 6,000 Spanish troops in Parma to safeguard it from Austrian ambitions. Duke Antonio renounced the Emperor’s recent claims to suzerainty, which prompted an amassing of Imperial troops on the frontiers with Milan. When Antonio suddenly died in January 1731, Austrian troops swiftly moved in and convinced Duchess Enrichetta that she was pregnant, to forestall the claiming of the Duchy by the Infante Carlos of Spain. She reigned in Parma in the name of her unborn child, while the indomitable Dowager Duchess Dorothea Sophia pressed for her to be examined to determine if she was really pregnant. In September the fallacy was revealed, so Austria, humiliated, agreed to allow Carlos to move in—though he had to formally recognise his status as an Imperial vassal. The Dorothea Sophia was named regent, and Enrichetta was kept under house arrest until she, under force, returned the ducal crown jewels. Nine years later she remarried, a German prince from Hesse-Darmstadt, and she moved away.

Enrichetta d’Este, Duchess of Parma

The House of Farnese passed into history. Isabel Farnese, Queen of Spain, lived for many more years, surviving her husband Philip V by twenty years, and dying in retirement at the Palace of Aranjuez in 1766. Her son Carlos—now Carlo in Italian—became much more than just duke of Parma and Piacenza. Only a few years after taking up the reins in his Italian duchies, he marched south and easily ousted the Austrians from the kingdoms of Naples and Sicily and declared himself king. His younger brother, Infante Felipe, would later be installed as duke of Parma (1748), while he himself succeeded his older half-brothers as King of Spain, as Carlos III, in 1759. His descendants would continue Isabel Farnese’s line in Spain, but also established a separate line in Naples; his brother’s descendants continued to rule in Parma and Piacenza until they were overthrown during the Risorgimento in 1859. The Bourbon-Parma line continues to this day, as rulers of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (since 1964, though formally known as the House of Nassau-Weilburg), but also as extended members of the Dutch royal family (due to the marriage of Carlos Hugo, Duke of Parma, to Princess Irene of the Netherlands in 1964), and as Carlist pretenders to the Spanish throne. The Farnese family achieved what no other papal family had—not the Borgias, not the Barberinis—in securing an independent principality carved out of papal lands that endured for nearly 200 years.

Giglo Farnesi

A New Royal House for Denmark: Laborde de Monpezat

In the long and varied history of European monarchy there have always been aspirations by the families of dukes and princes to move up in rank into the world of royalty. There have been some great success stories, for example the princes of Orange forging a new monarchy in the Low Countries in the eighteenth century, or the princes of Liechtenstein and Monaco becoming royal simply by outlasting the demise of the old world when numerous other small principalities disappeared all across Europe in the early nineteenth century. Some tried to seize power from failing dynasties, like the Guise in France in 1589, on the basis of religion. But the most tried and true pattern for an aristocratic family to become royal was by marrying a royal heiress: several English families like the Howards or Dudleys tried to do this in the time of Elizabeth I; some German princelings married reigning queens and tsarinas in Sweden and Russia in the 18th century; but the most successful of all were the dukes of Saxe-Coburg who in the 19th century married heiresses in Great Britain and Portugal, but also established new dynasties in Belgium and Bulgaria. In the Netherlands, successive reigning queens in the 20th century have given rise to the potential of a new royal house, first of Mecklenburg—giving a royal boost to that ancient German ducal house—then Lippe-Biesterfeld, and then Amsberg. But by the 20th century, the idea of a royal family taking on a new name by marriage—or dynastic transfer—had gone out of fashion, and the House of Orange kept the name of its royal house, as did the House of Windsor when its heiress, Elizabeth II, married Philip Mountbatten (Battenberg)—who, as we have seen in previous blog posts, was in fact a prince of the House of Oldenburg, which brings us to Denmark.

The dukes of Oldenburg themselves gained the royal throne of Denmark in 1448, along with Norway and Sweden (for a time) by marriage to the heiress (ultimately) of Queen Margrete I. This dynasty made an attempt at taking over the British monarchy in the late 17th century, with the marriage of Queen Anne to Prince George of Denmark, but none of their many children survived to generate a new royal house. In the 18th century, however, a junior branch of the Oldenburgs (Holstein-Gottorp) did re-generate royal lineages in Sweden and Russia, and in the mid-19th century they added the throne of Greece, and since 1905, that of Norway. Quite a success by dynastic standards.

Margaret I, Queen of Denmark, Norway and Sweden (from her tomb in Roskilde Cathedral in Denmark)

So although the royal family in Denmark will continue to call itself the House of Oldenburg (or more specifically, the House of Glücksburg, one of its junior branches), if we look at it from a pre-modern dynastic point of view, the new royal house in Denmark after Queen Margrethe II’s abdication in January 2024 should become the House of Laborde de Monpezat. This exotic-sounding French surname sounds potentially very grand, as it might fit amongst the numerous houses of dukes and princes featured on this website. It does not—but nonetheless, it does have an interesting history in France’s deep, deep south: Béarn, the land of France’s beloved Gascon king, Henri IV.

Béarn was itself a semi-sovereign principality, ruled by its own princely family from the early Middle Ages until it was merged with the royal House of Navarre in the 1430s, and then the royal House of France itself, the Bourbons, after 1589. It is a rustic country, still today, nestled in the valleys of the Pyrenees and known for its cows, cheeses and Catholic pilgrimage sites. A few valleys over from its capital, the city of Pau, was an estate known as Monpezat. In 1648, the heiress of this estate, Catherine d’Arricau, married a local doctor, Jean de Laborde. The Laborde family were a family of jurists and professionals originally from a village a few miles upriver from Pau, Nay. Perhaps they took their name from another nearby village, Bordes, or from one a bit further away (in the neighbouring county of Bigorre), Laborde, both of which take their name from an ancient Béarnaise word for farm.

the village of Laborde in the Pyrenees
Welcome to Monpezat–watch for cows!

Like many families of the newly emerging ‘middle class’ of the 17th century, the Laborde family wanted to enrich their lineage with the acquisition of a noble fief. This would bring status and prestige, but also certain legal privileges like exemptions from some taxes, and a stronger legal voice in the local assemblies or ‘estates’. Jean and Catherine’s eldest son, Vincent, was entered into a local company of musketeers, another clear sign of the family’s aspirations to noble status, since it was the nobility who traditionally fought in wars and served in elite regiments like the King’s Musketeers. Some of the greatest musketeers in French history have come from this region, including the most famous of them all, d’Artagnan. But this was also precisely the same time period when the Kingdom of France was cracking down on the assumption of noble titles by non-noble people, particularly those who hoped to obtain privileges by acquiring (by purchase or by marriage) a noble fief. So when the family Laborde applied to sit in the Second Order (the nobility) in a seating of the local estates of Béarn in the early 18th century, their request was turned down.

the Castle of Pau, meeting place of the Estates of Béarn

As the 18th century went on, brides came with surnames like de Canet, Cazenave and du Boy, all potentially noble sounding, and the men followed mixed professions as before, some military, some more bourgeois like mayor and wine-seller. In the early 19th century, Charles de Laborde de Monpezat and his brother Jean are both described as négociants, merchant-traders. Charles was also an official with the public treasury of the city of Agen, a bit to the north in Aquitaine, while Jean was also the mayor of their hometown, Taron (in Béarn, not far from Monpezat). The next generations were the same: Philippe and his brother Aristide are both listed in family genealogies as landowners, merchants, and officials in local government. Aristide (1830-1888) rose higher, as the President of the Tribunal of Commerce of Pau, then Mayor of Pau in 1875. Their sister Amélie became the Mother Superior of a house of the Filles de la Charité, founded by St Vincent de Paul, first in Aix (Provence), then in Lyon. Daughters in the next generation solidified the family’s links with the professional legal class of the south of France, with one daughter married to a president (or senior judge) of the tribunal court of Bordeaux. Like many of their contemporaries, some of these used the title ‘Count’ to boost their social status, but with no genuine legal basis.

In the 20th century, the family de Laborde de Monpezat took an interesting turn, but again, not an unusual one, in that the future for social advancement was within the administrative hierarchy of the French colonial empire (as it was for the British Empire). Philippe’s daughter Julie married a fiscal administrator in French Indochina, possibly inspiring her cousin, Henri, son of Aristide, to pursue a similar career. He was also stimulated by a devastating infestation of grape-loving pests (phylloxera) that struck the vineyards of France in the late 19th century. Henri (d. 1929) became the director of a newspaper in Indochina and eventually delegate of the province of Annam-Tonkin (modern northern and central Vietnam) to the Superior Council of the Colonies (which existed as a French government department until 1935). His son André (d. 1998) looked after his family’s business interests in Vietnam in the 1930s-50s, then returned with his family to France as Indochina began its struggle for independence.

André’s son, Henri, although born in Bordeaux (in 1940), spent much of his childhood in Vietnam, was sent to France for early schooling in Cahors, but returned to Vietnam to complete his high school education, then back to France to study law and political science at the Sorbonne and Chinese and Vietnamese at the French school for East Asian Languages. He became a diplomat, and served in the embassy in London in the 1960s, then met and soon married the heir to the throne of Denmark, Princess Margrethe. Upon their marriage in 1967, he was created a Prince of Denmark, and changed his name to Henrik (and became a Lutheran, which apparently ruffled some feathers in the family).

Princess Margrethe meets the family Laborde de Monpezat

Princess Margrethe had originally not been the designated heir to the Danish throne, as the King her father (Frederick IX) had a younger brother, Prince Knud, who was assumed to be the next in line—indeed, in one of the longest unbroken lines of patrilineal succession in European royal history (back to 1448, though with a bit of a hiccup in 1863). In 1953, the Danish Act of Succession was modified to allow for female succession, meaning Knud and his two sons were now placed lower in the line of succession, after the King’s three daughters. Both of these sons, Ingolf and Christian, married in the last years of the reign of King Frederick IX without obtaining royal permission, so gave up their dynastic rights and took the new title, Count of Rosenborg. It wasn’t until the 1990s that the Danish Crown formally permitted marriage of a royal to a commoner without losing their status (and indeed, neither of Margrethe’s sisters married ‘unequally’), so it is a sleight of hand that Henri de Laborde’s family’s use of the title ‘Count’ seems to have allowed Margrethe to have slipped past this issue in 1967, when her cousins could not, in their marriages of 1968 and 1971.

Henri and Margrethe visit France in 1966

The rest of the story of the marriage of Prince Henrik and Queen Margrethe II (who succeeded her father Frederick IX not long after her marriage, in 1972) is fairly well known, and it was not always smooth sailing. Like many consorts of female sovereigns, Henrik struggled to find a place ‘three steps behind’ his wife, and sometimes pressed for more—for example, asking for formal recognition of his surname as part of the royal name (as Prince Philip also pressed for in England, and somewhat obtained with the name ‘Mountbatten-Windsor’ being adopted for junior royals), and the more elevated title of Prince-Consort, which he was finally given in 2005. In 2008, his sons Frederik and Joachim, princes of Denmark, were given the additional title Count of Monpezat. Prince Henrik died content with this in 2018.

the coat of arms of Prince Joachim of Denmark, with Denmark as a background and a smaller escutcheon made up of Oldenburg (left) and Monpezat (right)

Then in 2023, the Queen decided that the sons of Prince Joachim (and their descendants) would be counts of Monpezat only, which surprised (and offended) many, but is seen as very much in line with all of today’s European royal houses ‘slimming down’ in order to better accommodate themselves with modern values. One might argue, purely academically, that regardless of the Queen’s decision, his male-line descendants could still also call themselves duke of Oldenburg and duke of Schleswig-Holstein, but since dukedoms of the old Holy Roman Empire were always restricted to male-line succession, these in fact now only could be claimed by Ingolf of Rosenborg (who has no sons), and by another line of Counts of Rosenborg, more distant cousins (descendants of a younger son of Frederick VIII).

Count Ingolf of Rosenborg

Like his wife, Prince Henrik was passionate about the arts, and about their family’s summer home at Cayx. Purchased as a summer retreat, far from the glare of cameras and his wife’s royal duties in Copenhagen, the Château de Cayx was purchased by the couple in 1974, not far from lands already owned by his family for generations, in the picturesque valley of the Lot, downriver the city of Cahors in Aquitaine. The castle had been built in the 14th century, and passed through several hands, undergoing many renovations.

the chateau of Cayx in Southern France

Amongst its 18th-century inhabitants were the famous brothers,  Jean-Jacques Lefranc de Pompignan, a philosophe and writer in the Enlightenment, and Jean-Georges, Archbishop of Vienne, whose liberal beliefs convinced him to lead the great movement of members of the clergy into the Third Estate at the Estates General of 1789. He then served briefly as President of the new National Assembly (4 to 19 July 1789—pretty crucial dates!), and was appointed one of Louis XVI’s ministers of state in August.

Cayx has once more become a flourishing centre of wine production, and will serve as a base for the newly reinvigorated, now royal, house of Laborde de Monpezat. with roots deep in the Béarnaise countryside. Vive le roi! Vive le roi, Frédéric X!

Frederick as Crown Prince of Denmark
buvez bien!

Cantemir Princes in Moldavia and Russia

Sometimes a princely family rises in prominence from fairly humble origins, burns brightly, then disappears. Often this occurs in zones of conflict between great powers, where huge opportunities can be seized by the bold or the crafty. One such family were the Cantemir, ruling princes of Moldavia, then princes of the Russian Empire. Their dynastic history lasts just over one hundred years. They are also interesting in the history of European dukes and princes in that they were—or at least claimed to be—descendants of Mongol khans.

Prince Dmitrie Cantemir, whose portrait blends east and west

The last three decades of the 17th century was a remarkable period for the Balkan provinces, including Moldavia, a semi-autonomous province of the Ottoman Empire since the late 15th century, as the balance of power between the Christian West and the Muslim East began irretrievably to shift. The first significant defeat of the previously undefeatable armies of the Ottoman Empire, at the siege of Vienna in 1683, was followed by wave after wave of victories led by Habsburg armies, liberating Buda and Belgrade by 1689, and reincorporating the Principality of Transylvania with the Kingdom of Hungary by 1699 (see blog about Transylvanian princes). Further south, the principalities of Wallachia and Moldavia remained vassals of the Turks, but a new stirring of Romanian nationalist consciousness was awakened, and a new protector from the far north began to emerge: Orthodox Russia.

the three Romanian provinces in the 17th century

One family at the heart of this transformation was the House of Cantemir or Cantemirești. Their time as leaders of Moldavia was fairly brief, but more broadly they were central to this awakening of Romanian and Orthodox identities, as patrons of an emerging Moldavian nationalist literature, and as protected clients of the Russian Empire. They patronised one of the first translations of the Bible into Romanian, for example, and wrote one of the first scholarly histories of the land and its people. Yet they also worked very hard to establish an identity for themselves that was quite different from Romanian or Moldavian, perhaps to position themselves more securely on the international and diplomatic stage as an important family with excellent connections, able to act as middlemen between Ottomans and Russians. Moldavia (today’s Moldova) had to wait until the 19th century to be liberated from Turkish rule—half of it was incorporated into the Russian Empire in 1812, while the rest was joined to a newly independent Romania in the 1860s.

the Cantemir coat of arms (augmented after their move to Russia)

Modern genealogical research has established that the Cantemir family originated in Moldavia in the early 16th century, in the area of the hamlet of Silișteni (recently re-named Dimitrie Cantemir), just west of the river Prut, the river that today divides independent Moldova from the Romanian province of Moldavia. Yet the established family tradition, put forth as early as the first years of the 18th century, was that the family were of Tatar origin, descendants of Tamerlane.

Timur (d. 1405), or ‘Timur the Lame’ as he was known to Europeans, was a Mongol khan who founded a great empire in Central Asia and whose descendants dominated both the Persian and Mughal empires for the next three hundred years. The Tatars were kin to the Mongols—both groups were a complex mix of Mongolic and Turkic language and culture—and with the disintegration of the Khanate of the Golden Horde in the 15th century, several Tatar khanates emerged in the areas around the lower Volga and north of the Black Sea. One of these, the Crimean Khanate, remained a powerful force well into the 18th century, though from 1475 they were formally vassals of the Ottomans, just like the Christian princes of the Balkans. This area was known to European writers as ‘Tartary’.

Demetrius Cantemir, in his History of the Growth and Decay of the Ottoman Empire—a book he wrote about 1715, and which was eventually translated and published in England (1734)—said himself that his surname was derived from can-temur, the ‘blood of Timur’. Other sources suggest an ancestor called ‘Khan Temir’. Why choose this as a family’s ancestor? In the early 18th century, Tamerlane was an incredibly popular figure in theatre and opera, and represented the oldest enemies of the Ottoman Turks—a factor perhaps the author thought might bring him favour at the Russian court. Demetrius suggested that a warrior named Cantemir from the Crimea moved to Moldavia to aid the army of Prince Stephen the Great (r. 1457-1504) in his fight against the Turks. Indeed, Cantemir does not appear to be a Moldavian name. The idea of Tatar origins had emerged earlier in Demetrius’ career, when he was in service of the Ottomans, perhaps as a qualification to allow him to serve as a diplomat to the Crimean Khan, but later, once he had sought asylum in the Russian Empire, playing up a claim to having Tatar origins may have been a strategy to obtain princely rank, as there was already a precedent for the nobility from former sovereign Tatar and Mongol dynasties being recognised as princes once they were annexed by Russia. Yet Prince Demetrius Cantemir also considered himself to be thoroughly Moldavian, and his children added another dynastic layer, the idea of Byzantine ancestry through their Cantacuzene mother. Whatever the truth of their origins, the facts show that by the early 17th century, the family were minor boyar landowners on the middle Prut valley, not too far south of the principality’s capital, Jassy.

an engraved image of Jassy (modern Iași)

The first to bear the name Cantemir for certain was Constantine (‘the Old’) (1612-1693) who served as a mercenary in the Polish army fighting against Tatars and Swedes. From the 1660s, he switched allegiances and served in the Ottoman armies against Austria. He rose to become governor of a town, then prefect of a district back in Moldavia, and in 1681 was named Grand Sommelier to the Prince of Moldavia (Gheorghe Duca). He married three times, each time to a cousin of the reigning prince, and mostly to grand heiresses, so by the 1680s he was a very wealthy man, and respected by both Moldavian high nobility and the Ottoman authorities. Indeed, in 1672 and 1676 he served as a personal guide to Sultan Mehmet IV in his campaigns against the Poles. Due to these personal connections in both Jassy and Istanbul, Constantine Cantemir was chosen by the boyars to be Prince of Moldavia in 1685 (age 73, hence the nickname ‘the Old’), soon confirmed by the Sultan. His older son, Antiochus, was sent to the Sultan’s court to ‘ensure loyalty’, and when the Poles invaded the Balkans in 1686 and 1691, Prince Constantine assured them of his Christian faith, but did not betray his master the Sultan. Yet in 1690, he did make a secret treaty with Emperor Leopold, saying that if the Austrians could successfully occupy his principality, he would submit to Imperial authority, in return for confirmation that his son would succeed to his throne.

Constantin and Antioch Cantemir

In March 1693, old Prince Constantine Cantemir died, and the boyars chose as prince of Moldavia his second son, Demetrius (age 19), since the elder son was still in Istanbul. His reign lasted only three weeks, as the Sultan objected and replaced him with Constantine Duca. Demetrius (Dimitrie in Moldavian) was ordered to move to Istanbul where he would remain as a ‘guest’ for the next seventeen years. Here he lived in the Moldavian residence, the Boğdan Saray (or Bogdania Palace), in the northeast quarter of the city—the Greek Orthodox district of Phanarion, today’s Fener, near the great western wall. Built in at least the 14th century (possibly the 12th) Bogdania Palace remained a residence for Christian diplomats to the Ottoman Empire until it was mostly destroyed by fire in the 1780s, and was completely in ruins by the end of the 19th century.

Bogdania Palace or the palace of Demetrius in Constantinople (Istanbul)
some walls of the Bogdania Palace photographed in the 19th century

Back in 1695, Demetrius’ brother Antiochus (Antioh in Moldavian) became Prince of Moldavia, and established his rule in the capital of Jassy. Demetrius thus acted as his brother’s agent in Istanbul (and a willing hostage to ensure loyalty). The treaty of Karlowitz (1699) between the Austrians and the Ottomans was a major humiliation for the Turks, so in retrenching their power in the Balkans, Prince Antiochus Cantemir was replaced in 1700—but he was restored in 1705, then deposed again in 1707, and also brought to live in Istanbul.

a commemorative stamp from Moldova for Prince Antioh Cantemir

While Demetrius was in Istanbul, several marriages were proposed for him by the Sultan: a Brancovan, a Mavrocordatos, but in 1700 he married Cassandra, daughter of a former Prince of Wallachia, Serban Cantacuzeno (d. 1688). The Romanian Cantacuzeno family claimed descent from the noble Byzantine house of Kantakouzenos (who contributed two emperors in the 14th century), and Prince Serban had reputedly made plans for allying with the West, marching on Constantinople, and claiming the Byzantine throne. This marriage alliance would certainly boost the prestige of the new Cantemir dynasty. Demetrius engaged with the local Orthodox scholarly community in Istanbul, studied their art and literature, and became a musician and composer too, Stating on good terms with the Ottomans, he also became one of the few Christians who was an accepted part of the artistic patronage network of the Sultan, Ahmed III, and a welcome visitor to his court.

In 1710, perhaps due to this closeness and trust, Sultan Ahmed appointed Demetrius once more as Prince of Moldavia. War was about to start, this time from a different direction: the north. While peace with Austria and Western Europe had been established in 1699, the Russian Empire, led by a young and vigorous Tsar Peter I, was just getting started as an aggressive military power. Peter dreamed of re-establishing an Orthodox monarchy on the Bosporus, and, having defeated his great northern enemy, Sweden, at the Battle of Poltava in 1709, was now ready to fight for this dream in the south. Probably due to this external threat, Demetrius as Prince of Moldavia was given extra distinctions than his predecessors had been, for example, the title of pasha with three queues (rather than the ordinary two); an expensive and honorific caftan made of many colours and gold and silver thread; and an exemption from the usual tributes and gifts demanded by Ottoman overlords. So he returned to Jassy. Here he tried to establish a more authoritarian rule over the boyars, and tried to get the rich monasteries to support the war financially. But an intellectual reformer was not received well in conservative Moldavia, and his attempts were mostly blocked.

another Moldovan commemorative stamp, this one of the reign of Prince Demetrius fighting for independence of Moldavia, 1710-1711

War was declared by Russia in February 1711. In April, Prince Demetrius surprised everyone by signing his own separate treaty with Tsar Peter: Russia would agree to liberate Moldavia and support a hereditary ruler there (with expanded borders and no tribute to Russia); but also would protect Cantemir and his family if the invasion was unsuccessful, and would grant him lands and palaces in Russia equivalent to those he would certainly lose in the Ottoman domains. It was a great gamble. In early June, Russian troops entered the principality, and by the end of the month, Demetrius declared war on the Sultan. Peter himself came to Jassy and was entertained by Demetrius and his court. But the Moldavian army was small, and only the Russian avant-garde had arrived and was quickly surrounded by the massive Ottoman army and its Crimean Tatar allies. The allied Russo-Moldavian troops were crushed at Stănilești on the Prut on the 22nd of July. Peter made a quick treaty with the Sultan (a humiliation, losing the great prize, the port of Azov), and whisked Prince Demetrius away—some said he was hidden in the carriage of the Empress Catherine.

In August, Peter accorded his new ally, and now protected refugee, the title ‘Prince of Russia’ (with the rank of ‘Serene Highness’), augmented his coat-of-arms with a Russian double-headed eagle, and pledged to return one day to Moldavia to restore his throne. He was soon given the estates confiscated from a Russian traitor near Kharkov (and promised tax exemptions on these lands), and was given the task to rebuilt that city (now Kharkiv in northeast Ukraine). This estate of about 57 villages (and 15,000 serfs) was centred on the estate of Komarichoia, on the main road between Kiev and Moscow. Here the Prince built a wooden manor, a mill and a Romanian Orthodox church in a village he renamed for himself,  Dmitrovska (later called Dmitrovsk; now in Russia according to today’s borders). Prince Demetrius also was given an estate at Solomino (on the Donets, to the east). A small colony of Moldavians was formed, consisting of about 4,000 soldiers, boyars and administrators who had accompanied Demetrius and still considered him their hospodar, or prince (the Tsar allowed him to exercise jurisdiction over these people). But after about a year, most of these returned to Moldavia, and Demetrius was ordered to move to Moscow. The family was given a stone residence in Moscow (a big deal in a city still mostly built of wood), and the Prince built a new Romanian style church which would become the family sepulchre. His sons were soon given positions in the Russian court and in the prestigious Preobrazhensky Guard. Their integration process into the Russian aristocracy had begun.

