Giedroyć Princes

At the start of a recent episode of Who Do You Think You Are?, British comedian and presenter Sue Perkins meets with her long-time sparring partner Mel Giedroyc, and shares hopes that she would discover in the programme that one of her ancestors originated from Lithuania, as it would be an amazing thing for them to share, knowing that Mel’s own ancestors also came from there. Nothing further is said about Mel’s Giedroyc ancestry, and the show moves on to focus on Perkins’ interesting journey.

Not only does Mel Giedroyc’s family come from Lithuania, and indeed from a town named for them, Giedraičiai, but her family were princes, with dynastic roots stretching back into the late 13th century. And like their kin, the Radziwill princes discussed in a recent post here, their history is intertwined with the stories of not just Lithuania, but Poland and Russia too. They split into so many different branches that by the 20th century there were Polish branches, Russian branches and those in France, England and America. This post will, as usual, focus on the origins and development of the family and on the residences they lived in, but, as a nod to Mel Giedroyc—my favourite comedian, whose morning show helped welcome me to Britain so many years ago—will highlight in particular the strong role played by several women of the family.

Giedroyć / Giedraitis coat of arms

Like many grand aristocratic families, a certain amount of mystery shrouds the origins of the Giedroyć family—this is the Polish spelling, with a mark on the c to make it a ‘ts’. The traditional story is that there was a Prince Giedrius, brother of a Grand Duke of Lithuania from the dynasty that ruled this area before the reign of the Gediminids (the 14th to 16th century). Giedrius built a castle at Giedraičiai, about 45 km north of Vilnius, on estates acquired from the Livonian Order of knights in about 1340, and gave the surname Giedraitis to his descendants. There is no castle there now, but there is a fine old tower on the Church of St Bartholomew, built in 1410 and rebuilt four hundred years later by one of the family bishops, Józef Giedroyć (Juozapas Giedraitis in Lithuanian).

the tower of the church at Giedraičiai, Lithuania
the village of Giedraičiai

Prince Giedrius’ son, Ginwill, was a candidate for the throne of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania in the next generation, but after that the family drifted further away from the direct seat of power, and by the end of the 15th century, had split firmly into two lines, that of Prince Alexander and that of Prince Bartholomew. Earlier in the century, they had begun to use the symbol of the centaur (or ‘hippocentaur’) for their coat of arms, as one of the noble families adopted into the Polish system of heraldry following the Union of Hrodło (1413), drawing together the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Kingdom of Poland. At other times they also used the Poraj coat of arms, the five-pointed rose. I’m not exactly sure why they used both.

a later version of the princely arms

The only other major figure to emerge from the 15th century is the family saint (or nearly): Blessed Michael (Mykolas in Lithuanian), a hermit renowned for prophecy and miracles, who died in 1485. He was born unable to walk unaided, became an Augustinian canon in a convent in Bystryca (which is now just over the border in Belarus), then moved to the capital of the Polish Kingdom, Krakow, where he was allowed to live in a simple hut attached to the Church of St Mark where he served as a sacristan. He lived as a recluse, eating little and self-flagellating, but people came to seek him out for his gift of prophecy. After his death, his cult spread across Poland and Lithuania and there were unsuccessful attempts to make him a saint, but he was beatified (a step towards canonisation) only in 2018.

Meanwhile the family were expanding, and acquired an estate a bit further to the north, Videniškiai, supposedly named for Prince Vidas, a grandson of Giedrius. This became the family seat in the 16th century, and where they built a monastery of the Canons Regular of Penance of the Blessed Martyrs (the religious order to which their ‘house saint’ Michael, had belonged). Its chapel became the family burial place after the 1620s. The church, dedicated to St Lawrence, remains, though the monastery was closed by the Russians in 1832.

the church of St Lawrence in Videniškiai

Just a short distance outside the village of Videniškiai was the castle Baltadvaris. It was built in the mid-16th century by Prince Matas or his son Prince Marcin, from the line of Prince Bartholomew (see below), with a particular role to guard the strategic road that passed through this district on the way between Vilnius to Riga. Baltadvaris means ‘white manor’, but was built of red brick, so presumably was painted. Very little remains today but earthworks and an archaeological site that is covered by a wooden structure. It had lost its strategic value in the 17th century, was sold off by the family, and fell into ruins.

the protected remnants of Baltadvaris Castle
aerial view of the site, showing raised earthen works and the winding Siesartis River

Of the senior line, that of Prince Alexander, there is less of a story to tell. Some members did become Calvinist like many grand nobles of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in this era, but most did not. Generation after generation were landowners and governors of local towns and fortifications on behalf of the Crown. The right to a princely title was confirmed by the 1569 Act of Union between the crowns of Poland and Lithuania, but for the next two centuries, they don’t emerge as major actors on the stage of Polish-Lithuanian history.

When the great time of trial for the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth came about, the period of the three partitions between 1772 and 1795, several members of this branch were in prominent positions to either combat it or support it. Like the English or American civil wars, many aristocratic families were split in this period, either willing to die in the defence of Polish-Lithuanian independence, or considering that absorption within the powerful Russian Empire was the best chance to preserve stability and order. Prince Krzysztof Giedroyć, owner of the estates at Giedraičiai, and his four brothers faced this question from their positions within the government or military. His brother Jan Stefan, Bishop of Samogitia from 1778, was active in the Sejm (or parliament), first advocating independence, then an alliance with Russia.

Jan Stefan, Bishop of Samogitia

Their cousin, Prince Romuald Tadeusz, was also a deputy at the Sejm, but took a more active stance against Russia, serving in the Polish-Lithuanian army in the 1790s, and becoming a general of Lithuanian troops that joined the French Grande Armée that pushed into Russia in 1812. His brother, Piotr Kacper, a priest, also tried to preserve the independence of their homeland, serving as a Secretary of State in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania in its last years, 1790-95. Once most of Lithuania was absorbed into the Russian Empire, however, Prince Romuald was reconciled (it appears) with the new government, and retired as a Lieutenant-General in the army of the new client state, a reformed ‘Kingdom of Poland’. His son, Józef Stefan, however, was not: he too had served in the Grande Armée, and continued to serve in Napoleon’s armies, promoted to Brigadier-General on the fields of Waterloo in 1815. He remained in France after the war, was naturalised in 1835, and died there in 1855.

Prince Romuald

It is in Prince Romuald’s daughters that we find the first women of great interest in this story. Both were known as writers and supporters of the Polish cause for liberty. The elder, Kunegunda, had served briefly as a lady-in-waiting to the Empress Elisabeth (the wife of Alexander I) in Russia, then transferred to Empress Josephine in France. She spent the rest of her long life in Paris, publishing books, but also pamphlets in support of, for example, the November Uprising of 1830. Her sister, Princess Lucia (or Łucja), moved to France a bit later, in 1836, and also became known for her novels, but returned to Poland in the 1840s, and became known as a travel writer. Both were part of the great fascination seen in Western Europe, and France in particular, for Polish music, art and fashion.

In Lithuania, the family of Prince Romuald had lived at a prominent estate, Bobcin (or Bobtyna), in a village now known as Žemaitkiemis, near Lithuania’s second capital, Kaunas. Originally a 16th-century manor house, it was acquired and aggrandised by the Giedraitis / Giedroyć family in the late eighteenth century, then sold once they were mostly living in exile in the 1830s.

Bobcin or Babtai today

But not all members of this branch were in exile: the youngest son of Prince Romuald, Alexander, became a chamberlain at the Imperial court in Russia. His son, and other cousins living in the Russian Empire, had their princely rank and titles formally confirmed by the Tsar in 1866. This main line became extinct in 1899.

One cousin, Prince Szymon Tadeusz, from a junior line, continued the family tradition of serving as Bishop of Samogitia (north-western Lithuania), from 1838 to 1844. His branch of the family ended up emigrating to Belgium after the Russian Revolution of 1917 and took the form of the name ‘Guédroïtz’. Prince Alexis was a prominent professor of Russian literature in Brussels and published translations of most of the great Russian classic plays, from Pushkin to Chekhov to Dostoevsky. His daughter Ania Guédroïtz (b. 1949) is a Belgian theatre actress.

Szymon, another Bishop of Samogitia
Professor Alexis Guédroïtz

The next line of this branch were also mostly in Russian service, but not entirely. Two cousins, Witold and Mikołaj, took part in a Polish anti-Russian conspiracy in 1863, and thus were excluded from the general confirmation of princely titles in 1866; the latter, who had been governor of the Vilnius region, was sent to prison. A century later, several members of this branch were deported to prisons in the Soviet Union in the 1940s and from there emigrated to the UK or Canada where many of them currently reside.

A final member of this senior branch (that of Prince Alexander) worth noting before moving on to the junior branch, is Jerzy Giedroyć (1906-2000) who had been a journalist and political activist in Poland before the Second World War, then emigrated to Paris where he founded a literary salon and a journal, Kultura, for Polish émigrés. His political ideas were to encourage exiled Poles, and the emerging European Union more generally, to accept the post-war boundaries of Poland and to foster reconciliation amongst all the states of Eastern Europe with an ultimate goal of coaxing an independent Belarus and Ukraine out of the Soviet Union. These ideas suddenly feel quite topical again. There is a Jerzy Giedroyć Square in Warsaw, located near the Łazienki Palace.

an issue of Kultura from 1984

The second major branch of the family, that of Prince Bartholomew (Baltramiejus in Lithuanian) was at first more prominent than the senior branch. Bartholomew’s son, Matas (or Mathias) was sent as an envoy to Muscovy to make peace with Tsar Ivan the Terrible in 1551, then took up important posts as Governor of Vilnius and Marshal of the Court of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. When he died in 1562, his sons were all well placed: the eldest, Kaspar was a signatory of the Act of Union between Poland and Lithuania in 1569, and a Chamberlain of the court; Merhelis (of Melchior) was Bishop of Samogitia from 1576; and Marcin was Voivode (or governor) of the sensitive frontier province of Mstislav (now eastern Belarus) and a commander in the ongoing wars against Muscovy. Of these brothers, Merhelis left the most enduring historical legacy, as a champion of Lithuanian language and culture, sponsoring some of the first books printed in that language (religious and historical), and in supporting the reforms of the Catholic Church following the Council of Trent—building new seminaries, schools, etc.

Prince Marcin
Merhelis, Bishop of Samogitia

The line continued through descendants of Prince Kaspar. This branch, like the senior branch, then split into many, many sub-lineages. The main line, who resided at the manor of Aviliai in northern Lithuania (Owile in Polish), but became Polonised over the centuries and were more based in Warsaw. In the early 20th century, the head of this branch, Prince Franciszek Ignacy, became a celebrated historian of medicine, professor at the University of Warsaw from 1920, and was instrumental in setting up the new public health service in a newly independent Republic of Poland after 1918.

Aviliai today
Dr Franciszek

In a parallel branch at about the same time, Princess Vera Gedroits made a name for herself as well in medicine, but in Imperial Russia. The daughter of Prince Ignacy who had moved to Russia following the failed Polish uprising of 1863 (and had his princely title confirmed by the Tsar in 1878), Vera (or Wiera) wrote later that she had been inspired to study medicine by her brother Sergei’s early death as a child (and in fact used her brother’s name sometimes as her pen name). She led a truly fascinating life: it is fairly well established that she was a lesbian and arranged a marriage of convenience with a family friend to enable her to study abroad, which she did, in Lausanne. Back in Russia, she gained experience as a surgeon in the Russo-Japanese War of 1904-05, and received high honours, then was invited to work as a surgeon in the hospital at the Imperial residence at Tsarskoe Selo in 1909. When the First World War broke out, Princess Vera helped the Empress Alexandra establish her role as a nurse (and it is said, tried to speak reason to her to mitigate the damage being done by her blind faith in the faith-healer/conjurer Rasputin). After the war she became professor of medicine at the Kiev Medical Institute, where she was known as a pioneer in the area of abdominal surgery, and (so notes her online biography), lived fairly openly as part of a married couple with Countess Maria Nirod, a former maid of honour of the Empress and one of the nurses she had trained back at the Imperial court. She died in 1932 in Kiev (Kyiv).

Dr Vera Gedroits and Empress Alexandra

Many other members of this Russian branch served in the Imperial armies and then emigrated during the Revolution. One, Prince Nikolai, moved to China and became an advisor to Chiang Kai-shek, head of the Nationalist Government. Another settled in Gdansk in Poland and another in Leeds in the UK. Still another moved to New Jersey in the early 20th century, and it is I believe (but can’t seem to confirm) this branch that produced the American actor from 1990s TV shows, Jason Gedrick, born in 1965 in Chicago.

Returning to the Aviliai (Owile) branch, the line of Prince Jerzy (b. 1742) stayed in Poland and Lithuania in the nineteenth century. One of his descendants was Prince Tadeusz, born in Aviliai (then in the Russian Empire), and later owner of the Łobzów estate and manor house (now Labzova in western Belarus), which he inherited in the 1920s from aristocratic Polish relatives. After training with the Imperial army, after the First World War he helped establish border relations for the new Polish Republic and its neighbours in Ukraine and Lithuania. In the 1930s, Tadeusz worked in various administrative posts in the region of Łobzów which was by then eastern Poland, and in 1938 became a Senator of the Republic. Following the Soviet invasion of eastern Poland in 1939, he was arrested, imprisoned and tortured, and eventually executed in June 1941. His wife Anna and their three children were held in a Gulag in Western Siberia for two years until they escaped to Persia in 1942, and then made their way to the United Kingdom in 1947.

Prince Tadeusz

The youngest of these three children was Michal Jan Giedroyć, or Michael, who was 18 at the time of this dramatic escape in 1947. He went on to study in a British university then became an aircraft engineer and designer. Later in life he re-ignited his interest in family history and the history of medieval Lithuania, and after the re-emergence of Lithuania as an independent state in the 1990s, Michael worked to help reconstruct some of its historical monuments, including some of the Giedraitis churches and manors, notably the monastery at Videniškiai and the archaeological remains of Baltadvaris Castle. He and his English wife had four children, including one son, Michael, and three daughters: Kasia, a children’s book author and wife of former UK ambassador to the UN Philip Parham; Coky, a director of loads of British television shows (and now married to a baronet, so technically Lady Bowyer-Smyth); and Mel, the comedian and presenter with whom this post began. For a woman who is often presented as quintessentially English, she has a lot of fascinating non-English family history behind her.

Mel Giedroyc and her father MIchael

(images mostly Wikimedia Commons)

Dukes of Luynes, Chaulnes and Chevreuse

One of the grand families of the court of Versailles in the 17th century, and possessors of some of finest châteaux in France still today, the dukes of Luynes are not in fact by origin French. The surname Albert was originally Alberti, from Florence.

the chateau of Luynes

At least this is the traditionally accepted story—some historians and genealogists have their doubts (see below). The Alberti were a family of Florentine bankers, who, from the 13th century, controlled a flourishing trade company with branches all across Europe and the Mediterranean world, from London to Damascus. They originated from a town in the heights of the upper Arno Valley, Catenaia, from which they took their coat of arms, two crossed chains (catena = chains). The Alberti clan allied with the Medici as rivals of the Albizzi, and rose with them to great power in the Republic of Florence in the 15th century.

One form of the Albert de Luynes arms, using the ancient Alberti chains, the red Albert lion, and the escutcheon of the principality of Neuchatel (about which see below)

One of the most famous members of this family was Leon Battista Alberti (d. 1472), the poet and philosopher, and one of the major architects of the Florentine Renaissance. Like many powerful Italian families, the Alberti had a tower into which they could retreat when things got dangerous, but also a palace, the Palazzo Alberti, renamed the Palazzo Malenchini in the 19th century. Although they faded from prominence over the centuries, the Florentine Alberti family continued to live in that city until they died out in the mid 19th century.

The Alberti Tower in Florence

And dangers there were in the early Florentine republic. In one period of unrest, 1397, the Alberti were temporarily exiled from Florence. It is thought that at this time, one of them, Tomasso, travelled to the Papal court in Avignon and acquired a position there. In 1415, he was appointed a viguier, or magistrate, in Pont-Saint-Esprit, one of the key crossing points of the Rhône River, north of Avignon. A few years later, in 1420, he was appointed by the King of France as viguier-royal of the town of Bagnols, across the Rhône in Languedoc. He acquired the lordship of Boussargues, a castle near Sabran, across the river from Orange, in 1434, and in 1447, was named Royal Bailiff of the surrounding provinces of the Vivarais and the Valentinois. He kept these two important districts on either side of the Rhône loyal to the French Crown in this time of turmoil (the end of the 100 Years War) until he died in 1455.

There is an alternative story about Thomas Albert (as he was known in French), that was published in the major royal genealogical texts of the 17th century: that he was in fact descended from the brother of one of the Avignon popes, Innocent VI, born Etienne Aubert, from a family of nobles in the Limousin (west-central France), pope in 1352-62. There is also the idea that Tomasso Alberti did come from Florence, but returned, and that the Thomas Albert in the previous paragraph is in fact a relation from another noble family in Nice (then still known as Nizza in Italian)—the Alberti della Briga. Indeed, the later arms of the Albert family in France, the red lion on gold, was the same as the family in Nice.

Whatever the truth, the sons of Thomas Albert quickly married into the French nobility of the Rhône Valley, and acquired the barony of Montclus, in Languedoc near Sabran, but also several castles and estates in Provence. They also moved out of papal service and obtained posts as servants of the royal household (legal officers and equerries), so split their time between the king’s court and the far southeast. In 1535, Léon Albert married the heiress of the lordship of Luynes, in Provence (Loina in the local spelling), the name of a local stream that flows into the town of Aix, the capital of Provence.

Their son, Honoré Albert, Seigneur de Luynes, became one of the favourites of the Duke of Alençon, the younger brother of King Henry III, in the 1570s, and was appointed his chamberlain. This was a period when many nobles from provincial families suddenly gained footing at court and rose to great heights through princely favour. Honoré was named governor of their old family stomping grounds at Pont-Saint-Esprit, but also of the important royal fortress downriver at Beaucaire. In 1575 he was appointed Master of Artillery of Languedoc and Provence, and was crucial in keeping the area loyal to the Crown during the Wars of Religion. Loyal to the monarchy rather than either faction in these wars, he soon recognised Henry IV as the new king after the assassination of Henry III in 1589, and thus set his sons up well as close allies to the new Bourbon dynasty and the future king, Louis XIII.

The generation that followed was the golden generation for the Albert de Luynes family. All three sons became dukes by the 1620s—Luynes, Chaulnes and Luxembourg—and the daughters married well too: one became Lady-in-Waiting to the Queen, another the Duchess of Bouillon, while the third was married to the Master of the Household of the King’s younger brother, Gaston d’Orléans.

The older two brothers have more significant stories, and left many descendants, so it is simpler to start with the youngest, Léon. The third son was given the seigneurie of Brantes, a tiny hamlet south of Orange in Papal territory of northern Provence (the area known as the Comtat Venaissin). As his brothers rose in royal favour in the reign of Louis XIII, Léon was given the post of governor of the Bastille in Paris. In 1620, he married an important heiress, Marguerite-Charlotte de Luxembourg, 3rd Duchess of Piney. This dukedom was known either as Piney or Luxembourg (and by genealogists today as Luxembourg-Piney, to make it clear that it does not refer to the actual Duchy of Luxembourg in the Low Countries).

Marguerite-Charlotte de Luxembourg, Duchesse de Piney, with her second husband (Clermont-Tonnerre)

Piney, a medieval castle in southwest Champagne, was the centre of a barony that had been held by the powerful Brienne family from the 10th century, and passed by marriage to a cadet branch of the House of Luxembourg in 1397. This line, Luxembourg-Brienne, rose to great power at court in the 16th century, and their estate at Piney (it’s castle having long crumbled into dust) was elevated to a dukedom, at first promised by the King in 1576, but officially in 1581. The second duke, Henri de Luxembourg, died in 1616 and his dukedom passed to his daughter, Marguerite-Charlotte. She was also Princess of Tingry, a small lordship in Artois that had been elevated into a principality (though without any connotations of sovereignty) for the Luxembourgs in 1587.

Léon Albert, 3rd Duke of Luxembourg-Piney, Prince of Tingry, died in 1630, and his wife ceded her duchy and principality to their son, Henri-Léon (born that same year). Legally the 4th Duke of Piney, he was reputed to be mentally disabled and lived under his mother’s care until in 1661, when he renounced his dukedom in favour of his half-sister and took religious orders (he died in 1697). The half-sister, Madeleine-Charlotte de Clermont-Tonnerre, the product of Marguerite-Charlotte de Luxembourg’s second marriage, was thus the 5th Duchess of Luxembourg-Piney, and immediately shared this title with her husband, François-Henri de Montmorency-Bouteville, a favoured commander of the armies of Louis XIV and later Marshal of France. The dukedom of Luxembourg-Piney thus passes out of the story of the Albert de Luynes family.