Prince Demetrius Cantemir re-fashioned as a Russian prince

But there remained hope of a return to Moldavia: in 1716, the Austrians defeated the Ottomans, and Demetrius’s brother-in-law, Gheorghe Cantacuzeno, defected to the Austrian camp. Prince Cantemir tried to get Tsar Peter to grant him a passport (and funds) to go raise an army of support in the Balkans, but his request was denied, and by 1718, the Austrians made a new peace treaty.

By this point, Peter the Great’s interests were focused on building his ‘window to the west’, the new city of Saint Petersburg, and Prince Demetrius Cantemir was not far behind. He purchased an estate a bit to the south of the new city, Chornye Griazi, which later, in the 1770s, was purchased by Catherine II and transformed into the Imperial summer residence town of Tsarskoe Selo. In the newly emerging city, the Prince built a small wooden house on the banks of the Neva, which he replaced in 1720/21 with a grand palace of marble, one of the first Russian commissions for the Italian architect Francesco Rastrelli (later famous for Smolny Cathedral and the Winter Palace). This residence was built next to the Summer Palace, so was one of the most in-demand sites (in what later became known as ‘Millionaire Street’) and therefore passed through many hands, purchased first by Catherine the Great in 1762, then remodelled by later owners in the 19th century before becoming—perhaps ironically—the Turkish Embassy in the years leading up to the First World War. This was a busy period for Prince Cantemir as an intellectual—he wrote twelve books between 1711 and 1723, mostly histories of Romania and the Ottoman Empire. He was elected as a member of the Academy of Berlin in 1714.

Cantemir Palace in Saint Petersburg

In 1720, Demetrius married for a second time, Princess Anastasia, daughter of Prince Ivan Trubetskoi, one of the inner circle of Peter the Great. He shaved his beard and adopted Western dress. He tried to use his great favour with the Tsar to hatch a plan to rescue his brother Antiochus from Istanbul, with French naval assistance, but Peter was not interested in provoking the Sultan again. In 1721, Cantemir was named a Privy Councillor and Senator of the Empire, and it is suggested by some historians that it was in this capacity as Senator that he proposed the idea of formally recognising Peter as ‘Emperor’ (which they did in November). This was his way of gently reminding Peter that his true destiny lay in reconquering Constantinople and restoring the Orthodox faith (and his own principality). At the about this time, the Holy Roman Emperor recognised (or created) Prince Cantemir as a prince of the Empire—perhaps as a means of encouraging an alliance with Russia and intervention in this Balkans against the Ottomans. Indeed, in May 1722, a large Russian army did march out, and headed south, but not to the Bosporus; Peter intended to subdue the region north of the Caucasus Mountains, and Demetrius was brought along as a special advisor and interpreter—and a composer of propaganda messages in courtly Turkish to be distributed amongst the local chiefs. The Russian troops had some successes in Dagestan, but were blocked by the Persian governor in Baku, and soon returned north. By the end of the campaign, Prince Demetrius was very ill; he retired to his estates at Dmitrovka where he died in August 1723.

Anastasia Ivanovna, Princess Cantemir

Demetrius Cantemir’s will was very confusing, leaving the choice of the main heir to Emperor Peter, who died before he could make it. It wasn’t until 1729 that the court confirmed the eldest son, Constantine (1703-1747), as the heir. He was already in favour, having been married since 1727 to Princess Anastasia Golitsyna, daughter of the minister-favourite of Emperor Peter II. The youngest son, Antiochus (1708-1744), instead became the intellectual heir of his father, and went on to establish his name across Europe as a member of the Enlightened ‘Republic of Letters’. He supported Empress Anna Ivanovna in her coup against the old aristocracy in 1730, and in 1731 was appointed ambassador to London (aged only 22!—it is possible he was in fact being sent away from the court, as someone who had witnessed the secrets of the coup). In London he helped bring about a new treaty of friendship between Great Britain and Russia in 1734, and was gradually pulled towards making similar efforts in Paris (where tensions were heating up with Russia over Poland), though he was not formally ambassador there until 1738. Antiochus Cantemir’s job was to secure France’s recognition of his master’s title of ‘emperor’ (which they refused to do), and to keep France from allying with the Ottomans if a new war broke out.

young Prince Antiochus Cantemir

A new war did break out between Russia and the Ottomans in 1739, and Russian troops entered Moldavia. With this army was Prince Constantine Cantemir, who was proposed as its new ruling prince. But once again, peace was soon brokered, Moldavia was returned to Ottoman rule, and the port of Azov returned to Russia.

In 1742, it was rumoured that Antiochus Cantemir was to be recalled from France, by the new empress (Elizabeth Petrovna), and named President of the Russian Academy, in recognition of his reputation as a writer. He is revered as one of the founders of modern Russian poetry, and left behind various publications of poetry and prose, re-edited his father’s historical works, and wrote an epic history of Peter the Great. He had indeed done very much to improve the view most westerners had of Russia. But instead of receiving this post, he was instead confirmed in his post as ambassador to France, then suddenly died in Spring 1744.

Prince Demetrius’ daughters also swiftly established themselves in Russian high society. Princess Maria is thought to have been a mistress of Peter I while he was on the Caucasus campaign of 1722/23 (and possibly had a child by him). Perceived as a threat by Peter’s wife Catherine, she was sent away from court, but later obtained posts as lady-in-waiting to Grand Duchess Natalia in 1727-28 (sister of Peter II) and to Empress Anna in 1730-31. She never married, but was a salon hostess in Saint Petersburg with her widowed step-mother. The much younger Princess Catherine (born in Russia in 1720) obtained a position at court as lady-in-waiting to Empress Elizabeth, and was a well-known beauty (known as ‘Smaragda’ (emerald), and an admired keyboardist. She eventually married Prince Dmitri Golitsyn in a grand ceremony at the Russian court, and went with him to Versailles where he was posted in the embassy and later named ambassador (1760). A year later he was posted as ambassador to Vienna, but she died in France before they departed.

The eldest brother, Prince Constantine, was also involved with the Golitsyn family: he married one (as we’ve seen), and was caught up in their disgrace when they tried to limit the powers of Empress Anna on her accession in 1730. He was exiled to Siberia for a time, then died childless in 1747, so the estates were divided between his surviving brothers Sergei and Matvei. Neither of these made much of a mark in Russian history, and neither had children, so in 1780, the Cantemir estates reverted to the Crown, and not to the descendants of Prince Antiochus (senior; who had died in Moldavia in 1726), who had finally come to Russia during the war of 1736-39.

Of these, Prince Constantine became a Russian general, and was succeeded by his son, Dmitri (1749-1820), a colonel who participated in yet another Russian occupation of Moldavia and Wallachia in 1768/74. In 1773, he was named head of the council to administer the region of Oltenia (part of Wallachia), but he left in disgrace and was later confined due to madness. He left no successors.

Today the family name lives on thorough the Russian town of Kantemirovka (in Voronezh Oblast; formerly known as Konstantinovka, named for Prince Constantine); and the town of Cantemir in Moldova (named as such in 1967), not to mention the town of Dimitrie Cantemir in the Moldavian part of Romania, as above. One of the daughters of General Constantine married a prominent Wallachian nobleman, and their descendants, who took the name Câmpineanu-Cantemir, were leaders of the liberal movement in Romania in the later 19th century. There was a Romanian film about Prince Demetrius in 1973, and occasionally, original works of Prince Antiochus turn on at antique book sales.

The de Beauharnais Dukes of Leuchtenberg and Princes Romanovsky: French? German? Russian?

Readers of this site will know by now that I am slightly obsessed with trans-national noble families that moved effortlessly across Europe in the 18th and 19th century, blissfully ignoring the boundaries of nationalism and attempting, in their way, to hold the continent together through kinship networks and cultural exchange. The recent new film Napoleon brought back into my mind the family of his lifelong love, Joséphine de Beauharnais, and the amazing, and very trans-national journey across Europe taken by her descendants—not his—in the century that followed. By the 1820s the Beauharnais were an adjunct part of the royal family of Bavaria, as dukes of Leuchtenberg. And by the 1840s they had been created Prince Romanovsky, again as sort of an additional dynastic branch, this time to the imperial family of Russia.

Josephine de Beauharnais, 1801, by François Gérard

Joséphine de Beauharnais was the grand progenitrix of this pan-European clan, though she did not live to see it. And she herself was only a Beauharnais by marriage. She was however, created a duchess in her own right (the strangely named duchy of Navarre, see below), as a consolation prize for being divorced from the Emperor Napoleon, so she does qualify for a place on the ‘Dukes and Princes’ blogsite. Her daughter too, Hortense de Beauharnais, was given a duchy, Saint-Leu, this time by the restored Bourbon regime after the fall of Bonaparte. There were thus two dukedoms in France before the titles in Germany or Russia were granted to the Beauharnais family; so let’s start in France.

Marie-Josèphe-Rose Tascher de la Pagerie, known as Rose or Marie-Rose in the days before she met Napoleon Bonaparte (who preferred to call her Joséphine), was born on the island of Martinique in the Caribbean in 1763, to a wealthy owner of sugar plantations. Her father aspired to marry her up the social ladder, so in 1779 he arranged her marriage to the younger son of a former governor of their island, Alexandre, Vicomte de Beauharnais. The new couple started a life together in France, where he was serving in the army, and soon had two children, Eugène (1781) and Hortense (1783).

Alexandre’s family may have been socially superior on Martinique, but they were still relatively nouveau amongst the noble families of France, and he was not formally received at court, which irked him. His military career was also stunted somewhat since, by the time he arrived back in the Caribbean to help the French navy fight against the English in the American War of Independence, the war was over. Like many young noblemen, however, he did pick up dangerous new ideas about democracy percolating around in the New World at this time, and was an eager participant in the Estates General of 1789 as a delegate for the nobility of Blois. When the Revolution broke out that summer, Alexandre was one of the first nobles to join the Third Estate, and in the coming years he joined the Jacobin political club and sat twice as president of the National Constituent Assembly, in July/August 1791. A year later, Citizen Beauharnais re-joined the army, now as a general, and by 1793 was commanding the Army of the Rhine. Blamed for the loss of the city of Mainz, however, he resigned his commission and retreated to his family’s estates in the area south of the city of Orléans. But the long arm of the Terror reached him and in March 1794 he was arrested, blamed for the military failure in Germany and suspected of still harbouring subversive aristocratic tendencies… He was executed in Paris on 5 Thermidor of Year Two (ie, 23 July 1794). His wife Marie-Rose was also arrested, in April, and her life was spared only by the fall of the regime a mere five days after her husband’s death.

Alexandre de Beauharnais as a general

Alexandre’s ancestors, the Beauharnais family, were originally merchants in the city of Orléans—the first named is Guillaume, living in 1390, who was also lord of Miramion, an estate northeast of the city. His descendants expanded their landholdings with the lordships of La Chaussée (or La Chaussaye) and La Boëche, also near Orléans. By the end of the 16th century the family had become part of the noblesse de robe (the judiciary nobility), and held prominent provincial posts: François II (d. 1651) was First President in the Presidial Court of Orléans in 1598 and the King’s Lieutenant-General in the Bailliage of Orléans. He was selected to attend the Estates General of 1614. His son Jean raised the social profile of the family somewhat by acquiring a position at court, that of maître d’hôtel du roi in 1652, and in the next generation they secured their place in the capital as advocates in the Parlement of Paris. It was Jean’s grandsons, François and Charles, who really raised to the family closer to the top of the French aristocratic hierarchy, as prominent leaders of France’s new colony in the New World.

François de Beauharnais (b. 1665) became a protégé of a distant kinsman Jérôme Phélypeaux, Comte de Pontchartrain, who, as Minister of the Navy secured his appointment as Intendant of New France in 1702. The intendant was the civil administrator of the colony, second in command to the governor. François acquired land in Acadia (today’s New Brunswick) which was erected into a feudal estate (the barony of Beauville or Banville). After three years, he returned to France and was given the much more prestigious post of intendant of the Navy, then intendant of the district of La Rochelle until 1715, when he, as part of the Phélypeaux network, fell from royal favour. Meanwhile, his brother Charles had already been making a name for himself as a naval captain, and in 1716 married a rich widow, Renée Le Pays de Bourjolly, whose estates included sugar plantations in Saint-Domingue (today’s Haïti) in the Caribbean. By the mid-1720s, the Phélypeaux family were back in favour, and the new Minister of the Navy, the Comte de Maurepas, appointed Charles de Beauharnois (as it was often spelled then), Governor of New France (1726-46). His time as governor was spent trying to maintain the delicate balance between the British in Canada (in Ontario) and the various native regional alliances (the Abenaki, the Iroquois, the Sioux). This balance was disrupted by his brutal suppression of the Fox tribe (or Renards in French) in the region between lakes Superior and Michigan in the late 1720s. Governor Beauharnois solidified New France’s reach into this territory and much further west with a new fort (1727) on the upper reaches of the Mississippi: Fort Beauharnois (now in Minnesota). He also gave this name to his seigneurie, established in 1729 on the south side of the Saint Lawrence river, southwest of Montréal. The Seigneurie of Beauharnois was later sold when France lost control of Québec in the 1760s, but it remains today as a town and the seat of a county.

Charles de Beauharnois, Governor of New France

In 1744, the War of Austrian Succession spread to Canada, and Governor de Beauharnois tried to build up Quebec’s defences against a British attack. But at age 74, he was seen as too old to face this major challenge, and was soon recalled. Back in France he was named a lieutenant-general of the navy in retirement, and he died a few years later. Neither François nor Charles had any children, so their wealth and estates passed to their nephews, François and Claude-Joseph, the sons of their late younger brother Claude, who had himself been a naval captain in what was now a family tradition. The older brother, François, Baron de Beauville, likewise rose through the navy to become a squadron commander, and in 1757 was appointed Governor-General of the ‘Isles du Vent’, that is the Windward Islands in the Caribbean. This post covered all of the French possessions in the Antilles except the large island of Saint-Domingue, and was based in Martinique. He was the last to be called Governor-General—after 1763 each island was given its own governor. After his sons were born on the island, François returned to France where his newly acquired estate, La Ferté-Avrain in the Sologne region south of Orléans, was erected as a marquisate (1764) and renamed La Ferté-Beauharnais. The old medieval château here was mostly dismantled and a new house was built in a fashionable classical style. It would later be ruined during the Revolution and sold by the family in 1821.

François, Marquis de la Ferté-Beauharnais
Chateau of La Ferté-Beauharnais, as reconstructed in the 19th century

The new Marquis’ younger brother, Claude-Joseph, was also raised in rank, as Count of Les Roches-Baritaud, an estate he had purchased in the Vendée, the western portion of Poitou, near the Atlantic coast north of La Rochelle. He too was a captain in the French navy, and won a significant victory over the British off Lizard Point (Cornwall) in 1756. He died before the French Revolution broke out, but his wife ‘Fanny de Beauharnais’ lived on for many years, and flourished as a salonnière, a well-known writer of poems, plays and novels. They had three children, who would re-appear prominently in the Napoleonic regime: Anne as wife of General de Barral, and Claude as a Senator and Count of the Empire (likely due to the intervention of his cousin-in-law, Empress Joséphine), then as Chevalier d’honneur to Joséphine’s replacement, Empress Marie-Louise, in 1810.

the writer Fanny de Beauharnais

After 1794, Joséphine was a widow. Her late husband’s older brother, François, Marquis de la Ferté-Beauharnais, had remained an ardent royalist, in opposition to his own brother, then emigrated when things heated up in 1792. He joined the Army of Emigrés fighting against the new regime, and didn’t return to France until the amnesties of 1802—from abroad, he even tried to convince First Consul Bonaparte, via the Consul’s new wife (Joséphine), to use his position to restore the Bourbon monarchy. This suggestion fell on deaf ears of course, but in 1805 François was briefly given a chance to make his name in the new Empire, as ambassador to Tuscany, then to Spain. He failed to follow Napoleon’s orders in Spain, however, and was soon recalled and exiled to his estates. He died age 90 (!) in 1846.

So finally to Joséphine and her children by her first husband the Vicomte de Beauharnais. Without taking too much of a detour into the history of Napoleon Bonaparte, we can summarise the astonishing career of this minor nobleman from Corsica who became an artillery specialist and dazzled the leaders of the first French Republic in the 1790s, then led a coup to bring down those same leaders once it was clear their regime was corrupt and ineffective, revealed himself to be a genius military strategist and effective politician, then crowned himself Emperor of the French and founder of a new reigning dynasty for France in 1804. Along the way, he needed the social cachet provided to him by the widowed Vicomtesse de Beauharnais to gain entrée into Parisian high society, just as she needed him to remain relevant in a swiftly evolving political landscape. For the purposes of this blog about dynasty, it is her children who also brought value to her marriage to Napoleon, since, as any good Italian mama’s boy—and he was, as we see so well in the recent film, when his mother Letizia Ramolino took matters into her own hands to ensure her son’s ‘potency’—he was obsessed with creating a dynasty and ensuring his legacy. In the absence of a son of his own he tried to build up the profile of his brothers, to little effect—none but Lucien was really an effective leader, and they fell out over the idea of an imperial Bonaparte dynasty. And so Napoleon adopted Joséphine’s children, Eugène and Hortense, unofficially from the time of their marriage in 1796, and officially in 1806, shortly after the proclamation of the Empire.

Josephine as Empress of the French

Eugène de Beauharnais (b. 1781) began his apprenticeship to power in Italy as aide-de-camp to his new step-father in 1797, then the following year on campaigns in Egypt and Syria. When Napoleon was appointed First Consul, Eugène was named Captain of the Light Cavalry of the Consular Guard, 1800, and rose to the rank of general in 1804. That year the Empire was proclaimed, and Eugène was created a ‘Prince of France’, with the style of ‘Imperial Highness’, and soon after was appointed Arch-Chancellor of State, one of the seven ‘Grand Dignitaries of the Empire’ set up to demonstrate to Europe (and to other Frenchmen) that the Empire of the French had a magnificent court just like anyone else.

Eugène de Beauharnais in about 1800

The new Arch-Chancellor had also recently acquired his own grand residence in Paris, in one of the choicest locations in the city: the old Hôtel de Torcy, built by Louis XIV’s foreign minister in 1714 on the banks of the Seine between the Palais Bourbon and what is today the Musée d’Orsay. Set back from the quays somewhat, it had a marvellous garden overlooking the river. Eugène purchased it in 1803, remodelled it in the now ultra-fashionable Egyptian neo-classical style, and renamed it the Hôtel de Beauharnais. After the fall of the Empire, it would be purchased by the King of Prussia, in 1818, and it would serve as the embassy of Prussia, then Germany, until 1944; since 1968 it has been the residence of the German ambassador.

The Hôtel de Beauharnais on the river side
the Hôtel de Beauharnais on the streeet side, showing its ‘Egyptian’ portico (photo Jospe)

By this point, his mother Empress Joséphine also had a prominent residence of her own, the Château of Malmaison, purchased in 1799 and lovingly refurbished as the country seat of the First Consul then Emperor. Located on a bend of the river Seine about 7 miles west of Paris, Malmaison had been a dilapidated 17th-century country manor, and she transformed it into a palace, especially noted for its rose gardens. Since the early 20th century it has been property of the French state, and remains one of the best places to see the preserved ‘empire style’ of the era of the Empress Joséphine.

Malmaison (photo Pedro Faber)

An even more significant appointment came to Joséphine’s son Prince Eugène the next year: Napoleon returned to Italy and resurrected the ancient Kingdom of Italy (essentially Lombardy, but soon to include the Veneto too), crowning himself with the ancient Iron Crown in Milan in May 1805; he then left the Kingdom in the hands of his step-son Eugène as Viceroy. Eugène turned out to be a very good politician and administrator, keeping the peace (for a time) with the Papacy, carrying out a number of public building projects, and implementing the new Civil Code to align with that of France. As part of the extended Imperial family, he was used in the Emperor’s matrimonial chess manoeuvres, and was married in January 1806 to Princess Augusta of Bavaria, to secure France’s alliance with that key German state, which, in return, was recognised as an independent kingdom that same month. It was also in this same month that Eugène was formally adopted by the Emperor, and though it was made clear he was not heir to the French Empire, he was named heir to the Kingdom of Italy, should Napoleon fail to have a son. As a sign of this, and the addition of the Veneto to the Kingdom of Italy, he was created Prince of Venice, December 1807. Earlier in the year, he had given the Emperor his first Beauharnais grandchild, named Joséphine after her grandmother, and she was created Princess of Bologna, and later given further estates in that region and created Duchess of Galliera. It seemed the destiny of the Beauharnais dynasty was to be in Italy—perhaps ironically given the origins of the Buonaparti. The Prince of Venice earned his spurs on the battlefield in Italy too, as Commander of the Army of Italy in the War of the Fifth Coalition (1809), successfully defending the newly acquired Veneto provinces against the Austrians at the Battle of the Piave in June.

Eugène de Beauharnais as Viceroy of Italy

Hortense de Beauharnais (b. 1783) was raised to be part of the wider Bonaparte family too. She’d been educated at school with Napoleon’s sister Caroline, and in 1802—before the proclamation of the Empire and the systematic efforts of the Emperor to marry his siblings into the reigning houses of Europe—she was persuaded to agree to a marriage with her step-father’s younger brother Luigi. As Louis I, King of Holland, from June 1806, her husband was then sent to bring the Dutch into line with Napoleon’s grand European family alliance, and Hortense was forced to go with him. She grew to like her little court in The Hague and became popular with the Dutch. But she hated Louis, and within a year she returned to France, officially to recover her health after the death of a baby son. She revelled in holding the rank of queen in Paris, young and spirited, second only to her mother at the Imperial court.

Hortense de Beauharnais as Queen of Holland

Always in need of daughters—just as any French king needed them for diplomatic alliances—Napoleon incorporated another Beauharnais girl into the Imperial family in 1804, and gave her rooms in the Tuileries Palace. This was Stéphanie de Beauharnais (b. 1789), daughter of Hortense’s father’s cousin, Claude, Comte des Roches-Baritaud (see above). In 1806, she was created ‘Princess of France’, and like Eugène, she was deployed onto the martial chessboard to secure an alliance with one of the German princes, and married to Prince Karl of Baden, grandson and heir to the brand new Grand Duke of Baden. And like that of Hortense, her marriage it was not successful at first: he had little interest in her and lived in the capital, Karlsruhe, while she lived mostly in the old electoral palace in Mannheim. When he succeeded as Grand Duke of Baden in 1811, however, they came together with a common sense of dynastic duty: to produce a son. After three daughters, however, Grand Duke Karl died (1818), and Stéphanie spent a long widowhood—over 40 years—back in Mannheim. An interesting dynastic legacy was that through her daughter Marie-Amélie, who married the Duke of Hamilton, and in turn through her daughter, Lady Mary Victoria Douglas-Hamilton, the blood of the Beauharnais flows today in the house of Grimaldi in Monaco.

Stéphanie de Beauharnais, Grand Duchess of Baden

Matters took a sharp turn for all of the Beauharnais clan in January 1810, when Napoleon annulled his marriage to Joséphine so he might marry the Austrian Archduchess Marie-Louise. She retired to Malmaison, while Hortense was pushed aside as first lady of the court; after July of that same year, she wasn’t even the titular queen of Holland since that kingdom was abolished. Her life descended into scandal as she secretly gave birth to a son in Switzerland in 1811, named Charles Demorny, whose name apparently was ‘loaned’ by friends of Joséphine’s back in the French Antilles. Demorny’s actual father was the Comte de Flahaut, an aide-de-camp of General Murat, who was himself—it is supposed—the illegitimate son of the grand statesman Talleyrand. This uterine brother of the future Emperor Napoleon III would later in life re-enter politics and be elevated in rank as the ‘Duc de Morny’ (1862).

After her divorce, Joséphine was permitted to keep the title and rank of a crowned empress-queen and given a huge pension. She was created Duchess of Navarre, and given the estates of that name centred on a castle near Évreux, a town on the borders between the Ile de France and Normandy. The Château de Navarre had been built in the 1320s by the Queen of Navarre, Joan III, in the estates of her husband, a cousin of the royal family, Philippe, Count of Évreux. The castle passed with the county of Evreux back into the royal domain, and then in the 1640s into the possession of the La Tour d’Auvergne family, dukes of Bouillon, who rebuilt the château in the 1680s. It became property of the French state after the extinction of that family in 1801, then was acquired by the Emperor for his wife. The new Duchess of Navarre revived the château and spent time there to be far from the imperial court, quietly entertaining friends. After her death in 1814, she was succeeded in the duchy by Eugène and his sons, who sold the property in 1835; the castle was demolished. Later the Beauharnais family did put forward claims to the title ‘Duke of Navarre’ (in the 1850s), but the French government refused this as they were now seen as members of a foreign ruling house, so could not take the required oath to be a peer of France. The title was therefore considered extinct.

the Chateau de Navarre, painted in the early 19th century before its destruction

Also in 1810, a few months after the divorce, Eugène was named heir to another new state created by Napoleon, the Grand Duchy of Frankfurt, created out of the territories of the Imperial city of Frankfurt and the now secularised territories of the Archbishopric of Mainz. Its first grand duke was the last archbishop, Karl Theodor von Dalberg, who agreed that Eugène would succeed him when he died. Perhaps it was assumed that now that the Emperor had a new wife, a son would follow, who would be the proper heir to the Kingdom of Italy (as in fact happened, with the birth of the ‘King of Rome’ in March 1811). So it was best to get the growing Beauharnais family out of Italy—a son was indeed born to Eugène in 1810. As it happened, Dalberg ceded the Grand Duchy to Eugène before he died, in October 1813, but it was occupied by anti-Bonaparte forces in December, and by 1814 its territories were annexed by the Kingdom of Bavaria.

Despite the perceived great betrayal of his mother, Eugène de Beauharnais remained one of the most steadfast of all of Napoleon’s commanders—more so than most of the Bonapartes themselves, it has to be said. He led the Army of Italy to Russia in the epic campaign of 1812, then was left in command of the overall retreat, the army in tatters. He stayed loyal to his adoptive father in 1814, despite the defections of his father-in-law the King of Bavaria and his step-aunt Caroline Bonaparte and her husband Joachim Murat, the King and Queen of Naples. Eugène even fought against Murat’s Neapolitan troops near Parma, before he realised it was all over with the abdication of the Emperor in April. He retired to his father-in-law’s court in Munich, and renounced any further political activity. In particular, he did not support Napoleon during the Hundred Days (the attempt to restore the Empire, March to July 1815).

In contrast, Hortense, who had been warmly received by the restored King Louis XVIII in 1814, and even created Duchess of Saint-Leu in her own right, did support the Hundred Days, and was therefore banished from France after Waterloo. She settled at the Castle of Arenenberg, in the Swiss canton of Thurgau, on the banks of Lake Constance (purchased in 1817). In 1831, she would return to France with her son, Louis-Napoléon, in an attempt to overthrow the new government of King Louis-Philippe and restore a Bonapartist regime (Louis-Napoléon would eventually succeed in this goal, and became Emperor Napoleon III). Hortense was exiled again to Arenenberg where she died in 1837. This castle, originally built by a 16th-century mayor of the city of Constance, was eventually sold in the 1870s to the Canton of Thurgau which maintains it as a museum.

Hortense and her two sons, Napoleon-Louis and Louis-Napoleon (the future Napoleon III), c1811.
Arenenberg Castle, overlooking Lake Constance

The brief duchy-peerage of Saint-Leu had been based on an estate Louis Bonaparte purchased in 1804 in the northwest suburbs of Paris. It included a château from the 1690s that had briefly been owned by the Duke of Orléans and his mistress Madame de Genlis in the 1790s. Hortense received the estate when she separated from Louis in 1810 (though he himself took the title ‘Comte de Saint-Leu’ once he was no longer King of Holland), and she hosted several glittering fêtes here. But after the fall of the Empire, the house and estate was returned to its original owners, the Princes of Condé, cousins of the King—and after the shocking death, possibly by suicide, of the last Condé prince in the house, it was demolished in 1837 and the estate sold off. It is possible that young Louis-Napoléon could call himself ‘Duc de Saint-Leu’ in the peerage of France, but once he became emperor any claims to this title were absorbed back into the state.

the chateau at Saint-Leu

Meanwhile, Eugène de Beauharnais was swiftly incorporated into his wife’s family in Munich. In November 1817, he was created Duke of Leuchtenberg and Prince of Eichstädt, with the style of Royal Highness (since he had lost the style of Imperial Highness). He and his wife and children lived in the Palais Leuchtenberg in Munich, where the new Duke happily cultivated his art collection until his early death in 1824 at age 42. He lived just long enough, however, to see the first of his children re-enter the ranks of the highest levels of European royalty, when his daughter Joséphine married Prince Oscar Bernadotte (with equally French roots), heir to the thrones of Sweden and Norway. She became queen in 1844 and lived a long a full life in Stockholm.

The dukedom of Leuchtenberg had been an ancient imperial fief, originally a county (created 1158) held by an eponymous noble dynasty in the northeast quarter of Bavaria, near the mountainous borders with Bohemia. In the next generation the family von Leuchtenberg was raised to the rank of landgrave (a higher grade of count), and they maintained their semi-independence as holders of the largest secular fief within Bavaria until their extinction in 1646. The husband of the last heiress, Mechtild, was Duke Albrecht VI of Bavaria, youngest son of Duke Wilhelm V, so he was granted the landgraviate of Leuchtenberg in her name. But he soon ceded this to his brother Maximilian, the new reigning Duke of Bavaria, who in 1650 gave it to his son, Prince Maximilian Philipp and raised it to the rank of a dukedom. When this first Duke of Leuchtenberg died in 1705, the territory was absorbed into the Electorate of Bavaria. As a landgraviate it was given out once more by the Emperor in 1708 (during the War of Spanish Succession, when Bavaria was occupied), to the Austrian Lamberg family, in order to help them qualify fully as Imperial princes (since it was an immediate fief of the Empire); but it was returned to Bavaria at the end of the war in 1713. The castle of Leuchtenberg, one of the largest in what is called the Upper Palatinate, was built around 1300. It fell into disrepair after the extinction of its original dynasty in 1646, then was brought into a state of ruin by a major fire of 1842.

Leuchtenberg Castle (photo Monster4711)
Maximilian Philipp of Bavaria, 1st Duke of Leuchtenberg

The Principality of Eichstädt (today spelled Eichstätt) was, like Leuchtenberg, a former imperial fief that was added to the territories of the House of Bavaria—in this case much more recently. The small town nestled in the valley of the river Altmühl, about halfway between Munich and Nuremberg, had been the seat of an independent bishopric since the 8th century, and formally a principality of the Empire from 1305. It was the home of an important Jesuit college from the 1560s (and is still an important Catholic university in Germany). Like all of the ecclesiastical territories of the Holy Roman Empire, it was secularised in the last years of the Empire’s existence, in 1802, and its lands were annexed by the new Kingdom of Bavaria. It was re-created as a principality for Eugène and his descendants, with large estates, about 20,000 ‘subjects’, and several castles.

Eichstätt Residenz

The main residence of the family thus became the old episcopal palace in Eichstädt, built around 1700 (replacing an older medieval building). A short distance to the east was an episcopal hunting lodge (built about 1690), Schloss Hofstetten. Much closer to Munich and the royal court, the Leuchtenbergs were given a small castle called Ismaning, overlooking the river Isar northeast of the city. This had been the residence of the Prince-Bishop of Freising, whose lands were also secularised in 1802, and was rebuilt in a classical style by Eugène and his wife Princess Augusta. After the principality of Eichstädt was returned to the Bavarian Crown in 1833, Augusta remained at Ismaning, and after her death in 1851, it was sold. Later it was donated to the local municipality and today serves as the town hall.

Schloss Hofstetten
Schloss Ismaning (photo Octavian)

In Munich itself, Eugène and his wife were given a plot to build on across an open square from the Royal Palace (or Residenz)—this was a new district of the city, just outside the old city centre and new aristocratic palaces here were meant to embellish the very grand new boulevard of Ludwigstrasse. The finest architects were chosen and the Palais Leuchtenberg arose, with neo-Renaissance style in emulation of Roman palaces, and over 250 rooms, a ballroom, a chapel, and so on. After Augusta’s death, the palace was sold to her nephew, Prince Luitpold of Bavaria. Badly damaged in World War II, the ruins were acquired by the state and demolished. It was rebuilt in the 1960s, using the old plans, and today houses the Ministry of Finance.

the rebuilt Palais Leuchtenberg in Munich (photo Panoramafreiheit)

After Eugène de Beauharnais’ death in 1824, his son Auguste became the 2nd Duke of Leuchtenberg and Prince of Eichstädt—though he was only 14, so remained under the care of his mother and the rest of the Bavarian royal family. When he was 19, Auguste escorted his younger sister Amélie to Brazil where she became the second wife of Emperor Pedro I—and he was created Duke of Santa Cruz, in the peerage of Brazil (one of the few ducal titles connected to the New World; named for one of the imperial residences near Rio de Janeiro). Back in Europe, he was briefly considered a candidate for the new throne of Belgium in 1831, but not chosen. He had impressed his brother-in-law Emperor Pedro, however, and so in 1834 journeyed to Lisbon where the Emperor’s daughter (by his first marriage) had recently been installed as Queen Maria II. They married in December, and Auguste was created HRH Prince of Portugal. Sadly Auguste died only three months later. The familial link was maintained with Portugal, however, since the Empress Amelia had returned to Europe after the abdication of her husband in 1831, and she lived on in Lisbon until her death in 1873.

The Principality of Eichstädt was ceded back to the Bavarian Crown in 1833, but the Duchy of Leuchtenberg now passed to Eugène’s second son, Maximilien, again, still a teenager. When he was 20 his uncle the King of Bavaria sent him to Russia to take part in military manoeuvres. He was handsome and well-educated, and while he was there, attracted the attention of the Tsar’s daughter, Grand Duchess Maria Nikolaievna. They were wed two years later (1839) in Saint Petersburg, and were required to settle in Russia as Tsar Nicholas stated he could not bear to lose his favourite daughter. It was a love match, and Maximilian converted to Orthodoxy to satisfy the Russian court. In return, he was created Imperial Highness, and the couple was given a plot in Saint Petersburg a short distance from the Winter Palace where they could build a grand residence of their own. Finished in 1844, the Mariinsky Palace (or the ‘Palais Marie’ in French), across the square from St. Isaac’s Cathedral, became one of the major imperial residences and social gathering spots of the city. Today it is still a grand sight, and houses the Legislative Assembly of the City of Saint-Petersburg.

The Mariinsky Palace today (photo Geevee)

Now a Russian prince, Duke Maximilian of Leuchtenberg continued to pursue his passions, notably the study of mineralogy and the patronage of the fine arts. He became a member of the Academy of Sciences and President of the Academy of Arts in 1843. But his trips to survey mining operations in the Urals gave him tuberculosis and he died in 1852—the Beauharnais-Leuchtenberg men do not seem to live to great age! His widow Maria replaced her husband as President of the Academy of Arts—she remained an avid art collector and filled the Mariinsky with treasures. She raised her very young brood of children (the youngest, George, was only 9 months old) here and at their summer country estate Sergievka on the coast near Peterhof, where she and Maximilian had built the Palais Leuchtenberg shortly after their marriage.

Grand Duchess Maria with her two older sons, Nicolas and Sergei, 1850s
the Palais Leuchtenberg at Sergievka (photo Rasaddin)

But in 1854, Grand Duchess Maria secretly married her lover, Count Grigori Stroganov, and they moved abroad, settling in Florence from 1862. She had two more children and died in semi-disgrace in 1876. While this was going on, she sold the remaining estates of the family in Bavaria (1855). Her children were formally entitled Prince and Princess Romanovsky, to indicate their place in the Romanov family. They ranked as Serene Highnesses and their coat of arms was augmented with an imperial crown and placed against a Russian double-headed eagle. They were definitely Bavarians no more.

Beauharnais-Leuchtenberg arms as Princes Romanovsky: quarters starting in upper left are Leuchtenberg, Eichstadt, Beauharnais and something else pertaining to Bavaria (none of the heraldry websites specify–can anyone help?)

The new Duke, Nicholas (or Nikolai Maximilianovitch, Prince Romanovsky), was well placed to make a career on the European stage, related by blood or marriage to the royal families of Bavaria, Portugal, Sweden, and so on. In 1862, his cousin Otto of Bavaria, was deposed as King of Greece, and Nicholas was considered to replace him—as an Orthodox prince he was seen as a good candidate by the Greeks, but his Romanov blood made him suspect by the other Great Powers (notably Britain). It was a similar story when he was considered for the throne of Romania in 1866. Instead he followed his father’s footsteps and studied mineralogy, becoming the President of the Society of Mineralogy in 1865. In 1868, he fled Russia however, since his mistress Nadezhda Annenkova was pregnant. They wished to marry but she was denied a divorce from her first husband. It was a huge scandal. They married anyway, and lived abroad, where two sons were born, in Geneva and in Rome. They eventually settled in Bavaria at Schloss Stein (inherited from an aunt), until the Duke (alone) was restored to grace in 1877 and given a chance to resume his military career, as a lieutenant-general. Finally, in 1890, the marriage was recognised (as morganatic) and the sons were given the title Duke of Leuchtenberg, now a Russian creation (with the rank of ‘Highness’, ie not imperial or royal). The two boys, Nicholas and George, eventually did come from Bavaria to Russia, but not until after the deaths of their parents in 1891. We will return to them below.

Nicolas, 4th Duke of Leuchtenberg, Prince Romanovsky
The Upper and Lower castles at Stein, Bavaria (photo Schulleitung)

The full imperial and ducal titles thus passed to the second son, Eugene (Evgeny). Unlike his sisters, Maria and Eugenia, who had married ‘properly’ into other European ruling dynasties (Baden and Oldenburg), the 5th Duke of Leuchtenberg followed his brother’s example and married for love. In 1869, he married Daria Konstantinova Opotschinina, who was created ‘Countess of Beauharnais’ by the Tsar. They had one daughter, then Daria died. He remarried in 1878, his wife’s first cousin, Zenaïde (‘Zina’) Skobeleva, but had no further children. The 5th Duke was very close to the Tsar, as he had been raised within the Imperial family after the departure of his mother (Grand Duchess Maria) for Italy in the 1860s, and rose through the ranks of the army, as Division General in the Russo-Turkish Wars of the 1870s, retiring as a lieutenant-general in 1886. His rank at court was raised from Serene Highness to Imperial Highness in 1890 (the same year as his brother’s sons were denied a similar styling), and his wife’s rank was raised to ‘Duchess of Leuchtenberg’ as well. His daughter, also called Daria, Countess of Beauharnais, lived well into the 20th century, but on a return visit to Russia in the 1930s she was arrested and executed.

Eugene, 5th Duke of Leuchtenberg

After the death of Eugene, 5th Duke of Leuchtenberg and Prince Romanovsky, in 1901, these titles passed to his youngest brother, George. That same year, the new 6th Duke was considered, as now has been seen several times for this family, for a sovereign throne, this time the Kingdom of Serbia. Again his Russian blood was seen as both an asset and a problem, to different European powers, but his chances were boosted because he also had a Balkan wife, Princess Anastasia of Montenegro. Serbia had a coup in 1903, however, and the old dynasty was overthrown—the new king had a son and heir, so George of Leuchtenberg-Romanovsky was no longer needed. His marriage was also at an end, and in 1906 he and Anastasia divorced. He left her for a French mistress, and died in Paris in 1912. Anastasia remarried Grand Duke Nikolai Nikolaievich of Russia, a prominent imperial general and commander-in-chief of Russian forces at the start of World War I.

George, 6th Duke of Leuchtenberg

The 6th Duke’s elder son, Alexander, was born from a previous marriage, to Duchess Theresa of Oldenburg (who was herself already considered part of the Russian royal family, as her branch of the House of Oldenburg had moved to Russia at the very start of the 19th century). Alexander (or ‘Sandro’) was now 7th Duke of Leuchtenberg, and Captain of the Hussars of the Imperial Guard. In 1909 it was rumoured he was going to marry the daughter of US industrialist George Jay Gould, but nothing came of this. He did marry, in 1917, Nadezhda Carelli, but they had no children. Coming from one of the most connected princely houses in Europe, in March 1917, the Duke tried to get the British ambassador to Russia to help his Romanov cousins; then in 1918, he went to Berlin to seek aid from Wilhelm II. Neither of course was successful, and Sandro escaped to France where he settled in the Pyrenees near the southern border. He died there in 1942.

Alexander, 7th Duke of Leuchtenberg, as a young man

The 8th and last Duke of Leuchtenberg (of the Bavarian creation) and Prince Romanovsky (of the Russian creation) was the 6th Duke’s younger son (the child of Anastasia of Montenegro). As a young man, Sergei had been close to his step-father, Grand Duke Nikolai, served in the navy during World War I, and after brief capture by the Bolsheviks, participated in naval activities for the Whites in the Black Sea. He then settled in Rome. The 8th Duke never married and died in 1974, the last of the fully royal branch of the House of Beauharnais. His sister, Elena, had died in 1971, leaving as a widow Count Stefan Tyszkiewicz, from a Polish magnate family, who became a car designer in London. Their daughter, Countess Natalia, who died in 2003, was the last of the line. It would be interesting to know what, if anything, was left of the family fortune, whether she inherited any of it, and where it went after her death.

Sergei, 8th Duke of Leuchtenberg, Prince Romanovsky

We do know that much of the fortune, including the Beauharnais collection of artworks, if not the princely titles, had already passed from the 4th Duke to his morganatic sons. As noted above, the elder of these sons, Nicolas, re-created as duke of Leuchtenberg by the Tsar in 1890, returned to Russia, sold off his possessions in Bavaria, and purchased a new estate at Gory, near Novgorod, and a mansion in Saint Petersburg. He was a major-general in the famous Preobrazhensky Regiment, and fought in the First World War. After the Revolution, and brief involvement in the Whites (the royal counter-revolutionaries) in Ukraine, he settled in the south of France—where he took up once more the old family title of Marquis de La Ferté-Beauharnais—at the Château de Ruth, in the Vaucluse near Orange, where he grew grapes and produced wine until he died in 1928 (since 2010, these wineries have belonged to another proprietor).

Duke Nikolai Nikolaievich of Leuchtenberg, in costume for a ball, 1903

Brother George was also a captain in a Russian guards unit from the 1890s, and President of the Saint Petersburg Historical Society. After the Revolution, he settled at another old family property in Bavaria, the former monastery of Seeon, and wrote history books. He is perhaps best remembered as a host to Anna Anderson in the 1920s at Seeon, supporting her claims to be the lost Grand Duchess Anastasia, before she moved on to the United States. The former abbey of Seeon, founded in the 10th century, was built on an island in a lake in the southeast corner of Bavaria; secularised from 1803 and owned by the Leuchtenbergs from the 1850s until 1934, it is today owned by the state and opened as a cultural centre.

the monastery of Seeon in its lake, with the Bavarian Alps in the distance (photo Simon Waldherr)

Both Nicholas and George had several sons. Of the younger line, Dimitry de Leuchtenberg (the name he used), moved to Québec and became a well-known promoter of the professionalization of the sport of skiing (d. 1972); his brother Constantine’s family settled in Ontario. Of the elder line, Nicolas settled with his uncle George at Seeon in Bavaria where he died (1937); while his younger son Sergei emigrated to the United States, his elder son Duke Nicolaus von Leuchtenberg, Marquis de La Ferté-Beauharnais (b. 1933), remained in Germany. He is a retired television engineer in Munich. The current head of the family had two sons, but only one, Constantin (b. 1965) is still living—he is unmarried, and none of the other branches have male heirs, so it is probable the entire House of Beauharnais-Leuchtenberg will soon be extinct.

Duke Nicolaus von Leuchtenberg, head of the House of Beauharnais today (photo BR)

Lobkowicz Princes: Survivors of the Great Bohemian Purge

The Kingdom of Bohemia has a unique place in European history. As the only kingdom within the boundaries of the Holy Roman Empire, and the only mostly Slavic state in a sea of German principalities, it was an anomaly, as were its leading noble families in the middle ages. These Bohemian lords, speaking Czech, always had an independent streak, for example jumping on the idea of a reformation of the Catholic Church long before Martin Luther and his 95 theses. Many Bohemian nobles then did embrace the Lutheran reforms—and this led them into trouble when their very Catholic king re-conquered the country in 1620. Many prominent Bohemian noble houses were simply wiped out, replaced wholesale by Catholic families from Austria and other parts of the Empire. One of the few native survivors were the lords of Lobkowicz, who not only survived, they thrived. Raised to the unprecedented rank of Prince of the Empire in 1624, they one of the very first of the ‘new princes’ created by the Habsburg emperors in the seventeenth century to solidify the loyalty of the upper aristocracy of Central Europe.

Hasištejn Castle, one of the many Lobkowicz castles that cover the forested hills of northern Bohemia

The House of Lobkowicz (or Lobkowitz in German, and Lobkovic in modern Czech) was not ancient, as noble families go. Genealogists trace their founding ancestor to a squire in the late 14th century, Mikuláš ‘Chudý’ (Nicholas ‘the Poor’), who hailed from the region of northern Bohemia where the two main rivers of the Kingdom, the Labe (or Elbe) and the Vltava (or Moldau) come together. The former drained Bohemia’s northern forested mountains, while the later came out of the hills of the southwest and passed through the capital Prague, before joining the Elbe and flowing north into Saxony and across the North German plain to the sea. The Vltava’s journey across Bohemia is famously portrayed in music by the Czech composer Bedřich Smetana in 1874.

Mikuláš Chudý attended Charles University in Prague and gained the attention of King Václav (or Wenceslas) IV, as one of his scribes. He rose through the ranks of the royal administration and was created Grand Scribe of the Kingdom in 1417. Meanwhile, the King made him a landed nobleman by granting him an estate, Lobkovice, near his place of origin, and he took this as his surname. He rebuilt the old fortress there as a gothic style castle, and his family have owned it—with a few breaks—continuously ever since. It is not certain where this village got its name, but one story relates it to the love of the hunt (lov in Czech), which is certainly apt for a noble estate.

Lobkowicz Castle drawn in 1819

In 1418, Mikuláš z (‘of’) Lobkowicz helped his royal patron Václav IV secure the castles of several rebels in the far north-western reaches of the Kingdom, and was given several to keep for himself, notably Hasištejn which guarded one of the main roads from Prague to Saxony. Like many of Bohemia’s castles, Hasištejn had been originally built by a noble family who habitually crossed this northern frontier and had a dual identity (and name) as both Germans and Czechs (in this case Schönberg and Šumburka), and so it also had a German name, Hassenstein. Hašistejn Castle became the main seat of the senior branch of the family, who were thus called the Hasištejnský z Lobkowicz, until the senior line became extinct. Hasištejn Castle itself, however, was mostly abandoned by the family in the 16th century, then damaged by a major fire. It is still owned by the family but remains in ruins.

Hasištejn Castle ruins today

The two sons of Mikuláš the founder, Mikuláš II and Jan Popel, built on their father’s successes and were raised to the level of Freiherr (free lord or baron), of the Empire in 1459. Though the Habsburgs were not yet permanently kings of Bohemia, this was the first contact between the Austrian ruling dynasty and the House of Lobkowicz, a close relationship that would endure for the next 500 years. The sons of Mikuláš II would later (1479) also be created barons of Bohemia, which ensured them a voice in the Kingdom’s House of Lords. Mikuláš II married an important heiress, Žofie ze Žirotina, whose family, the lords of Žirotín, had been prominent warriors and knights in north Bohemia for centuries, and conveniently died out at this time. Mikuláš added their black eagle to his family’s fairly plain red on white coat-of-arms, thus adding some noble lustre to the rather nouveau lineage of the House of Lobkowicz.

Original Arms of House of Lobkowicz (photo VitVit)

The most famous member of the early House of Lobkowicz was Lord Bohuslav (d. 1510), a renowned humanist writer and poet, who built up an enormous library at Hasištejn Castle. He had studied at the famous universities in Italy and while there renounced Utraquism, the uniquely Bohemian faith that had challenged orthodox Catholicism in the 15th century. He was rewarded with the prestigious court post of Provost of Vyšegrad, the older royal castle just outside of Prague. Bohuslav travelled to the Holy Land in 1490 and later wrote about his travels, all the while accumulating more books and manuscripts for his great library. The Lobkowicz Library still exists today, split between the family’s palace in Prague and the Castle of Nelahozeves, about 11 miles north of the city, which has recently been remodelled to house and display much of the family’s great collections (see below).

Bohuslav’s older brother, Jan II, Baron of Lobkowicz, served as a diplomat for King Vladislav II in the 1470s-80s, an envoy to various cities in the Low Countries and to Rome. He too went on pilgrimage to the Holy Land and wrote a book about it. He also founded a monastery at Kadaň, near the castle of Hasištejn. Jan II relocated his seat to lands acquired by the founder of the family in the more central fertile valley near Lobkovice itself, Castle Obříství, and his branch took that name, while Hasištejnský was used by a junior branch. The senior line remained barons throughout its history, and by the 18th and 19th centuries had moved into service in Bavaria and Austria. The last Baron von Lobkowitz died in 1961. The junior line were a bit more prominent, notably in the person of another Bohuslav, who became vogt (or governor) of Lower Lusatia in 1555 (another Slavic region, just north of Bohemia, across the mountains, now in Germany), then Chief Justice of Bohemia in 1570, and finally Grand Chamberlain of Bohemia, one of the most senior members of the royal court in Prague, in 1576. Two members of this branch were rectors of the University of Wittenberg in Saxony in the middle of the 16th century—which indicates that this branch of the family had become firmly Lutheran—and several of the daughters of this branch married into mixed Saxon/Bohemian noble houses, like the Schönburgs (see above) or the Schwambergs (Švamberka). This line also remained barons, until their extinction in the early 17th century.