The second brother, Honoré d’Albert (they started using a ‘de’ to sound more aristocratic), came to court bearing the name of another of the family’s Provençal lordships, Cadenet, and was given appointments in the army. Through the extreme favour of his older brother (which we will come to), he was appointed Lieutenant-General of Picardy and a Marshal of France in 1619. Like his younger brother, Léon, he married a major heiress, in 1620, this time from the province over which he was establishing his presence as a powerful lord: Picardy, the important frontier province to the north of Paris. Claire-Charlotte d’Ailly de Picquigny, Countess of Chaulnes, was the heiress of one of the oldest families in the region.

1st Duke of Chaulnes

The barony of Picquigny was a major estate and one of the oldest baronies in France, circa 1000, though with roots and evidence of fortification back as far as the 6th century. The impressive castle was no longer lived in by the late 17th century, and was dismantled in the 18th century—today preserved as ruins.

the ruins of Picquigny

The Picquigny family had merged with the local Ailly family in the 1370s. These were also powerful nobles, as the secular lords responsible for the ecclesiastical landholdings of the bishops of Amiens—this position, known elsewhere as an avoué (or ‘advocate’) was known in a few places in France as a ‘vidame’, and the vidamé of Amiens was linked with the Ailly de Picquigny family for centuries. In 1604, Claire-Charlotte inherited from her brother-in-law (Louis II d’Oignies), the nearby county of Chaulnes. The important town and lordship of Chaulnes, east of Amiens in the Somme valley, was a major crossroads of north and south, east and west (and may take its name from calceia or chaussée, a road). The original line died out when its lord was killed at Agincourt in 1415, and the estates and castle passed through several families before ending up with the Oignies by the 1460s. The château was destroyed in 1471 and not rebuilt until 1555, on a much grander scale, and was elevated to the status of a county for Louis I d’Oignies in 1563.

the chateau of Chaulnes at the start of the 17th century

When her own family became extinct in the male line in 1619, Claire-Charlotte d’Ailly de Picquigny thus inherited the barony of Picquigny, the vidamé of Amiens and the county of Chaulnes. She married Honoré d’Albert, who from this point took the surname Albert d’Ailly, and was created Duke of Chaulnes in 1621. The château of Chaulnes was enlarged in the 17th century; after 1792 the title of duke passed to the main line of Luynes, but not the castle and the lands—sold to pay off the family’s great debts. It was mostly destroyed in World War I.

Albert d’Ailly

Honoré, 1st Duke of Chaulnes continued to serve the crown, particularly as an army commander defending his province of Picardy. He kept the Spanish invasion at bay in the 1630s, and retired from service in the 1640s (d. 1649). Honoré and Claire-Charlotte had three sons, Henri, Charles and Armand. Henri, the 2nd Duke of Chaulnes (briefly, 1649 to 1653) was a soldier in the 1640s, and son-in-law of the Marshal de Villeroy. He lived in the Hôtel de Chaulnes, on the very fashionable new Place Royale (today’s Place des Vosges), which had been purchased by his father in 1644 (it was later sold in 1698).

Hotel de Chaulnes, Paris

The second son, Charles d’Albert d’Ailly, was the 3rd Duke of Chaulnes from 1653. He was an important member of the court of Louis XIV, first serving as Ambassador to Rome (three times in the 1660s-80s), then as Governor of Brittany, 1670-95, then Governor of Guyenne, from 1695. His time in Brittany is often examined by historians as a classic example of how Louis XIV’s absolutism functioned in the provinces. Chaulnes died in 1698. He never married, and as early as 1667, a family pact arranged that his estates and titles (and the Ailly surname) would pass to a younger son of his cousin the Duke of Luynes, so it is finally to the senior line that we should now turn to.

Charles, 3rd Duke of Chaulnes

The eldest of the three d’Albert brothers who did so well at the court of Louis XIII, Charles, had been placed by his father as a page in the royal stables in 1592, when he was about 12 or 13. By 1606, he was promoted into a position within the royal falconry, and by 1611 was a favourite guide and companion to the new boy-king, Louis XIII, due to their shared love for birds and hunting. By 1616, he was named head of the King’s falconry, and was soon recognised as the King’s favourite. At this time, the King was still under the thumb of his mother, Marie de Medici, and her Italian favourites. In Spring 1617, Luynes was part of the plot (perhaps its mastermind?) that brought down the Queen Mother’s chief favourite, Concini, and led to the end of the regency and the King’s independence. Luynes was rewarded with much of the wealth of Concini and his wife (houses, furnishings) as well as the marquisate of Ancre (or Encre), based on the town of that name in Picardy, which soon changed its name to Albert (which it still bears today). The efforts to distance himself from the Queen Mother and her Italian favourites may in fact be the origins of some of the genealogical attempts to make his lineage ‘more French’, ie the Aubert story cited above.

Charles, 1st Duke of Luynes (presumed portrait)

As chief favourite of the King, Luynes was given many other posts at court, and the important position of governor of Picardy, where his marquisate was based. He was given a dukedom in 1619, but unlike other favourites with provincial origins, he didn’t have his humble Provençal lordship elevated to this title; instead he purchased the ancient and wealthy county of Maillé, next to the city of Tours in the Loire Valley, and had it, and its castle, renamed Luynes. From here on, the family would maintain twin power bases in Picardy and Touraine.

Chateau de Luynes

The Lords of Maillé had been one of the most powerful noble families of the province of Touraine since the 11th century. Extinct in 1501, their lands passed to the Laval family, in whose favour the lordship became a county in 1572. The 12th-century fortress built on a rock overlooking the Loire was transformed into a Late Gothic residence in the 15th century, with round towers and larger windows, and was sold to Charles d’Albert in 1619, and became his family seat. He destroyed the central and donjon and constructed in its place a new pavilion to make the château a more comfortable and fashionable residence, and the family maintain the property still today.

chateau de Luynes in the 17th century

The 1st Duke of Luynes was now expected to act not just as the King’s favourite for hunting and leisure time, but to have a hand in government. He proved to be fairly ill-equipped for the job, though he did leave behind a fairly good legacy as the ‘dove’ on the King’s Privy Council, usually counselling peace with France’s neighbours and with the Protestant faction within the Kingdom. He pushed the King to reconcile with his mother, and arranged the marriage of the King’s sister to the Duke of Savoy in 1619 (and pushed for an English match for his other sister too, though that did not come about until later). But in the Spring of 1621, the ‘hawks’ on the Council won out and the King was determined to march against rebellious Protestants in the southwest. Luynes, despite having almost no military experience, was appointed Constable of France, the supreme head of the military. His failure to successfully take the city of Montauban in August was sharply criticised, and while still on campaign, he caught a fever and died in December.

The 1st Duke of Luynes’ short time at the top served as an important case study for future minister-favourites. While he himself did not enjoy a long and fruitful reign at the top, the favours he secured for his brothers and sisters set up the family as a whole extremely well, as did his marriage. Marie de Rohan, who came from one of the grandest court families of all, was one of the most interesting, infuriating and dangerous women of the period (her story will be told in a Rohan blog post), and her enterprising skill led to a significant addition of property later on for the Albert de Luynes family, notably the Duchy of Chevreuse.

After the 1st Duke of Luynes died in 1621, Marie de Rohan re-married a much older man, Claude de Lorraine, whose rank was second to none in France, making Marie a princess of the House of Lorraine and thus an unassailable political force in France and indeed in Europe. Claude was the younger son of the Duke of Guise, and had been given the Duchy of Chevreuse as his part of the patrimony when he came of age. Chevreuse was a lordship in a wooded valley southwest of Paris, with its massive fortress of La Madeleine built in the 12th century, then reinforced by French kings in the Hundred Years War. The lordship was sold to King François I’s mistress, Anne de Pisseleu, for whom it was erected as a duchy in 1546. Charles, Cardinal de Lorraine, one of the most powerful members of the French court in the mid-16th century then purchased it for use as his own country house in 1551. When he died it passed to his Guise nephews, and eventually to Claude, who held the dukedom and its castle until his death in 1657. It then passed to his widow, Marie de Rohan, due to a complex financial arrangement between the spouses. In 1663, she gave it to her son from her first marriage, the 2nd Duke of Luynes, with the idea that it would be used to establish a secondary line. In another complex financial arrangement, in 1667 it was exchanged with Louis XIV for the county of Montfort-l’Amaury (see next). The King gave the estate of Chevreuse to the Dames of St-Cyr (where the school was later established by Madame de Maintenon), but two centuries later, in 1853, the Duke of Luynes repurchased the ruins of the Château de la Madeleine. In the 1970s, his efforts to sell the estate led to much (but not all) of it being purchased by the regional council and opened as a natural park.

Chateau of La Madeleine, Chevreuse

The 2nd Duke of Luynes, Louis-Charles, was only a year old when his father died, but when he came of age, he was given his father’s old job of Grand Falconer, in 1643. Less sporty than his father, and less of a political intriguer than his mother, he nonetheless espoused some more dangerous views in the religious and intellectual climate of the mid-17th century: he became quite close to the nuns of Port Royal and the Jansenist (ie, reformist) circles that congregated there. He participated in some of their intellectual endeavours, notably in the translation of the New Testament into French, and a translation of the works of Descartes (from Latin). Luynes built a château nearby at Vaumurier in 1651 (destroyed in 1680, with very little remaining), which sometimes served as a place of refuge for the nuns and the Jansenists when the much more orthodox Louis XIV turned up the heat in their persecution, and he himself retired from court to live a life of quiet piety before he died in 1690. In 1663, Luynes became proprietor of the nearby Duchy of Chevreuse, from his mother, which was, as we’ve seen, soon exchanged for Montfort (though the name Chevreuse was retained).

Louis-Charles, 2nd Duke of Luynes

The Castle of Montfort-l’Amaury, only a few miles to the west of Chevreuse, was the seat of one of the most powerful lordships of the Middle Ages, with a powerful line of lords from the 11th century, who rose to become counts of Evreux in 1118, and earls of Leicester in the early 13th century—this includes the famous Simon de Montfort, leader of the baronial revolt against Henry III of England. The lordship of Montfort itself was elevated to a county in 1218, then passed to the House of Brittany (Dreux) in 1249; a junior line, Brittany-Montfort, succeeded as dukes of Brittany themselves from the 1340s but had to wage a long bloody civil war to secure their title. Meanwhile, the castle at Montfort was destroyed in the Hundred Years War, and mostly forgotten. The lands passed with Brittany to the Crown in 1524, then were possessed by various members of the royal family until given to one of the great royal favourites, the Duke of Epernon, in 1587. In 1658, Marie de Rohan purchased the estate from Epernon’s heirs (it was still considered an ‘alienated’ Crown land), and in 1663, as above, gave it to her son Luynes. Full title to Montfort is then given by Louis XIV in 1667 (in exchange for the Chevreuse lands), and renamed ‘Chevreuse’. This was confirmed in 1692, when the King issued new letters patent saying that the son of the Duke of Luynes, Honoré-Charles, could be called ‘Duke of Chevreuse-Montfort’. The ruins of the castle (a single tower known as the ‘Anne of Brittany Tower’) today belong to the local commune.

The Anne of Brittany Tower today

The 2nd Duke of Luynes had also acquired a townhouse in Paris, the Hôtel de Luynes, on the rue Saint-Dominique on the western edge of the fashionable Saint-Germain neighbourhood. His mother, Marie de Rohan, Dowager Duchess of Chevreuse, had built the house in 1660 (and it was originally called the Hôtel de Chevreuse), and it passed to Luynes on her death in 1679. It was destroyed in the 19th century, when many of this area’s grand boulevards were being constructed, though much of the house’s interiors were preserved, notably a grand staircase in the Musée Carnavalet, and a bedchamber in the Louvre.

Already by 1688, the eldest son of the 2nd Duke had been ceded his father’s peerage enabling him to take a seat in Parlement. While the older man lived, the younger was known as the Duke of Chevreuse, and this established the tradition that persists to this day. This son, Charles-Honoré, would be the most political of all the Albert de Luynes family, and the builder of one of its most spectacular residences at Dampierre. But before we look at him, we should look at his half-siblings. These half siblings were born of the 2nd Duke’s second marriage to his aunt, Princess Anne de Rohan. Of the many daughters from this union, one stands out: Jeanne-Baptiste, the Comtesse de Verrue. She was the wife of the Savoyard diplomat, the Count of Verrua, and long-term mistress of Victor Amadeus II, Duke of Savoy, a powerful member of his court in Turin in the 1690s. Afterwards, she returned to Paris and was an influential member of salon circles for many decades.

The Countess de Verrue

Of the sons of this second marriage, Louis-Joseph served as a soldier in the French armies in the 1690s, then moved into the service of the then French ally, the Elector of Bavaria. He served as envoy of Bavaria to France and to Spain at the period of the end of the War of Spanish Succession, then in 1715 was named to two high posts in the Wittelsbach court: Chamberlain and Grand Equerry of the Elector of Bavaria; and Grand Bailiff of Liège for the Elector-Archbishop of Cologne (the brother of the Elector, who was also Prince-Bishop of Liège). It was hoped that Bavaria might be given the Southern Netherlands as part of the treaties ending the war, so these ‘Belgian’ connections made sense: indeed, that same year Louis-Joseph (known as the ‘Comte d’Albert’) married a major Belgian heiress, Madeleine-Marie de Berghes, daughter of the first Prince of Grimberghe and heiress of her brother the 2nd Prince (who would die in 1721).

Louis-Joseph d’Albert, Prince of Grimberghe

Grimbergen (or Grimberghe) is a town just north of the city of Brussels, and had been a lordship, then county, held by the House of Glimes (also known as Berghes) for generations. This family was one of the most prominent in the Southern Netherlands, in fact descended from one of the many illegitimate sons of the dukes of Burgundy in the 15th century. PhilippeFrançois de Berghes was created 1st Prince of Grimberghe in 1686 by the King of Spain. His daughter’s inheritance also included the Château of Feluy, romantically situated on a lake in northern Hainault.

Grimberghe
Feluy

With Bavarian ambitions in the Southern Netherlands dashed after 1715, the Comte d’Albert followed the Elector back to the court of Munich, and was rewarded with lands in Bavaria, the Counties of Wertingen and Hochenreichen (northwest of Augsburg). But his career was crowned in 1742 when his master, now the Elector Charles Albert, was elected Holy Roman Emperor (as Charles VII), and elevated his loyal servant to the rank of 3rd Prince of Grimberghe and Prince of the Empire. His wife died two years later, and the Prince in 1758, with no immediate heirs; their only daughter, Thérèse-Pélagie, had married her cousin the Duke of Chevreuse in 1735 (always a good strategy to keep wealth and titles within the family), but died only a year later, childless. The vast estates in the Austrian Netherlands and Bavaria passed to other families.

So, returning to the 3rd Duke of Luynes, Charles-Honoré, you might say his political links were forged early, since his mother was a close relative of the Chancellor of France, Pierre Séguier, and when he himself married, in 1667, it was to a daughter of Jean-Baptiste Colbert, the most powerful man in the ministry of Louis XIV. The famous ‘Sun King’ is traditionally known as the man who kept the old nobility far from government, trapped in their ‘gilded cage’ of Versailles. But Luynes (or Chevreuse as he was known for most of his career) is a good example of how some of the old nobility did continue to influence the King and his government, through more informal channels, as part of the triumvirate that included the Duke of Beauvilliers and Archbishop Fénelon. They were reformers, and hoped especially to influence the education and character of the King’s grandson, the Duke of Burgundy. Charles-Honoré took over his father’s duchy of Luynes in 1688, received the transfer of the new duchy of Chevreuse-Montfort in 1692 (immediately transferred to his son), and succeeded his cousin as Duke of Chaulnes in 1698 (as well as his cousin’s office of Governor of Guyenne).

Charles-Honoré, 3rd Duke of Luynes

But the 3rd Duke’s longest-lasting contribution was the construction of Dampierre. Returning once more to the Chevreuse valley southwest of Paris, the château de Dampierre is one of the nicest in the Ile de France. Dampierre too had been a lordship since the 12th century, with a castle built in the 13th, rebuilt in the 15th, and purchased by the Cardinal de Lorraine in 1551 to add to his Duchy of Chevreuse. Along with the rest of the Duchy, it passed from the Cardinal to Claude de Lorraine, and then from Marie to Rohan to the 2nd Duke of Luynes and to his son, Charles-Honoré. The new Duke of Chevreuse built the château anew in the late 1670s, with the master architect Jules Hardouin-Mansart and an extensive park by André Le Nôtre. The château of Dampierre remained the residence of the dukes of Luynes for the next three hundred years. It has served as a substitute ‘Versailles’ in films such as Ridicule in 1996, and (in parts) Marie-Antoinette in 2006. But revenue from the film productions was not sufficient to keep the tax man at bay, and in 2013, the Duke of Luynes had a huge sale of books (about 10,000) at Sothebys. Then in 2018, he sold the château entirely to the Mulliez family, owners of Auchan chain of supermarkets, who have since undertaken major renovations and created a museum dedicated to the history of carriages.

Dampierre in the 17th century
Dampierre today

The 3rd Duke of Luynes, who was also the Duke of Chaulnes due to the mutual succession pact, had two sons, and thus divided the patrimony once more between them. The eldest, Honoré-Charles, was known mostly as the Duke of Chevreuse (or sometimes the Duke of Montfort), and rose through the ranks to become a Field Marshal before he was killed in battle in 1704, predeceasing his father. The 4th Duke of Luynes was thus the 3rd Duke’s grandson. The younger son, Louis-August, became Duke of Chaulnes in 1710, and began a new junior branch of the family (next).

The 4th Duke of Luynes, Charles-Philippe, was not really known for very much except for being an excellent court insider, a part of the inner circle of Queen Marie Leszczynska, which put him in the excellent position to record lengthy and detailed memoirs, published in 17 volumes in the 19th century. He also made an important marriage in 1710 to the heiress of one of the royal cadet lines, Bourbon-Soissons, who brought to the marriage the counties of Dunois (a good augmentation to the nearby dukedom of Luynes) and Noyers, once a major Bourbon-Condé fortress in northern Burgundy (dismantled after the Wars of Religion). Louise-Léontine de Bourbon was also the titular ‘Princess of Neuchâtel’ a sovereign territory between the Swiss cities of Geneva and Basel. By 1710, these claims were completely empty, Neuchâtel being governed by the King of Prussia, and the family would never make good their claims to its sovereign territory; nevertheless, the title remained in use for the next several generations. Their descendants would add both Bourbon-Soissons and Neuchâtel arms to the Albert de Luynes arms. Very young heirs (ie sons, not sons) were now sometimes titled by courtesy ‘Count of Dunois’ rather than ‘Count of Montfort’, which gave the family an air of historical grandeur, as ‘Dunois’ was always remembered as one of the great French heroes of the Hundred Years War.

The 4th Duke’s younger brother, Paul, as Bishop of Bayeux, was also a prominent member of the dévot faction at court, the Queen’s faction, and became close to the similarly minded Dauphin and Dauphine and thus hoped to influence the education of their children (that is, the future Louis XVI and his siblings). The Bishop was a passionate supporter not just of piety in daily life, but also of the new learning of the Enlightenment: he was given a place in the Académie française in 1743, and made significant discoveries himself in the world of astronomy. He was promoted to be Archbishop of Sens in 1753, and a Cardinal in 1756, but his royal connections died one by one just as their children (born in the 1750s) were at the prime age of development: the Dauphin in 1765, the Dauphine in 1767 and the Queen in 1768, so Sens was much less relevant in the upbringing of the next royal generation than he would have liked.

The Cardinal-Archbishop of Sens

The 5th Duke of Luynes, known as was tradition as Duke of Chevreuse until his father died, led a military career, fighting in the wars of the middle of the 18th century and rising to the rank of Lieutenant-General in 1748, then taking up a court position as Colonel-General of the Royal Dragoons, one of the key regiments of the Royal Guard, in 1754, and being awarded the important post of Governor of Paris in 1758.

There were interesting dynastic aspirational strategies being displayed in the family in the early decades of the 18th century. Not only would the 5th Duke of Luynes have claimed (fairly weakly) the sovereign principalities of Neuchâtel and Valangin in Switzerland, but this claim was also linked to the principality of Orange, in the south of France (interestingly, next to where the Albert family had its origins, three centuries before). The 5th Duke as we’ve seen, married his Grimberghe cousin with great aspirations to lands and titles in the Southern Netherlands, but after her death he almost immediately married another ‘Belgian’, the Princess Pignatelli d’Egmont. Not only did her family have claims to extensive lands in southern Italy, but through the Egmont name, were (again quite weakly) claimants to the semi-sovereign duchies of Guelders and Jülich in the area of the Middle Rhine.

the 5th Duke of Luynes

These were all quite fantastical claims, and didn’t come to anything. The 6th Duke in particular seemed to be quite down to earth, and embraced the cause of the French Revolution in its very earliest days. Louis-Joseph-Charles, who had taken over his father’s court post of Colonel-General of the Dragoons in 1783, was elected to the Estates General in 1789 as a delegate from the Second Estate of Touraine, and was one of those nobles who swiftly joined the Third Estate in forming the National Assembly in June of 1789. When things got too hot for the court aristocracy by 1792, Luynes did not emigrate like most, but quietly retreated to Dampierre to wait it out. He rallied to the cause of Bonaparte and was given posts in the new administration: Mayor of the 9th Arrondissement of Paris in 1800, and Senator of the Republic in 1803—and died peaceably in 1807. As had happened once before, the cadet branch of Chaulnes had died out in 1792, so he was technically a duke twice over. So before moving into the 19th century, we should look at the cadet line.

Chaulnes was re-created as a duchy-peerage in 1711, for the second (surviving) son of the Duke of Luynes—who also added the surname of d’Ailly like his predecessors. This 4th Duke of Chaulnes, Louis-Auguste, was a career soldier, who took up one of his family’s traditional commands as Lieutenant-General of Picardy from 1692, and rose through the ranks to become Marshal of France in 1741. He died in 1744, but before he did, he signed a mutual succession pact in 1732 with the senior line of Luynes, like the one from 1667.

the 4th Duke of Chaulnes, Marshal of France

The 4th Duke’s elder son Charles-François was called ‘Duke of Picquigny’, as merely a courtesy title (ie not a peerage) from 1719, but was ceded his father’s peerage in 1729 so that he could sit in the Parlement of Paris. But he died in 1731, and these titles and honours were given instead to his younger brother, Michel-Ferdinand, who then became the 5th Duke of Chaulnes in 1744. Like his father, he was a soldier, serving in the wars of the 1740s, then appointed as Governor of Picardy and Artois in 1752. Like his cousin the Cardinal-Archbishop of Sens, he was a passionate astronomer, and built his own observatory at Chaulnes. He invented a new type of microscope and helped found the Academy of Science in Amiens in Picardy in 1750.

The 5th Duke of Chaulnes by Nattier

As before, the heir of the 5th Duke, Louis-Joseph, while at first using the traditional title for this branch’s heir, ‘Vidame d’Amiens’, was given an ‘advance’ on the ducal title, with a brevet d’honneur in 1762, making him ‘Duke of Picquigny’. He then succeeded as the 6th Duke of Chaulnes in 1769. He was less interested in a military career, but more interested in his father’s passion for science. He became a chemist and worked on various projects, including a means to purify the brewing process and a way to identify poisonous gases in mines. He also travelled extensively, including a tour of the royal tombs in Egypt. Despite the great fortunes he inherited from his parents, he was soon heavily in debt and sold nearly all this branch of the family’s properties.

The 6th Duke of Chaulnes married his cousin, daughter of the 5th Duke of Luynes, but they had no children. In 1792, the dukedom of Chaulnes (and associated names and titles) thus went back to the main line. In 1869, it was given to a younger grandson of the 8th Duke of Luynes (Paul-Marie, who already bore the title ‘Duke of Picquigny’), who established a new line. This branch was extinct in 1980, and Chaulnes passed to Jacques, second son of the 11th Duke of Luynes (b. 1946), who himself has a son who uses the courtesy title of Duke of Picquigny (Charles, b. 1978).

The 6th Duke of Luynes survived the Revolution mostly intact and left his estates and titles to his son, Charles-Marie-Paul, the 7th Duke of Luynes, who mostly lived out of the spotlight and died in 1839. His son, the 8th Duke, was a much more celebrated figure of mid-century Parisian society. Honoré-Théodoric had liberal political interests, and served in the National Assembly of the Second Republic from 1843, but withdrew from politics once the Second Empire was proclaimed. Instead, he turned to his great passion, archaeology. He had helped found an academic journal for archaeology in 1835. Now in the 1850s, he renovated the Château of Dampierre with classical elements and antique artworks, and in 1858 built the Villa Alberti above the Mediterranean at Hyères (next to Toulon), where he opened a museum of Greek and Egyptian antiquities (today this is known as the Villa Tholozan, after a later owner). In 1862, he made a huge bequest of his collections (mostly coins) to the Louvre; and he died in 1867 in Rome.

the 8th Duke of Luynes
Villa Alberti in about 1900

The 8th Duke’s son, Honoré-Louis, Duke of Chevreuse, pre-deceased him (1854), so the Luynes title passed to his grandson Charles-Honoré, while Chaulnes was ‘re-created’ once again as we’ve seen for the second grandson, Paul-Marie. The 9th Duke only survived his grandfather by three years (killed in battle in the Franco-Prussian War), so the 10th Duke, another Honoré, was duke from the age of two until he died in 1924. The 10th Duke’s eldest son, a pilot, was killed in World War I, so the title passed to the second son, Philippe, 11th Duke of Luynes.

Philippe d’Albert, 11th Duke of Luynes, was one of the most aristocratic of aristocrats in 20th-century France, closely related to the dukes of Noailles, Uzès, Brissac and Doudeauville, and the princes of Polignac. His marriage to a great Argentinian heiress in 1934 was a celebrated media event (as was the marriage in the 1960s of their daughter Inès to Prince Napoléon Murat).

the 11th Duke’s marriage in Les Modes magazine

Philippe’s son and heir, Jean, was known as the Duke of Chevreuse, and after 1980, as we’ve seen, the two lines came together once more and the second son, Jacques, was named Duke of Chaulnes. After 1993, the elder son became the 12th Duke of Luynes, and he died in 2008, making the current Duke another Philippe. As noted above, Philippe, 13th Duke, sold Dampierre, but the other family jewel, the Château of Luynes, remains.

Luynes interior courtyard

For an enjoyable and informative book about the 1st Duke of Luynes, check out Sharon Kettering’s Power and Reputation at the Court of Louis XIII. The Career of Charles d’Albert, Duc de Luynes (1578-1621) (Manchester University Press, 2014): https://manchesteruniversitypress.co.uk/9780719089985/

(images Wikimedia Commons)

Princes of Transylvania, part II

(see here for Part I)

The seventeenth century was a century of great conflict in Transylvania, but also so its longest periods of stable autonomy and the emergence of its most famous national heros. Prince Gábor Bethlen’s 15-year reign, 1613 to 1629, and the 18 years of the reign of György I Rákóczy, 1630-1648, are seen as islands of respite in a mostly turbulent history.

Gábor Bethlen

There are two Bethlen noble houses in Hungarian/Transylvanian history. Both (probably) derive their name from the town of Bethlen (today Beclean) in northern Transylvania. Sources differ as to whether they were branches of the same family or not (they bear different coats of arms which is usually a strong indicator they are distinct). The family known as Bethlen de Bethlen was probably descended from the Apafi (see below), and while they were consistently one of the most prominent noble families in the region—all the way up to becoming Chancellor of Transylvania in the 1670s—they were not princely, so are not ‘on topic’ here. They outlived the princely Bethlen dynasty, continued to dominate local administration in the Austro-Hungarian monarchy of the 19th century, and even remained prominent in the 20th century: Count István Bethlen de Bethlen was Prime Minister of Hungary, 1921-31.

The other branch had their ancestral seat at Iktár, in a region of the old Kingdom of Hungary known as the Banat, which, following the conquest by the Ottomans in the 1520s, became a province directly ruled by the Sultan, the Eyalet of Temeşvar (the Temesvári vilajet, in Hungarian). The family moved their seat therefore in 1576 to Marosillye, to a fortified castle a short distance across the frontier in Transylvania. This castle was demolished in 1670 (leaving just a bastion), and the castle there today was one rebuilt by new owners in the 18th century, the Bornemisza family.

Farkas Bethlen de Iktár was given lands in Transylvania by Stephen Báthory, and named Captain-General of the Principality, but left his two sons as orphans in 1591. The elder, Gábor, was raised under the aegis of István Bocskai, then supported the rule of Mózes Székely as one of his leading commanders. When the latter was defeated, Bethlen fled to the Ottoman Empire and became leader of the Transylvanian refugees. He returned to join Bocskai’s Uprising and was rewarded with lands in Hunyad County and the job of Lieutenant there (1605). He fell out with Gábor Báthory so went into exile once again into Ottoman lands. When Báthory was then replaced by the annoyed Sultan in 1613, Bethlen was the logical choice. He was soon endorsed by the Transylvanian Diet, then by the Emperor Matthias in Vienna in 1615.

Prince Gábor Bethlen (or Bethlen Gábor—remember it is traditional in Hungarian to reverse the names) was seen as an ‘enlightened’ ruler, and developed the area’s mines and industry. He built a new grand palace in Gyulafehérvár, founded a Protestant college here and sponsored Protestant students to go abroad and study in England and the Netherlands. Disliking increasing Habsburg persecution of Protestants in Royal Hungary, he invaded in August 1619, captured the chief cities of Kassa and Pozsony (the royal capital), and advanced into Austria but by November was pushed back out by Habsburg forces. After a temporary peace, in August 1620, he was elected King of Hungary by an anti-Habsburg assembly, though this was never recognised by all parties, and by December 1621, he renounced the election and signed another peace accord—in exchange he was given more counties on the eastern margins of Royal Hungary to govern, and the Emperor agreed to tolerate religious freedom in Bethlen’s domains. He was also given one of those small Silesian duchies that were always being handed out to solidify alliances (Opole), but did not hold on to it very long.

the 17th-century prince’s palace in Gyulafehérvár (Alba Julia), now very much overshadowed by the much larger fortifications built by the Habsburgs in the 18th century (photo Ciprian Lazar)

As the Thirty Years War, which broke out in 1618, started to heat up for the new Habsburg Emperor (Ferdinand II), Bethlen pressed for more advantages, including a Habsburg bride for himself (always a good thing for raising the status of your dynasty). When he was turned down, he negotiated instead for a Calvinist Hohenzollern bride from Brandenburg, Princess Catherine. She was the daughter of the Elector of Brandenburg, but also, crucially, the sister-in-law of King Gustavus Adolphus of Sweden, the Protestant military champion. The couple married in 1626, but had no children before Gábor died in November 1629.

Catherine of Brandenburg

Catherine of Brandenburg was named Princess of Transylvania in her own right in November 1629, and even minted her own coins, but she was replaced by her husband’s younger brother István in September 1630. She converted to Catholicism in 1639 to marry the Duke of Saxe-Lauenburg and died in 1649.

Catherine’s coins

Prince István Bethlen resigned only a few months later in favour of György Rákóczi, the son of Prince Zsigmond. Rákóczi had been the leader of the Protestant faction of nobles in Hungary in the reign of Gábor Bethlen, but also enjoyed the favour of the Habsburg regime in Vienna. He married a wealthy heiress, Zsuzsanna Lórántffy, and settled in her estate of Sárospatak.

Prince István Bethlen

The magnificent castle of Sárospatak, in the far northeast corner of Hungary (bordering on Slovakia) is today one of the crown jewels of the Hungarian National Museum network of museums. It is considered amongst the best-preserved Renaissance architecture in Hungary. The central fortified tower, the ‘red tower’, was built by King Andrew II in the 13th century, and is thought to be the birthplace of one of Hungary’s national saints, Saint Elizabeth. The Perényi family added a Renaissance palace in the 1530s and 40s, a period when this area became known as a place for Protestant education and thinking—the first Protestant college in Hungary was founded here in 1530, and the famous Czech theologian Comenius (Komenský) was given safe have to write and teach here in the 1650s, by which time it was one of the main Rákóczy strongholds. After the tumults of the end of the century, much damaaged, the castle was handed over by the Habsburgs to various Austrian families, and today, restored, it serves as the Rákóczi Museum—it even features on the back of the 500 forint note.

Sárospatak Castle (photo Civertan)

György Rákóczi led troops in Gábor Bethlen’s war against the Habsburgs in the early 1620s, then (eventually) succeeded him as Prince of Transylvania from November 1630. The reign of György I is mostly uneventful, though he survived an attempt by the Ottomans to replace him in 1636 and unrest from neighbouring Wallachian and Moldavian princes later in the decade; but a mostly peaceful reign gave him time to continue to develop Bethlen’s princely court at Gyulafehérvár, and elevate his residences at Sárospatak and Munkács as truly princely residences in the 1630s and 40s, receiving ambassadors with lavish attention to augment his reputation in the diplomatic world.

a sketch of Prince György Rákóczi by Rembrandt

The monumental fortress of Munkács was for centuries one of the most famous in Hungary, yet ironically isn’t in Hungary at all today. Called Mukachevo in Ukrainian, it is one of the major tourist attractions of the Zakarpattia (Trans-Carpathia) region of the far southwest of Ukraine. It was also called Plankenburg in German or Palanok in Ruthenian (early Ukrainian). Perched high on a volcanic hill, it was built as early as the founding of the Hungarian kingdom by Saint Stephen in the 11th century to guard the Vereche Pass, over which the Magyar tribes had come from the steppes north of the Black Sea. Indeed, it proved a useful guardian against further tribes who crossed the same pass: the Pechenegs, the Mongols, the Tatars. By the mid-13th century it was the largest, best defended fortress in the Kingdom of Hungary. Munkács was held by various noble families in the 14th and 15th centuries, then directly by the Crown in the 16th, until Maximilian II gave it in 1573 to Gábor Mágócsi, whose sons were raised (and fleeced, it looks like) by their stepfather, Zsigmond Rákóczi. It again passed through different aristocratic hands until it was returned by Prince Gábor Bethlen to the Rákóczi in 1629.

Munkács Castle–todays’ Mukachevo in Ukraine

Munkács remained the seat of the Rákóczi princes for much of the rest of the seventeenth century, and was famously defended by the widow of Prince Ferenc I, Ilona Zrínyi, in sieges lasting for several years in 1685 to 1687. Until she finally surrendered it in January 1688, Munkács was the only castle the Habsburgs were unable to take by force. It was retaken by Ferenc II Rákóczi in 1703, then retaken again by Imperial forces in 1711. But across the 18th century, it lost its strategic value (especially once Galicia became part of the Habsburg domains following the partition of Poland), and it became a state prison. Many significant prisoners were held here until it was decommissioned by Emperor Franz Josef in 1896 in commemoration of the Millennium of the founding of the Hungarian Kingdom. In the 20th century it was used as a barracks for the Czech, Hungarian, then Soviet armies, then restored and re-opened as a museum (as Mukachevo) by the Ukrainian government in the 1990s.

As the Thirty Years War was already starting to wind down, Prince György I Rákóczi decided to intervene, and attacked the forces of Emperor Ferdinand III in 1644. But the Sultan was not in a mood to wage war, and ordered his vassal to withdraw in 1645. The resulting peace treaty confirmed the earlier treaties (rule over some of the eastern counties of north-eastern Hungary and religious freedom for Protestants), and the Prince died soon after in 1648.

His son, Prince György II, had been elected as successor already in 1642, and in 1643 married Zsófia Báthory (from above), the last of her family. Her mother had forced her to convert from Catholicism in a bid to keep relevant in Transylvanian magnate politics, and she was a most unwilling bride. In 1657, the Prince joined Sweden in its war against Poland-Lithuania, with the aid of the rulers of Wallachia and Moldavia, and Cossack troops disgruntled with Polish rule in the eastern steppes of what is now Ukraine. György decided to claim the Polish throne itself, perhaps drawing on the reputation of his wife’s Báthory name. Like his father, he did not consult with his overlord, the Sultan Mehmed IV, and was thus not supported when things went wrong. After initial successes in Poland, his forces were were thrown into disarray in the late summer, and as he fled back to Transylvania, his abandoned army was almost entirely captured by the Crimean Tatars, allies of Poland. György II was deposed formally by the Sultan in November, but defiantly reinstated by the Transylvanian Diet in January 1658. He was driven out then returned again in March 1659. The Turks invaded the principality in Spring 1660, and Rákóczi died from wounds he received in the fierce battle at Szászfenes (today’s Florești) in May.

Prince György II Rákóczi

György’s son, Ferenc (Francis), had been pre-elected like his father in 1652 (aged only 7), but was passed over for the throne following the debacle of 1657. His mother, Zsófia Báthory, hastily converted herself back to Catholicism, and her young son too, earning Habsburg favour, and even obtained from the Imperial court the title of count for the Rákóczi family (in 1664). As noted above, Hungarian nobles rarely sported any title at all, so this was a relatively rare privilege. We will return to Ferenc below.

A 19th-century historical illustration of two of Transylvania’s heroic women: Ilona Zrínyi and Zsófia Báthory

In the confusion of 1657-58, a number of very short-lived princely reigns followed in quick succession: Rhédey, Barcsay, Kemény. The first was Ferenc Rhédey, who ruled from November 1657 to January 1658. The Rhédey were ancient nobles, a cadet branch of the powerful Clan Aba (one of the first families of Hungary, see below), who adopted the name Rhédey in the late 13th century, taken from their properties of Kisréde and Nagyréde in Heves County, northeast of Buda. With the Turkish occupation of central Hungary in the 1540s, they moved east into Transylvania and were given lands in Maros County, and gradually built up lands there, and the title of baron, 1606. They acquired the castle of Erdőszentgyörgy there in 1627 (today’s Sângeorgiu de Pădure); as Rhédey Castle it was rebuilt in the 18th century, then renovated in a classical style in the early 19th century, and was the birthplace of Countess Claudine Rhédey who became the grandmother of Princess Mary of Teck, queen-consort of King George V of Great Britain. It is this connection that has brought Prince Charles to Transylvania in support of renovating its built heritage and conserving its wildlife. Rhédey Castle served as the local primary school in the 20th century, and is now a museum. There is also a Rhédey Palace in the city of Cluj (formerly Kolozsvár), originally built by the Székely family in the 17th century, inherited in the 18th century by the Rhédeys, and rebuilt in the 1770s to house one of the very first Hungarian theatre companies.

Rhédey Castle (photo Wikizoli)

Ferenc Rhédey, Prince of Transylvania, was closely connected to Prince Gábor Bethlen, his mother having remarried the Prince’s brother István Bethlen, and Ferenc himself marrying his step-sister Druzsiána Bethlen. Like his father, he served as lieutenant of Máramaros County, and became a trusted counsellor to Prince György II Rákóczi. He had the wisdom not to try to hold on to power in January 1658, when the latter reclaimed his throne, and was rewarded with the title of count in 1659. His branch of the family went extinct with his death in 1667, but his cousins were re-created counts again in 1744. The family was extinct by the end of the 19th century.

Prince Ferenc Rhédey

In September 1658, the Sultan appointed another of Prince György’s chief commanders and advisors, Ákos Barcsay. Despite his stronger position as Rákóczy’s chief of council and one of the governors of Transylvania appointed while the Prince was away in Poland in 1657, he had initially been passed over for Rhédey as he was of lower rank. But only just. The Barcsay family traced their lineage back to the early 14th century, and were originally based in Transylvania too (unlike the Bethlens or the Rákóczis), at Nagybarca (Bârcea Mare) in Hunyad County. Like most magnates they became Calvinist in the Reformation.

Prince Ákos Barcsay

Ákos Barcsay had been a diplomat and counsellor of Prince György I, Lieutenant of Hunyad County from 1648, then, as noted, chief of council for Prince György II. His brother was one of the leaders of the Transylvanian army. In October 1658, the Diet agreed to the Sultan’s choice, and the new Prince Barcsay agreed to pay 40,000 thalers a year in tribute, and to capture the deposed Prince György. But in March 1659, at a time he was away from the capital, consulting with regional Turkish administrators, Rákóczi returned and resumed his government of the Principality. Barcsay was installed by the Turks once again by force in May 1660 (and from this point they occupied directly those counties of the Hungarian kingdom known as the ‘Partium’). One of his main generals was killed in battle by another of Rákóczi’s former commanders, János Kemény, in November 1660, and Prince Ákos himself was defeated in December and abdicated. He was murdered by Kemény’s men in July 1661. The Barcsay family continued for a while, named barons from 1742, but this branch soon died out.