The second major branch of the Lobkowicz family, founded by Jan Popel (d. 1470), produced all the later lines of counts and princes. Until the extinction of the Hasištejnská branch, they used the additional surname ‘Popel’, taken from the village of Popelov in Českolipska (in the far north of the Kingdom). The word popel in Czech means ‘ashes’, and the family turned this into a punning motto: ‘Popel jsem a popel budu’ (‘I am ashes and ashes I will be’), reminiscent of the lines spoken about piety humility at a Christian funeral. This branch split in the early 16th century into the Bílina branch and the Chlumec branch, named for their primary residences. As above, it was the cadet branch that surpassed the senior branch in prominence, so before we get to the line of princes, we should look at the line of counts. The Castle of Bílina was in northwest Bohemia, near the mountains. It was famous for its spa waters—developed as an international business in the 18th century. The castle was built in the 13th century, and acquired in 1502 by this branch of the Lobkowicz family. Violently re-catholicised after the revolt of 1620, they nonetheless held on to it, rebuilt it as a baroque palace in the 1670s, then passed it to the line of princes by marriage in the early 18th century. The spa was developed as a major resort in the 1870s, with stunning buildings including a faux Roman temple. Like many properties, Bílina was confiscated by the state after the Second World War, then restored to the family after the fall of Communism. The spa was sold to a private company in 1997 (and they still sell the famous bottled water).

Bílina Castle today (photo SchiDD)
Bílina and its spa, 1899
spa water today

Prominent members of this branch included Kryštof (Christoph) ‘the Younger’ (d. 1609), who was a key supporter of Emperor Rudolf II who moved his capital from Vienna to Prague (by this point the Habsburgs were both Holy Roman Emperors and kings of Bohemia). Kryštof was an important diplomat, sent to Spain to help keep the branches of the Habsburg family united in the late 16th century, and hosting envoys from Poland when they visited Rudolf’s court. Another cousin prominent at Rudolf’s court was Děpolt Matouš (Leopold Matthias; d. 1619), a senior member of the Order of Malta in Bohemia, who was appointed Viceroy of the Kingdom of Bohemia in 1591 (a royal placeholder for when the Emperor-King was absent). He was one of the four Regents of the Kingdom who were assaulted by Protestant rebels in Prague Castle in May 1618, but he was removed from the room just before the famous Defenestration (see below). Another cousin, Jiři (George), was an especial royal favourite of Rudolf, but belongs to the junior Popel branch, so we’ll return to him below.

Děpolt Matouš, Baron Lobkowicz

From this branch, Vilém (William) ‘the Elder’ (d. 1626), brother of Kryštof, was a leader of the Protestant nobles in Bohemia. Though he had frequently served the Habsburgs as governor of the western counties of the Kingdom, he avidly joined the revolt of 1618, and personally threw one of the Habsburg ministers out of the window of Prague Castle in the famous Defenestration that sparked the Thirty Years War. One of the few Protestant nobles to escape the death penalty after their defeat in 1620, he was nevertheless imprisoned and dispossessed of his major estate, Horšovský Týn. This castle, in the mountains in the west of Bohemia, had belonged to the bishops of Prague since the 12th century (its German name is Bischofteinitz), but was acquired by this branch of the Lobkowicz family in 1542, and transformed into a modern Renaissance palace. After confiscation, it was given to the powerful Austrian house of Trauttmansdorf, so it remains part of their story (a future blog post), well into the 20th century.

a contemporary print of the Defenestration of Prague, May 1618
Horšovský Týn (photo Jik jik)

In contrast, Vilém ‘the Younger’ (d. 1647) stayed very loyal to the Catholic Habsburgs, bought up lots of confiscated estates after 1620, and was appointed Judge of the Court in 1628, and after 1634, Grand Master of the Hunt of Bohemia, an office that became hereditary in his line. Vilém and his wife, Benigna Kateřina (herself born a Lobkowicz), demonstrated their wealth and their Catholic piety by building one of the most magnificent buildings in Prague, the Loreta ‘Santa Casa’ (to emulate the ‘Holy House’ of the Virgin Mary in Loreto, Italy), right next to the Royal Palace. The Baroness financed most of he project from the estates she had acquired from defeated Czech Protestants. From these beginnings the Loreto complex would continue to rise thanks to Lobkowicz patronage later in the century.

Loreta Santa Casa, Prague (photo Balou 46)

This incredibly wealthy couple’s son, Baron Kryštof Ferdinand (d. 1658)—who was given his second name as a display of loyalty to the new (and very Catholic) Habsburg Emperor and King of Bohemia, Ferdinand II—was appointed viceroy of Silesia (then still a dependency of the Bohemian Crown), while his son, Václav Ferdinand (d. 1697), became a busy ambassador for the emperor, in Bavaria, France, Spain and England, and was elevated to the rank of Count of the Empire, in 1670. He was awarded the Order of he Golden Fleece, the highest honour in the Habsburg world, in 1695. His marriage to Maria Sophia von Dietrichstein highlights the integration in this century of the native Czech nobility with new Austrian families being imported into Bohemia: her father was a Prince of Dietrichstein, while her mother was a princess of the House of Liechtenstein. Her brother was, like her husband, a major diplomat in this period of strained Spanish-Austrian relations.

But the branch of Lobkowicz counts did not last very long. After Václav Ferdinand’s death, and that of his son, Count Leopold Joseph, in 1707, he was succeeded as head of this branch by his cousin Count Ferdinand Vilém (d. 1708), already eminent as president of the Bohemian Court of Appeals and even Viceroy of the Kingdom of Bohemia (from 1670), and then by his brother Count Oldřich Felix, who was the family’s last hereditary Master of the Hunt of Bohemia, who was killed ignominiously—probably while on a hunt—by a falling tree in 1722.

The next line down the tree of this Popel branch of the House of Lobkowicz was based in Zbiroh, one of the grandest Renaissance castles still extant in the Czech Republic, with an ancient Gothic castle at its core, including a chapel from the mid-1200s. It has been held by various noble families, and at times by the Bohemian Crown itself, and served as a residence for famous European scholars and visiting dignitaries, and as a prison for Protestant nobles during the Thirty Years War, including Baron Vilém ‘the Elder’ of Lobkowicz. Jan III had originally acquired Zbiroh, along with the much more rugged looking fortress of Točník, in the mid-16th century. Both are in the western part of Bohemia. But Jan III spent a lot of his time at court in Prague, as he was (since the 1540s) Grand Justiciar of the Kingdom and Master of the Royal Household.

Zbiroh Castle (photo Marek Vidtman)
Točník Castle (photo Cevenol2)

When he died in 1569, Jan III was succeeded by six sons. The eldest, also Jan, continued his father’s career in high positions in the royal judiciary. Other sons were given posts in local government as ‘hetmen’ or marshals of Bohemian districts. The fifth son, Jiři, rose to greater heights and became a favourite of Emperor-King Rudolf II. At first Grand Chamberlain of Bohemia (1582), he added his father’s office of Grand Justiciar, then in 1585 his uncle’s office of Grand Master of the Household, the second highest position in the Kingdom. He ardently pursued Protestants, and forcibly reclaimed and re-founded the monastery in his family’s lands at Kadaň. But Jiři of Zbiroh felt he was not rewarded sufficiently for his zeal, and in 1593 turned against Rudolf, hoping the other Bohemian nobles would rise with him. They didn’t, and in 1594 he was captured, stripped of his lands and titles, and held in prison for the many years. His older brother Ladislav III also joined the rebellion, fled the country and was condemned to death–he left behind a gorgeous portrait. He was pardoned just before he died, but when his son died (1614), the Zbiroh branch became extinct. The castle passed into royal hands until it was sold in the 1860s

Baron Jiři Popel z Lobkowicz
Ladislav III

This finally takes us to the most junior branch, but the one that rose the highest. The uncle of Grand Master Jiři, Ladislav II, had held this position from 1570 to 1585. He founded a separate line of the family based at the castle Chlumec (or Vysoký [‘high’] Chlumec), in the forested hills south of Prague. This castle, built in the 14th century, was acquired by the Lobkowiczes in 1474, and remained one of the main family seats in Bohemia until the 20th century. Like most of their castles, it was confiscated in World War II, nationalised under the Communists, then restored in the 1990s—but this one was not retained, and in 1998 was sold to a relative, Count von Arco-Zinneberg.

Vysoký Chlumec Castle (photo ŠJů)

Ladislav’s eldest son, Ladislav the Younger, rose to become another of Rudolf II’s favourites, Captain of his guard, and eventually Governor of Moravia, 1615, where he started the process of re-Catholicising this separate province of the Bohemian Crown. He also extended his influence outside of Bohemia, having married two countesses of the prominent imperial family of Salm-Neuburg, and acquired a lease, then the fief outright in 1575, of two immediate imperial territories in Franconia just across the western Bohemian border. ‘Immediate’ means there’s no other lord above you in the feudal chain besides the emperor, and this will be important later. These two fiefs were called Sternstein (today spelled Störnstein) and Neustadt an der Waldnaab, and they had been possessions of the kings of Bohemia since the mid-14th century. The old castle of Sternstein sits high on a rock overlooking the river Floß, which flows out of the hills into the ‘New Town’ (Neu Stadt) on the Waldnaab river, which flows south and becomes simply the Naab before it joins the Danube at Regensberg. The old castle at Sternstein was already a ruin by the time Ladislav of Lobkowicz acquired it, and the rest was pulled down to provide materials to refurbish the Old Schloss at Neustadt. This castle became the main seat of this branch of the family until a New Schloss was built, in a fashionable Italian style, in the 1680s. The family abandoned both castles in the early 18th century, however, and they were sold altogether to the King of Bavaria in 1807.

the Old Castle at Neustadt (photo btr)
the New Castle at Neustadt (photo btr)

Ladislav’s younger brother, Zdeněk Vojtěch (also called Zdenko in German) inherited these Franconian properties in 1621, and in 1624 was raised to the rank of ‘Prince of the Empire’. As noted at the start, these so-called ‘new princes’ were created by Habsburg emperors starting in the 1620s as a means of building up more support (primarily Catholic) for their rule in the Imperial council of princes—since several of the older princely houses had now become Protestant (like Brandenburg, Brunswick or Nassau). Lobkowitz (as it was now being increasingly spelled, and its members increasingly speaking German, but I’ll keep using the old Czech spelling) was one of the very first of these new princes. There was a major qualification required, however, in that the new princes had to own an immediate fief, and one that was deemed to be of princely rank. From 1641, therefore, the fief of Sternstein was declared a sovereign Imperial County, and its owners full Imperial Princes. This great honour was first won by Zdenko, who, like so many of his kinsmen rose in the service of Emperor Rudolf II, to become Grand Chancellor of Bohemia (1599). He remained in this post under Rudolf’s successors, Matthias and Ferdinand II.

Zdeněk Vojtěch, 1st Prince of Lobkowicz

His wife also played a major role in the family’s elevation: Polyxena z Pernštejna (or von Pernstein) was from another major Bohemian noble house, daughter of the previous Grand Chancellor, and of a Spanish aristocrat, Maximiliana Manrique de Lara. She was also widow and heiress of the incredibly wealthy Vilém z Rožmberka (von Rosenberg). From her father she inherited the fabulous Pernstein Palace in Prague, and from her first husband the majestic Roudnice (Raudnitz in German) Castle north of the city. Rožmberka’s fortune was used by Polyxena to buy up lots of confiscated properties of Protestant nobles after the Battle of White Mountain in 1620, like Nelahozeves and Dolní Beřkovice (see below), and even to re-acquire some old Lobkowicz properties like Obříství. Together Zdenko and Polyxena were the leaders of the Catholic faction at the court of Prague, and Polyxena famously defended the Habsburg ministers in her palace immediately following the Defenestration of 23 May 1618.

Polyxena z Pernštejna, 1st Princess of Lobkowicz
A 19th-century historicist-style painting of Polyxena defending the Hahsburg ministers in her palace after the Defenestration (by Václav Brožík)

Pernstein Palace, now renamed Lobkowicz Palace, had been built by Polyxena’s father in the late 16th century, at the far end of the narrow ridge upon which earlier Bohemian kings had constructed the Royal Palace and the basilicas of St Vitus and St George. After centuries of Lobkowicz possession, it was confiscated by the Nazis in 1939, and finally restored to the family in 2002 (opened soon after as a museum), and is today the only part of the Prague Royal Castle complex in private hands.

Lobkowicz Palace at the far right end of Castle Hill (Hradčany) in Prague
Lobkowicz Palace, Prague, main entrance (photo VitVit)

As noted above, the other parts of the Lobkowicz collection on display today are in a restored castle a few miles north of Prague, Nelahozeves, which had been built as a country retreat by the Habsburgs in the mid-16th century, and afterwards purchased by Polyxena, 1st Princess of Lobkowicz in 1623. It became mostly an administrative centre for the dynasty rather than a residence. After the family regained possession in 1993, they immediately re-opened it as an art gallery with temporary exhibitions, then launched the first of its permanent displays in 1997 which featured some of the most significant works from the Lobkowicz Collections. The town of Nelahozeves’s other claim to fame is as the birthplace of composer Antonín Dvořák (in 1841).

Nelahozeves Castle

The 2nd Prince of Lobkowicz (from 1628) was Wenzel (Václav) Eusebius, one of the most influential statesmen in 17th-century Europe. As President of the Imperial War Council in Vienna from 1652, then President of the Imperial Privy Council from 1669, he was essentially the first minister for Emperor Leopold. He became increasingly tied to the pro-French faction at court from the 1670s, however, which led to clashes with the Emperor, to the extent that he was arrested in 1674 and sent to his residence at Roudnice, where he died three years later.

Václav Eusebius, 2nd Prince of Lobkowitz

Roudnice, located on the River Elbe, about 20 miles north of Prague, was built to guard one of the major crossing points of the river in the 12th century. Rebuilt in the 15th century as the summer residence of the bishops of Prague, it was later sold to various nobles and eventually to Vilém z Rožmberka. The 2nd Prince of Lobkowicz made it his seat in the 1650s, hiring Italian architects to remodel it as a grand residence worthy of princes, adding a chapel, theatre, clock tower and formal gardens. During the Communist era, Roudnice housed a state music school, which remained after it was restored to the Lobkowicz family for two more decades, and since 2009 it has been opened to the public as a museum.

Roudnice Castle (photo Harke)

The 2nd Prince confirmed his family’s princely status with the recognition of the County of Sternstein as an immediate imperial fief in 1641. This was confirmed in 1652 and he was admitted as a fully voting member of the Council of Princes of the Empire. To bolster this new status even further, he married not a Czech noblewoman, but an Imperial princess, from a junior branch of the Wittelsbach family (the Counts Palatine of Sulzbach), and in 1646 he purchased the formerly sovereign duchy of Sagan in Silesia, a Polish province that had been part of the Crown of Bohemia since the 14th century (Żagań in Polish). The duchy, the northernmost of Silesia’s numerous component dukedoms, had been ruled by a branch of the former royal dynasty of Poland, the Piasts, then by the kings of Bohemia, the dukes of Saxony, and again Bohemia. In 1627, Ferdinand II gave it to his leading general, Wallenstein, but confiscated it again after his betrayal in 1634. The Lobkowicz princes rebuilt its castle as a baroque palace, but after the entire province of Silesia was conquered by Prussia in the 1740s, they sold it to another German princely house, the Birons, in 1786.

Lobkowicz Castle in Żagań (Sagan), Poland (photo Stefan Fussan)

The coat-of-arms of the princely branch of the House of Lobkowicz was by now more complex: with elements for Pernštejn (the bull’s head); for the duchy of Sagan (the angel and the golden lion), and for the duchy of Silesia (the black eagle); for Sternstein and Neustadt (the star and mountains for Sternstein—literally ‘star stones’—and black and gold stripes); and the Lobkowicz family arms overall.

Lobkowicz Princes as Dukes of Silesia-Sagan and Counts of Sternstein

The 3rd Prince of Lobkowicz, Ferdinand-August, was less prominent, but maintained his father’s place on the Imperial Privy Council and the family’s place amongst the high Habsburg aristocracy by being awarded the Golden Fleece in 1689. At first excluded from high politics due to his father’s disgrace, by the 1690s he had repaired the damage and acted first as formal Representative of the Emperor at the Imperial Diet in Regensburg (1691-98), then as Master of the Household of Empress Amalia, wife of Joseph I (1698-1708). Like his father, Ferdinand-August also demonstrated the family’s new social prominence through his marriages, first to a princess of the House of Nassau, then a princess from Baden-Baden. They were now genuinely part of the trans-national princely order of Central Europe. The 3rd Prince was particularly known as a connoisseur of fine paintings—adding Veronese, Rubens, Breughel and Cranach to the family art collections—as well as musical scores. His son, Philipp Hyazinth, the 4th Prince, continued this trend and collected musical scores, including some from far-off England. His wife, Eleonora Carolina, was the heiress of the Bílina branch of the Lobkowicz family, so added that castle to their domains, along with another, a bit further into the western mountains, Jezeři, or Eisenberg. This medieval castle had been held by various noble families until it was confiscated in the rebellion of 1618 and granted to Vilém ‘the Younger’ of Lobkowicz. In the 18th and 19th centuries it was used as a hunting lodge; in the 20th it was nearly destroyed by coal mining.

Ferdinand August, 3rd Prince
Jezeři Castle, in the western mountains of Bohemia (photo SchiDD)

By the mid-18th century, therefore, the Lobkowicz family had enough estates to create a second majorat (an estate held together by rules of entail), which was done for the 4th Prince’s younger brother, Prince Johann Georg Christian (Jan Jiří Kristián), a successful soldier in Habsburg service who was Governor of Sicily in 1732, Field Marshal in Transylvania and Bohemia, then Commander-in-Chief of forces in Italy and Governor of Milan, 1743-44. His branch, called the Second Majorat branch, or the Mělnik branch, would give numbers to their heads like the senior branch, and continue to the present—we’ll pick them up again towards the end below.

The 5th Prince of Lobkowicz was just a teenager when he succeeded, and died just two years later in 1739. So the 6th Prince, Ferdinand Philipp (d. 1784) headed the family for the middle of the 18th century. He went against tradition by supporting Frederick the Great in his war against the Habsburgs in the 1740s, in an attempt to safeguard his duchy of Sagan (since Silesia was taken by Frederick early in the war). He therefore spent a lot of time away from Vienna, living for a spell in London. But when he returned to Bohemia, he acquired a second major city palace in Prague, on the outskirts of the old city, the much grander Palais Lobkowicz, sometimes called the Kvasejovic Palace after its original builder, Count Kvasejovic—he had it constructed in 1702 but almost immediately sold it due to financial difficulties. The Lobkowicz family acquired it in 1753 and moved out of the older, more cramped palace up on the Hradčany. In 1927, this much grander palace was sold to the new Czechoslovak state which used it as the Ministry of Education. From 1948 it was the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China, then since 1974 the Federal Republic of Germany.

Ferdinand Philipp, 6th Prince
Palais Lobkowicz in Prague (photo Raymond Spekking)

The family of course by now needed a permanent seat in the imperial capital of Vienna as well, so the 6th Prince purchased in 1745 the Dietrichstein Palace, one of the first major baroque palaces that had been built after the Second Siege of Vienna of 1683, when Imperial aristocrats felt secure in the expansion of Vienna into a truly imperial capital. This palace was very close to the Habsburg imperial palace complex, across the street from what is today called the Albertina. From the mid-19th century, the family let it out and mostly lived in Bohemia, in Roudnice or in Prague, and it served for many years as the Embassy of France. After the First World War, the Palais Lobkowitz was the Czechoslovak embassy, then after the Second World War, it was the Institut Français. In 1980 it was finally sold outright to the Austrian government, and today it houses the Theatre Museum, a wing of the Kunsthistorisches Museum.

Lobkowitzplatz in Vienna, by Bernardo Bellotto (c1760) with Palais Lobkowitz on the left (St Stephens in the background)

Both Lobkowicz palaces in Prague and Vienna are also known for their connections to the composer Ludwig van Beethoven. The 7th Prince, Joseph Franz Maximilian, like his ancestors, had a passion for music, and was himself a talented cellist and singer. He participated in the founding of the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna (better known as the Musikverein), which first met in his Vienna palace, and he was a director of the Court Theatre. The Prince was a patron of both Haydn and Beethoven, who dedicated several symphonies to him—the 3rd Symphony was premiered in his Vienna palace in 1804 (and the hall was thereafter referred to as the ‘Eroica Hall’); while many of his works were premiered in Prague at the Palais Lobkowicz. Beethoven dedicated his 5th and 6th symphonies both to the Prince and to his brother-in-law and fellow patron, Count Razumovsky.

Joseph Franz Maximilian, 7th Prince von Lobkowitz, patron of Beethoven

By this point, the Duchy of Sagan had been sold, so in 1786, the Emperor rewarded the family’s renewed loyalty with the title Duke of Raudnitz (the German name for Roudnice). As the Holy Roman Empire was dissolved in 1806, the imperial county of Sternstein did not survive as an independent state within the new German Confederation, so the 7th Prince sold his estates there to the new King of Bavaria. His son, Ferdinand Joseph, 8th Prince of Lobkowicz (d. 1868), solidified their hold on princely status however by obtaining the honorific title of Durchlaucht (‘Serene Highness’) in 1825 (this was initially for the head of the family only, but in 1869 it was extended to all members of the senior line), and eventually a seat as hereditary member in the Austrian House of Lords in 1861. He married a Lichtenstein princess, as many of these old Viennese families continued to be intertwined dynastically well into the 19th century. The 8th Prince also began to modernise the family business, embracing the entrepreneurial spirit of the 19th century by opening a large sugar factory in Bílina.

Ferdinand Joseph, 8th Prince

The 8th Prince had many brothers, and the estates were divided to create several new sub-lineages. Prince Johann Nepomuk founded the line of Křimice. The next brother Prince Joseph Franz, who served as Head of Household of the Empress Elisabeth (the famous ‘Sisi’), founded the line of Dolni Beřkovice. See more on these lines below. The fourth brother, Prince Ludwig Johann, founded a line in Hungary (ext. 1918); while the youngest, Karl Johann (Karel Jan), rose in the Imperial administration to become Governor of Lower Austria in 1858, of Moravia in 1860, and of Tyrol in 1861—but left no descendants.

Prince Karl Johann / Karel Jan

The 9th Prince (Moritz Alois) and the 10th Prince (Ferdinand Zdenko) continued to lead prominent lives in Vienna and Prague, both with seats on the Privy Council and both awarded the Order of the Golden Fleece. By the end of the 19th century, they were one of the largest landowners in the entire Austro-Hungarian Monarchy, with nearly 30,000 hectares. The 10th Prince (d. 1938), was particularly close to the last Habsburg emperor, Carl, as he had been his chamberlain since 1907. After the war, reform acts passed by the new Czechoslovak government reduced the family landholdings by about 80% in return for monetary compensation. The Prince was a loyal supporter of this new regime, and ceased using his titles; both of his eldest sons embraced the new world and married for love, renouncing their claims to the (now empty) titles of Prince of Lobkowicz and Duke of Roudnice, which in theory passed to their cousins (below).

Ferdinand Zdenko (Zdeněk), 10th Prince

The second son, Maximilian, was, like his father, a republican, and, having married an Englishwoman in 1924, served as a diplomat for Czechoslovakia in the crucial years during the Second World War. He was formally exiled from Czechoslovakia in the late 1940s, became the head of the family (after the death of his nephew, a jazz musician, in 1964), and died in Massachusetts in 1967. His grandson William Lobkowicz (b. 1961) returned to the Czech Republic in the 1990s to work for the restoration of the family’s main properties, the Lobkowicz Palace in Prague, Roudnice Castle, the art collections, and so on. His older brother Martin (b. 1954) is the lineal head of the family. Today the family maintains interesting connections with their native Boston, for example, in 2023 Boston Baroque is sponsoring a programme of music connected to the Lobkowicz Collections in Prague.