Meanwhile, János Kemény was now Prince of Transylvania, this time as a vassal of the Habsburgs, not the Ottomans. His family were also ancient nobles, Transylvanian, from the 13th century, based around estates at Magyargyerőmonostori (Mănăstireni), near Kolozsvár. In the 1640s, János acquired a castle further north at Aranyosmeggyes (Medieşu Aurit) in the far northwest of the Principality in Szatmár County, through his marriage to an heiress of the noble Lónyai family. The 13th-century castle had been held for centuries by the Báthorys, then rebuilt in the Renaissance style in the 1620s, before it passed to Anna Lónyay. It was mostly destroyed in the rebellions of the later 17th century, rebuilt in the 19th century, then blown up in World War II and left as a ruin.

Aranyosmeggyes Castle (photo h_laca)

Like Rhédey and Barcsay, Kemény had been a chief advisor to Prince György II, and went with him to Poland as one of his commanders in 1657. He was held captive by the Tatars in Bağçasaray, the capital of the Crimean Khanate, until his wife paid a huge ransom in August 1659. He wrote a memoir of his experiences, which is considered one of the best of that genre of the 17th century. So he had been completely out of the way during the confusion of 1658-59. He realised that György II would never regain the support of the Sultan, that Barcsay was unlikely to hold on to his throne, and that Transylvania would not recover any semblance of freedom without help from Vienna. So with authorisation from the Emperor, he organised a Diet to proclaim himself Prince of Transylvania in January 1661, and went further to declare the end of dependence on the Ottomans in April. But the Sultan felt differently, and sent an army back to Transylvania and defeated the ‘false prince’ in June. János Kemény tried again in September, but was killed in battle in January 1662. He left descendants who became barons in 1698, and counts in 1804.

Prince János Kemény

Reasserting Ottoman authority, Küçük Ali Pasha chose another of Rákóczi’s former commanders, Mihály (Michael) Apafi, to be Prince of Transylvania in September 1661. Apparently he had asked three other nobles who had refused. Apafi accepted, was approved by the Diet, and immediately made a secret peace deal with the Habsburgs, who therefore abandoned Kemény. By 1664, in a new peace treaty between the Habsburgs and the Ottomans, Emperor Leopold recognised Mihály Apafi as prince, and he settled in for a nice thirty-year rule.

Prince Mihály I Apafi

At this point—for fun—we can delve a bit more into the very ancient history of the Magyar peoples, and look (finally) at the Aba Clan, progenitors of the Apafi. The ‘Gens Aba’ are considered to be amongst the founding fathers of the nation. According to the 13th-century Gesta Hunnorum et Hungarorum, they descended from Attila the Hun and a daughter of Emperor Honorius, though Honorius (d. 423) had no children, and there aren’t nearly enough generations to their supposed son Csaba in the 9th century. More historically the founder may have been a tribal leader of Khazars, a Turkic tribe that joined the Magyar federation in the 9th century on the Pontic Steppes before they emigrated into the Danube Basin. They were given lands by Prince Árpád, the founder of the royal dynasty, in about 900, in the forests of the Matra Mountains, now Heves County (northeast of Buda), centred on Gyöngyös. They built a castle called Pata, or Gyöngyöspata. Prince Shaba (or Csaba) married in about 1009 a daughter of the Magyar chieftain, Géza, and had a son called Sámuel. The family converted to Christianity, perhaps from paganism, but maybe from Judaism (Samuel’s name is a clue)—there were in fact Khazar leaders who had adopted Judaism in the 8th century. It is an intriguing idea. In any case, the newly Christianised Aba family built the Abbey of Abasár on their lands, around which formed the new Eger diocese. The name Aba could refer to the word for ‘father’, to represent their patriarchal piety.

Sámuel Aba became ‘count palatine’ (head of the court) for his first cousin, King Stephen I. When that king, founder of the Hungarian monarchy, died childless in 1038, he was first succeeded by his nephew Peter the Venetian, then by Sámuel in 1041. It is likely he who built Abaújvár (‘Aba’s New Castle’, a fortified hilltop, today just an archaeological site), which came to form the core of a new county in the northeast of the Kingdom, Abaúj. Peter the Venetian returned however, reclaimed the throne in 1044, and executed his cousin.

a rather helpless looking King Sámuel Aba (from a much later chronicle)

Famous Aba descendants include Miklós Aba, Ban of Dalmatia and Croatia, 1272-73, and Makján Aba, Palatine of Hungary, 1286-87. But the most famous was Amadé Aba, also Palatine, on and off several times between 1288 and 1310. After the death of the last king from the Árpád dynasty (András III) in 1301, Amadé led his own more or less independent foreign policy, supporting candidates for the royal throne from dynasties of Bohemia, Poland, Naples (Anjou) and Austria. He ultimately supported the election of Charles of Anjou in 1308, and was appointed Lieutenant of Szepes County—he became virtual ruler of a large domain in this area, centred on Gönc and Boldogkő castles (in Abaúj County), and the town of Kassa (today’s Košice)—stretching towards the Carpathians into what’s now Ukraine (Munkács—see above).

Boldogkő Castle (photo Peter Svitek)

Prince Amadé Aba granted lands to his followers, and noble titles, and ran his own judicial court. But in 1310, he was stripped of his titles by the king he had helped create, and in 1311 was murdered by the citizens of Kassa. His sons tried to continue his powerful dominion but were defeated by King Charles’s army at Rozgony (Rozhanovce, near Košice) in June 1312. After the Battle of Rozgony, the Aba supremacy was crushed. Abaujvár and the core lands around Gyöngyös passed into other noble families. But nearly twenty noble houses trace descent back to the Clan Aba, including the Rhédey and the Bethlen de Bethlen (not the Bethlen de Iktár). And of course the Apafi (or Abafy or Apaffy).

The Apafi surname appeared in the early 14th century, and they made their base at Apa-Nagyfalva (Nușeni in Romanian) in north-central Transylvania (Beszterce-Naszód County). This castle was destroyed several times in the 17th century, then passed to the Bánffy family by the end of the century. As far as I can tell, there are no remains.

While the noble family name remained Apafi de Apanagyfalva, their dynastic headquarters, from the 15th century, was Ebesfalva, in Szeben County (Sibiu), central Transylvania. It was also known just as Apafi Castle. (falva by the way means ‘someone’s village’). In the 1550s, the castle was rebuilt by Gergely Apafi, whose son and grandson rose to the rank of lieutenant of neighbouring Küküllő County. The latter’s son was Mihály Apafi, who became Prince of Transylvania. After the extinction of the family in 1713, the town was bought by Armenian settlers in 1720s, and renamed Erzsébetváros (or Elisabethstadt). The castle later served as a courthouse, a district court, a prison and a town hall; it is now a museum of Armenian culture (renamed Dumbrăveni in Romanian in the 20th century).

Ebesfalva or Apafi Castle (photo Andrei Kokelburg)

Another residence was the villa at Almakerék (Mălâncrav, southwest of Sighisoara), built in late 16th century, which passed to the Bethlen family in the 18th century—this is one of those renovated with the aid of Prince Charles in 2000. The Lutheran church in this town was also the dynastic burial place for the Apafi family.

Apafi manor at Almakerék (photo El bes)

Mihály Apafi served with Prince György Rákóczy in the disastrous campaign in Poland in 1657, and like János Kemény, was held by the Tatars in Crimea until his wife paid his ransom in 1661. As we’ve seen above, he was appointed Prince of Transylvania by the Turks in September 1661, approved by the Transylvanian Diet, then recognised by the Habsburg emperor in 1664 (Treaty of Vasvár). This treaty, while good for Apafi, annoyed a lot of the Hungarian nobles who sensed the Ottoman Empire was finally on the defensive and potentially challengable. Seeing the Habsburg Emperor do nothing, they rebelled against him in 1666-67. They invited young Ferenc Rákóczy, the son of Prince György, to be their leader. The rebellion was disorganised and quickly put down, with most of its leaders brutally executed. But Ferenc’s mother, Zsófia Báthory, intervened and paid a huge fee (300,000 forints). She was a tremendous force; but so too was her daughter-in-law, Ilona Zrínyi, the immensely rich daughter of the Ban of Croatia, Count Peter Zrínyi (or Zrinski in Croatian) who had initially spearheaded the rebellion, and would be executed in 1671. Prince Ferenc I tried then to stay neutral in the coming years, and died, aged only 31, in 1676.

Prince Ferenc I Rákóczy

Apafi had stayed mostly out of all of this. As prince he resided mostly at Fogaras Castle (Făgăraș, the capital of the old Fogaras County, now in Brașov County), a traditional seat of Transylvanian princes, built in the 1310s, rebuilt in the 1520s, and transformed by Prince Mihály Apafi into a princely residence (as Gyulafehérvár had been mostly destroyed by the Turks in 1658). In the 20th century it was used as a prison, and is today a museum—one of the great castle-museums of Romania.

Fogaras Castle (photo Andrei Dan Suciu)

Prince Mihály remained loyal to the Sultan during the Ottoman invasion of western Hungary and the siege of Vienna in 1683, and indeed led some Transylvanian troops in support (but carefully avoided actually engaging in battle), but after the spectacular (and rather surprising) defeat of the Ottomans, Apafi saw his autonomy threatened by Habsburg armies advancing across the Hungarian plain. Buda was liberated from the Turks in 1686, and troops of Duke Charles of Lorraine entered Transylvania. Apafi made a deal in 1687 recognising Habsburg suzerainty, and to pay a very large sum of money; in return, the Emperor recognised his son’s right to the succession, which was approved soon after by the Sultan as well.

Prince Mihály I Apafi

Mihály I died in 1690, and was indeed succeeded by his son, Mihály II. He had been ‘associated’ with his father’s reign as prince since 1681. By the mid-1680s, however, the Turks had shifted their interests towards the leader of a new anti-Habsburg rebellion, Imre Thököly (more on him next). Emperor Leopold recognised Mihály II Apafi as Prince of Transylvania in 1691, though under a regency council (he was only 15). His councillors continued to negotiate for a semi-independent state, now under the protection of the Protestant Great Powers: England, the United Dutch Provinces and Brandenburg-Prussia. But in 1692, the young Prince was lured to Vienna and pressed to concede control of the principality. By 1696 it was under the rule of a military governor and he formally abdicated. Apafi was created a Reichsfürst, given a generous pension and lived out his days in Vienna where he died in 1713.

Prince Mihály II Apafi

By this point, the attentions of Hungarian and Transylvanian nationalists had firmly shifted to Imre Thököly and his step-son, who happened to be Ferenc II Rákóczy.

The Thököly family are quite different from all the other families surveyed thus far, in that they were not very ancient, and were (at first) not very noble. They were also not from Transylvania, and the individual we need to focus on here, Imre, was only nominally prince of Transylvania for one year. His history mostly belongs to the history of Hungary and to the Ottoman-Habsburg wars more generally, so I’ll focus on his dynastic history here. From a family of horse and cattle merchants from Upper Hungary, Sebestyén Thököly began to accumulate great wealth in the mid-16th century, so much that he was able loan some to the Habsburg monarchs to fund their wars. They reciprocated generously with ennoblement in 1572, then the title of baron in 1598. In between, he acquired an estate at Késmárk (today Kežmarok), in Szepes County, in 1583. This was a Lutheran town, and Thököly a member of the new faith. Most residents were in fact German (and the name of the town was German for ‘cheese market’), and would remain the majority until about 1910.

Késmárk Castle

The newly minted Baron Sebestyén Thököly de Késmárk left his fortune to his son, István, who then married a great heiress, Katalin Thurzó, and acquired through this union notably the major fortress of Árva, perched dramatically above a river bend in the mountainous frontier between Hungary and Poland. This castle (now Orava) was built in the mid-16th century on the site of a much older wooden fortification, and was added to by various magnate families, notably the Thurzós. Today it is frequently used as a set for filming, including the 2020 retelling of the Dracula story for BBC and Netflix (so Count Dracula does get into this story!).

Árva Castle (photo Civertan)

Baron István’s son, also called István, became Lieutenant of Árva County, and as a steadfastly loyal supporter of the Habsburg monarchy, was elevated further to the rank of Count in 1654. He married a grand-daughter of Prince István Bethlen, with estates in Transylvania, and close relations with the Rhédey family. But the nervous Habsburg administration grew suspicious about Count István’s loyalties during an anti-Habsburg aristocratic plot in 1670, and when he and his family retreated to Árva Castle, they laid siege, during which he died. His young son Imre was smuggled out to safety to his mother’s estates in Transylvania.

Prince Imre Thököly

Count Imre (usually translated as ‘Emeric’ in English) thus became the charismatic leader of Hungarian resistance to Habsburg rule for the next three decades, one of the most formidable. As an exile at the court of Prince Mihály I Apafi, he came into contact with a number of disgruntled Protestant nobles and clergy, who as soldiers took on the name kuruc, which some have thought to have come from cruciatus (‘crusader’) but is more likely from the Turkish word kurudsch, ‘rebel’. In 1677, Apafi made some secret deals with the king of France, Louis XIV, who agreed to subsidise a kuruc rebellion, especially if led by young Imre Thököly. He raised troops in Transylvania and initiated a grand revolt in 1678, and initially did extremely well, taking over much of the Kingdom of Hungary and proclaiming himself ‘Prince of Upper Hungary’ in 1681. Playing on his kinship relations with the Bethlen and Rhédey clans, he also married the widow of Prince Ferenc I Rákóczy for good measure— llona Zríniyi would certainly play her part as the ‘Kuruc Queen’. Sultan Mehmed IV went further and recognised Thököly as ‘king’ of Upper Hungary, a title confirmed by some local diets.

llona Zríniyi

A triumphant Prince Imre aided the Ottomans in the siege of Vienna, but when that went badly for them, bore the brunt of the blame. In frustration, he tried to make a deal with Emperor Leopold, offering to end his rebellion in return for acknowledgement of the rights of Protestants in Hungary and of his title as Prince of Upper Hungary. Leopold refused. War re-commenced, and Thököly suffered a major defeat at Eperjes (now Prešov), 11 August 1685. When he sought the help of his Turkish protectors, they sent him in chains to Adrianople, and most of his kuruc followers abandoned him. A year later, however, he was released and sent with a small army to Transylvania to attempt to reclaim his principality. He had little success, nor in the attempt that followed in 1688, but in September 1690, he did defeat a combined Austrian and Apafi army, and was elected Prince of Transylvania by the Diet. But he was ousted soon after in 1691.

For the rest of the decade, Prince Imre Thököly served as an able cavalry commander in Ottoman armies, notably at the Battle of Zenta in 1697. But when a peace treaty was finally made (Karlowitz) in January 1699, his name was explicitly excluded from the amnesty that was offered to most Hungarian rebels. After one last attempt to reclaim his lands, he and his wife retired to the community of Hungarian exiles in Galata (the foreigner settlement across the Golden Horn from Constantinople). He received the title ‘Count of Widin’ (Vidin, Bulgaria) from the Sultan (Mustafa II), and spent the last years of his life in exile. After he died in 1705, in the city of İzmit (ancient Nicomedia), he was buried there, but in 1906 his ashes were returned to Hungarian (for the moment) soil in Késmárk.

Thököly’s statue on Heroes’ Square (Hősök tere) in Budapest (photo Karelj)

The leadership role of anti-Habsburg rebellion in Hungary was now taken up by Thököly’s step-son, Prince Ferenc II Rákóczy. After the death of his father, Ferenc I, the boy had been raised, with his sister Julianna, at the family estates of Munkács and Sárospatak, though under the strict formal guardianship of Emperor Leopold. The powerful Countess Ilona kept her children safe during the three-year siege of Munkács in 1686-88, but after her surrender, all were taken to Vienna to be educated at court and integrated into the Austrian aristocracy. In 1694, young ‘Franz’ married Princess Amalia of Hesse-Rheinfels-Wanfried, and they settled down at Sárospatak Castle from where he could act as a loyal supporter of the Habsburg regime as Lieutenant of Sáros County.

Prince Ferenc II Rákóczy

But in April 1700, letters were intercepted by Habsburg authorities that implicated Rákóczy in a developing international plot by which France was attempting to gather allies for its impending war against Austria over the rights to the Spanish Succession. He was arrested, but escaped to Poland and by June 1703 accepted an offer to lead another kuruc uprising, a war of liberation. He convinced and army of peasant soldiers and Hajduks, but this time the bulk of the Hungarian nobility did not rally to the cause. Nevertheless, Rákóczy initially made great gains and occupied much of the Kingdom. In 1704, he assumed the title Prince of Transylvania, the last native son to bear this title.

But by 1705, France was doing badly in the war and was no longer able to send financial support. Still, in September, a diet of ‘Confederated Estates’ from all over Hungary elected Rákóczy as ‘Ruling Prince’. Peace talks with Vienna stumbled over the issue of the sovereignty of Transylvania, and in June 1707, the Habsburgs were formally declared ‘deposed’ by another diet. At the battle of Trencsén (Trenčin), 3 August 1708, the Prince suffered a defeat, and most of his allies abandoned him. He held out in Munkács, waiting for French aid that never came, until he fled once more to Poland in February 1711. The Emperor’s forces made peace with Rákóczy’s remaining troops in May (the Peace of Szatmár), and assured the Prince clemency if he would swear an oath of loyalty. He refused. His lands were confiscated, especially Munkács and others in Trans-Carpathia. He stayed in Poland—supported even as a candidate for the crown there by Tsar Peter I and others—then in 1712 went west on a tour and to press his case at the international peace negotiations then in full swing at Utrecht. He visited England and France and was viewed as a great hero by the fashionable set, but was completely ignored by the diplomats at Utrecht. His welcome in France ran out following the death of his erstwhile ally Louis XIV, so in 1717 he travelled to the Ottoman Empire, with a large entourage, where he settled in the large community of exiled Hungarian nobles at Rodostó on the Sea of Marmara (the ancient Rhaedestus, which was renamed Tekirdağ later in the 18th century).

Rákóczy’s statue in front of the parliament building in Budapest

The last Prince of Transylvania lived here in comfort for many years and died in 1735. His heart was sent to France and his body to the Jesuit church in Galata, in Constantinople, alongside his mother Ilona. In 1906, their bodies were moved to the Cathedral in Kassa in a great Hungarian nationalist pageant—though of course, this city (Kosiče) is no longer in Hungary either.

Meanwhile, the Prince of Transylvania had become the Habsburg Emperor himself. From 1711 (and legally from 1699), Transylvania was incorporated more fully into the Habsburg monarchy and ruled directly by governors. None of these were from the great Transylvanian magnate families, with the exception of Count György Bánffy, who had a long run in quite challenging times: 1787 to 1822. After 1765, the status of Transylvania was raised to a ‘Grand Principality’ for Emperor Joseph II, as an autonomous realm of the Hungarian Crown. The rising numbers of Romanians in the population were ignored, and even though they were the majority, their numbers could always be balanced by the combined numbers of Hungarian and German subjects (according to some statistics, but not others—and this became controversial). In 1804, Transylvania was declared an Austrian Crownland, severing its link with Hungary, but in the 1848 revolution, it was incorporated into Hungary directly. Once this revolution failed, the situation was reversed, until the great compromise of 1867 joined Transylvania firmly to the Crown of Hungary and the separate Grand Principality was dissolved for good.

The Austrian Empire in the early 19th century, with Transylvania in yellow at right

As the Habsburg Monarchy collapsed at the end of the First World War, Transylvania was proclaimed to be united with Romania, December 1918 (the Union of Alba Julia). This was sealed by the Treaty of Trianon, June 1920, but was not accepted by Hungary, who argued that 1.6 million Hungarians were now trapped on the wrong side of the border. By 2011, they still have a significant presence in some parts of Transylvania, cited at about 18% of the total population (with the ancient Saxon / German population now measuring only about 0.5%).