Maximilian Lobkowicz
William Lobkowicz, at Roudnice (photo Michal Novotny)

One of the first family residences to be restored in the 1990s and re-opened for tourism is Střekov Castle (aka Schreckenstein), built upon a rocky outcrop far above the Elbe. Over the centuries it became a symbol of Northern Bohemia, an inspiration for poets, painters and musicians. Střekov Castle had been built by the King of Bohemia in the 14th century to collect tolls on the river, and then given to various vassals until it was sold to the Lobkowicz family in 1563, who rebuilt and expanded it. By the 17th century it was uninhabited, however, and fell to ruin. Like all other noble properties, it was confiscated in 1948, and was restored in the early 1990s.

Střekov Castle (photo Rudko)

The princely title—though no longer recognised by the Czechoslovak or Austrian governments—passed in 1938 with the death of the last prince to conclude a dynastically ‘equal’ marriage (the 10th, above) to the branch based at Křimice. This castle, on the outskirts of the western city of Plzeň (Pilsen), was built by local burghers in the 13th century, then passed to the noble house of Vrtba in the 17th century, who rebuilt it in classical style in 1811, then passed it by marriage to Prince Johann Nepomuk von Lobkowitz (above). Nationalised in 1948, Křimice was used as a school run by the Škoda car company, a home for youth and a museum depository, falling into near ruin before it was restored to the family in 1994.

Křimice Castle today (photo Václav Štorek)

The 11th Prince of Lobkowicz, Jaroslav Aloys, was a lawyer, and began the family’s long association in the 20th century with the Belgian aristocracy, through his 1905 marriage to the daughter of the Duke of Beaufort-Spontin (who also held lands in Bohemia). His sisters also married Belgian aristocrats. Their son, Friedrich Franz (Bedřich František), briefly the 12th Prince (1953-54), moved to France and lived at the Château of Breuilpont in Normandy.

Prince Jaroslav still held significant lands in Czechoslovakia in the 1930s (about 1,000 hectares) but also had a good income from the old castle brewery at Křimice, as well as some local factories. After the Communist takeover, he did not leave the country, and was allowed to stay in the castle until 1951, when it was given to Škoda—though he was allowed to live in the old brewery. His second son, Jaroslav Claude, who became the 13th Prince of Lobkowicz (nominally) in 1954, also stayed in Czechoslovakia, and worked as an administrator of the castle at Křimice, then later as a journeyman in Plzeň. He died in 1984, so it was his sons, Jaroslav and František who reasserted their branch of the family’s place of prominence in the Czech Republic (as Bohemia was called after 1992). Jaroslav, 14th Prince of Lobkowicz, Duke of Roudnice, Count of Sternstein, etc (b. 1942), is a civil engineer who worked for Siemens in Munich until he returned to his homeland in the 1990s and was elected as a Member of Parliament in 1998 (he served several terms, retiring in 2017), and was also a member of the Plzeň city council. His son, Hereditary Prince Vladimir Jaroslav (b. 1972), now runs the family agricultural estates at Křimice. The current Prince’s brother František (1948-2022) became a priest in Czechoslovakia in the 1970s, and in 1996 was elected first bishop of a newly created diocese of Ostrava-Opava, in Moravia.

Jaroslav, 14th Prince of Lobkowicz

The youngest of the many brothers of the 13th Prince, Ladislav Otto (1925-1958), did not stay in Czechoslovakia, but left in the late 1940s to develop the family’s connections in Belgium. In 1958, he was formally created ‘HSH Prince de Lobkowitz’ by the King of the Belgians—in part aided by his brother-in-law, the Count of Limburg-Stirum who was Head of the Household of King Leopold III. His son Prince Stéphane (b. 1957) is head of the Belgian branch today—recognised as one of the six princely houses of Belgium—and has been elected several times to the parliament for the Brussels region (as indeed have his wife and his daughter). He lives in the suburbs of Brussels in Uccle, and has written a biography of the late King Baudouin. So although he is not the most senior member of the Lobkowicz family, he is the only one recognised legally as a prince.

Prince Stéphane de Lobkowitz

The younger branch of this senior line was based at Dolni Beřkovice (Unterberkowitz). This castle, near the old Lobkowicz heartlands in north-central Bohemia, is also located on the river Elbe. As with other properties, the old castle was confiscated from the local nobility in 1620 and acquired by Polyxena z Pernštejna. The ancient fortress was rebuilt as a palace in the early 17th century, then rebuilt again in the mid-19th century once it became seat of the junior line. In the Communist era Dolni Beřkovice was used as a school and a warehouse, and when it was restored to the family it went to a female descendant who had married into the House of Thurn und Taxis.

Dolni Beřkovice Castle (photo Martin Veselka)

Prominent members of this branch include the son of its founder, Prince Ferdinand Georg (d. 1926), who was Vice-President of the Bohemian House of Lords in the 1890s, and Grand Marshal of Bohemia in 1913; and a great-nephew, Prince Edouard (d. 2010), who in 1959 tied this family to royalty by marriage to Princess Marie-Françoise de Bourbon-Parme, daughter of Xavier, head of the House of Parma (and Carlist pretender to the Spanish throne). She was also a niece of Prince Felix, consort of Grand Duchess Charlotte of Luxembourg, and of Zita, the last Empress of Austria and Queen of Hungary (and the last Queen of Bohemia, for that matter). Their children are thus first cousins to the current reigning family in Luxembourg and the Habsburg pretenders to the thrones of Austria, Hungary and Bohemia.

the wedding of Prince Edouard de Lobkowitz and Princess Marie-Françoise de Bourbon-Parme

Prince Edouard was born in the US to an American mother (the golfer Anita Lihme) and educated in Paris and America. Late in life he served as ambassador from the Order of Malta to Lebanon (1980-90). His eldest son, Edouard Xavier, graduated from college in the US then joined the French army before he was suddenly murdered in Paris in 1984—a case that is still unsolved. The surviving son, Prince Charles-Henri, a society favourite, is currently restoring several ancient castles inherited from his Bourbon-Busset grandmother in central France: Boszt (old and new) and Rochefort, both in the town of Besson in the Bourbonnais.

Boszt, Vieux-Chateau (note coat of arms of Lobkowitz and Bourbon-Parma) (photo Hadrianus)

The current head of this branch of the family is Prince Maria Ferdinand (b. 1942), who lives in Canada. His cousin Michel (b. 1964), was a member of the Czech Parliament several times in the 1990s, and briefly Minister of Defence in 1998.

Finally the branch of the ‘Second Majorat’, also known as the Mělník branch, founded in 1715 for the second son of the 3rd Prince of Lobkowicz. The first prince of this line, Field Marshal Jan Jiří Kristián (seen above), was originally intended to be based at the old Bílina branch castle of Jezeři, but right away he made a deal with is older brother ceding this property in exchange for cash. It wasn’t until the 4th son, Prince August Antonín’s marriage to the heiress Countess Ludmila Czernin z Chudenic in 1753, that the family was established permanently in a residence, the Castle of Mělník. Mělník is located in that same flat plain of north-central Bohemia from which the Lobkowicz family emerged, specifically in this case, right at the confluence of the two great rivers, Elbe and Vltava, a fertile land known for its agriculture and wine. It was also a place of symbolic value to Czech nationalism of the early 19th century, as it was seen as the ancient heartland of the Czech people, and these rich lands were often used by the Crown as dower lands for queen-consorts as widows. In the middle ages there was a fortress here, on the heights overlooking the river, dating from as far back as the 9th century. In 1542, the King gave Mělník Castle to a powerful nobleman, Zdislav Berka of Dubá, who rebuilt it as a renaissance palace. It then belonged to the Czernin family by the 17th century who thus passed it to the House of Lobkowicz by marriage.

Looking up at Mělník Castle from the confluence of the Labe (Elbe) and Vltava (foregrond) rivers (photo Volodymyr Vlasenko)

Across the river Elbe was another castle, Hořín, built by the Czernins in the 1690s on a grander scale and surrounded by parklands. This too became Lobkowicz property in the 1750s. Restored to the Lobkowicz family in the 1990s (with about 2,000 hectares), today Mělník is renovated and partly open to the public; while Hořín has fallen into disrepair. Attempts were made in the 2010s to convert the latter into flats, but as of 2022 the castle is for sale.

Hořín Castle (photo Horakvlado)

August Antonín, 4th Prince of this 2nd Majorat (d. 1803), was a diplomat, Austrian envoy to Spain in the 1770s, and later Grand Marshal of Bohemia. His son, Antonín Isidor, 5th Prince (d. 1819), was Grand Chamberlain, or head of the Royal Household in Bohemia. In 1847, this branch was extended the honorific style the senior line enjoyed, that of Durchlaucht (Serene Highness) but only to the head of the branch, not all its members. The most prominent member in this century was Prince Jiří Kristián, 7th Prince (d. 1908), who was the leader of the conservatives in Bohemia and President of the Bohemian Diet (as ‘Grand Marshal of Bohemia’), from 1871 until the year before his death in 1907 (with some interruption). He was also a deputy in the Austrian House of Deputies and then promoted to a hereditary member of the House of Lords in 1883.

Prince Jiří Kristián, 7th Prince of the 2nd Majorat

Another Prince Jiří Kristián, the 9th Prince of the 2nd Majorat, was a car racer and died in a crash in Berlin in 1932, so the title passed to his uncle then his cousin. Today the 12th Prince is Antonín Otokar (b. 1956), though it is his twin brother, Jiři Jan, who worked for the restoration of the family properties and manages the estates. This branch has spawned several academics, MDs and PHDs, male and female. Two younger brothers of the 11th Prince made a name for themselves in the 20th century: Nikolaus (d. 2019) was a political theorist and philosopher who taught in the United States in the 1960s, then was Rector then President of the University of Munich and then President of the University of Eichstätt in Bavaria (until 1996). He was given the Order of the Golden Fleece by the exiled head of the House of Habsburg in 1978, but much more recently the Order of Tomáš Masaryk by the Czech Republic, in 1998. His brother Frederick (d. 1998) was an esteemed Professor of Physics at the University of Rochester in New York. The heir to this branch (since neither of the twins has a son) is Nikolaus’ son, Johann von Lobkowicz (b. 1954), who in the restitutions of the 1990s, regained the Castle of Drahenice. This most recent acquisition of this ancient princely house, was built by the Valdštejna family in the 17th century, then went through several hands before it was purchased by the Mělník branch of Lobkowicz princes in 1870. Today it is restored, but not open to the public.

Drahenice Castle

Now go grab a cold beer, Czech style, from a brewery whose roots stretch back to noble Lobkowicz breweries in the hills and forests of north-central Bohemia…

Royal Mistresses’ Kin: Dukes of La Vallière and Antin

One of the most powerful positions a woman could hold at any royal court, but particularly that of France, was the ‘recognised’ royal mistress, the open secret that everyone at court knew about. It was one of the only pathways for a woman to get a dukedom on her own in the ancien regime, as a means to recognise her ‘service to the crown’ and to ensure she could occupy spaces at court reserved exclusively for noblewomen of highest rank. Often the long-term beneficiary of these ducal creations, however, was the mistress’s male relatives. But in the case of two of Louis XIV’s mistresses, Louise de La Vallière and Françoise-Athénaïs de Rochechouart, Marquise de Montespan, these relatives had to wait for quite some time before basking in the glory of their family’s royal favourite.

Louise de la Vallière with her children by Louis XIV: Marie-Anne, Mlle de Blois (future Princess of Conti) and Louis, Count of Vermandois

Part of the reason for this was that Louise and Françoise-Athénaïs differed significantly from each other in terms of the world of dukes and princes: Louise was unmarried, but Madame de Montespan had a husband. This meant that Louise could be given a duchy (Vaujours, later called La Vallière) directly, whereas it would have been awkward to give one to Françoise-Athénaïs, since it would have elevated her husband too (and the Marquis de Montespan by law could even have claimed Louis XIV’s illegitimate children as his own). So while Louise’s duchy was eventually passed on to her nephew, Charles-François de La Baume le Blanc, Madame de Montespan’s male children by the King were given their own duchy-peerages directly (Aumale, Penthièvre, and so on), and only in 1711 was her legitimate son (ie, with her husband), Louis-Antoine de Pardaillan de Gondrin, raised in rank to Duke of Antin. In part, both dukedoms, La Vallière and Antin, were created to recognise a degree of kinship—in a roundabout way—that these men would share with the future king of France.

The families who held these two dukedoms were also different. Louise came from a relatively minor and relatively new noble family from the Loire valley, La Baume Le Blanc, whereas the family of Françoise-Athénaïs, Rochechouart, was prominent and ancient (see a separate blog post on them), while the family of her husband, the Marquis de Montespan (the Duke of Antin’s father), Pardaillan de Gondrin, were equally much more prominent at court, and their roots as provincial nobles stretched back to the very earliest days of the French monarchy.

So we can start with the House of Pardaillan, deep in the south of France, in the province of Gascony. It was a fief of the semi-autonomous county of Armagnac. This county was subdivided into baronies, and Pardaillan was one of the oldest of these. The castle of Pardaillan, today in the region of Condomois (in the modern départment of the Gers), dominated a hamlet just outside the town of Beaucaire, on the river Baïse, which flows north out of the Pyrenees to join the mighty Garonne on its way to the Atlantic. Also spelled Pardailhan or Pardeilhan, the castle probably takes its name from an ancient owner, Pardalius, which seems to relate to the word for panther or leopard. There is evidence of a villa here from the Merovingian period at least (6th or 7th century). The medieval castle was built in the early 14th century, and when the family split in the 13th century, it was kept by the senior line until it died out in the early 17th century. The castle of Pardaillan passed into other hands and fell into ruin, and its remains were pulled down in the Revolution.

the medieval divisions of Gascony, including the county of Armagnac, and the counties of Comminges and Bigorre (see below)
Chateau de Pardaillan

A short distance to the northwest is the château of Gondrin, erected as a small fortress in the 14th century, the period when this region was ravaged by French and English armies in the 100 Years War. It became the main seat of the now secondary branch of the family. It was redeveloped as a more grandiose château in the early 17th century, but little remains today. Another of the family’s properties built nearby was Beaumont, also improved in the late 17th century, survives today as a model of French baroque style. Today it is the home of writer and television/radio producer Ève Ruggieri, whose parents restored it from a ruined state. The château hosts summer classical music programmes, and its châtelaine has made a point of celebrating the connection with Madame de Montespan, though I wonder how much time the famous royal mistress would have actually spent there.

artist’s rendering of what the chateau de Gondrin may have looked like
Chateau and gardens of Beaumont-sur-l’Osse

The earliest members of the noble house which used both names, Pardaillan and Gondrin, appear in the 11th century, but details are patchy until the 13th, when one, Hugues, rises to local prominence to become Bishop of Tarbes (1227) and Archbishop of Auch (1244)—both major ecclesiastical powers in the far south of France. A nephew, Bernard, Lord of Pardaillan and Gondrin, established his family’s credibility as Christian warriors by accompanying Louis IX on his crusade to Tunis in 1270. Others served more locally in the wars led by their feudal lord, the Count of Armagnac.

Several offshoot branches were founded in the Middle Ages, and more lordships were acquired by the branch of Gondrin, notably the lordship of Castillon (c. 1400), in the area downriver from Bordeaux known as the Médoc (now on the edge of the village of Saint-Christoly). Its incredibly ancient tower still stands, though it has served as a home for pigeons (a pigeonnier) since the 18th century. The coat-of-arms for this family, three moors’ heads over a castle, were added to the wavy blue and white lines of the Gondrin arms.

the remains of the tower of the castle of Castillon-en-Médoc, overlooking the Gironde estuary
The Pardaillan de Gondrin arms from the 17th century, with Castillon in upper left, and Montespan overall

In 1521, Antoine de Pardaillan, Baron de Gondrin and Viscount of Castillon, married Paule d’Espagne, daughter of the Lord of Montespan. Montespan was much further south in a county called Comminges, quite close to the Pyrenees (see map above). A local noble family said to be a cadet branch of the counts of Comminges took the name ‘Mont d’Espagne’ in the 13th century, and this evolved into Montespan. Antoine assumed the title Baron de Montespan and added the family’s red lion with several small green escutcheons to his own coat-of-arms. He raised the family profile higher through military service in the region, first for the King of Navarre (for whom he also acted as governor and seneschal of that king’s core lordship of Albret, a short distance to the west of Gondrin; and his brother was appointed governor of the neighbouring county of Armagnac), and later for Charles IX in the fight against Protestant rebels in the south of France.

the ruins of the chateau de Montespan

Antoine and Paule had a son named Hector, Baron de Montespan, who became Captain of the King’s Guard and a Councillor of State. He too married yet another heiress, Jeanne d’Antin, in 1561, whose lordship of Antin was also situated in one of the ancient Pyrenean counties, this time Bigorre, to the west of Comminges, which bordered on the sovereign principality of Béarn. This castle too probably took its name from an ancient owner, someone named Antinus. In the Middle Ages, the County of Bigorre belonged to the Count of Foix, which like Béarn, was a semi-sovereign territory. Only after 1607 therefore were these lands, and thus Antin, formally united to the Kingdom of France.

Antin was raised to the status of a marquisate in 1612, as was Montespan three years later, for Antoine-Arnaud de Pardaillan de Gondrin. He had long been a devoted soldier in the service of his fellow Gascon, King Henry IV, and commanded his armies when the King attended to other business away from the front. The King in turn appointed the Marquis Governor of Navarre and Béarn, and later of Agenais and Condomois, sub-regions of Aquitaine (over which he acted as the King’s Lieutenant-General). At court, Antoine-Arnaud was Captain of the Premier Company of the King’s Guard and a member of the Privy Council. His career was crowned with the award of the Order of the Holy Spirit in 1619, the highest order of knighthood in France. By his first marriage, the first Marquis de Montespan had two daughters, through whom he secured kinship relations with two of the leading families of the far south: Albret and Foix. By the second marriage, to Paule de Saint-Lary, sister of the Duke of Bellegarde, one of the great war companions and favourites of Henry IV, he added even further to his family’s patrimony—though not right away.

Antoine-Arnaud, Marquis de Montespan

Paule de Saint-Lary’s son Jean-Antoine was ultimately heir to her brother the Duke of Bellegarde, when he died in 1646; and for good measure, Jean-Antoine married his first cousin, the daughter and heiress of his mother’s other brother, the Baron de Termes, in 1643. Although the Saint-Lary family, like the Montespans, came from Comminges, their duchy of Bellegarde (cr. 1619) was based on the town of Seure on the Saône river, the frontier between Burgundy and Franche-Comté (which until the 1670s was still an international frontier). By 1645, that property had been sold to the Prince of Condé, so the title ‘duchy-peerage’ was transferred onto another property in Gâtinois (the flat plain between Paris and the Loire valley), Choisy-aux-Loges, which had been acquired by the old Duke just before he died in 1646. But the attempted transfer of the duchy-peerage (the title, not just the land) took place in the confusing days of the Regency of Louis XIV, and was never formally recognised by the Parlement of Paris. The other Saint-Lary property added at this time was Termes (or Thermes), another lordship in Comminges, which therefore added to the family’s already extensive lands in that province.

There had been a château at Choisy (or Soisy; with the added name of –aux-Loges indicating its position in the forest of that name) since the mid-14th century. It was the seat of the powerful de l’Hôpital family in the 15th and 16th century, and was rebuilt by one of its most prominent members, who became Marquis de Choisy. After Roger de Saint-Lary acquired it and tried to transfer his duchy-peerage onto it, the name of the castle and the village was changed to Bellegarde; it remained in the possession of Jean-Antoine’s widow, Anne-Marie, until she sold it to her great-nephew Louis-Henri, Marquis de Montespan (below). After he was created Duke of Antin, he made it his main residence and greatly enlarged it, on a scale more appropriate for a duke—in the 1720s he added two wings housing a new chapel and a gallery to display his art collection, plus a grand stable with its own triumphal gate complete with sculpted horses’ heads attributed to the famous sculptor Antoine Coysevox. In the 1770s, the Château de Bellegarde was purchased by a President of the Parlement of Paris (Pierre-Paul Gilbert de Voisins), who took the title Marquis de Bellegarde. Today the château is managed by the town which in recent years has invested in opening up its spaces in the gardens and the ancient donjon for tourism.

Chateau des Ducs d’Antin, Bellegarde (formerly Choisy)
the donjon at Bellegarde

Jean-Antoine, 2nd Marquis de Montespan (and sometimes called, unofficially, ‘Duc de Bellegarde’), had been raised by his uncle Bellegarde as his heir, and already from the 1620s was taking over his uncle’s familiarity with the royal family, becoming one of Louis XIII’s Masters of the Wardrobe at court, and his Lieutenant-General in Armagnac, Bigorre and Comminges. Meanwhile two of his brothers (known as the Marquis d’Antin and the Marquis de Termes) were placed in key positions in the household of the King’s brother, Gaston, Duke of Orléans; still other brothers were put into the Church or the Order of Malta. One of these, Louis-Henri de Pardaillan, rose through the church hierarchy to become Archbishop of Sens, one of the most important positions in the French church, in 1646. He died as a fairly old man in 1674, while his eldest brother the Marquis lived even longer and died at age 85 in 1687. It’s interesting to think these two throwbacks from the very early decades of the century were still alive during the ascendancy of Madame de Montespan.

Louis-Henri, Archbishop of Sens

It was thus the 3rd Marquis de Montespan, Louis-Henri, who became the famous cuckold of Louis XIV, not too long after he had married one of the beauties of the French court, a daughter of the Duke of Mortemart, in 1663. This marriage brought him not only prestige, since the Rochechouarts were one of the oldest and most eminent noble houses in France, but also badly needed cash. His uncle still held the bulk of the family properties; but ceded the title Montespan to his nephew as heir; Louis-Henri also inherited the marquisate of Antin from his father, Roger-Hector, who had died when he was still very young. Like his uncle, this Marquis de Montespan also had a number of brothers who made use of the family’s numerous titles (again one was Marquis d’Antin and the other Marquis de Termes), while others were placed in the Order of Malta. Curiously, his mother, Marie-Christine Zamet (granddaughter of the famous Italian financier, Sebastiano Zametti), was part-heiress of yet another major southern family, that of Nogaret de la Valette, whose principal dukedom of Epernon had been created for one of the favourites of King Henri III in 1581. The Nogarets were also closely related to the Saint-Lary de Bellegarde family, so this was another part of this large coalition of properties held by this noble kinship group in the far south of France. The Duchy of Epernon itself however was not in the south, but based on a property near Chartres, and it is primarily this estate which the Pardaillan family was able to grab for itself after the death of the last duke in 1661. So, if Louis XIV had been feeling more generous towards Louis-Henri at the time he was creating lots of duchy-peerages (the early 1660s), the future mistress might already have been either Duchess of Bellegarde or Duchess of Epernon.

Louis-Henri, Marquis de Montespan

But Louis XIV did not particularly care for the Marquis de Montespan, and particularly once he wanted him out of the way due to his affair with his wife, from about 1666. At that time, both the Marquis and the Marquise served in the household of Madame, Henriette-Anne of England, Duchess of Orléans (the King’s sister-in-law), he as chevalier d’honneur and she as a lady-in-waiting. They had two small children, Marie-Christine and Louis-Antoine, and lived in a small house near the Louvre. Montespan’s debts, despite his wife’s large dowry, pushed him to pursue military commands, so he went to serve in the army occupying Lorraine and then on the expedition to North Africa in 1664. When the King sent him on another mission far away from court, this time to the Spanish frontier, he became suspicious, and in 1667 his fears were confirmed when his wife became pregnant. The Marquis re-appeared at court and made a loud scandal—some sources say he rode around town with cuckold’s horns; others say he deliberately tried to get a venereal disease from a prostitute to then pass on to the King via his wife. He was briefly imprisoned in Paris for publicly insulting the King, then retreated to Gascony, taking his children with him. Here he stayed until he died in 1691 (though some sources say 1702).

In Gascony, the Marquis de Montespan and his children lived at the Château de Bonnefont, an old family property in Bigorre on the river Baïse. Here Marie-Christine died as a teenager—supposedly from grief from missing her mother. At Bonnefont, Montespan is said to have organised a grand funeral ceremony, including interment, for his lost love. He considered himself a virtual widower. This ancient castle had an air of elegance in its newer buildings.  By the 19th century it was sold to a religious order who opened a school—it then went through several versions of college or training centres, and today hosts a school for mentally handicapped children. Its main tower, facing collapse, was dismantled in 1972.

Chateau de Bonnefont

Meanwhile, in Paris, Madame de Montespan was the virtual queen of the court, as a much more dominant personality than the actual queen (Marie-Thérèse of Spain). She and the King had four children that survived childhood: the Duke of Maine, Mlle de Nantes, Mlle de Blois and the Count of Toulouse. In 1674, she obtained a legal separation from her husband, mostly to protect these children’s future inheritance, for example the beautiful château she built near Versailles, Champs, which ultimately passed to the Duke of Maine. From 1677, however, her star was falling, partly due to her involvement in the Affair of the Poisons. Louis wanted to give her the normal ‘parting gift’ of a duchy, but, not wishing to elevate her husband, he named her Superintendant of the Queen’s Household—the top position for a woman at court—with the right to sit in the presence of the Queen, as if she were a duchess. By the 1680s she was definitely out of favour, and in 1691 she retired from the court altogether to a convent in Paris.

The Marquise de Montespan

In 1695, Madame de Montespan purchased a house in the town of Evry, on the heights above the Seine southeast of Paris (on the road to Fontainebleau), as a retreat for herself, Petit-Bourg. When she died in 1707, it passed to her son, Antin, who reconstructed it on a grander scale from 1716, notably its gardens, and when his line died out in the 1750s, it was purchased by the widow of a Parisian official who demolished it and built another—the neoclassical building seen until 1944, when it too was destroyed.

Petit-Bourg in the time of the Duke of Antin

Montespan’s son also inherited the lordship and château at Oiron, in Poitou, south of the Loire (not far from the Abbey of Fontevraud). This was a much grander country house, the seat of the Gouffier family who rose as royal favourites of King François I in the early 16th century. It was the site in particular of one of the most spectacular art collections of the Renaissance. When the Gouffier family (dukes of Roannais) died out in the 1660s, their titles and artworks passed to the Marshal de la Feuillade, who refurbished and modernised it in the 1670s, then sold it to Montespan for her son in 1700. It became one of her preferred residences at the end of her life, but her son preferred Bellegarde and Oiron fell out of use. Indebted, Antin’s widow sold it in 1739 to the Duke of Villeroy—after that it passed through various hands, largely restored in the late 19th century and today open as a museum.

the chateau of Oiron

Much of the Marquis d’Antin’s career was, naturally, promoted by his mother. Even though her star was in the wane after 1680, she brought young Louis-Antoine to court from Gascony in 1683, secured him a military commission, but more importantly, drew him into the circle of the (then assumed) future king, the Grand Dauphin, by marrying him to the grand-daughter of the Dauphin’s old governor, the Duke of Montausier. He also became close to his and the Dauphin’s half-brothers, the illegitimate sons of the King. The year of Antin’s marriage (1686) he was appointed Lieutenant-General of Upper and Lower Alsace, the military equivalent to the governor of the province, but failed to make more of an impact at court until after his disgraced mother died in 1707. In that year he was appointed Governor of Orléannais, a more substantial province (and closer to court) than Alsace; and the next year was named Superintendent of the King’s Building Works. This was an unusual appointment for a noble grandee—normally it was held by one of the King’s lower-ranking ministers—but it brought Antin great access to the King who loved his building projects, and also gave Antin access to all the King’s greatest architects and designers, whom he employed on his own projects at Petit-Bourg and Bellegarde. It turned out he was a very good organiser, and helped Louis XIV and then Louis XV on their various building projects at Versailles and other royal sites. Antin also built his own grand residence in Paris, the Hôtel d’Antin, in the area just on the northwest edge of the old city, in the district now close to the grand department stores. The house no longer stands, but one of the streets in the area bears its name, the Chausée d’Antin.

Louis-Antoine de Pardaillan de Gondrin, Duke of Antin

Finally, in 1711, Louis-Antin was raised to the peerage always denied his father. It was called Antin, not Montespan, and was based on the marquisate of Antin, which had four baronies joined it to form the dukedom, including the barony of Miélan, on the borders between Bigorre and Armagnac, which, due to its situation on the main road between Tarbes and Auch, became its main administrative centre, though it was never a ducal residence. Closer to court, he also held the estates of the duchies of Bellegarde and Epernon, both conveniently located quite close to his government in the Orléannais and the Loire Valley.

Before we follow the 1st Duke of Antin’s children into the 18th century, we should look closer at the Loire Valley and the family of Madame de Montespan’s rival, Louise de La Vallière.

****

Compared to the family of Pardaillan de Gondrin in Gascony, Louise’s family had its roots much closer to the royal court, particularly when French kings spent more of their lives in the Loire Valley in the 16th and early 17th centuries. The family of La Baume Le Blanc de La Vallière were prominent nobles in the town of Tours—not far from favourite royal residences at Blois and Amboise—and held lucrative estates north of the river in Touraine. It was this proximity to royal residences that first brought Louise de La Vallière to the attention of the Bourbons in the 1650s, as we will see.

The Le Blanc family were originally from the Bourbonnais, with estates on the borders with the province of Berry. Here they had a castle called La Baume, on the left bank of the river Allier, and they eventually added La Baume to their surname. The term ‘la baume’ itself comes from local patois for a rocky outcropping. In the Bourbonnais, a castle was built in the 14th century, and held by the Le Blanc family who were also captains of other local castles for the dukes of Bourbon. The earliest member of the family in most family trees is Perrin Le Blanc who commanded the arrière-ban of the feudal armies of Bourbonnais and Auvergne against the English in 1425. But by about 1550, the senior line of the family died out, and the junior line, rising to greater prominence, was now based in Touraine. The ancient castle of La Baume was sold; what is there today was built by different owners, in the mid-18th century.

an old postcard from La Baume in Bourbonnais

Like many families from the more minor provincial nobility of the 15th century, the pathway to a rise in power and wealth was often through service in the judiciary system. Laurent Le Blanc de La Baume, the youngest son of Perrin, thus moved to Paris and became a procureur (a public prosecutor) at the Châtelet, the main law court for the city of Paris. He acquired his own lordships close to the capital, Choisy-sur-Seine and Puiselet.

It’s an interesting coincidence, but just a coincidence, that both of these two families of royal mistresses were associated with a lordship called Choisy, and in fact this one is associated more in people’s memories with a third mistress, Madame de Pompadour. This Choisy was close to Paris, in the district to the south and east in which many of Paris’ elite judiciary and financial families built country homes to get away from the stench of urban streets. The medieval lordship of Choisy, on the Seine, had initially belonged to the Abbey of Saint-Germain-des-Prés in Paris. After its time in Le Blanc de La Baume hands, it became a property desired by royals: in 1678, it was purchased by Louis XIV’s cousin, the Duchess of Montpensier (aka, ‘La Grande Mademoiselle’) who built a new château here for herself and developed its gardens; this passed by inheritance to the Dauphin when she died in 1693, and he soon exchanged it for the château of Meudon closer to Versailles. It was then purchased in 1716 by the Dowager Princesse de Conti, daughter of Louise de La Vallière—another coincidence? or was she conscious that it had once belonged to her mother’s family? At her death in 1739 it was acquired by Louis XV, and it became one of his favourite hunting grounds. It was this King who installed Madame de Pompadour here once she was firmly placed as his mistress in 1746. Considered to be one of the most beautiful baroque palaces of the age of Louis XIV, Choisy (at this point renamed Choisy-le-Roi) was mostly destroyed in the Revolution.

The Chateau de Choisy in the time of the Duchess of Montpensier

Jumping back to the end of the 15th century, Laurent Le Blanc de La Baume’s eldest son Hugues also became a public prosecutor in Paris and married the daughter of one of the head officials at the Châtelet, while his daughter married into another one of Paris’s leading families, the Séguiers. A second son did what second sons do and joined the army—and was killed in battle in northern Italy in 1525. The two youngest sons neither stayed in Paris nor joined the army, but acquired rural estates in Touraine, and by the 1530s shifted the family focus south to the Loire valley.

Another Laurent Le Blanc, son of Hugues, acquired the lordship of La Vallière in Touraine in about 1542. Over the next two decades he acquired several other nearby lordships. And he continued to serve the Crown: as a royal secretary, as master of the household of Queen Eléonore (wife of François I), as tax collector for the province of Maine (next to Touraine) and a high ranking tax official for the city of Bordeaux. In 1558 he was elected to serve a year’s term as Mayor of Tours. But though he did ‘work’ in finance and governance, he also made sure to submit his proofs of nobility in 1550 to ensure his status and privileges as a nobleman (ie, someone who did not ‘work’). His residences proudly bore a noble coat of arms, the distinctive La Baume Le Blanc shield sporting a leopard rearing on its hind legs divided horizontally into two halves, silver and black, against an equally divided field of red and gold.

La Baume Le Blanc arms in the 18th century

The château at La Vallière was rebuilt at about this time, replacing an older fortress from the 14th century. Set in a wooded valley northeast of Tours, near the town of Reugny, its location close to Amboise, Chenonceaux and other famous castles of the Loire Valley made it a highly prized residence for the family in the 17th and 18th centuries, and for their successors in the 19th century (dukes of Uzès then counts of Rougé). It was owned by various others until it was converted into a luxury hotel in 2018, the ‘Château Louise de la Vallière’.

Chateau of Louise de La Vallière

Meanwhile in the city of Tours itself, Laurent II built the Hôtel de la Vallière, in a very central location on the Grand Rue, with gardens behind leading down to the banks of the Loire. This grand house was the scene of much history in Tours: Laurent’s sons received King Henri III here in 1589 after he was chased from Paris by the forces of the Catholic League, and then the next king, Henri IV, later that same year when he was preparing to march north to claim his capital. Louise was born here, but it was sold soon after, in 1655, and became known as the Hôtel de la Crouzille. The house was destroyed in 1940, though elements remain.

a sketch of the rear of the Hotel de La Vallière

Laurent’s son Jean maintained the family’s balance between office-holding in Tours and positions in the royal household: he was Master of the Household and Secretary of the Duc d’Alençon (Charles IX’s younger brother), 1567, then Master of Household of Alençon’s mother, Queen Catherine de Medici, 1579, later filling that same role for Henry IV, 1589, then his divorced wife, Queen Margot—he remained in her household as chevalier d’honneur as late as 1610. In Tours he was Mayor in 1588 and commander of the royal residence on the edge of the city, Plessis-lès-Tours. Jean Le Blanc continued his link with the world of royal finance as well, as Director-General of Finances for Languedoil (ie northern France) and Intendent General of Finances for one of the royal armies in 1590. His wife Charlotte Adam de La Gasserie, daughter of another Master of the Household of the Queen Mother (Catherine de Medici), was herself a Dame d’honneur to the same queen. But Jean and Charlotte had no children, so their estates passed in the next generation to their nieces and nephews, children of another Laurent Le Blanc, and Anne’s younger sister, Marie Adam, heiress of the lordship of La Gasserie, nearly adjacent to the lordship of La Vallière in Touraine.

By this point, the family were pursuing more purely ‘noble’ careers, in a typical scenario seen in provincial noble families who grew rich and influential from service to the royal court: the eldest, Laurent III, joined the army and was killed at the siege of Ostende in 1602. The second son Jean thus took over as head of the family, and secured their advance in the noble hierarchy through a marriage in 1609 to a daughter from one of more prominent families in this region, Françoise de Beauvau. From early posts as equerry in the royal stables and gendarme in the Company of the Dauphin in 1609, he became governor of the château of Amboise and of the city of Tours, and eventually the King’s lieutenant-general in Amboise, 1639. His own children did not look back at all to the world of finance, and made marriages entirely within the nobility and forged careers in the military or the church. Of the clerics, Gilles was a canon in the Cathedral of Saint-Martin in Tours, then rose to become Bishop of Nantes in 1667; while Jacques became a Jesuit who died on a mission to the West Indies. Of the older sons who joined the military, three were killed in various battles of the Thirty Years War—one of these, François, Chevalier de La Vallière, was on the cusp of being named Commander of French forces in Catalonia in 1646 when he was killed in the siege of Lerida.

The eldest son, Laurent V, continued in his father’s post as the King’s Lieutenant in Amboise. By this point, the 1640s-50s, the uncle of the young Louis XIV, Gaston, Duke of Orléans, was living mostly at his preferred residence nearby at Blois, and spending much of his time socialising in Tours. It was this opportunity that Laurent and his wife Françoise le Prevost seized to place their daughter Louise into the household of Gaston, as a companion to his daughters of the same age. After both Gaston and Laurent’s deaths, the widow La Vallière stayed connected to the royal family by re-marrying the Marquis de Saint-Remy, Master of the Household of the now Dowager Duchess of Orléans (Marguerite de Lorraine). It was this connection that brought young Louise to court in 1662, where she was placed in the household of the new Duchess of Orléans (Henrietta Anne of England) as a fille d’honneur. And from here, she was spotted by the King and soon became his first principal mistress.

Louise de La Vallière as the goddess Diana

In 1666, Louis XIV acquired a lordship in Touraine not too far from La Vallière called Vaujours, and in 1667 he joined it to La Vallière and the nearby lordships of Châteaux and Saint-Christophe to form a duchy. The royal genealogist of the period, Père Anselme, says that Châteaux was the premier barony of Anjou, while Saint-Christophe was the premier barony of Touraine, meaning these were all pretty significant estates. The resultant duchy of Vaujours, aka La Vallière, was created with a peerage for Louise and for her daughter, Marie-Anne de Bourbon, known as ‘Mlle de Blois’ until she married the King’s cousin, the Prince of Conti. In 1674, Louise left court and entered a Carmelite convent in Paris, taking the name ‘Soeur Louise de la Miséricorde’—to try to wash away her sins of adultery. She left the duchy of Vaujours to her daughter, who enjoyed its revenue and the chief residence at La Vallière until she in turn donated it to her first cousin, the Marquis de La Vallière. Louise lived in her convent until she died in 1710; her daughter the Dowager Princess of Conti lived well into the reign of Louis XV and died in 1739.

Louise as a nun
Marie-Anne de Bourbon, Dowager Princesse de Conti, Duchess of Vaujours

The ‘other’ château at the heart of the duchy (and confusingly, the nearby village is today called ‘Château-la-Vallière’) was the château de Vaujours, across the border from La Vallière (in Touraine) in the neighbouring province of Anjou, within the lordship of Châteaux. Also nestled in a forested valley (the ‘Val-Joyeux’ which gave it its name), this castle had been built as a defensive structure in the early middle ages when the counts of Anjou were often at war with the kings of France who held neighbouring Touraine. The local Alluye family fortified the château in the 15th century against the English, and with its two moats, it was nearly impregnable, never taken. It then passed to other powerful families of Anjou until the Bueil family sold it to Louis XIV in 1666, as above. In the 19th century, it was sold to an English aristocrat, Thomas Stanhope Holland, but it soon fell into ruin. When I visited the area a few years ago it was dilapidated and closed to the public, but I have read that it has since been spruced up and re-opened.

The Chateau de Vaujours

There were only two dukes of La Vallière: Charles-François, Louise’s nephew, and his son. Charles-François was the son of Jean-François, Louise’s brother, who had started to rise to great heights through his sister’s royal favour, as Governor of the Bourbonnais from 1670, and Captain-Commandant of the Light Cavalry in the regiment of the Dauphin. But he died at only 34 in 1676, leaving everything to his two sons.

Charles-François was thus an orphan at age 6. Nevertheless he succeeded his father as Governor of the Bourbonnais (though actually administered by his cousin and surrogate mother, the Dowager Princess of Conti). Like Montespan’s son, he was placed in the household of the Dauphin and was signed up to be a musketeer to learn his trade in the military. By 1692 he was commander of his own cavalry regiment, and he led these in battle (now as a brigadier general) in the War of Spanish Succession, notably at the Battle of Blenheim in 1704. He was then promoted field marshal, and lieutenant-general by 1709. In 1698, the Dowager Princess of Conti ceded him the Duchy of Vaujours; Louis XV re-erected it more formally into a peerage in 1723 and changed its name to La Vallière. Also in 1698, the Duke of Vaujours married Marie-Thérèse de Noailles, daughter of the 2nd Duke of Noailles—one of Louis XIV’s more successful generals—whose brother married that same year the niece and designated heiress of the last of Louis XIV’s mistresses, Madame de Maintenon. So now all of them are getting into this story (and we’ll see the Noailles family again below).

Charles-François de La Baume Le Blanc, Duc de La Vallière

The Duke and Duchess of La Vallière lived at Champs, another of the small pleasure palaces popping up all around the Isle de France in this period. Champs was situated on the banks of the river Marne, east of Paris. It had been an ancient fief of the Montmorency family, then held by various others in the 17th century, before it was purchased by one royal financier, Renouard de la Touraine, who built a new château here, then by another, Poisson de Bourvallais, after the first was caught doing financial misdeeds and had his lands confiscated. The latter of these also had his properties confiscated in 1716, and the Crown sold it to the Dowager Princess of Conti, who immediately ceded it to her cousin the Duke of Vaujours. Champs was leased to Madame de Pompadour in the 1750s, and it is she who is still commemorated there, as a historical site restored in the 1890s by its aristocratic owners and turned over to the state in 1935. It has again been wonderfully restored in the last decade and re-opened to the public.

The Chateau of Champs-sur-Marne

The 1st Duke of La Vallière resigned his peerage to his son, Louis-César, in 1732—though the 2nd Duke used the title Duke of Vaujours until his father died in 1739. The younger Duke hosted a regular literary salon at Champs, and was a close companion of Louis XV and later of Madame de Pompadour to whom he later (in the 1750s) leased this property. He himself focused instead on developing another property, Montrouge. This new château was built in close proximity to royal hunting grounds on the flat plain just south of the city of Paris. La Vallière’s royal favour through a shared love of the hunt was strengthened by his appointment as Grand Falconer of France in 1748, and Captain of the Hunt at Montrouge. His new château there also hosted his growing collection of books–which were the focus of some major book sales after his death. Most of the town of Montrouge was annexed to the City of Paris in 1860, and the crumbling chateau was demolished in the 1870s to make way for a new town hall.

Louis-César, 2nd Duke of La Vallière

The 2nd Duke of La Vallière was, like his father and grandfather, governor of their family’s ancient home province, the Bourbonnais. He was a brigadier in the army, but not a particularly noteworthy commander. He lived until 1780, as a recognised bibliophile and patron and protector of poets and playwrights. When he died his properties passed to his only daughter, Adrienne-Emilie, who married the Duke of Châtillon. As a widow, she called herself the Duchess of Châtillon and La Vallière, though the peerage was in fact extinct from her father’s death. From here, the properties in Touraine passed through another daughter into the House of Crussol, dukes of Uzès.

****

Returning to the descendants of Madame de Montespan, we see this same family marrying one of its co-heiresses in the mid-18th century into the House of Crussol d’Uzès, as well as another marriage with the family of Noailles—the sister of the 1st Duchess of La Vallière, above, was set to become the 2nd Duchess of Antin, but her husband died long before his father, the 1st Duke—Montespan’s son. But she (Marie-Victoire de Noailles) went on to marry the Count of Toulouse in 1723, tying the Pardaillan family even closer to the King’s illegitimate sons. (in fact she had to keep this marriage a secret at first, since marrying your late husband’s father’s half-brother—so, half-uncle?—was dangerously close to the edges of the incest laws). The Countess of Toulouse remained a powerful figure in the early days of the reign of Louis XV, filling in for the mother he never knew. It was thus good to have her in the Antin corner.

Marie-Victoire de Noailles, first Marquise d e Gondrin, then Countess of Toulouse, as an older woman

Louis-Antoine, 1st Duke of Antin had been well set up in his career by the time Louis XIV died in 1715. As someone who was so closely related to the royal family, and who was already proving himself as a skilled administrator (as Superintendent of the King’s Buildings), he was an easy choice by the Regent, the Duke of Orléans, for a seat on the Regency Council, and in particular as head of the Sub-Council of the Interior. Antin remained on the Regency Council until it ended, when Louis XV came of age, in 1722, then retired to the countryside. By that point his son Louis had died (1712, age only 24) so he ceded his peerage in 1724 to his grandson, also named Louis. The 1st Duke died in 1736.

Louis, 2nd Duke of Antin, was also called ‘Duke of Epernon’, as successful claimant to the lands of that duchy near Chartres (see above). He and his brother were looked after by their mother, now Countess of Toulouse, and by their uncle, Pierre de Pardaillan, who also in 1724 became Bishop of Langres, one of the premier bishoprics (with the rank of duke) in France. The 2nd Duke’s younger brother, Antoine-François, became Governor of Alsace and a Vice-Admiral in the Atlantic fleet. But like their father, neither the 2nd Duke nor his brother lived very long, both dying in their thirties.

Pierre de Pardaillan, Bishop of Langres

This left only one son, three sisters, and two widows. The 3rd Duke of Antin, Louis, lived only 20 years and died in Germany in 1757. His eldest sister, Julie-Sophie, became Abbess of Fontevraud, one of the most famous abbeys in France, in 1765—she would be the last head of this prestigious royal convent, as it was shut down during her tenure in 1792. The other sisters were co-heiresses of the vast estates of the Pardaillain de Gondrin, Saint-Lary de Belleville and Nogaret d’Epernon families. One married the Marquis de Civrac and the other her cousin the Duke of Uzès. Although there were distant cousins of the Pardaillan family living in the provinces that continued on into the modern era, by 1780 both families of the Dukes of Antin and La Vallière, the kin of royal mistresses, were extinct.

Another view of the Chateau de La Valliere, today a luxury hotel

The Duke of Terceira and the House that Manuel built

In the middle of the Atlantic lies a small green island, known as Terceira, as the ‘third’ island to be discovered in the Azores archipelago by Portuguese navigators in the mid-15th century. At over a thousand miles off the coast of the mainland, Terceira would not normally be thought of as a likely seat for a dukedom. And it wasn’t, really, but it did give its name to one, created in 1832, for one of the defenders of liberal government in Portugal, Antonio José de Sousa Manoel de Menezes Saverim de Noronha, 7th Count of Vila Flor. He was given this title in honour of the attack he launched from the island of Terceira earlier that year to defend the rights of the Queen Maria II against her usurping uncle, and a proponent of royal absolutism, Dom Miguel, Duke of Beja. The Duke of Terceira would remain a prominent figure in Portuguese politics for the next two decades, with several terms as Prime Minister.

the Island of Terceira, as depicted in the 16th century

Picking one name out of the extremely complex surname of the Duke of Terceira, ‘Manoel’ links this Portuguese nobleman to a much more extensive dynastic network, with branches in both Portugal and Spain. All of them claimed descent in one way or another from a royal prince, the Infante Manuel, who lived in the middle of the 13th century. By the early 19th century, the Duke of Terceira was the head of the Portuguese branch of the House of Manuel (spelled Manoel in Portuguese, though not always); while the Count of Via Manuel was head of the family in Spain. Ultimately, the Spanish branch would also receive a dukedom, Arévalo del Rey, but not until 1903. A third dukedom appears briefly in this family’s story, that of Tancos, also in Portugal, which only lasts from 1790 to 1791. Reaching much further back to the earliest history of the Manuel dynasty, however, we see one of the most prominent and autonomous (though never officially proclaimed) of all Iberian dukedoms, that of Villena, and this name would remain attached to the dynasty, as Villena, or Vilhena in Portuguese, for the rest of its history.

the arms of Manuel de Villena, used by both branches of the family, from an album of heraldry in the early 16th century

In 1252, the Infante Manuel, the 7th son of King Ferdinand III of Castile and Leon, was given the lordship of Villena as his apanage. It was a strategic territory, recently conquered by the King of Aragon from the Moors, but then taken from Aragon by the King of Castile. The lordship straddled the boundary between Castile and Aragon, and thus gave its lord both autonomy and also a useful position as a negotiator between the two often feuding Christian kingdoms. To secure his power in the region further, he was named Adelantado of the Kingdom of Murcia—the adelantados were powerful governors of newly conquered provinces, with nearly autonomous military and judiciary authority. Closer to the court of his brother King Alfonso X, Don Manuel was given the strategic castles of Peñafiel and Escalona, and served his brother as Alférez, or head of the household guard, then promoted to his Mayordomo mayor in 1279. He had his own household equal in stature to most princes—which seems appropriate for his very ‘imperial’ Greek name, ‘Emmanuel’, reflecting his maternal grandmother’s origins as a Byzantine princess (Irene Angelos, the daughter of Emperor Isaac II). He also married as a prince, first to a princess from Aragon (Constance) and then a princess from Savoy (Beatrice). His sons from both marriages took the name Manuel as a sort of surname, as would their descendants for the next 800 years. The eldest, Alfonso Manuel, died at 16, so the younger son, Juan Manuel, inherited the family properties, and assumed the title ‘Prince of Villena’. Though Villena was never formally more than a lordship, Juan was recognised as a prince in 1330 by the King of Aragon, and as a duke in 1336 by the King of Castile.

an image thought to represent Juan Manuel in the Cathedral of Murcia

The castle at Villena was incredibly strategic, at the intersection of Castile, Aragon and the Muslim states to the south. A much earlier wooden fortress was replaced with a stone tower sometime in the 1170s, and remained the stronghold of the Manuels until the 1360s, then was given by the Crown of Castile to various younger princes and royal favourites (and was erected as a marquisate in 1366, then finally a dukedom in 1418), until it was integrated fully into the royal domain by the end of the 15th century (the title ‘Marques de Villena’ was given out again, but not the castle). Despite losing its value as a border post by the 16th century, Villena remained a royal military stronghold until the days of the Peninsular War at the start of the 19th century.