After 1711, there were also two ‘pretenders’ to the throne of Transylvania, the two sons of Prince Ferenc II Rákóczy: József and György. Both boys were kept in Vienna after the exile of their father, as ‘guests’ of the Emperor, who gave them an education and new ‘incognito’ titles: the Marchese di San Marco and the Marchese della Santa Elisabetta. I doubt people were fooled. In 1734, their father in far-off Turkey, probably sensing his end, decided to grant them better titles: the Duke of Munkács for the elder and the Duke of Makovica for the younger. József soon left Vienna and travelled through Italy, France and Spain, then visited Rodostó, and was recognised as Prince of Transylvania by the Sultan in 1737 as he prepared to launch a new war against the Habsburgs. This Prince Rákóczy was sent to the Balkans but didn’t get very far and died in 1738. György, on the other hand, had already settled in Paris much earlier (from about 1726) and lived there for many years, a fashionable curiosity in society, but little else. He did travel to the Ottoman Empire in 1742 on the invitation of the Sultan, but declined his offer to take up once more the Rákóczy family claims to Transylvania, and returned to France. He died at St Denis in 1756.

a life of József Rákóczy published shortly after his death

The house at Rodostó (Tekirdağ) in which Prince Ferenc II Rákóczy lived for many years was rebuilt after the property was donated to the Hungarian state in 1982. It now stands proudly as the Rákóczy Museum, a place of pilgrimage nearly four centuries after the Prince’s death. The memory of the Principality of Transylvania lives on.

The Rákóczy Museum in Rodostó (Tekirdağ) (photo Ollios)

(images Wikimedia Commons)

–A very big thanks to Dr Gábor Kármán of the Institute of History, Budapest, for helping me spot errors in this complicated story!

Families covered in this post:

  • Hunyadi
  • Zápolya
  • Báthory
  • Gutkeled
  • Székely
  • Bocskai
  • Rákóczi
  • Bethlen
  • Rhédey
  • Barcsay
  • Kemény
  • Apafi
  • Aba
  • Thököly

Castles visited:

in Romania (Transylvania):

  • Hunyad (Hunedoara / Corvin Castle)
  • Gyulafehérvár (Alba Julia)
  • Somlyó (Şimleu, Báthory Castle)
  • Erdőszentgyörgy (Sângeorgiu / Rhédey Castle)
  • Aranyosmeggyes (Medieşu Aurit)
  • Ebesfalva (Ibașfalău, now Dumbrăveni / Apafi Castle)
  • Almakerek (Mălâncrav)
  • Fogaras (Făgăras)

in Slovakia (‘Upper Hungary’):

  • Trencsén (Trenčin)
  • Makovica (Zboró, Zborov)
  • Késmárk (Kežmarok)
  • Árva (Orava)

in Hungary

  • Nyírbátor
  • Nagyecsed (Ecsed)
  • Szerencs
  • Nagykereki (Bocskai Castle)
  • Sárospatak
  • Boldogkő

in Ukraine (Trans-Carpathia):

  • Munkács (Mukachevo or Palanok)

List of Princes of Transylvania and reigns:

1570-71: János Zsigmond Zápolya

1576-86: István Báthory

1586-98: Zsigmond Báthory

1599: András Báthory

1601-02: Zsigmond Báthory

1603: Mózes Székely

1605-06: István Bocskai

1607-08: Zsigmond Rákóczi

1608-13: Gábor Báthory

1613-29: Gábor Bethlen

1629: Catherine of Brandenburg

1630: István Bethlen

1630-48: György I Rákóczi

1648-57: György II Rákóczi

heir only: Ferenc I Rákóczi

1657: Ferenc Rhédey

1658: György II Rákóczi

1658-59: Ákos Barcsay

1659-60: György II Rákóczi

1660: Ákos Barcsay

1661: János Kemény

1661-90: Mihály I Apafi

1690-96: Mihály II Apafi

1690: Imre Thököly

1704-11: Ferenc II Rákóczi

Princes of Transylvania, part I

Transylvania. The name conjures up images of vampires and werewolves, and the most famous vampire of all, Count Dracula. But really, his story is part of the Principality of Wallachia and the Carpathian mountains which separate that region from Transylvania. The potential historic inspiration for Dracula, Vlad the Impaler, thus belongs to another blog post, for the princes of Wallachia and Moldavia, and a series of Romanian families. Another favourite tale of horror from this region is of the ‘Blood Countess’, Elizabeth Báthory, whose gruesome murders were said to run into the hundreds. But her chief domains, and the sites of her alleged horrific crimes, lay in what was once known as Upper Hungary, and is now the modern nation of Slovakia.

Báthory’s family, however, did hold much of their lands in the region ‘across the forest’ from the main body of the Hungarian kingdom—ie, ‘trans sylvania’—and they did take on the position of prince of Transylvania for three generations in the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries. For Transylvania did not have a specific princely dynasty of its own: at times it was simply a province of the Kingdom of Hungary, and at others a breakaway principality, ever-shifting between sovereignty and loyalty to either the Habsburg king or the Ottoman sultan. This blog post is thus about a series of Hungarian magnate families who rose from their status as ordinary nobles to be princes for a generation or two, then faded back from power. This will be a blog about the Zápolya, Báthory, Rákóczi, Bethlen, Apafy and others—amongst the most famous names in all of Hungarian history.

Today, Transylvania is one of the three regions that make up the modern nation of Romania (alongside Wallachia and Moldavia). For a thousand years, however, if was a frontier zone of mixed ethnicities, Romanians, Hungarians, Slavs and Germans. Still today there is a significant portion of its population who refer to themselves as Szeklers (or Székelys) who are ethnically Hungarian, and those called the Saxons (or Sachsen) who descend from German settlers who came to the region in the 12th and 13th centuries. The Magyar tribes first settled in this region in the late 9th century, but there were also some Vlachs here, probable descendants of the Roman colonists of the province of Dacia from the 2nd century AD, and also some Slavs, who may have given the name to the region’s capital, Balgrad, ‘white castle’ which translates as Fehérvár in Hungarian, Weissenburg in German, and Alba Julia in modern Romanian. The latter name, however, adds the name ‘Julius’, which might suggest a Roman connection, but in fact refers to one of the first Hungarian chieftains to establish a principality here for himself, Gyula. So the full name of his capital was Gyulafehérvár: ‘Gyula’s White Castle’ (in the 18th century it was for a time renamed ‘Karlsburg’, for the Emperor Charles VI).

Map of Transylvania in the 17th century, showing counties (in both Hungarian and Romanian) and different ethnic areas. The yellow counties on the left were usually ruled by the princes of Transylvania too, and were known as the ‘Partium’

Prince Gyula, one of several pagan Magyar chiefs who arrived in the Pannonian basin—the wide flat plain watered by the Danube and its tributaries—in the 9th century, supposedly defeated a local Vlach (Wallachian or Romanian) duke, Gelou, and set up his rule in this eastern portion of the great basin, while the other Magyar chiefs settled to the west in Hungary proper. There are also suggestions that ‘gyula’ may not be a person, but a military title (seen as ‘gyla’ in Byzantine sources), or perhaps a series of rulers named Gyula. Whatever the truth, according to medieval chronicles, in 1003, the first Christian king of Hungary, St. Stephen, defeated this Prince Gyula, and integrated Transylvania fully into the Kingdom. Gyula may even have been Stephen’s uncle, the father of his queen, Sarolt. Stephen also defeated other dukes, probably Vlachs, in the region: Ajtony (or Ahtum) and Menumorut. From this point onwards, Transylvania did not have its own prince, but a voivode, or governor, appointed by the Hungarian king.

Prince Gyula surrendering to King Stephen I

By the 12th century, the region was known in Hungarian as Erdély, which probably derives from Erdő elve, ‘beyond the forest’, or überwald in German. But the Germans also begin to call it Siebenbürgen, ‘seven castles’, for the seven fortified cities established by the Saxons who were brought in by Hungarian kings about this time to fortify the border between Hungary and the Byzantine Empire (and subsequently the Ottoman Empire). These seven castles feature on the coat-of-arms of Transylvania, along with the black eagle on blue of the Hungarian voivode (and may even refer to ancient Roman Dacia), and the sun and crescent symbols used by the Szeklers (see above).

Other groups who settled in this region—to make it even more complex!—include the Cumans, fleeing Mongol domination of the steppes north of the Black Sea. All of these groups, Hungarians, Szeklers, Saxons, Cumans, enjoyed a degree of influence and power in medieval Transylvania—the one group who did not, about one-third of the population, were the Romanians, excluded formally from government by the 1350s. Some of these, however, seem to have transformed themselves into Hungarians, converted from Orthodoxy to Catholicism, and joined the power structure. The most famous of these is (probably) the Hunyadi family, based at Hunyad Castle (Hunedoara in Romanian, also called Corvin Castle), one of the greatest landowning families in the region by the 1400s. János Hunyadi, one of the greatest generals defending against the Turks, was named voivode of Transylvania in 1440, and recognised as ‘Prince’ by the pope in 1448. His son Mátyás was elected King of Hungary in 1457, better known as Matthias Corvinus, and reigned for over thirty years, one of the greatest of all Hungarian kings. But the Hunyadi family died out shortly after the death of King Matthias in 1490. It seems an interesting feature of several families surveyed here is that they rose and fell in fairly quick succession.

Hunyad Castle (Hunedoara)

Going back to the period of direct royal rule of Transylvania, we do have some early dukes rather than princes. Like royal dynasties in western Europe, the Árpád dynasty of Hungary diffused tensions between royal siblings by giving younger sons dukedoms to rule, as premier subjects of their king. Prince Béla, son of Andrew II, was duke of Transylvania from 1226, then succeeded as king (Béla IV) in 1235. His son Stephen was the same from 1257, before also succeeding to the throne (Stephen V). In the later Angevin dynasty, the tradition continued: Louis, son of King Ladislas, was duke of Transylvania, 1339, then succeeded as king (Louis, or Lajos I) in 1342. His younger brother Stephen, was duke of Transylvania from 1349, but also duke of Szepes and Sáros (what’s now eastern Slovakia) and duke of Slavonia, Croatia and Dalmatia, from 1353. He was thus a major potentate in the Balkans, but died only a year later in 1354.

From this point Transylvania was governed by local magnates as voivodes, not dukes or princes. The Szeklers had their own ruler, called the ‘Count of the Székelys’, based at a castle at Gőrgény (Gurghiu in Romanian). But these offices, voivode and count, were merged by the 1460s. Later the Turks would revive the title ‘Count of the Székelys’ for their local administrators, and it was revived again by Empress Maria Theresa in the 18th century. The impetus for the re-emergence of an independent principality came after the Battle of Mohács, 29 August 1526, and the near complete destruction of the Kingdom of Hungary by Ottoman forces under Suleiman the Magnificent. The first to assert the title Prince of Transylvania was János Zsigmond Zápolya (or Szapolyai).

[Nota bene: in Hungarian, you normally reverse the first and second names, but to keep things simple here I will use the more familiar western style.]

János Zsigmond Zápolya, as a young man

It is unclear where the Zápolya family came from: unlike other Hungarian magnate families they did not trace their ancestry back centuries to the founding of the Kingdom, yet in the mid-15th century, they suddenly emerged as the richest family in Hungary aside from the Hunyadi, to whom they may have been kin. They may therefore also have been originally Vlach, but it seems more likely they were Slavs, taking their name from the village of Szapolya (Zapolje), in Slavonia, on the borders with Bosnia (today in Croatia—Za polja is Croatian for ‘behind the fields’). They gathered properties in Pozsega County (now in Croatia) and Szepes County (now in Slovakia) and by the 1460s, three brothers emerged and took on the most prominent positions in the Kingdom, and formed the core of a ‘nationalist’ party, those opposed to either a Jagiellonian (Polish) or a Habsburg (Austrian) takeover, following the extinction of the previous Hungarian royal dynasty. The eldest, Miklós, was Bishop of Transylvania, based in Gyulafehérvár, from 1462; Imre was the Chief of the Treasury for King Matthias Corvinus, and Ban of Croatia and Dalmatia. A ‘ban’ is a viceroy or governor of a significant territory. The youngest brother, István governed the family’s domains in Szepes County from one of the most powerful fortresses in the Kingdom (Szepes Castle, now Spiš); and also from a second powerful castle a bit further to the west, Trencsén (now Trenčin). This part of Hungary, the mountainous northern section, was known until 1920 as ‘Upper Hungary’, and is today Slovakia. Though not a part of Transylvania, the story of these two regions is tightly interconnected for much of their histories.

Trencsén Castle (Trenčin) (photo Ingo Mehling)

As Matthias Corvinus turned his attentions to adding Bohemia and Silesia to his domains in the 1480s, he left Imre Zápolya behind as Palatine (Nádor) of Hungary, basically the regent or viceroy. The King also conquered the duchies of Austria, and left István Zápolya as governor there. István later succeeded his brother as Palatine of Hungary before he died in 1499. He left behind two sons, János and György, who became leading military figures. But the family was also by now linked by blood to the old Polish royal house, the Piasts, and in the early years of the 16th century, would increase their status further through a marriage of their sister, Borbála, to Sigismund I, King of Poland (though she died only a few years later). Sigismund’s brother, Vladislas, was King of Hungary, and appointed János as Voivode of Transylvania and Count of the Székelys in 1510. Not bad for a family that hadn’t even existed a century before.

János Zápolya, from his base in Transylvania, led the Hungarian armies against the invading Ottoman Turks in successive campaigns after 1513, and both he and his brother György were commanders of the army at the fateful battle of Mohács, in which much of the Hungarian nobility, and the new young King (Lajos II) himself, were killed or captured. In the void, many Hungarian nobles elected the King’s brother-in-law, Ferdinand of Austria, as new King of Hungary. But a significant group of nobles, mostly the lower nobility and gentry, and those based further from Vienna, in Upper Hungary and Transylvania, voted instead for János Zápolya. His story is thus part of the history of Hungary more generally. From 1529, he made Hungary a vassal state to the Ottoman Sultan, and agreed that the Western part of Hungary (to be known as ‘Royal Hungary’) would be subject to the Habsburgs in Vienna. He solidified his family’s accession into the ‘royal’ world by marriage in 1539 to the daughter of his former brother-in-law (by his second wife), Princess Isabella of Poland. But he died only a year later, leaving an infant son.

Suleiman gives the crown to János Zápolya
Princess Isabella of Poland

Isabella of Poland was regent for her son King János II Zsigmond, from 1540 to 1551. The Turks took direct control of Buda, so she moved her government to Transylvania and its capital, Gyulafehérvár. In 1551, she and her son briefly ‘abdicated’ and fled to Poland, but were restored to their throne by the Sultan in 1556. Isabella died in 1559, leaving her son fully in charge of his half of the Hungarian kingdom. He placed it formally under the sovereignty of the Ottoman Empire once more in 1566, and did homage to Sultan Suleiman outside Belgrade. In the 1560s, as the Reformation continued to sweep across Europe, János Zsigmond first adopted Lutheranism, then Calvinism, and finally, Unitarianism—making him the only Unitarian monarch Europe has ever seen. Unitarians were also referred to as anti-Trinitarians, rejecting the divinity of Christ. János Zsigmond passed the Edict of Torda in 1568 saying that all people of Transylvania and Eastern Hungary (known as the ‘Partium’) could worship as their own conscience dictated. This was radical stuff! Two years later, by the Treaty of Speyer, he acknowledged that Emperor Maximilian II was King of Hungary, and in return he was recognised as sovereign Prince of Transylvania, a state under the protection of the Ottoman Empire. This first independent prince of Transylvania died only a year later, in 1571. He was succeeded by a Catholic, István (Stephen) Báthory.

János II Zsigmond meets with the Sultan

Unlike the Zápolyas, or even the Hunyadis, the Báthory clan were amongst the most ancient and distinguished in all of Hungary, and were firmly based in Transylvania and perfectly poised to lead it into a century of semi-independence. They took their name from the town of Bátor, now Nyírbátor, in the far northeast corner of modern Hungary (Szabolcs County), on the borders with western Transylvania. The name is thought to stem from the Old Turkish word ‘batir’ (or even a Mongolian word, ‘bator’), originally meaning a ‘good hero’, and corresponding to ‘bátor’ in modern Hungarian.

Nyírbátor Castle (photo Pudelek)

The Báthory family emerged from one of the ancient clans of the Hungarian tribes known as the Gutkeled, though legend places the origins of this group as two brothers from Swabia, not Magyars, Gut and Keled, who emigrated to this area in the 1040s. Whatever their origins, they rose to great prominence in the period of the decline of the first royal dynasty in Hungary: István of Clan Gutkeled was Palatine of Hungary from 1246, and Ban of Slavonia from 1248—he established almost an independent state here, based in Zagreb, and took the title ‘Dux’ in 1254. When he died in 1259, his four sons took over in various powerful and semi-independent positions in the Kingdom, with Joachim in particular leading a rebellion against King Stephen V in 1272, and taking over as Guardian and Tutor of the new young king, Ladislas IV. This was the start of a period known as the ‘feudal anarchy’ when magnates basically ran the Kingdom as independent petty princes. The Árpád dynasty collapsed and then went extinct in 1301, and order was only restored with the accession of the powerful Charles of Anjou and the defeat of his rivals in 1308.

By this point, the Gutkeled Clan had divided into various sub-lineages, who started to adopt surnames based on their key properties (though they would continue to share the same or similar coats of arms). One of these was Briccius or Bereck, who was given Bátor in 1279 by Ladislas IV as thanks to him and his uncles for serving him in the magnate wars. Eventually the Báthory family split into two branches: one based in Somlyó (or Szilágysomlyó, today’s Șimleu Silvaniei, in Transylvania); and one in Ecsed (now Nagyecsed in northeast Hungary—this was the burial place of many members of the family, including the famous Countess Elizabeth Báthory). There is another family with a similar name, Báthory de Gagy, who were part of the Clan Aba, another one of the very early Magyar clans, who will come up again below.

The junior branch, at Castle Ecsed, rose to greater prominence first. In the early part of the 15th century, István Báthory held several important court and government offices, notably Master of the Stewards, 1417, and Chief Justiciar of Hungary, 1435. His four sons were pillars of the reign of King Matthias Corvinus: Master of the Horse, Master of Stewards, Master of the Treasury, Chief Justiciar and Bishop of Vác (a chief royal counsellor). In 1479, István was named Voivode of Transylvania. His nephews were also prominent in the era of the Battle of Mohács, where one of these, György, Master of the Horse, was killed. The eldest, another István, was at the time the Palatine of Hungary, and he became one of the leaders of the pro-Habsburg faction after Mohács, organising the election of Archduke Ferdinand at Pozsony (now Bratislava). The Turks confiscated his lands, so Ferdinand gave him the Castle of Dévény (now Devin), a powerful fortress that guards the entrance to that city.

As we saw with the Zápolyas, István Báthory wanted to raise up his family’s status by marrying royalty: he married a Polish princess, Sophia, a potential heiress to the Duchy of Mazovia. They had no sons, however, so family leadership passed to three nephews, who again dominated court offices and regional administration, still loyal to the Habsburgs: the eldest, Bonaventura, was Master of the Treasury, Voivode of Transylvania and Chief Justiciar in the 1540s-50s. He was virtual ruler of the Kingdom of Hungary in a period when the Turks were pushed back (the 1550s).

Ecsed remained the family’s nearly impregnable base. The castle had been built by this branch of the Báthorys in the 1320s, on an island in a bog, not too far from the town of Bátor. A dragon was said to patrol this bog, and by some accounts it is this dragon’s teeth, pulled out by one of the warrior ancestors, that adorn the Báthory coat of arms.

Ecsed Castle
a crude version of the Báthory arms

Ecsed was considered to be one of the most impregnable castles in the Kingdom. From here, Bonaventura’s nephew, yet another István, Chief Justiciar from 1586, governed Szabolcs and Szatmár counties. His eldest sister, Erzsébet (Elizabeth), was raised here, and became his chief heir in 1605, though she resided at her late husband’s castle of Csejte (now Čachtice, Slovakia). Her reputation as the ‘Blood Countess’, that she bathed in the blood of hundreds of murdered virgin peasant girls, is based on accusations by her powerful neighbours—in particular her Thurzó cousins, who coveted her extensive lands—and fuelled by the Habsburg dislike of her Calvinist faith and excessive wealth. She was confined to house arrest in her castle in 1611, and died in 1614.

Countess Erzsébet (Elizabeth) Báthory

Ecsed and the other lands of this branch passed to the Somlyó branch, then to the Crown, which re-granted it to the Bethlen family, then to the Rákóczi family, both of whom will feature in the later sections of this blog. It remained an impregnable fortress and a centre of rebellions, until it was finally taken over by Emperor Leopold in 1711 and completely destroyed. There is apparently nothing left.

So we need to switch back to the senior branch, Somlyó, and to the story of Transylvania itself. This castle was acquired by marriage in 1351, and rebuilt as Báthory Castle in the 1590s. The town today remains about 30% Hungarian and 25% Calvinist.

the remains of Castle Somlyó today (photo Țetcu Mircea Rareș)

In 1530, István Báthory of Somlyó was named Voivode of Transylvania by János Zápolya, Unlike his kin from the Ecsed branch, he did not support the Habsburg election after the Battle of Mohács. His son, István—the most famous István Báthory, with an international reputation, so I’ll call him Stephen—initially did fight for Ferdinand, but was captured by the Turks in 1553, and, the Habsburg king refusing to pay his ransom, promptly switched sides. When János II Zápolya, Prince of Transylvania, died in 1571, the magnates elected Stephen Báthory voivode, not prince, though he assumed that title later. Báthory was now seen as one of the most powerful magnates in the east, and was elected in 1575 to become King of Poland and Grand Duke of Lithuania, in an effort to stop the expansion of Habsburg power. He agreed to marry the last Jagiellonian princess, Anna, in 1576, and left for Poland, leaving his older brother Kristof behind as Voivoide of Transylvania. King Stephen, a Catholic, re-affirmed the policy of religious tolerance in both of his realms, Transylvania and Poland-Lithuania, and wanted to use Polish power to restore an independent Hungarian kingdom. Instead, he was occupied with war with Russia for many years, weakened, and died in 1586. His widow, Queen Anna, had considered promoting his nephew Zsigmond Báthory as the next king in Poland, but instead supported the election of her own nephew, Sigismund Vasa.

Stephen Báthory, King of Poland, Grand Duke of Lithuania and Prince of Transylvania

Zsigmond, Kristof’s son, had been named Voivode of Transylvania by his uncle in 1581 (though he was only 9 years old), and succeeded him as Prince of Transylvania in 1588. His reign was turbulent to say the least. He was governed by his uncle, István Bocskai, and was confirmed as prince by Sultan Murad III, in return for a 15,000 florin yearly tribute. Rejecting his mother’s Calvinism, Prince Zsigmond was a fervent Catholic, which made him unpopular with the local Transylvanian nobility. Making matters worse, he decided to challenge Ottoman suzerainty, ignoring the advice of his Báthory cousins, who, despite being strongly Catholic, did not think it wise to provoke the Ottomans without the full support of Poland. Imprisoning these cousins (and even executing one of them), in 1594 Prince Zsigmond joined the Holy League set up by the Pope and the Emperor, Rudolf II, to push the Ottomans back down the Balkans, and married the Emperor’s niece, Archduchess Maria Christina, in 1595. He was created Prince of the Empire in 1595 as well, and recognised by the Emperor as hereditary Prince of Transylvania and ‘Partium’ (the easternmost counties of Hungary). He even, for a moment, got the voivodes of Wallachia and Moldavia (the Romanian provinces subject to the Ottoman sultan) to acknowledge him as suzerain. Together they defeated the Ottomans at the Battle of Giurgiu, on the Danube along the border with Bulgaria, in October 1595. This was the high point of the independent Principality of Transylvania.

Zsigmond Báthory, as Prince of Transylvania, Wallachia and Moldavia, Prince of the Empire, Count of the Szeklers, and Lord of the ‘Partium’ of the Kingdom of Hungary

This was followed, however, by lots of defeats, and Zsigmond abdicated in 1598. Maria Christina was elected herself as Princess, until Archduke Maximilian of Austria arrived in 1599 to rule the territory directly as a province of the Habsburg Monarchy. Her marriage, never consummated for whatever reason (Zsigmond claimed he was bewitched; later historians suggest he was a homosexual), was dissolved. The Ex-Prince fled to Poland where he was given lands to rule in Silesia (Ratibor and Opole). He tried to return in 1599 to make a deal with the Sultan, but failed and abdicated again, then returned again in 1601 with a Polish army and briefly got the support of the Sultan, but was unable to establish stable rule, so he abdicated once more, now in favour of Emperor Rudolf. He settled in Bohemia (at Libochovice, in the far northwest), resisted several calls from the Emperor to try again to recover Transylvania, and died in exile in 1613. Maria Christina did not remarry but joined a convent back in Austria, where she died in 1621.

Archduchess Maria Christina of Austria

In the midst of all this, Prince Zsigmond had appointed his cousin András Báthory as Prince of Transylvania, in March 1599, with the support of Polish and Ottoman troops. A Cardinal since 1584 (nominated by his uncle, King Stephen—and at once point considered as a  possibility to succeed him as king in 1586), and prince-bishop of Warmia in Poland since 1589, he was firmly on the side of the Poles and the idea of re-catholicising Transylvania. He did re-establish the Catholic diocese in Gyulafehérvár, which remains today, but his rule as Prince of Transylvania lasted only a few months. The Habsburgs allied with the Prince of Wallachia (Michael the Brave, or Mihai Bravu in Romanian) and with the Székely peasants who always seem to get dumped on and had had enough, and in October 1599, the Polish-Ottoman troops of Prince-Cardinal András were defeated at Sellenberk (Șelimbăr near Sibiu, in the south-eastern corner of Transylvania). András was beheaded, and power was given to Prince Michael. The battle of Șelimbăr is seen today as the first moment leading to the unification of the Romanian people.

Prince-Cardinal András Báthory

The Báthorys were not completely finished as a ruling dynasty, however, and we will return to Prince Gábor Báthory in a bit. First we have a quick succession of princes: Mózes Székely, István Bocskai and Zsigmond Rákóczi.

Mózes Székely was, as his name suggests, a Székler. His family was from Székelyudvarhely (now Odorheiu Secuiesc) in the eastern corner of Transylvania. It had been the seat of the Székler assembly since the 1350s, and the seat (‘szék’) of Udvarhely County. The family’s estates were centred on Siménfalva, a town still today 99% Hungarian and mostly Calvinist or Unitarian. His father had been a regional supporter of Zápolya and converted with him to Unitarianism in the 1560s, and was given the job of controlling the production of salt in this region, an important commodity. Young Mózes became a commander of the Székler guards of Stephen Báthory in the 1570s and accompanied him to Poland. He was granted estates back in Transylvania and took over his father’s post overseeing the salt mines, and defending the region against Turkish attacks in the 1590s. He helped restore Zsigmond Báthory in 1598, still leading the Székler army, but these turned on András Báthory and murdered him, as we’ve seen. Mózes became commander of the Habsburg troops in Transylvania, 1599, under the command of the Wallachian prince, Michael, but when the latter’s regime started to collapse in 1600, he travelled to Poland to try to bring about another Báthory restoration. When the Habsburgs regained control once more, Székely instigated a rebellion, 1603, with Turkish and Tatar aid, and in May claimed the title Prince of Transylvania. Again the Skékeler people allied with the Wallachians (who promised them a larger role in government), and they defeated and killed their former leader in July. So much for being the local boy.

Prince Mózes Székely

Mózes Székely Jr was born a few days later. Raised by a Bethlen grandmother, he was put under the protection of a later Transylvanian prince, Gabriel Bethlen, who appointed him Master Steward of the Household, Justiciar of Udverhely County (1620), then gave him lots of estates and married him to a wealthy heiress. All of this was taken away from him by Prince György Rákóczi, however, in the 1630s, and Székely went into exile in the Ottoman Empire. As a prisoner/guest of the Sultan in Constantinople, he spent the next two decades as a diplomatic chesspiece, always a potential claimant to the Transylvanian throne to be wheeled out as needed. But he eventually lost his value, and the Turks sent him to live on the Island of Rhodes where he died in 1657 or ‘58.

A more successful story was that of István Bocskai. His family was from Bihar County in western Transylvania, and also had lands in Zemplén County, which is now eastern Slovakia (near the border with Ukraine). His older sister married the Voivode of Transylvania appointed by Ferdinand of Austria in 1553 (István Dobó), and young István was sent to the Habsburg court in Vienna where he served as a page, then a steward. His father converted to Calvinism in the 1560s, then died in 1570, leaving the teenager in the care of another sister, who married Kristof Báthory, the regent of Transylvania for his brother King Stephen (whom we encountered already above). The two families were therefore fairly entwined, so even as a youngster in 1581 (aged 14), Bocskai was appointed a member of the Regency Council for his nephew young Prince Zsigmond Báthory (aged 9). He married a wealthy widow with lands in Bihar County (the great fortress at Nagykereki), and was appointed governor (ispán) of that county by 1592. He helped Prince Zsigmond throw off the Turkish yoke in 1593-94, then led his armies to defeat the Ottoman forces in Wallachia in 1595 and put down a revolt of the Széklers in 1596.

Bocskai Castle at Nagyhereki

By 1598 István Bocskai was crucial as an interlocutor between Prince Zsigmond and Emperor Rudolf II (who created him a Baron—a rare creation of a noble title for Hungarians who normally considered that a family name was honour enough). Then when Zsigmond abdicated, Bocskai was left behind as his viceroy. Rudolf changed his opinion of his ally however, and deprived him of this office, so the latter helped restored his Báthory cousin in 1599. The tables soon turned again, and Bocskai was sent to Transylvania as the Emperor’s envoy to unseat the pro-Ottoman Prince András. He therefore wanted to be recognised by Rudolf and perhaps rewarded with the voivodeship or even the title of prince, so he pressed his case in 1600, and the local diet confiscated his estates and banished him. He spent much of 1601-02 at the imperial court in Prague as a counsellor to Rudolf II, and was restored to his estates in 1604. He returned to the area to find the destruction of Transylvania caused by the Habsburg-Ottoman wars, and in particular the persecution by the Habsburg governors of the Calvinist nobility (like himself). He realised that only a free (Ottoman supported) principality would thrive, and launched the great Bocskai Uprising (or ‘war of independence’). In November 1604 he was given an ahidnâme (charter) from Sultan Ahmed I naming him Prince of Transylvania. He made peace with the Széklers and allied with the Prince of Moldavia. In February 1605, he was elected Prince of Transylvania by the local diet; this was confirmed by an assembly of nobles from Upper Hungary in April. At the height of his power, Prince István Bocskai asked the Sultan for a royal crown, for all of Hungary, and got one. He was styled as ‘King’ by the Pasha in Buda. This crown is still kept in the royal treasury in Vienna.

István Bocskai (before becoming prince)
a ducat issued by Prince Bocskai (National Numismatic Collection, National Museum of American History)
the Crown of István Bocskai

By the Treaty of Vienna, June 1606, Bocskai was confirmed as Prince of Transylvania (with the Ottoman sultan as suzerain), and the Emperor recognised the rights of Protestants to worship freely across Hungary. The Prince then helped negotiated a long-desired peace between the Habsburgs and the Ottomans in November at Zsitvatorok. But by this point Prince István was weary and ill, and he died in December. He had no children from his late wife (though he had considered marrying the widowed Archduchess Maria Christina), and named a successor, one of his companions in arms, Bálint Drugeth, but the Transylvanian Diet chose someone else instead, a very wealthy older man, whose loyalties were neither to the Ottomans nor the Habsburgs: Zsigmond Rákóczi.

The name Rákóczi is of course for many synonymous with Hungarian history. The ‘Rákóczi March’ is quite a well-known tune—though not written till the 1820s, and made famous soon after through its use by Hector Berlioz in his ‘Damnation of Faust’ (and later by Liszt in one of his Hungarian Rhapsodies). The family traces its lineage back to the 13th century, and the Bogátradvány family, whose origins were said to be from Bohemia (why do none of the Hungarian magnates seem to have actually Magyar ancestry?). An early notable ancestor from this clan was Ipoch, Ban of Slovenia from 1204, and Voivode of Transylvania in 1216-17. By the early 14th century, a descendant took his surname from a castle called Rákóc, in Zemplén County (now in eastern Slovakia), which may have been named for the Slovak word for crayfish (rak; the village today is called Rakovec).

They remained a fairly minor gentry until they shot to the top with the rise of Zsigmond Rákóczi in the second half of the 16th century. He owned lands in the Tokaj wine region of Zemplén County, and built up a family seat in the 1550s at Szerencs Castle. This remained the seat of the Rákóczi family, and a seat of Calvinism in this part of Upper Hungary, until the early 17th century. In the 18th century Szerencs was rebuilt as a palace, and today it is a hotel, a museum and a town cultural centre.

Szerencs Castle

Zsigmond’s early career was in the Habsburg military, and he later served as a tax collector for Emperor Rudolf. By the 1590s, he was an important Habsburg commander in the region, despite his Protestantism, and was given command of the huge fortress of Eger, in Heves County, northeast of Buda. He was named Lieutenant of Heves County in 1588 and made a Baron. His wealth was prodigious, and he supported local Protestant schools and the first translation of the Bible into Hungarian. He even lent money to the Emperor for troops, and in 1597 was given the right to bear the Imperial eagle on his coat of arms, instead of the traditional Rákóczi raven. He continued to build his fortune particularly in the far northeast frontier, taking over Munkács Castle as guardian of his wife’s sons, then Makovica Castle from the bankrupt Ruthenian Prince Ostrogski.

Munkács will feature more in the next sections. Makovica, also known as Zboró (Zborov in Slovak), was an important fortress in Upper Hungary, near the frontier with Poland and guarding some of the key passes across the Carpathians. Built in the 13th century it was held by the Czudar family for a century before becoming Crown property, then passed through various proprietors before being purchased in 1601 by Zsigmond Rákóczi. It became one of the main strongholds for the family in the century to come before it was destroyed by Habsburg forces in 1684. Rebuilt and destroyed again and again in the next two hundred years, it remains a romantic ruin today.

Makovika Castle (Zborov) (photo Pistal)

Now one of the richest men in Hungary, and possessing some of its strongest fortresses, Zsigmond Rákóczi became disillusioned with Habsburg rule in Transylvania and Upper Hungary, and joined the Bocskai Uprising in Spring 1605. He was named governor of Transylvania by the rebellious prince in August. His wealth and his control of key trade routes north towards Poland made him an invaluable magnate to the health of Transylvania, so it was not too surprising that he was elected Prince of Transylvania by the Diet in February 1607. He was acknowledged by the Ottomans, but not by the Habsburgs. Bocskai’s preferred successor Drugeth threatened a civil war, as did the Habsburg choice, Gábor Báthory, so Rákóczi abdicated in March 1608 to avoid more bloodshed. Well into his 60s, he did not have the energy or the desire to rule, and in fact he died only a few months later and was buried back in the Calvinist chapel in Szerencs.

Prince Zsigmond Rákóczi

Gábor (or Gabriel) Báthory, of the Somlyó branch of Báthorys, was born a Catholic, but was orphaned and raised by his Protestant cousin István Báthory from the Ecsed branch. When the latter died in 1605, Gábor inherited his lands, and thus joined together the possessions of the two lines, becoming one of the richest magnates in Hungary. He was also willed much of the lands of his cousin István Bocskai, so saw himself as the most logical successor when he died in December 1606. He gained the support of the Habsburgs by promising to re-convert to Catholicism (though he never did). He put forward his claims to the elderly Rákóczy in February and was elected by the Diet in March 1608, and was soon recognised by both the Sultan and the Emperor.

a coin issued by Prince Gábor Báthory, clearly displaying that family’s unique coat of arms

In 1610, the new Prince of Transylvania moved his capital from Gyulafehérvár, so badly damaged during the wars, to Szeben, the richest Saxon town in the region, known by them as Hermannstadt (and today as Sibiu in Romanian). Hermann was probably an early German founder of the settlement—it remained majority German, and Lutheran, until after the Second World War, but today following mass emigration has almost none of its former diversity.

Hermannstadt

Perhaps feeling a bit over-confident, Prince Gábor Báthory tried to extend his influence over the other two dependent principalities, Moldavia and Wallachia, greatly annoying the Sultan, Ahmed I, who sent troops to unseat him, in August 1613, and to replace him with another Gábor, from the ancient Bethlen dynasty. The last Báthory prince was murdered by assassins from the famous group of Hungarian soldiers known as the Hajdúk. One further member of the family, András, stayed mostly out of sight until he died in 1637, leaving one daughter, Zsófia, who would re-connect this ancient family to the Rákóczys and the future history of Transylvania.

[to be continued in Part II]

Dukes of Albemarle

Sometimes a dukedom is created to commemorate a national hero, a member of ancient well-born family, but his progeny simply doesn’t last, and the exalted title disappears after only the briefest of existences. Such is the case for the dukes of Albemarle, created for General George Monck in 1660 but extinct by 1688 with the death of his son. Sic transit gloria mundi!

General George Monck, by Peter Lely

One of the more interesting things about the title given to General Monck by a grateful King Charles II is its name, since there isn’t really any place in England or Scotland (or even Ireland) with the name ‘Albemarle’. It in fact has ancient roots in France, to Normandy in particular. The town of Aumale is in the northeast corner of the province, and takes its name from the local stone, a white clay called marle (we also call it kaolin or china clay), which is a pale white, or ‘alba marla’. Monck was from an ancient Devon family, a place where there certainly are marl cliffs to be found.

the coast of Devon

The district around the town of Aumale was designated a county by William II, Duke of Normandy, in 1070. It was ruled by a powerful dynasty of counts until confiscated by the king of France, Philippe II Auguste, in 1196, and the title was given out a few more times by the French Crown before it was elevated to a dukedom in 1547 for the House of Lorraine-Guise, which then passed to the houses of Savoy-Nemours, Maine and Bourbon-Orléans, where it remains today (in pretence). Nevertheless, medieval English kings, still claiming to be dukes of Normandy, continued to recognise the old line of counts, transmitted to the Lords of Forz in 1214, who retained the older form of the name, Albamarla, now as an English earldom, with estates mostly in Yorkshire (Holderness in the east, Craven in the west) and Lincolnshire. The earldom passed to the Crown in 1274, and was given out again, now as a dukedom (of Aumale or Aumerle) in 1385, for the Duke of Gloucester, and again (as Albemarle or Aumale) in 1397, for the son of the Duke of York. Both of these creations had quite brief existences. Finally the ducal title was created again in 1412 for the Duke of Clarence, but was similarly short-lived. Richard de Beauchamp, earl of Warwick, was created earl of Albemarle in 1423, but for life only.

Meanwhile, in the far southwest of the Kingdom, a member of the Devon gentry known as William le Moyne (or ‘the monk’), fortified a manor house in the 13th century, on an estate known as Potheridge, on a bluff overlooking the meandering River Torridge. The Torridge flows northward through northwest Devon, passed the town of Great Torrington, and joins the River Taw at its wide mouth on the Bristol Channel. To the south lies the great mass of Dartmoor. Not far away is Okehampton, one of the seats of the powerful Courtenay family, earls of Devon. Just across the border in Cornwall is Kilkhampton, seat of the Grenville/Granville family, later earls of Bath. These powerful neighbours would also be important relatives, useful in the ascension of the Le Moyne family, who, sometime in the 15th century, adopted a more English sounding name of Monk or Monke, and eventually Monck.

arms of the Monck family

Marriage to another Devon gentry family, Champernown, and then to a daughter of Arthur Plantagenet, Viscount Lisle, the illegitimate son of King Edward IV, probably brought the Moncks closer to court and service to the Crown in the early Tudor era: Kat Ashley, Elizabeth I’s early favourite was born a Champernown; and Lady Frances Plantagenet brought just a smidgeon of royal blood into the Monck family veins. A bigger step up, however, at least potentially, was the marriage of Lady Frances’s grandson, Sir Thomas Monck, in 1619, to Elizabeth Smith, the daughter and co-heiress of Sir George Smith, one of the richest men in Exeter (the county town of Devon) and three times its mayor. But Thomas had to dispute his wife’s dowry in court with is father-in-law, and ended up in debtor’s prison in 1625, dying there two years later. (another source contradicts this however, and says he was elected as MP for Camelford, Cornwall, in 1626—could both be true?). His eldest son, also called Thomas, became a colonel in the English army, but was superseded in reputation by his younger brother George.

George Monck, born in 1608, did what many second sons have to do, impoverished father or not, and joined the military (and the third son, Nicholas, naturally joined the church—we’ll encounter him again later). He took part in some of the tepid English participation of the early years of the Thirty Years War, a raid on Cadiz in 1625, an attack of the Isle de Ré in 1627, then joined the troops of the Dutch Republic in their ongoing struggle against Spain. The Dutch army at that time was amongst the most advanced in Europe, and young George learned a lot. When he was later deployed by King Charles I to suppress the Irish Rebellion of 1641-43, he immediately was noticed by his superiors for his efficiency, even ruthlessness. Back in England, he at first fought for the Royalists, but was captured at Nantwich in 1644 and sat in prison for two years (where he wrote a manual on modern military efficiency), before being named a Parliamentarian commander in Ulster in 1647. Here he managed to stay out for the most part of the Second Civil War and the politics surrounding the execution of the King.