The Castle of Villena

The other major fortress of the Manuels, Peñafiel, had been a strategic castle long before the era of the Infante Manuel, with foundations built by the earliest counts of Castile as they expanded their reach southwards from their capital of Burgos in the 940s. Its name means ‘loyal rock’, from the Latin pinna fidelis, and this great fortress on a rock grew and grew, until it was one of the most recognisable of Old Castile’s famous castles. Prince Juan Manuel called himself ‘Duke of Peñafiel’ by the 1290s, but, as with Villena, there’s no documentation for such a creation. It was, however, created a dukedom more formally later for the Infante Ferdinand of Antequera, who later became King Ferdinand I of Aragon.

the Castle of Peñafiel

A bit further south, the castle at Escalona was located on the road between Toledo and Avila, southwest of Madrid, also on the (at that time) strategic southern frontier of Castile. It had been a Roman fortress, then a Muslim stronghold, and was particularly strategic in the expanding frontier of the 12th century. The mighty castle we see today is the result of the expansion into a palace by the royal favourite Alvaro de Luna in the 1420s-30.

the Castle of Escalona

Juan Manuel, Prince of Villena, was born at Escalona. And although like his father he served at court, as Mayordomo mayor for his cousins Ferdinand IV and Alfonso XI, he is best remembered as a writer (and bears the nickname ‘el Scritor’). He wrote numerous books, mostly guides for how to live and govern as a prince, but also how to write poetry or how to use weapons properly. Also like his father, he served as a useful diplomat between Castile and Aragon, until he began a long a bloody feud against Alfonso XI in the 1330s. He died in 1348, leaving his lands and titles to his son Fernando Manuel, who died only two years later, succeeded by an infant daughter, Beatrice, who some sources consider to be the 3rd Duchess of Villena (or of Peñafiel). But she too died, in 1361, aged 13 or 14. All of the estates of the House of Manuel—Villena, Peñafiel and Escalona—were inherited by Fernando’s sister, Juana, who had married the Infante Enrique of Castile, soon to become King Enrique II. As noted above, Villena passed therefore to different hands, as did Peñafiel. Escalona was given to Juan Pacheco and created as a dukedom in 1472 (along with a marquisate of Villena). The House of Pacheco would remain one of the most powerful ducal families of Spain until the end of the 18th century.

This was not the end of the House of Manuel! Juan Manuel de Villena had an illegitimate half-brother, Sancho, who was created Lord of Carrión, in Castile near the city of Palencia. This lordship was raised to the rank of a county for his son Juan Sanchez Manuel in 1371. Both Sancho and Juan served their manueline cousins in the administration if their lands in Murcia and in their armies further south. Alfonso, 2nd Count of Carrión, died in about 1393, and his lands passed through his sister to the Padilla family. Meanwhile, another branch was forming across the border in Portugal. Juan Manuel had another illegitimate son, Enrique Manuel de Villena, who accompanied his half-sister, Constanza, to her marriage in 1340 to the Infante Pedro of Portugal. Enrique was only a child, and Constanza’s marriage did not last long (she died in 1349), but Enrique stayed in Portugal, and after Pedro became King of Portugal in 1357, he secured the young man’s loyalty with the title Count of Seia (in north-central Portugal), the lordship of Cascais and the office of alcaide (mayor) in Sintra, both much closer to the capital of Lisbon, plus many other castles in the Kingdom. The new Count of Seia was also married to a daughter of a prominent Portuguese noble house, Sousa (which we will encounter again below). But after King Pedro’s son King Ferdinando’s death in 1383, Henrique Manoel de Vilhena (adopting the Portuguese spelling) was one of the first to proclaim the late king’s daughter, Infanta Beatriz, as Queen of Portugal, meaning that her husband, King Juan I of Castile, could claim the Portuguese throne against João of Aviz. This support for Juan meant, however, that after this dynastic struggle which ended in the victory of the House of Aviz, Henrique was sent packing back to Castile, and his Portuguese lands were lost. Juan I compensated him, however, with the lordships of Montealegre, Belmonte and Meneses, located near the city of Palencia in western Castile. By the end of his life, Enrique was an advisor to the Infante Ferdinand of Castile in his regency (from 1406) and later as he established himself as king of Aragon (from 1412), and Mayordomo of his wife, Queen Leonor de Albuquerque (see her family, for another fascinating cross-Portuguese-Spanish ducal family).

a 17th-century visualisation of Henrique Manoel de Vilhena

Enrique Manuel de Villena started a new line through his two sons, Pedro and Enrique II, successively lords of Montealegre, Belmonte and Meneses. Pedro was the first to be buried in the Dominican convent of San Pablo in Peñafiel—retaining his family’s older link with that fortified town—where the ‘Capilla de los Manueles’ remained the family pantheon for generations. Enrique II’s son, Enrique III, was created Count of Montealegre by the King of Castile in 1406. The genealogies I’ve looked at become quite muddied at this point, and if Enrique I is still alive in 1412, then it doesn’t make sense (to me) for his grandson Enrique III to be created count in 1406—other sources show this as just one generation, not three. In any case, an important split occurred in the early years of the 15th century, and one branch remained in Castile as lords of Belmonte (Belmonte de Campos) and another moved further west as lords of Cheles, on the frontier near Badajoz, and then hopped across the border back to Portugal. We will look at the Castilian lines first.

But first, there is another side line descended from the first House of Manuel to explore. In truth, they may not be related at all—another one of history’s grand genealogical fictions. João Manoel, Bishop of Ceuta and Primate of Africa (from 1443) then Bishop of Guarda, in eastern Portugal (from 1459), was for many years considered by royal historians and noble genealogists to be the son of King Duarte of Portugal (d. 1438) and his mistress, Joana Manoel de Vilhena (a grand-daughter of the Count of Seia), an idea that has now been fairly conclusively dismissed. Manoel in this case may simply have been the Bishop’s second name which became a patronymic for his illegitimate offspring. Nonetheless, these descendants formed another House of Manuel in Portugal—and tellingly, they assumed the very same coat of arms.

the use of the Manuel (here Emanuel, in Latin) arms by this probably unrelated line

At first they were lords of Salvaterra de Magos in the fertile central belt of the river Tejo (or Tagus), northeast of Lisbon, then by the 16th century they were also lords of Tancos, further upriver, and nearby Atalaia. Two marriages to heiresses in that century merged them with the powerful family of Ataide, and in 1583, they were created Count of Atalaia by King Philip II of Spain—since 1580, the new King Philip I of Portugal. The family did well under Habsburg rule in Portugal: the first count, Francisco Manuel de Ataide, was succeeded in 1624 by his brother Pedro, previously a soldier in India in the 1590s and Viceroy of the Algarve in 1621. Their other brother, João, was Bishop of Viseu from 1609, then of Coimbra in 1625, before rising to the top of the ecclesiastical hierarchy as Archbishop of Lisbon in 1632. He was even named Viceroy of Portugal by Philip IV of Spain (Philip III of Portugal) in March 1633, but died only a few months later.

Jumping ahead, the 5th and 6th counts of Atalaia, brothers Pedro and João Manoel de Ataide, were both successful Portuguese commanders in the War of Spanish Succession, supporting the cause of Archduke Charles of Austria against the forces of the Bourbons. Pedro continued to support Charles after the war, now Emperor Charles VI, as Viceroy of Sardinia, 1713-17, and general of cavalry in Austrian-ruled Naples. João became Governor of Portuguese Angola (also 1713-17), then returned to Lisbon to become governor of the Tower of Belem guarding the river Tejo at the gateway to the capital. He succeeded his brother as 6th Count of Atalaia and later in life joined the royal Council of State and served as Master of the Household for Queen Mariana Vitoria in the 1750s. He was promoted in 1751 to the rank of Marquês of Tancos, and died in 1761, the last male of this line. His daughter, Constança became 2nd Marquesa of Tancos, and as a widow was appointed Camareira-mor (First Lady in Waiting) to Queen Maria I, who honoured her with the lifetime title, Duchess of Tancos, in 1790. She died a year later and passed her other titles (the county of Atalaia and the marquisate of Tancos) to her daughter and her heirs in the House of Meneses, though they took the name and arms of Manuel. They lived in the Palácio de Tancos in Lisbon, a lovely pink building high up on the hillside of the Castle of São Jorge.

the Palacio de Tancos in Lisbon

Of the branch of the Manuels that remained in Castile, the lords of Belmonte, Juan III rose to greater heights as one of the chief fiscal officers of Castile (the Contador mayor) and as ambassador to Henry VII of England and later to Pope Leo X. In the 1520s Belmonte was a councillor of state for King Carlos I (Emperor Charles V), and restored his family chapel in Peñafiel, where he is buried.

the tomb of Juan Manuel, Contador Mayor of Castile

His son Lorenzo Manuel was Mayordomo mayor to Charles V, but was the last of his line, passing the estates of Belmonte and others near Palencia to his sister Aldoza. His cousin in a junior line, another Juan Manuel, Lord of Cheles, also served as a mayordomo in the household of the Emperor-King. This Juan had two sons: the elder, Francisco I, continued to guard the frontier of Extremadura from his castle at Cheles and was progenitor of the line of counts of Via Manuel; while the younger, Cristobal, became lord of Carapinha across the border in Portugal, and founder of the line of counts of Vila Flor. From the first came the Spanish dukes of Arévalo, and from the second the Portuguese dukes of Terceira.

Cristóbal Manuel de Villena, 1st Count of Via-Manuel (or Villamanuel in the early days), was general of artillery in the wars against Portugal in the mid-17th century and governor of Badajoz near the border. His nearby castle at Cheles guarded the Guadiana river as it crossed this frontier, so he was ideally placed for this post, and alongside his countship, created by Carlos II in 1689, he was created Viscount of the Villa de Cheles. This castle is today called the Palacio Señorial of the Counts of Via Manuel.

the castle of Cheles, near Badajoz

A series of counts named José followed in the 18th century, the last of which made an advantageous marriage in 1790 to Maria del Pilar Melo de Portugal, from one of the most prominent noble houses in Portugal, though by this point they were also large landowners in Spain. She was, for instance, the 10th Marquesa de Rafal, based in the Kingdom of Valencia near Alicante, and 7th Countess of Granja de Rocamora, located in the same area (the Rocamora family had been one of the leading noble houses of this region in the Middle Ages). Her son Cristóbal, 6th Count of Via Manuel, was killed by Carlists in 1834, leaving a grandson, José Casimiro, to inherit both lineages’ titles and estates, as 7th Count of Via Manuel and 11th Marques of Rafal. He too was murdered, in 1854, leaving a very young son, Enrique, who died in 1874, aged only 21.

This branch of the Manuel family thus came to an end in the male line, but, as with so many Iberian dynasties, the name was simply transferred through the female line along with the estates. Doña Maria Isabel Manuel de Villena married Arturo de Pardo, a deputy to the Cortes and later senator of the realm, and a Gentleman of the Chamber of King Alfonso XIII. At the time of their marriage in 1867, she was created 1st Marquesa de Puebla de Rocamora, and she planned to separate the two estates (Via Manuel and Rafal) once more for her sons, Arturo and Alfonso. But she lived to the ripe old age of 80 and outlived the elder son (below). Several of her daughters inherited her longevity genes: Maria de Milagro lived until 101, while Josefa lived until 106! Second son Alfonso did inherit the marquisate of Rafal, which his descendants continue to hold today.

Maria Isabel Manuel de Villena, Countess of Via Manuel

Some of the lovely estates of the Rocamora branch of the family in Valencia include the palace of the marqueses of Rafal and the palace of the counts of Granja, both in the small city of Orihuela in the Province of Alicante.

Orihuela, Palacio del Marqués de Rafal
Orihuela, Palacio del Conde de la Granja

The elder son of Doña Maria Isabel, Arturo de Pardo y Manuel de Villena (1870-1907), was given his mother’s barony of El Monte Villena in advance of his succession while she lived, but obtained a much higher title due to his close friendship with the young king, Alfonso XIII; they shared a passion for horses, and Arturo became Master of the Royal Maestranza de Caballeria (a noble equestrian club) of Zaragoza. His mother pushed for years to have him recognised as the head of the ancient House of Manuel in Spain by means of the revival of an ancient dukedom from the 15th century, Arévalo, based on a castle and estates north of Avila, which she claimed had belonged to the medieval manueline lords. This had been continually blocked by the House of Zuñiga, whose ancestors had genuinely held the old dukedom of that name, but the King was persuaded to grant it anyway, in 1903, with the addition of ‘del Rey’ to make it distinct.

Arturo de Pardo y Manuel de Villena, 1st Duke of Arevalo del Rey

The first Duke of Arévalo del Rey died before his mother, so his son, Carlos Pardo-Manuel de Villena, inherited his grandmother’s title as 10th Count of Via Manuel, as well as his father’s title as 2nd Duke of Arévalo. He was a Gentleman Grandee of the Chamber of Alfonso XIII and supported him in exile after his deposition in 1931. His eldest son took the title 11th Count of Via Manuel in 1945, but not the ducal title, which went to his younger brother, Arturo. When he died childless in 2005, the ducal title passed to their sister, Maria Consuelo, who ceded it a year later to her son Juan Pablo de Lojendio y Pardo-Manuel de Villena (b. 1950), who is thus today the 5th Duke of Arévalo del Rey. The surname Lojendio comes from his father, a respected diplomat representing Spain in Switzerland, Italy and later the Vatican, but most famously in Cuba where his daring to argue on television with the new dictator Fidel Castro in 1960 caused an international incident—he was given 24 hours to leave the country.

Juan Pablo de Lojendio and his encounter with Fidel Castro

Finally, the line of Counts of Vila Flor, which leads us back to Portugal and back to Terceira. Sancho Manoel de Vilhena was a prominent military commander in the struggle against the Dutch in Brazil, 1638-40, then a general in the War of Restoration in Portugal though which the Braganza dynasty re-established Portuguese independence from Habsburg Spain. In gratitude, the Queen Regent, Luísa de Guzmão, named him 1st Count of Vila Flor, a village on the eastern edge of Portugal, in 1659. He married the heiress Ana de Noronha, daughter of Gaspar de Faria Severim, a Secretary of State, thus adding these surnames to his inheritance, as we will see again below. The 1st Count was also Alcaide-Mor (military governor) of Alegrete, an important defensive town close to Vila Flor, as well as a councillor of state, governor of the Tower of Belem, and so on. In 1677, he was named Viceroy of Brazil, but died before he took office.

Sancho Manoel de Vilhena, 1st Count of Vila Flor

Sancho’s eldest son Cristovão succeeded him as 2nd Count of Vila Flor and Alcaide of Alegrete, while his younger son Antonio became much more famous as a naval commander in the Order of Malta (aka St. John of Jerusalem). In 1722, he was elected Grand Master of the Order, and he really left his mark on the small island of Malta in his 14 years of rule. For himself he built the Palazzo Vilhena in the old capital of Mdina in 1726 (today’s National Museum of Natural History), while for the Order he built a new fort to defend the port of Valetta (Fort Manoel), and new settlement nearby called Borgo Vilhena, now called Floriana (after his family’s title, Vila Flor). Still today the Manoel coat of arms can be seen all over Malta.

Antonio Manoel de Vilhena, Grand Master of the Order of Malta
Palazzo Vilhena in Malta
Manoel Fort in Valetta

The 2nd Count of Vila Flor died without a legitimate male heir in 1704, so the title, and the name Manoel de Vilhena, passed to his sister’s son, Martim de Sousa Meneses. Along more orthodox lines of genealogical reckoning, this means that the House of Manoel died out in this branch, and the title passed to the House of Sousa. But this being the Iberian peninsula, anything goes, and the 3rd Count simply added the name Manoel to his other patronymics. Sousa is one of the very oldest, and most widely spread, noble names in Portugal, and as direct descendants in the male line (though illegitimate) from King Alfonso III (d. 1279), are considered by genealogy nerds to be one of the most junior branches of the House of Capet—the family that includes the Bourbons, the Valois, and the first royal house of Portugal, the Casa de Borgonha (Burgundy). The House of Sousa is fascinating in its own right, and will have a blog post of its own, focusing on the Duke of Palmela (another 19th-century Portuguese dukedom). A different branch of the Sousa family, hereditary grand butlers (copeiro mor) of Portugal in the 16th century, ultimately produced Martim de Sousa Meneses, and his son, Luis Manuel de Sousa e Meneses, 4th Count of Vila Flor. Martim also had a daughter, Mariana, who, like the Duchess of Tancos above was also Camareira-Mor of Queen Maria I, and was created 1st Marquesa de Vila Flor in the 1770s.

The coat of arms used by the later counts of Vila Flor, including both the Manoel de Vilhena arms and those of this branch of the House of Sousa (the quinas of Portugal and the lion of Leon). Overall is a golden annulet representing kinship with the royal house

The 5th and 6th counts of Vila Flor were both involved in colonial government of Brazil, the first as governor of Pernambuco, the second as governor of Maranhão. The 6th Count, Antonio de Sousa Manoel de Meneses Severim de Noronha, died in 1795, leaving his three-year-old son, Antonio José as 7th Count of Vila Flor. This returns us to the Duke of Terceira.

Born in 1792, young Antonio learned his craft as a young officer in the Portuguese armies in the Napoleonic Wars of the early 19th century, rising to the rank of colonel by 1815. Two years later he sailed to Brazil to join the royal Braganza court in exile there. He helped put down a rebellion in Pernambuco and was named governor of the province of Grão Pará (the Amazon basin). In 1821, King João VI decided finally to return to Portugal, and the Count of Vila Flor accompanied him, as one of his Gentlemen of the Chamber. Portugal was in the midst of a long struggle between the forces of constitutional liberalism and royal absolutism, the latter led by the King’s younger son, Dom Miguel. At first, Vila Flor supported this absolutist party and served as field marshal and aide-de-camp to Miguel. As further evidence of this early stance, wee see that he was sent to Spain in 1823 to greet the Duke of Angoulême, the nephew of the King of France who had been sent to Iberia with an army to restore absolute rule in both Spain and Portugal. But by 1824, Vila Flor was shifting in his political mind-set towards liberalism, especially after the murder of his father-in-law by the Miguelists. When the King died in 1826, his son Pedro IV—who had proclaimed himself emperor of an independent Brazil in 1822—issued a formal constitution, then abdicated in favour of his seven-year-old daughter, Maria. Civil war followed, now with Vila Flor supporting the regency of the young queen against the forces of her uncle Miguel. He was rewarded with the title Marquis of Vila Flor in 1827.

the Duke of Terceira as a hghly decorated officer

Dom Miguel took power in Portugal in 1828, forcing Vila Flor to join liberal exiles gathering in London (where the Queen lived). He soon joined two other leaders of this movement on the Island of Terceira in the Azores where they formed a regency government of their own, recognised by Queen Maria and her father Emperor Pedro, acting as regent from Brazil. Vila Flor was named Captain-General of the Azores, and gradually extended the government of the regency over the entire archipelago, fighting off a Miguelist fleet in the Battle of Praia in August 1829.

The Battle of Praia, on the Island of Terceira

Their headquarters was in the ancient port town of Angra, on Terceira—since the mid-15th century one of the key stopping points for Portuguese ships crossing the Atlantic on the return voyage from Brazil, laden with colonial bounty (and thus this port was heavily fortified). In March 1832, Dom Pedro arrived in Angra to take up the regency for his daughter himself, and from there, he and Vila Flor launched the invasion of the Portuguese mainland that summer, starting in Porto. Pedro took formal command of the army in November, and as a thank-you created the dukedom of Terceira for Vila Flor. The new Duke was sent to take over the Algarve, then in July 1833 took the city of Lisbon from the Miguelists. He defeated the remaining rebel army at Asseiceirain May 1834, and the civil war (the ‘war of the two brothers’, Pedro and Miguel) ended.

a political cartoon in France showing the ‘Brothers War’ between Pedro, supported by liberal Louis-Philippe, King of the French, and Miguel, supported by the absolutist Nicholas I, Tsar of Russia

In September 1834, Queen Maria II formally took over the government for herself, and appointed the Duke of Terceira as her Minister of War. In the next decade he became leader of the more moderate wing of the Liberal party, and in April 1836, was asked to form a government when the more leftist group fell from power. This would be his first stint as President of the Council of Ministers (aka Prime Minister), but his government was seen as too heavy handed, and after an uprising in September, was dismissed, replaced once more by the more left-wing liberals. In the summer of 1837, Terceira joined an uprising against these liberals with some of his former military companions, the ‘Revolt of the Marshals’, and they formed a provisional regency government of their own, aiming to restore the original constitution of 1826. This failed and they were exiled—but he was almost immediately recalled when war threatened with Spain over border disputes. In 1842, the old constitution was restored, and Terceira was once again asked by the Queen to be Prime Minister (and again, Minister of War), which he did, for four years, one of the few periods of stability in this monarch’s troubled reign. After his resignation in 1846, he worked as a now senior politician in the Chamber of Peers (the upper house of Parliament), until he was asked to form yet another government after a short civil war in 1851. This was evidently a transitional government and indeed lasted only 6 days.

the older Duke of Terceira in 1850

By the mid-1850s, the Duke of Terceira had left active military service, but continued to be a strong presence in Parliament, still as a liberal, but now more as a patriarch of the Kingdom, one of the few unifying figures who could stand above politics. Maria II died in 1853, and Terceira acted as a father-figure to her son, the teen-aged King Pedro V. As a trusted senior statesman, he was sent to Germany to receive the King’s bride, Stephanie of Hohenzollern-Sigmaringen, in 1858. And in March 1859 he was once again called on to form a government (and appointed Minister of War and Foreign Affairs)—he died in office a year later.

The Duke of Terceira lived at the (Old) Palace of Vila Flor, in Alfama, the fashionable district of Lisbon on the far side of the old Castle of São Jorge, along the banks of the River Tagus, also called the Palace of São João da Praça (today a hotel); or at the Palace of Arroios in the district of that name in Lisbon, northeast of the old city centre. Also known as the Palace of the Lords of Pancos, the residence in Arroios was sold by the family in the early 20th century, and was demolished in the 1950s. The Duke also had a house a bit further out on this side of the city, the Palace of the Copeiros-Mores—the hereditary title (Grand Butler) of his de Sousa forebears—which was also called the Palace of Braço de Prata. Started in the 1590s, it was mostly constructed in the later 17th century, then was occupied in the 18th century by cousins, before it was reclaimed for the Duke of Terceira himself, then sold by his heirs in 1862 to the Portuguese railway company.

The Palace of Braço de Prata in Lisbon, in the 1940s

The heirs of the Duke of Terceira are a bit hard to trace at first, and since the fall of the Portuguese monarchy in 1910, there’s no legal body that confirms who does or does hold what title. In 1860, the heir to the titles and lands was considered to be a distant cousin Cristovão Manoel de Vilhena Saldanha, Senhor de Zibreira, who had been an Aide-de-Camp of King Miguel in the Liberal Wars of the 1820s-30s. Through his mother, Cristovão was the descendant of the 2nd Count of Vila Flor, from whom his line inherited the lordship of Zibreira, in the central river valley of the Tagus. Her mother in turn had been a daughter of the famousMarquis de Pombal, First Minister of Portugal in the 18th century. Cristovão’s father, however, was José Sebastião de Saldanha, 1st Conde de Alpedrinha, brother of Duke of Saldanha, one of the main political collaborators of the Duke of Terceira. Thus despite these grand connections on both sides, this family did not claim the title Duke of Terceira or Count of Vila Flor, but the claims did nevertheless pass through a daughter, Maria Benedita, to her son Tomás de Almeida Manuel de Vilhena who was given licence to use the title Count of Vila Flor by King Manuel II, who reigned briefly from 1908 to 1910. Vila Flor would later serve informally as head of Manuel’s government in exile, basing his operations from the (new) Palace of Vila Flor on the slopes of the Castle of São Jorge in Lisbon (while the monarch himself established his ‘court’ in Twickenham, west London).

Tomás de Almeida Manuel de Vilhena, Count of Vila Flor, as a young man

This new Palace of Vila Flor, purchased in 1907, had initially been known as the Palácio da Costa do Castelo (the palace on the hillside of the Castle), built in the 17th century by courtiers of the royal household, the Cirne family. Located on a narrow street just around the corner from the Palace of Tancos (above), it passed through various ownership before it was bought by Vila Flor. The Count met with significant political and literary figures in this residence—he was himself a journalist and writer, as well as a politician, serving as governor of the districts of Braga and Madeira, and later as a senator in the 1920s—as did his son and grand-daughter, maintaining a sort of intellectual salon here well into the 1980s.

the Palace of Vila Flor, near the Castile of São Jorge in Lisbon

The Count’s paternal surname, Almeida, came from another old noble family, whose head was the Marquis of Livradio (created 1753). Tomás de Almeida added the name of his mother’s family, Manuel de Vilhena, and assumed the role of head of this clan in Portugal. Like many aristocrats in the 20th century, he was passionately interested in genealogy and heraldry, and became first president of the Portuguese Institute of Heraldry before he died in 1932.