General George Monck

Under the Protectorate, Monck became a favoured general of Oliver Cromwell, who sent him to Scotland, then to sea in the war against the Dutch, then again as Commander-in-Chief of the Army in Scotland, 1655. Meanwhile, he had been elected as MP for Devon in 1653, so had a voice in Parliament, and married that same year Anne Clarges, daughter of a London farrier (a specialist in equine hoof care), and widow of a London milliner. Her social status would come back to haunt Monck later on (as would indeed rumours that her first husband wasn’t even dead at the time of her second marriage). The General’s stay in Scotland again kept him away from the turmoil of London politics, but from afar he supported the rising influence of the moderates, and shortly after the radical wing of the military took over the government in 1659, he marched south, in February 1660, joined by troops led by Parliamentary hero Sir Thomas Fairfax, and supported the moderates now pressing for a restoration of the monarchy. Monck’s support turned the tide, new elections were held, and Parliament formally invited Charles II to return to his throne in April 1660.

General Monck’s brother, Nicholas, a clergymen and political moderate, had been in touch with the royalist faction in Parliament and indeed with those exiled royalists in the Netherlands. In July 1659, he had brought a letter to George in Scotland from Charles II which may have been very influential in Monck’s decisive actions the following spring. In the early days of the Restoration, a grateful king named Nicholas to the bishopric of Hereford, and also named him Provost of Eton College. He lived only a year, however, so his potential as a powerful player during the Restoration was unfulfilled.

Nicholas Monck, Bishop of Hereford

George, however, remained a dominant figure, as 1st Duke of Albemarle, from July 1660. His subsidiary titles were Earl of Torrington and Baron Monck of Potheridge, County Devon. He’s also listed in the letters patent as Baron Beauchamp and Baron Teyes, both also listed as ‘in the County of Devon’ but these, like Albemarle itself, are a fantasy: there was a medieval Baron Teyes (with lands in Wiltshire, at Chilton Foliot) whose heiress passed his lands on to the L’Isle family, whose ultimate heiress married the Beauchamp earl of Warwick and Albemarle (above), and whose ultimate heiress in turn married Arthur Plantagenet, created Viscount Lisle (also above). So these titles were in a way constructing (or more generously re-constructing) a more illustrious aristocratic genealogy for George Monck. In fact, much of the dukedom was not based in Devon, nor in Wiltshire or Warwickshire: a significant part was to be found in the ancient feudal barony of Bowland, in Lancashire, with its caput or seat at Clitheroe Castle. This lordship had been part of the Duchy of Lancaster, ie, owned by the Crown, since 1399, and Charles II gave it, and its great revenues, to the man so useful for his restoration.

As can be seen on brother Nicholas Monck’s tomb in Westminster Abbey, the family added the Plantagenet arms (upper right) as well as Beauchamp (lower left)

The new Duke of Albemarle was now a grand patron, able to obtain posts and titles for his friends and relations, notably the Granville cousins who had helped get his military career started: John Granville was created 1st Earl of Bath. Albemarle was also given lands in Ireland and a pension of £700 a year. He was named Lord Lieutenant of Devon, a member of the Privy Council and a Knight of the Order of the Garter. In 1661, King Charles asked him to return to Ireland as Lord Deputy or Viceroy, but he was becoming old and infirm, so was named Lord Lieutenant of Middlesex instead. His wife, the daughter and widow of tradesmen, was mocked by society, sometimes called the ‘Monkey Duchess’ (get it?), and seen as grasping and greedy, as only someone of ‘her sort’ could be (they said).

Still the King kept piling on the gifts: in 1663 Albemarle was given lands in the New World in the new Carolina Colony, where Albemarle Sound was named in his honour. He was one of the eight proprietors of the colony, and one of its first counties was named Albemarle County. This no longer exists, but the one in Virginia does, though it was created later, and named after a later Earl of Albemarle (see below). Monck was also given shares in the Royal Africa Company and thus profited from the slave trade.

the Carolina Colony (north is to the right): Albemarle Sound can be made out if you squint on the lower right

From 1660, the Duke used his wealth to completely rebuild the old family seat at Great Potheridge, turning it into a great Carolean mansion. It did not survive very long, and was mostly demolished in the 1730s, leaving only one wing, which was sold by the Granville heirs to the Rolle family (barons from 1796), then the Trefusis family, and later became part of a college in the 1950s, then leased out as a farmhouse. I explored what was left of the house in this very isolated corner of rural Devon several years ago when it was being used as a kind of ‘outward bound’ facility to get inner city kids out into the countryside. The lone employee, slightly startled by my visit, received me cheerfully and proudly showed me their great hidden treasure: a beautifully preserved wood panelled room and a gorgeous wooden staircase with painted roundels on the ceiling, all dating from the 1660s. Sometimes it is worth it to leave the garden path to smell more distant flowers.

‘Great’ Potheridge today
Potheridge, interior

In the last years of his life, the 1st Duke of Albemarle continued to play a key role in the court of Charles II and the city of London: he helped run the Admiralty in the Second Dutch War, and kept order in London by his commanding presence during both the Great Plague of 1665 and the Great Fire of 1666. He was named First Lord of the Treasury in 1667, but was already weakening and he died in January 1670. He was buried in great pomp in Westminster Abbey.

Albemarle in Westminster Abbey

His only son Christopher became the 2nd Duke of Albemarle. As heir he was known as the Earl of Torrington, and started a career in Parliament as MP for Devon in 1667, though he was only 14. In 1670 he succeeded to his father’s peerage so moved into the House of Lords, and was named to the posts of Gentleman of the Bedchamber, Privy Councillor, and colonel of a regiment of cavalry—though he never had much of a military career. In 1675 he was named Lord Lieutenant of Devon, then in 1682, Chancellor of the University of Cambridge. In 1687, the 2nd Duke was named Lieutenant-Governor of Jamaica, where he got involved in hunting for sunken treasure, and became quite rich, before he died in 1688.

Christopher Monck (1653-1688), 2nd Duke of Albermarle, Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
(portrait at Trinity College)

With his rising fortune, the 2nd Duke purchased in 1675 the huge London mansion, Clarendon House, built by Edward Hyde in the 1660s. He renamed it Albemarle House and at first made it a sparkling centre of London social life. But he sold it in 1683 to a developer named Bond, and today the site underlies both Albemarle and Bond streets in Mayfair.

Albemarle House

Another great London house can be associated with the Moncks, but only tangentially. The 2nd Duke’s wife from 1669 was Lady Elizabeth Cavendish, co-heiress of the Duke of Newcastle. When her husband died, she seems to have gone mad, and as a very wealthy woman (receiving all that gold from Jamaican sunken treasure) was a much sought after bride. But she considered that no man was worthy of her unless he was a crowned head—so the wily and ambitious Ralph Montagu wooed her as the ‘Emperor of China’, and she reigned over his house in Bloomsbury as ‘Empress’. He was created a duke himself in 1705, but died in 1709, leaving her to ‘reign’ until her death in 1734. The ‘palace’, built with much of her Cavendish and Monck money but known as Montagu House, was sold in the 1750s to form the first home of the British Museum, though the site was rebuilt completely in the 1840s.

The future home of the British Museum, Bloomsbury

Though much of the Monck estates passed to their Granville cousins, the Montagus also acquired the Lordship of Bowland from the 2nd Duchess of Albemarle, and the vast wild estates in the North passed from them to the Buccleuch family, then the Towneleys of Burnley (in Lancashire). After that family died out in 1885, nobody claimed the feudal title, until it was revived in 2008 and sold to an anonymous Cambridge don.

The Albemarle title was revived in 1697, as an earldom, for one of William III’s Dutch favourites, Arnold Joost van Keppel. He was also Viscount Bury in Lancashire and Baron Ashford in Kent. His son, the 2nd Earl, was Governor of Virginia from 1737, though he never visited there—and it is he for whom the County of Albemarle (known for the University of Virginia and Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello) was named. The earldom continues to the present.

This new earldom notwithstanding, the deposed James II decided to re-create the dukedom of Albemarle for the younger of his two sons by Arabella Churchill (sister of the future Duke of Marlborough). Born in 1673, Henry FitzJames was created Duke of Albemarle in 1696, Earl of Rochford and Baron Romney (so, like the earldom, with a Kentish connection—perhaps in an effort to reflect the white (alba) of the cliffs of Dover?). He married a French heiress in 1700, and was named a lieutenant-general in the French army in 1702, but died later the same year, so was unable to prove himself as a military commander like his older brother the Duke of Berwick.

possibly a portrait of the young Henry Fitzjames, future Duke of Albemarle

Not to be outdone, James II’s son, the Old Pretender (‘James III’) created the dukedom of Albemarle once more, in 1721, this time for George Granville, 1st Baron Lansdown, a Monck cousin and potential heir. Lansdown though a staunch Tory was not an outright Jacobite, but had corresponded with the Old Pretender during the rising of the ‘15. His other titles (in the ‘Jacobite peerage’) were Marquis of Monck and Fitzhemmon, Earl of Bath and Viscount Bevel. He died childless in 1735, so his titles (not recognised by anyone) passed to his nephew, Bernard Granville, and then became extinct with the death of this ‘2nd Duke of Albemarle’ in 1776.

another Jacobite ‘Duke of Albemarle’

There were to be no more Albemarle dukes, official or Jacobite, and while the earldom of Albemarle continues in the Keppel family, the Monck family was not entirely extinct. The senior line died out in 1688, as we have seen, but a junior branch, founded in the later 15th century, had emigrated to Ireland in the early 17th century, and became important landowners in County Wexford (on the southeast coast). Charles Monck was created 1st Baron Monck of Ballytrammon (Wexford) in 1797, then a few years later raised to a Viscounty in 1801, as thanks for voting in favour of the Act of Union with Great Britain. His son became 1st Earl of Rathdowne (also Co. Wexford) in 1822, but had no sons, so this title became extinct. The line of Viscounts Monck continues, however: the 4th Viscount, another Charles, became a significant politician and was named Governor-General of British North America and of the Province of Canada, in 1861, a title which morphed into the title of 1st Governor-General of Canada with the creation of the federation in 1867. He returned to Ireland and was named Lord Lieutenant of Dublin by Queen Victoria in 1874, an office he held until just before his death in 1894. The line of Viscounts Monck continues to the present.

Viscount Monck of Ballytrammon

In the long run, a mostly ephemeral title yearning back to romanticised Norman links continues to be used by those grasping for historical legitimation: the current Duke of Aumale, Prince Foulques d’Orleans (b. 1974) is a cousin of the Orleanist pretender to the French throne. Meanwhile the town of Aumale itself sits idly by, based firmly on its white stone foundations, the alba marla.

(images Wikimedia Commons, my own, or from other public websites)

Ansbach and Bayreuth: Secondogeniture lands for Hohenzollern princes

One of the benefits of the fragmentary nature of the German feudal states that made up the Holy Roman Empire was that small segments of a dynasty’s patrimony could be easily carved out to provide younger sons with a territory of their own to govern, a principality from which they could derive an income and prestige as a ruling prince. The downside was of course that continual fragmentation made states ever smaller and ever weaker. Yet having a junior branch of the family ruling over a smaller allied territory could also be beneficial to the dynasty as a whole in the world of international diplomacy: it provided more sons and daughters to be used in marriage alliances, and sometimes allowed the Great Powers to ally with one another indirectly if a direct link would be politically dangerous. Such was the case with Caroline of Ansbach, consort of King George II of Great Britain, whose marriage in 1705 to the son and heir of the Elector of Hanover (the future George I) had been able to re-assert a traditional family alliance with the Hohenzollerns of Prussia without disturbing the fragile alliance recently forged by the Hanoverians with the Habsburgs against the Bourbon dynasty in the War of Spanish Succession.

Caroline of Ansbach as Princess of Wales, by Kneller

Caroline of Ansbach was a princess of the House of Hohenzollern, a dynasty only recently elevated to a royal throne in Prussia, but rulers for much longer in the important frontier principality, or ‘March’, of Brandenburg. As rulers of this frontier they used the title ‘markgraf’ (‘march counts’, margrave in English), but they were considered as princes due to their rights to make laws, pass judgements, and, after the Treaty of Westphalia of 1648, to maintain their own foreign diplomacy. Since the early 15th century, they had also been one of the seven imperial princes who elected the emperor, and had slowly built up the Electorate of Brandenburg into a coherent autonomous state within the Empire—one which would develop into the Kingdom of Prussia in the 18th century. But the Hohenzollerns also possessed some properties to the south of Brandenburg, in an area called Franconia, and this is where the junior branch of the family, Caroline’s family, the margraves of Ansbach, were based. Next door was a second principality of a similar nature, Bayreuth.

Franconia as a complete region in Germany is these days a little difficult to locate. It was one of the oldest parts of the German lands, named for the Franks who lived there (and the place where they forded the river Main was thus called Frankfurt). Originally it stretched from the Rhineland in the west to the hills bordering Bohemia in the east, but distinct territories emerged that obscured the original name, like the Palatinate and the bishoprics of Bamberg and Würzburg. Today the name ‘Franken’ continues to exist as three regions within the state of Bavaria (Upper, Middle and Lower).

Ansbach and Bayreuth in the south (green), in contrast to Brandenburg in the north (pink)
close up on Ansbach and Bayreuth

One of the chief cities of this region, Nuremberg (Nürnberg in German), was built as an Imperial castle in the mid-11th century. Medieval emperors had no fixed capital, but a number of palaces (Kaiserpfalzen) where they held court and occasionally summoned their advisors and imperial representatives (which evolved into the Imperial Diet). This castle was built in an important location on the borders between the Franks and the Bavarians, and on an important trade route between north and south. When emperors were not in residence, they needed trustworthy agents to look after the castle and the surrounding town and lands, so Conrad III created the office of ‘castle count’ (burggraf, burgrave) in 1105, who had his own separate castle—the Imperial Castle and the Burgrave’s Castle remained distinct until the latter was mostly destroyed in the 15th century.

Nuremberg in the MIddle Ages

The job of burgrave of Nuremberg passed by marriage in 1192 to a Count of Zollern, a small but important county to the west in the hills of central Swabia. Their roots stretch back only to the early years of the previous century, but there are of course the inevitable fanciful claims from 19th-century genealogies that they were descended from the same founding fathers as the houses of Austria and Bavaria, way back in the 8th century. The County of Zollern, later Hohenzollern, and its castles, will be the focus of a separate blog post, on the Swabian branches of the family (princes from the 17th century).

Friedrich von Zollern, burgrave of Nuremberg, ruled the castle and the city, as well as the hinterland surrounding it. This included two rural districts, the Oberland and the Niederland, which gradually developed into the principalities of Kulmbach/Bayreuth and Ansbach, respectively. From 1210, the first burgrave’s two sons, Friedrich and Konrad, divided their lands (though it is remarkably uncertain which of the brothers is older—which has a great impact on the later history of the Hohenzollern Dynasty: was the House of Prussia the senior or the junior branch?). Friedrich’s descendants stayed in Nuremberg and became the Franconian Branch, while Konrad’s descendants returned to Zollern Castle and founded the Swabian Branch. Both still exist today—the Franconians are now considered a royal dynasty, as kings of Prussia since 1701 (and later emperors of Germany); but the Swabians had their royal moment too, as kings of Romania after 1881.

From the mid-13th century, tensions between the city of Nuremberg and the burgraves drove the Hohenzollerns to move to a nearby castle: Cadolzburg, built in the 1250s, then rebuilt in the early 15th century. Today the castle of Cadolzburg is still an impressive monument to medieval Hohenzollern power, having been badly damaged in the Second World War but reconstructed by the Bavarian state in the 1980s.

Cadolzburg (photo Keichwa)

The Emperor Fredrick II granted the city of Nuremberg significant privileges in 1219, and by the 14th century it was mostly self-governing; the ‘burgraviate’ itself would be sold to the city fathers in 1427. As their interests focused more on the countryside surrounding the city, the Hohenzollerns annexed a monastery in 1331 about 25 miles southwest of the city, known as Ansbach, named for the brook (bach) of an ancient founder, Onold: ‘Onold’s brook’, or Onoldesbach. It was often spelled with a ‘p’ until the modern era (Anspach). Nearby Heilsbronn Abbey became the dynasty’s spiritual seat and burial place for many generations. It had been founded in the 1130s, by the Cistercians, and became one of the wealthiest monasteries in Germany (dissolved in the Reformation).

Ansbach in the 17th century
Heilsbronn today–only the church survives of the monastery buildings (photo Alexander Rahm)

Just outside the town wall of Ansbach, the Hohenzollerns built a ‘water castle’, from about 1398, which developed into the Residenz. It was rebuilt as a Renaissance palace in the 1560s, and then again in the early 18th century as a blending of Viennese baroque and French rococo. A key feature in this century was a studio in which specialist potters created their very own Ansbach porcelain, which are today a main feature of the local museum. Since 1791, the Residenz of Ansbach has been the seat of a royal administrator, first Prussian then Bavarian, and today it is the seat of government for Middle Franconia.

the Ansbach Residenz (photo Mattes)

From about 1340, the Hohenzollern centre of operations was to the northeast of Nuremberg, in the mighty fortress of Plassenburg, towering over the village of Kulmbach. This was a much hiller region compared to Ansbach, and Kulmbach is thought to take its name from the stream (‘bach’) that rises from the mountains (Latin ‘culmina’). This is the area of the headwaters of the river Main, a branch of which flows nearby, and another through Bayreuth. Plassenburg Castle had been constructed by an earlier dynasty of counts who ruled this area in the 1130s, the Andechs (who were created dukes, in the Adriatic territory of Merano, in 1180—they will have a separate blog post), and enlarged by their successors, the counts of Orlamünde, in the 13th century. It remained one of the principal seats of the Hohenzollerns in Franconia until it was destroyed in war in the 1550s, then rebuilt, to become one of the grandest and most important Renaissance castles in Germany. Nevertheless, from 1604, the seat of the margraves of Kulmbach moved to Bayreuth (about 20 km to the south), and the Plassenburg became a military garrison. Today it houses a suite of museums about the army (in particular a collection of tin soldiers), about the Hohenzollerns, and about the local region.

Plassenburg (photo City of Kulmbach)

In 1398, on the death of Burgrave Friedrich V, his territories were divided. The elder son, Johann, received the principality of Kulmbach, aka the ‘Upper Mountain Lordship’, with Plassenburg Castle, while the younger, Friedrich VI, received the principality of Ansbach (the ‘Lower Mountain Lordship’), with the other family castle, Cadolzburg. In Imperial politics, Friedrich became a key ally and supporter of Emperor Sigismund of Luxemburg, in particular helping him pacify rebellious nobles in Brandenburg. He also lent him a lot of money, which the Emperor was unable to repay. So in 1415, Friedrich of Hohenzollern was given the March of Brandenburg as a fief, and became one of the seven princely electors of the Empire. He moved to Berlin, and the foundations of the rise of the Hohenzollerns in Brandenburg and Prussia were laid.

In 1420, Margrave Friedrich inherited his brother’s principality of Kulmbach, reuniting the Franconian lands. On his death, however, the lands were again divided, with Kulmbach for the eldest son, Johann, Brandenburg for the second, Friedrich, and Ansbach for the third son, Albrecht. All of them used the title ‘margrave of Brandenburg’ (as normal German custom for all sons), followed by which portion of the patrimony they ruled: the technical title was ‘margrave of Brandenburg in Ansbach’ or ‘Brandenburg in Kulmbach’. The Franconian principalities thus became known as margraviates, though really neither was a ‘mark’ or frontier.

The eldest son, Johann ‘the Alchemist’, is said to have given up his rights to the more significant territories in Brandenburg (and the electoral vote) because he was too obsessed with turning rocks into gold, and for his later years this is probably true, but I suspect there was a larger family strategy here, since Johann had married in 1416 (the year after his father’s elevation to elector) the heiress of the old electoral house of Saxony. The Hohenzollerns holding two of the seven electoral votes would have been an unmissable opportunity. But when the old Saxon dynasty went extinct in 1422, the Emperor granted the duchy and its vote to the house of Wettin instead—starting a dynastic rivalry that would continue for nearly 400 years. In later life, Margrave Johann did indeed spend his time in the lab trying to make gold, making use of the abundant minerals in the hills around Kulmbach. He had no sons, but his three daughters married well, from Mantua to Pomerania, and especially the third daughter, Dorothea, who became queen of Denmark, twice: first to King Christopher III (1445-1449), and then to his successor, Christian I of Oldenburg, whom she married after his election in 1449, and helped start the dynasty that still sits on the thrones of Denmark and Norway today.