His son, the 9th Count of Vila Flor, Francisco Maria de Almeida, was a professor of agronomics (the economics of agriculture), as well as a fencing champion. When he died in 1987, his titles and claims to headship of the House of Manuel de Vilhena passed to his daughter Luísa. She revived some of the other family titles, notably that of Count of Alpedrinha (created 1854, for the brother of the Duke of Saldanha, above) and Lord of Pancas, a much older title from a family that owned many properties all over the eastern edges of Lisbon, notably in the district of Marvila. Dona Luísa also revived use of the title Duke of Terceira. When she died in 1998, these titles and the various dynastic names (and those of her husband, Jaime Dias de Freitas, Count of Azarujinha, created 1890, and an extraordinary neo-gothic country residence near Évora), passed to her son Francisco Xavier Dias de Freitas, 5th Count of Azarujinha and 3rd Duke of Terceira, who died in 2007.

the castle of Azarujinha

The current 4th Duke of Terceira is his son, Lourenço Manoel de Vilhena de Freitas (b. 1973), who is a professor of law at the University of Lisbon. He has worked as an advisor for the Portuguese government, and as a prominent member of the Portuguese Council of Nobility, also bears the titles from the various other families he represents: 12th Count of Vila Flor (Manoel de Vilhena), 4th Count of Alpedrinha (Saldanha), and 6th Count of Azarujinha (Dias de Freitas); while his young son and heir goes by the courtesy title ‘Master of Pancas’.

The Duke of Terceira name lives on today on the island of that name in the Azores in the lush botanical gardens located in the heart of the ancient port city of Angra de Heroísmo—the ‘Heroic’ tag added by Queen Maria II to honour the city from which her reign was launched back in 1832. At the top of the hill above the gardens is a monument commemorating the Queen’s father, Pedro IV, who championed the cause of constitutional liberalism in Portugal.

here’s me in the Jardim Duque da Terceira, the botanical gardens in Angra do Heroísmo

Anatomy of a British Queen: Scotland, the Netherlands, and beyond

September 2023 marks the one-year anniversary of the reign of Charles III in the United Kingdom, and in the list of British queen consorts, adds the name of Camilla Shand. In the history of royal consorts, in Britain or elsewhere in Europe, or indeed at the top of the European aristocracy—the dukes and princes—a family name like Shand would not normally have appeared, or would have been seen as a mésalliance, and in many cases would have cost a prince and his heirs their position in the succession. These strict house rules that regulated succession have never been as forceful in Britain as they were in most continental royal and princely houses—otherwise Henry VIII could have never married who he did!—and even those regulations were relaxed significantly following the Second World War. But a closer look at the ancestry of Queen Camilla reveals that she is in fact related to some of the grandest names of the aristocracy, in Scotland in particular, but also in England and the Netherlands. Even more interesting is the great cross-section of elites who appear the further back you go in her lineage, from London bankers and architects, to minor Breton landowners, to colonial families in New England and Canada.

Queen Camilla when still Duchess of Cornwall in 2011

This post looks at the pedigree chart of Camilla Shand, that is, a chart that lays out parents, grandparents, great-grandparents, etc, and looks in particular at its relationship to dukes and princes. Almost immediately, we see that it is not her father’s, but her mother’s parents, the Cubitts and the Keppels, who were had the grander aristocratic lineage. Beyond this, the Queen’s great-grandmother’s family, the Edmonstones, also connect her to the Elphinstones, who are Charles III’s cousins through his own grandmother, Elizabeth Bowes-Lyons. Yet it is not that surprising, given the close-knit intermarriages of the British aristocracy (and particularly those from Scotland, like Edmonstone and Elphinstone), that Charles and Camilla are cousins.

But what is more intriguing, from the viewpoint of the historical genealogist, is the large number of other fascinating family histories that emerge: this blog post will highlight only some of these, like the Keppels from the Netherlands, or the founding families of Quebec. And credit must be given where it is due: much of this information comes from the incredibly researched and detailed website of royal genealogist William Addams Reitwiesner: http://www.wargs.com/royal/camilla.html. So I hope he doesn’t mind me using it!

Of course, one of the clearest royal links for Camilla Shand, previously Mrs Parker-Bowles, and until recently the Duchess of Cornwall, comes from the well-known story of her maternal great-grandmother, Alice Edmonstone, the wife of the Honourable George Keppel, being the mistress of Charles III’s great-great-grandfather, King Edward VII. There are suggestions that Alice’s daughter, Sonia Keppel (b. 1900), was in fact the King’s daughter, making Charles and Camilla even more closely related. Sonia also had a famous sister, Violet Trefusis, whose life is an extraordinary tale of adventure and romance, particularly her troubled affair with Vita Sackville-West. But she is not a direct ancestor of Camilla, so let’s move on.

Alice Edmonstone, Mrs George Keppel

The Shand family are from Scotland, tracing roots back to Banffshire in the early 18th century, when James Shand was Provost of the City of Banff. His son was the first feudal laird of Craigellie, south of Fraserburgh way out on the northeast edge of Aberdeenshire. And through the family’s marriages in the 18th century, Camilla’s pedigree chart connects her to most of the landed families of this region of Scotland, including the Leslies, Ogilvies, Bairds, Forbes, as well as the Lyons, Lords of Glamis (yes, the same family as the late Queen Mother), and further back to grander aristocratic families that dominated Scotland in the 16th and 17th centuries: Hay, earls of Kinnoull; Douglas, earls of Morton; and Keith, earls Marischal. One of the more prominent Shands in more recent times was Alexander Faulkner Shand (1858-1936), Camilla’s great-grandfather, a barrister and one of the founders of the modern field of psychology.

Alexander Shand

Through Alexander Shand’s wife, Augusta Coates, we connect to an interesting family from Liverpool, the Hopes, bankers, merchants, and members of Parliament. William Hope (d. 1827) gave his name to Hope Street, in the heart of Liverpool, and his house was located where the Philharmonic Hall was built in the 1840s. The street later gave its name to the university based in this neighbourhood, Liverpool-Hope.

Hope Street, Liverpool

Another family with an interesting urban legacy shifts us to Camilla’s mother, the Honourable Rosemary Cubitt. Thomas Cubitt (1788-1855) was the son of a Norfolk carpenter, who became a builder, and left behind an extraordinary number of houses in London, all over Mayfair, Bloomsbury, Islington, and so on, and even building the new face of Buckingham Palace in 1847. He later built Osborne House on the Isle of Wight for Queen Victoria and her family. For himself he purchased a house at Denbies in Dorking, Surrey, which he rebuilt in a much more grand style—unfortunately demolished in the 1950s.

Thomas Cubitt, extraordinary builder
Denbies, the Cubitt residence in Dorking, Surrey

Cubitt’s son entered politics and became 1st Baron Ashcombe, of Dorking, in 1892. Other ancestors on this branch of Queen Camilla’s pedigree chart include landowners in Surrey, brew-masters in Berkshire (Brakspear’s), and a London distiller, who rose to be a banker, an MP and a Lord Mayor of London: Sir Robert Ladbroke (d. 1773). His family gave their name to extensive properties in Kensington, notably Ladbroke Grove (but not to the betting firm, which is named for a country house in Warwickshire).

a family brewery
Sir Robert Ladbroke

Other people found on this branch of the family centred on the southeast of England include two 18th-century admirals, Sir William Rowley, commander of the Mediterranean Fleet in the War of Austrian Succession (1740s), and Sir Robert Harland, First Naval Lord from 1782; and George Peters, a governor of the Bank of England and member of the Russia Company of merchants. A final interesting twig on this branch are the members of an émigré French Huguenot family who arrived in London fleeing persecution in the 1720s: Adrien Coltée Ducarel was a Director of the South Sea Company (happily after its famous burst bubble). His father’s family were merchants in Normandy, owners of the fief of Le Carel, while his mother’s family, initially spelled in these records as Crommelin, lords of Muids (Normandy), but further back revealed as Crommelinck, a Flemish family of linen merchants from Kortrijk.

Admiral Rowley

This link to the Low Countries draws us to the Keppels, the paternal family of Sonia, the Hon. Mrs Cubitt (they divorced before he became 3rd Baron Ashcombe), maternal grandmother of Queen Camilla.

Hon. Sonia Keppel, Mrs Cubitt

The Keppels were an ancient but minor noble family from Gelderland, one of the eastern provinces of the Dutch Republic. In the 1690s, Arnold Joost van Keppel established himself and his family in the peerage of England as the Earl of Albemarle. The Keppels of Albemarle did not obtain a dukedom, to make them more relevant to this website—unlike the predecessor with the name ‘Albemarle’ (General Monck) or the other Dutch family that came over to England in the reign of William III, Bentinck (earls, later dukes of Portland)—but by the end of the 18th century they were related by marriage to most of the ducal families of England and Scotland. Their roots stretch back to the lordship of Woolbeek in the mid-14th century, located near the IJssel river, not too far east of Appeldoorn, where William III would later build his beautiful country house, Het Loo. In the mid-16th century Derck van Keppel married Aleist van de Voorst, the heiress of the nearby lordship of Voorst, closer to the town of Zutphen. De Voorst Castle was rebuilt by Arnold Joost in the 1690s; he also acquired the nearby castle of ‘t Velde (from the Bentincks), and rebuilt it as well. Both Voorst and Velde were sold by the family in the mid-18th century.

Van Keppel coat of arms
Keppel’s house at De Voorst
Huis ‘t Velde

Arnold Joost van Keppel was initially a page in the service of William III, Prince of Orange and Stadtholder of Holland. He accompanied his master in the invasion of England in the Glorious Revolution of 1688, and by 1692 was clearly the royal favourite, displacing the much older Hans Willem Bentinck, Earl of Portland. He was named Groom of the Bedchamber and Master of the Robes, very intimate positions in the Royal Household, which fuelled rumours and satirical poems about the relationship between the King and his friend. We can never know for certain exactly what went on behind closed doors in Kensington Palace, but it would be interesting to consider the familial link between the favourites of William III and Edward VII… Keppel was raised to the peerage in 1696 as Viscount Bury, in Lancashire (which seems pretty random to me, but hey, that’s the history of English peerages for you!), and Baron Ashford in Kent, and then as Earl of Albemarle, 1697. As explained in a previous blogpost, Albemarle refers to nowhere in particular in England, but ultimately derives from Aumale in Normandy, and does make a nice allusion to the ancient name for Britain, Alba, from its white cliffs. The 1st Earl served William ably in his preparations for war against France in the War of Spanish Succession, but after the King’s death in 1702, Albemarle took up a post instead as a general of the Dutch cavalry, which served under the Duke of Marlborough, Commander of the Allied Armies.

Arnold Joost van Keppel, 1st Earl of Albemarle

Albemarle’s wife provides Queen Camilla’s pedigree chart with the lineages of many more noble Dutch families: van der Duyn, lords of Gravenmoer in North Brabant; Suys, lords of Rijswijk in South Holland (the location of the signing of the famous Treaty of Ryswick, the same year as the creation of Van Keppel’s earldom); and Bouckhorst, lords of Wimmenum in North Holland, a family of prominent magistrates and diplomats in the 17th century, the Dutch ‘Golden Age’.

really cool black lion in the Bouckhorst arms

William Keppel, 2nd Earl of Albemarle, re-established the family’s links with Britain. As another intimate of royalty like his father, he was Gentleman of the Bedchamber to George II and ultimately Groom of the Stole. He was also a soldier, commanding British troops in Flanders in the 1740s before being pulled to Scotland to command at Culloden in 1746, after which he was named Commander-in-Chief of British forces in Scotland. A diplomat in the Netherlands and France, he was also appointed Royal Governor of the Colony of Virginia in 1737, and has a county named for him, Albemarle County, in the Piedmont, home to Monticello and the University of Virginia in Charlottesville.

William Keppel, 2nd Earl of Albemarle

In terms of Queen Camilla’s ancestry, the 2nd Earl of Albemarle adds the closest direct link to royalty, through his marriage in 1722 to Lady Anne Lennox, daughter of the Duke of Richmond, and thus grand-daughter of King Charles II and his mistress Louise de Kérouaille, Duchess of Portsmouth. Ancestors added to the chart therefore include Stuarts, Bourbons, Habsburgs, etc, but also minor nobles from Brittany, the Penancoët de Kérouaille family and allied families the Barons of Ploeuc (which interestingly also has a connection to Colonial America, as an estate ultimately passing to the Marquis de Lafayette) and the Lords of Rieux de Sourdéac. René de Rieux, Seigneur de Sourdéac (1548-1628), from one of the most prominent noble families in south Brittany, famously held the fortress of the city of Brest for Henry IV of France in his wars against the Catholic League of the 1590s.

one of Brittany’s finest

Back in England, Lady Anne’s mother’s family were the Brudenells, from the East Midlands, earls of Cardigan from 1661. They were connected by marriage to the northern families of Savage (of Cheshire) and Savile (of Yorkshire), as well as one of the best-connected of any Jacobean court family, the Villiers.

The 3rd and 4th earls of Albemarle, as descendants of the Stuarts and of the most prominent Stuart-era courtiers, thus easily maintained their place in the Georgian hierarchy. The 3rd Earl achieved a great victory in 1762 in the capture of Havana in Cuba, one of the most important cities in Spain’s overseas empire; while the 4th Earl was a politician, holding posts in the Whig governments of the early 19th century. The ancestors they add to Queen Camilla’s pedigree are mostly English county gentry: the Millers of Sussex, the Oglanders of the Isle of Wight, the Southwells of Gloucestershire, the Derrings of Kent, and so on. But further back, these too connect to grand Stuart and Tudor court families: the Watsons, earls of Rockingham, the Wentworths, earls of Strafford, the Tuftons, earls of Thanet, the Sondes, earls of Feversham, the Cecils, earls of Exeter, the Sackvilles, earls of Dorset, and the Pierreponts, earls of Kingston. It is a pretty complete who’s who. One connection here leads to the Barons Cromwell, the descendants of Thomas Cromwell, chief minister of Henry VIII, and another leads to William Cavendish, 1st Duke of Newcastle, one of the most important supporters of the Royalists in the English Civil War, and builder of the marvellous Bolsover Castle in Derbyshire. Of course, through him, we can add the well-loved figure of English history, his grandmother, Bess of Hardwick.

Bess of Hardwick, Countess of Shrewsbury

The Albemarle family seat was at Quidenham Hall in the Norfolk countryside near Thetford. It was a massive Jacobean mansion, bought by the Keppels in 1800, and retained by them until sold to some Carmelite nuns in 1948. The Keppels remained active in the Norfolk political and social scene in the 20th century, but also in Cheshire, where they inherited much of the Egerton properties—whose estates included Tatton Park, though that went by the will of the last Egerton to the National Trust. They also inherited a tiny share in the hereditary rights to the office of Lord Great Chamberlain, though their Carington cousins.

Quidenham Hall, Norfolk, today

Through the marriage of the 6th Earl of Albemarle (d. 1891) we start to get closer to returning to the Scottish aristocracy with which we began. Susan Trotter’s family were from the borders, Berwickshire, but her mother’s family were the Gordons, descended from both branches, the earls of Aberdeen and the dukes of Gordon. Related families here are the Duffs, the Dalrymples, the Lockharts and the Frasers, mostly from Scotland’s northeast corner (like the Shands), but also connecting more widely to the southwest and the Hamilton lords of Bargeny (in Ayrshire), the Douglases of Clydesdale (in Lanarkshire), and the Cunningham earls of Glencairn (in Dumfries).

It is with the wife of the 7th Earl of Albemarle, Queen Camilla’s great-great-grandfather, that things start to get really interesting again in terms of diversity and wider geographical spread. Sophia MacNab (1832-1917) was the daughter of Sir Allan MacNab, joint Premier of the Province of Canada, 1854-56—one of the last to hold that post before ‘United Canada’ (Ontario and Quebec) merged with the other provinces of British North America to form the Dominion of Canada in 1867. The MacNabs were initially from Glen Dochart in the Highlands in Perthshire, but they emigrated to North America in the 18th century. MacNab is remembered today also as the builder of the very grand Dundurn Castle in Hamilton, Ontario.

Allan MacNab, Canadian politician
Dundurn Castle, Hamilton, Ontario, the side facing the water

Allan MacNab’s mother’s family were Napiers, also a founding family of Canada, while his wife’s family, Stuarts and Joneses, were from New York and Massachusetts, Loyalists who moved north after the American Revolution. One of these, Ephraim Jones of Massachusetts (1750-1812), became a mill owner and an MP for the Ottawa River valley in the Parliament of Upper Canada (Ontario). Jones was descended from good stock 17th-century New Englanders: Treadway, Barnes, Goodenough, Allen. The lists include several Old Testament names—Abigails, Nathaniels—even a Suffrance (Haynes), so we know they were Puritans. Ephraim however married Marie Coursel (or Coursolles), who brings in some very different lineages. Her father was Michel Coursel from the Île de Ré on the Atlantic coast of France who emigrated to Québec and in 1739 married the Québecoise Marie-Josèphe Guyon, whose father lived in Verchères, across the Saint Lawrence river from Montréal. His ancestors had been amongst the first to come to Québec, for example, Louis Hébert, in 1617, less than ten years after the founding of the colony. Of all those listed as ancestors of Marie-Josèphe—Guillets, Trottiers, Cloutiers—most come, unsurprisingly, from the Atlantic coast—La Rochelle, Mortagne, Saintonge—and some from Brittany (Saint-Malo). The website cited at the top of this post helpfully includes many of their professions: carpenter, cabinet-maker, tailor. Some of them settled further downstream, at Cap-de-la-Madeleine (today part of Trois Rivières), or even closer to the mouth of the Saint Lawrence, at Château-Richer.

Quebec and the lower Saint Lawrence river, 1764

Lastly we return to Sonia Keppel’s mother’s family, the Edmonstones, and even more Scottish relations for Queen Camilla. Alice Edmonstone (Mrs Keppel) wasn’t married to the heir to the Albemarle earldom, but to George Keppel, the third son of the heir, Viscount Bury. Bury had been a long time Liberal politician, Treasurer of the Household for Queen Victoria, and also Superintendent of Indian Affairs in Canada, 1854-56—which was when he met and married his wife Sophia MacNab. Lord Bury finally became the 7th Earl of Albermarle in 1891, just before the marriage of George and Alice.

a caricature of Viscount Bury, the future 7th Earl of Albemarle

Alice was the daughter of Sir William Edmonstone, 4th Baronet, of Duntreath (1810-1888). He was an admiral and a Scottish MP, and maintained his residences in London and at Duntreath Castle in Stirlingshire. The castle, situated at the foot of the Campsie Fells north of the City of Glasgow, retained its 14th-century tower, and had newer 19th-century extensions built when the family returned to Scotland after having lived in County Antrim in Ireland for over a century. Here they built Redhall, near Carrickfergus (not far from Belfast), which they sold at the end of the 18th century.

Admiral Sir William Edmonstone, 4th Baronet
Duntreath Castle, Strahblane, with the Campsies behind
Redhall, County Antrim

The Edmonstones had been based in this region, anciently known as the Lennox, since they were granted Duntreath by King James I in 1425, when the King’s sister, Princess Mary Stewart, married (for her fourth husband) Sir William Edmonstone. Sir William was a close associate of the young king and benefitted from royal favour. They were originally not from the west of Scotland, but from the Lothians, near Edinburgh, and they kept their original lands here, sometimes referred to as ‘Edmund’s Town’ (Edmundiston in medieval documents) until the 1620s. From having some royal blood from the Stewarts in the 15th century, they made new royal connections in 1999 when the daughter of the 7th Baronet married the son of the titular Grand Duke of Tuscany (Archduke Sigismund of Austria). Her brother got into legal trouble about five years ago for some shady financial dealings. Being a cousin to the future queen-consort, this was eagerly picked up by the media.

Queen Camilla’s descent from the Edmonstones thus connects her even more firmly with the Scottish aristocracy. The first Edmonstone baronet, Archibald (1717-1807), was a Scottish MP in the 1760s to 90s, a firm supporter of Lord North against the separatist yearnings in the American colonies, and was rewarded with a baronetcy in 1774.

A delightfully sour portrait of the 1st Edmonstone Baronet

His mother Anne Campbell was niece of the 1st Duke of Argyll, granddaughter of the 9th Earl of Argyll—which therefore brings in the aristocratic lineages of Campbells, Keiths and Douglases—but also the daughter of Elizabeth Elphinstone. The Elphinstones, like the Edmonstones, are a lowland clan, also originally based in the Lothians around Edinburgh from the 13th century, though it is thought their name may have derived from an earlier connection to Erth or Airth further west in Stirlingshire, on the banks of the River Forth, where their later seat, Elphinstone Tower would be located (‘Airth’s Tun’). Alternatively, it may be that their earliest lands were named as the possession of someone named Alpin (‘Alpin’s Tun’). The family began its rise to prominence in the later 13th century through marriage to a niece of Robert the Bruce. One of them became Bishop of Aberdeen and founder of the university there in 1494. Soon after, Elphinstone Tower in Stirlingshire (there’s also the ruins of one in East Lothian) was rebuilt by the 1st Lord Elphinstone in the early 16th century. The 1st Lord (Alexander) was a close associate of King James IV, and was killed at the Battle of Flodden alongside the King himself in 1513. The 2nd Lord Elphinstone was also killed fighting for Scotland, at Pinkie in 1547.

the ruins of Elphinstone Tower in Stirlingshire

The 4th Lord Elphinstone (another Alexander) became Lord High Treasurer of Scotland under James VI, and significantly augmented Elphinstone Tower in the early years of the 17th century. It remained the family seat until it was sold to the Earl of Dunmure (a Murray) in 1754—and then mostly demolished in the 1820s.

Alexander, 4th Lord Elphinstone

18th– and 19th-century Elphinstones included several prominent British admirals in the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars, a general who led a disastrous retreat from Kabul in 1842, directors of the East India Company, and a governor of Bombay and Madras. The 15th Lord was created Baron Elphinstone in the UK Peerage (as opposed to the Scottish Peerage) which meant he and his heirs could sit in the House of Lords without having to be selected as one of the representative Scottish peers. The 16th Lord Elphinstone, Sidney, married Lady Mary Bowes-Lyon, elder sister of the future Queen Elizabeth, in 1910, thus making his descendants cousins to the current royal family.

Sidney, 16th Lord Elphinstone, and Lady Mary Bowes-Lyon

Queen Camilla’s connection to the Elphinstones is much more distant, but reaching back into the 17th century and beyond, connects her pedigree chart to the Maitlands (earls, later dukes of Lauderdale), and lords Livingstone, Fleming, Drummond, Ruthven, Lindsay and so on. Much closer to the present, Alice Edmonstone’s grandmother, Mary Elizabeth Dewar, links her to the Dewars of Vogrie—another Lowland clan based in the Lothians whose fortunes were raised considerably in the 19th century through the distilling of the ‘water of life’. Through the Dewars, the pedigree chart connects to even more Scottish noble families: Halyburtons, Barclays and Kirkpatricks, and the Erskines, earls of Kellie.

Letterhead for Dewars

Looking over the vast expanse of this wonderful pedigree chart, there are even more lines to explore, like that of the Hotham barons from Scarborough in East Yorkshire, or the family of Sir John Barnard, Whig politician and Lord Mayor of London in 1738, whose fierce opposition to Walpole and corruption in government earned him a place amongst the ornate busts of ‘British Worthies’ displayed in Lord Cobham’s lavish country house and gardens at Stowe in Buckinghamshire. Other prominent 18th-century Londoners from the world of business and trade include Barnard’s cousin, John Goodschell of East Sheen, of the Turkey Company, merchant traders with the Ottoman Empire, and various members of the drapers’ guild, the scriveners’ company and the grocers’ guild.

the bust for Sir John Barnard at Stowe
the British Worthies at Stowe

In a remarkably parallel circumstance to the comments made about Elizabeth Bowes-Lyons being a mere commoner when she married the Duke of York in 1923, and especially once she became queen-consort in 1936, we can see that the former Camilla Shand is deeply connected to the noble houses of both England and Scotland, a wide swathe of the landed gentry on both sides of the border, admirals, generals and governors, as well as a fascinating array of businessmen and entrepreneurs in 18th-century London and early settlers of English and French colonies in the New World. And even a few dukes and princes!

Queen Camilla’s coat-of-arms as consort