In 1471, the third son, Albrecht of Ansbach, who had succeeded Johann in Kulmbach, also succeeded in Brandenburg as Elector Albrecht III (and was given the nickname ‘Achilles’—the first of a series of Classical names that this family would adopt). He decided that from henceforth, Brandenburg and its electoral vote would be passed by primogeniture, no longer divided, and that the family’s older Franconian lands, Ansbach and Kulmbach (later known as Bayreuth), would continue to be used as apanages for younger sons, but no further divisions would be made (though there would be another one for a time in the 16th century, Brandenburg-Küstrin, also known as the Neumark, across the Oder in what is now Poland). Albrecht III’s eldest son thus succeeded as elector of Brandenburg in 1486, and his younger sons were given Ansbach and Kulmbach. These were joined together once more only ten years later, then split again in 1521, joined again in 1557, then finally returned (both) once again to the main Brandenburg line in 1603. A territorial division between the two Franconian principalities was formally hammered out in 1541. But they continued to work together: both margraves became leaders of the Franconian Circle in 1500—the circles were set up by the Emperor as a means of more efficiently organising the Empire’s military and taxation structures.

One of the most prominent margraves of this first House of Ansbach was Georg the Pious. He was one of the very first German princes to follow the teachings of Martin Luther, and commissioned early writings on what exactly this branch of Christianity believed in, writings that developed into the Augsburg Confession of 1530, which he was one of the first to sign. He converted the family Abbey of Heilsbronn into a Lutheran church, and turned its monastery school into a Protestant grammar school. After 1625, the main burial place for the margraves of Ansbach would move to St John’s Church in town.

Margrave Georg the Pious of Ansbach

Georg of Ansbach also had eastern interests: as a young man he travelled to his uncle’s court in Buda in Hungary, and became a tutor and co-guardian of King Lajos II. He married into one of the families of Silesian dukes (Münsterberg-Oels), and was named heir to another, Ratibor, in 1521. He then also acquired two more Silesian duchies: Bytom (from King Lajos, who was overlord of Silesia as king of Bohemia) and Jägerndorf. This can be seen as part of the Hohenzollern policy of always wanting to push into the east, into Silesia (what is now southwest Poland). But Lajos II’s successor as king of Hungary and Bohemia after 1526 pushed back against Hohenzollern expansion in Silesia—especially once Georg had embraced the cause of Luther—and he confiscated some of these territories (notably Ratibor), though not Jägerndorf, which the Hohenzollerns held on to until 1621.

From 1527, Georg returned from the east to Ansbach, and built a hunting lodge (named for his dukedom, Ratibor) in Roth, near Nuremberg. He continued to push his family towards the Protestant party in the Empire, notably working with his younger brother Albrecht in Prussia. Albrecht had been elected Grand Master of the Teutonic Order in 1511, then gave up his religious profession and secularised his state in 1525, proclaiming himself to be duke of Prussia (a fief of the king of Poland—for now). It was the first state in Europe to formally adopt Lutheranism as a state religion. Brandenburg itself hesitated, but followed suit in the 1540s. Two other brothers remained Catholic, however: the Archbishop of Riga (in Latvia), until 1563, and the Archbishop of Magdeburg, until 1550—he would be one of the last Catholics to govern this large ecclesiastical territory, which was soon secularised and incorporated into Brandenburg.

Margrave Georg’s Schloss Ratibor, near Ansbach (photo GZoST)

In Franconia, in the margraviate of Kulmbach, Georg’s older brother Kasimir imprisoned their father in the Plassenburg, and took over rule of the principality. He was an ally of the Emperor Charles V, a leader in the repression of the Peasants War of 1525, then a commander on the plains of Hungary in 1527, where he died. His son Albrecht ‘Alcibiades’ (a Greek hero; also called ‘Bellator’, the warlike) became one of the most active warriors in the Reformation. Though he was a follower of Luther (and the first fully Protestant service is said to have been held in his church in Kulmbach in 1528), he supported Charles V faithfully through much of the conflict in the 1540s, then switched sides in the 1550s. Seeing the zeal of Protestant princes secularising large ecclesiastical territories (like Magdeburg), his change of heart was driven by a desire to annex the large and wealthy bishoprics of Würzburg and Bamberg, and he dreamed of re-creating the ancient medieval Duchy of Franconia. Albrecht was utterly defeated and placed under Imperial ban (making him an outlaw) in 1554. He died in 1557, unmarried, so Kulmbach and Ansbach were joined together once again.

Margrave Albrecht Alcibiades

Georg the Pious’s son, Georg Friedrich, was thus margrave in both Ansbach and Kulmbach, and later also became administrator (or ‘regent’) of Prussia, from 1577, when his cousin Albrecht Friedrich (Duke Albrecht’s son) became incapacitated due to mental health. This shows how the dynasty continued to function together even when it was quite spread out, not just looking after their separate possessions. In fact at this time (the late-16th century) there were literally dozens of Hohenzollerns, male and female, ruling as foreign consorts and governing parts of the patrimony, from Franconia to the Baltic. Neither Georg Friedrich nor Albrecht Friedrich had any sons, however, so both Franconian principalities went back into the general pot in Brandenburg, while the duchy of Prussia passed to Brandenburg through marriage.

A new division of Ansbach and Kulmbach, now renamed Bayreuth as its seat moved to that town, was thus ordered by the Elector Johann Georg in 1603. The older son, Christian got Bayreuth, while Joachim Ernst received Ansbach. Bayreuth probably took its name from early immigrants from Bavaria to the south who settled in a clearing (‘Baier’ plus ‘rute’). The first princely residence was built here in the 1440s, and rebuilt and renovated several times. The old Residenz remains in the centre of town, but is overshadowed by the magnificence of the new buildings built in the 18th century (see below).

Bayreuth, Old Schloss

Margrave Christian was one of the founding members of the Protestant Union in 1608, and was a thorn in the side of the Catholic emperor for many years, ruling for a remarkably long time, until 1655. His grandson Christian Ernst, in contrast, was a loyal servant of the Habsburgs, and rose to be an Imperial Field Marshal in 1691: a leader of the Franconian Circle from 1664, notably at the defence of Vienna against the Turks in 1683. A good Protestant, however, he made a policy to re-settle Huguenot refugees from France in the 1680s, and used their skills to help reform his government and develop his institution of higher learning in nearby Erlangen—later to become a prominent university. Erlangen had been badly hit in the wars of the 17th century, so it was being developed as a new town with new ideas. Christian Ernst also built a margravial palace in Erlangen, which now houses the main seat of the University.

Schloss Erlangen (photo Selby)

Margrave Christian Ernst’s son Georg Wilhelm will continue the line of Bayreuth, below. His daughter, Christiane Eberhardine, however, raised the family’s profile a notch through her marriage in 1693 to the Elector of Saxony, who was soon elected King of Poland and Grand Duke of Lithuania. August II converted in order to take up his Catholic throne in Warsaw, but his wife refused, remaining in Dresden and earning the reputation to her loyal Protestant subjects as ‘the Pillar of Saxony’. She remained separated from her husband, then her son (who also converted to become king), for the rest of her life.

Christiane Eberhardine of Brandenburg-Bayreuth

In Ansbach, Margrave Joachim Ernst was also an active member of the Protestant Union of 1608, which was founded in his territories (near Nördlingen), as a counterweight to the growing power of the Catholic Emperor and his allies (notably neighbouring Bavaria). But, in the face of growing fear of the Emperor’s armies (especially after the defeat of the Elector Palatine in 1620 at White Mountain), he backed out of the Union. His son, Friedrich III took up the fight, but was killed at the Battle of Nördlingen in 1635, leaving the margraviate to his brother Albrecht II, who rebuilt his state after the devastations of the Thirty Years War in part by resettling Protestant refugees from a now fully Catholic Austria.

Albrecht II’s son, Margrave Johann Friedrich was the father of Queen Caroline of Ansbach. But she hardly knew him, as he died in 1686 when she was only 3. Johann Friedrich had continued his father’s policy of settling Protestant refugees, augmented by those from France being persecuted by Louis XIV. He was well educated, at the Protestant universities of Strasburg and Geneva, and wanted to make sure his children were too, though he didn’t really live long enough to see it. Having taken up rule from his father in 1672, he died after 14 years, only age 31, of smallpox. Two sons had been born from a first marriage (to a Baden princess), who ruled in succession: Christian Albrecht as a child from 1686-92, and Georg Friedrich II, who was killed fairly young fighting in Imperial service in the War of Spanish Succession, in 1703.

Margrave Johann Friedrich of Ansbach

In 1703, therefore, Caroline’s full brother, Wilhelm Friedrich, took over as Margrave of Ansbach, at age 17. Their mother, Eleonore Erdmuth, had been a princess from Saxony-Eisenach, who married for a second time in 1692 the Elector of Saxony, making her unpopular to her step-sons. For their first ten years, therefore, her children, Caroline (or Wilhelmine Karoline) and Wilhelm Friedrich, were unwelcome in Ansbach, and, having first been sent to live at the court of Brandenburg in Berlin, later joined their mother at the Saxon court in Dresden. Life was not easy here either as the Elector made it clear he preferred his mistress, even threatening to murder his new wife, and sent her and her children to live elsewhere. Once the two children were orphaned in 1696, they returned to Ansbach, but when Wilhelm Friedrich became Margrave in 1703, Caroline was once more sent away, back to Berlin, to be raised by King Frederick I of Prussia and his wife, Sophie Charlotte of Hanover. The latter had a huge impact on young Caroline, and introduced her to the ideas of the new Enlightenment movement. She probably also encouraged the match between Caroline and her nephew, Prince Georg August of Hanover.

In 1704, Caroline resisted an offer to become queen of Spain, through marriage to ‘Carlos III’ (the Austrian Archduke Charles), which would have required a conversion. The next year, she married Georg August, and moved with him to England in 1714 as Princess of Wales. From the very start, relations between King George I and his son and daughter-in-law were strained; the Wales couple made more of an effort to become English and made English friends. Eventually a complete break was made between father and son, in 1717, and led to the formation of an alternative court led by the Waleses, at Leicester House.

Leicester House and Leicester Square in 1750

Caroline got involved in politics, in particular as a friend of Horace Walpole, whom she helped reconcile with the King in 1720. This political alliance with Walpole continued when her husband started a new reign, as George II, from 1727—though a new division began at this time, between the King and Queen and their son, Frederick, the new Prince of Wales, which lasted for a decade, even until Caroline’s death. Nevertheless, the Queen’s legacy is a brilliant one, as a capable ruler (regent four times when the King travelled to Hanover), and a scholar, with a large library and a keen interest in science and health.

Queen Caroline

In Bayreuth, Margrave Georg Wilhelm, while still the heir, also embraced the new spirit of the Enlightenment, and designed and built a new model town, St Georgen, on the outskirts of the city. It had orderly rows of houses, a castle in a lake, and a porcelain factory. He even developed a new order of chivalry, the Order of the Red Eagle (1705), and a new church for the Order to hold its meetings. He built a hunting lodge and extensive gardens, but died in 1726, aged only 49. Today his organised streets are still visible, neat and tidy, but the castle is a prison.

St Georgen

His heir, Margrave Georg Friedrich, was his cousin, who had ruled in Kulmbach before succeeding to Bayreuth. His younger sister, Sophie Magdalene, had once again brought this branch to top-rank prominence through her marriage in 1721 to the future Christian VI, King of Denmark and Norway. She outlived her husband and her son (Frederick V) and as Dowager-Grandmother became entangled in the mess of the royal relationship that was the marriage of her grandson Christian VII and Caroline Matilda of Britain in the late 1760s. Georg Friedrich had a different character to Georg Wilhelm: having been brought up in much less splendour (his father having become massively in debt), he focused his rule in improving his state, and not getting involved in military or imperial politics. He preferred to live at the former monastery of Himmelkron, which he developed into a princely residence. He died after only 10 years, in 1735.

His son, Margrave Friedrich ‘the Beloved’, seems to have combined the temperaments of his two predecessors: an interest in developing his state, but less self-restraint for doing so. Together, he and his celebrated wife, Wilhelmine of Prussia, made Bayreuth into one of the true cultural hot spots of Enlightenment Europe, but they nearly bankrupted their small state. Princess Wilhelmine was the sister of Frederick the Great, and the only person he ever truly loved. Having suffered the cruel oppression of their parents together as children, they remained extremely close, and his devastation at her death in 1758 persisted for the rest of his life (commemorated by a ‘Temple of Friendship’ at Sanssouci he dedicated to her).

Friedrich, Margrave of Bayreuth
Wilhelmine of Prussia, with her books and music

Wilhelmine was, like Caroline, a true daughter of the Enlightenment, and her salon in Bayreuth hosted such luminaries at Voltaire. Like her brother, she was a composer and a great patron of music—and much of the impetus for the building of the great Margravial Opera House in Bayreuth (1740s) can be attributed to her. Note: this is not the famous Bayreuth Festspielhaus built for Richard Wagner in the 1870s—Bayreuth is spoiled in having two world-famous opera houses! It is also the location of Wagner’s house, Wahnfried, and the burial place of both Wagner and his father-in-law, Franz Liszt.

Margravial Opera House, Bayreuth (photo Chianti)

The 18th-century opera house is a model example of ‘Bayreuth Rococo’ style. Margrave Friedrich and Margravine Wilhelmine also built a new Residenz in the centre of town (1754, after a fire gutted the old building), and expanded Georg Wilhelm’s summer residence, the Hermitage, a few miles to the east of town, with extensive gardens and fountains—one of the earliest and finest baroque gardens in Germany. The Hermitage became Wilhelmine’s space especially, and she built a new Music Room, a Japanese Cabinet and a Chinese Mirror Cabinet. In the 19th century, these summer residences and gardens mostly fell into neglect, though the Bavarian King Ludwig II did live here when attending the Wagner Festival. It was mostly forgotten again, until restoration works began by the Bavarian state in the 1960s, and another major renovation, especially of Wilhelmine’s interiors, was completed in 2005.

Bayreuth, New Schloss (photo D. J. Mueller)
Bayreuth, Hermitage (photo Bayreuth2009)

The Margravial couple completed the development of the University of Erlangen in 1743, and established an Academy of Arts in Bayreuth in 1756. Although Friedrich was named an Imperial Field Marshal, and leader of the Franconian Circle, he kept his principality out of the wars raging between Austria and Prussia in the 1740s, and, interestingly, Wilhelmine acted as an unofficial diplomat, a go-between trying to keep channels open between her brother Frederick II in Berlin and the Empress Maria Theresa in Vienna.

When Friedrich died in 1763, Bayreuth passed to his childless uncle, Friedrich Christian, who tried desperately to curtail the excessive costs of the previous margravial couple: he reduced the number of court staff, for example, from 600, back to previous levels of about 150. He fired musicians and stopped building projects. But he died only six years later, and the principality of Bayreuth passed to the line of Brandenburg-Ansbach.

In Ansbach, Queen Caroline’s brother, Margrave Wilhelm Friedrich, had also been expanding his small state’s interests in education and health. He built a public library, a home for poor widows, and planned a university, but died before this could be established. Like his father and his two half-brothers, his life was short, dying in 1723, aged only 37.

Wilhelm Friedrich, Margrave of Ansbach

Nevertheless, Wilhelm Friedrich founded a factory to produce faience pottery, expanded the Ansbach Residenz, and rebuilt several hunting lodges, notably the castle of Unterschwanigen, which he gave to his wife, Christine-Charlotte of Württemberg. This castle would serve as a female residence for successive margravines, notably Friederike Luisa of Prussia, who developed its pleasure gardens and parks, and Friederike Karoline of Saxe-Coburg. The castle and gardens of Unterschwanigen were later sold off by the king of Bavaria and mostly demolished.

Unterschwanigen as it once was

The next margrave, Queen Caroline’s nephew, Karl Wilhelm, was known as ‘The Wild Margrave’. He lived a luxurious lifestyle, mostly devoted to hunting and falconry. He spent huge amounts of money on his falcons (reputedly 10% of the state budget), took a falconer’s daughter to be his mistress, and even named their children ‘von Falkenhausen’. He gave these children several castles, and their descendants, the barons von Falkenhausen, still bear a falcon on their coat of arms today.

Karl Wilhelm, the ‘Wild Margrave’

The Ansbach coat of arms itself was quite extensive: as noted above, in the German system, all male members of a dynasty can make claim to all the family’s titles, so most of the component parts of Brandenburg were represented: various eagles and griffins (Brandenburg, Prussia, Pomerania), recently secularised ecclesiastical territories (Magdeburg, Minden), plus the ancient family properties of the county of Hohenzollern (the black and white checks) and the burgraviate of Nuremberg (black lion on gold, with a red and white border), and finally a simple red square representing the ‘right of regalia’ used by all electoral families.

Despite these wide-ranging pretensions, Margrave Karl Wilhelm did not have unlimited wealth, and spent himself into debt. He rebuilt the Ansbach palace, and several new churches in town (in a new style known as ‘Margrave Style’, similar to ‘Bayreuth Style’). In 1730, he built a special falconry hunting lodge, the ‘Red Castle’ at Triesdorf—one of the largest falconries in Europe. This became the main summer residence for the margraves. Today it is the seat of an agricultural education centre.

The ‘Red Castle’, Triesdorf

Triesdorf had been the residence of the von Seckendorff barons, sold to the margraves of Ansbach around 1600. Here they built the ‘White Palace’ in the 1680s. To this, Margrave Karl Wilhelm Friedrich added a zoo, gardens, lakes and a theatre, and more living spaces for courtiers and servants—inspired by the idea of having one big court residence in the countryside like Versailles. Under the guidance of Lady Craven (see below), the gardens were developed into more English Romantic style. Once the estate was taken over by the Bavarian Crown in the 19th century, Triesdorf was used as an agricultural centre for breeding horses and cattle, with an agricultural school since 1843.

The ‘White Castle’ at Triesdorf (photo Markus Weber)

This Lady Craven was the mistress then second wife of the last margrave, Karl Alexander (or just Alexander) (b. 1736). He succeeded his father in in Ansbach in 1757, then succeeded his distant cousin in Bayreuth in 1769, uniting the two Franconian principalities for the first time since 1603. He thus had a great range of choices for his residence, but he preferred Triesdorf. Saddled with his father’s excessive debts (and now those of Bayreuth), he set out to earn some money: he founded a porcelain factory in 1758, and rented troops to Britain and Holland—notably selling a ‘Frankish Army’ to the British to fight in America. And he was fairly successful, founding even a state bank in 1780 to manage his income.

Margrave Karl Alexander

Having lived apart from his wife for some time, however, and with no children, in 1791, he recognised that, since the King of Prussia would ultimately be his heir to both Ansbach and Bayreuth, he may as well cede these territories to him in advance (in return for a sizeable annual pension). Margravine Friederike Karoline died in February, and in May, the Margrave left Ansbach-Bayreuth with his mistress Lady Craven, married her in October, and abdicated formally in November.

Elizabeth Berkeley, Lady Craven

Lady Craven was born Lady Elizabeth Berkeley (b. 1750), daughter of the 4th Earl of Berkeley, and widow of William, 6th Baron Craven (who died in September of that same year). She had lived in Ansbach since 1787. After 1791 they settled in England, and in 1798 acquired Benham Park, on the river Kennet, near Speen in West Berkshire, where he set up a farm for breeding horses (conveniently close to the race courses at Newbury). The house had been built by her first husband, Baron Craven, in the 1770s (designed by Henry Holland). It later became home to the Sutton baronets in the 19th and 20th centuries, was significantly altered in 1914, and now houses offices.

Benham Park, Berkshire (photo Pam Brophy)

In town, the Margrave and his wife had a house in Fulham known as ‘Brandenburgh House’ (and there is still a ‘Margravine Road’ in Hammersmith). It was not always pleasant being in London, as George III and the ladies of his court continually snubbed her. Nevertheless, in 1801, the Emperor Francis II elevated her formally as ‘Princess Berkeley’. After Margrave Alexander died in 1806, she moved to Naples, and died there.

Brandenburgh House, Fulham

After 1791, the two Franconian principalities of Ansbach and Bayreuth were administered as a new province by the Kingdom of Prussia. The Napoleonic wars shook up the map, and in 1805, Prussia ceded Ansbach to France; then in 1806, it was acquired by Bavaria. Bayreuth was ceded to France in 1806, then it also passed to Bavaria in 1810. Since then they have been governed together as the districts of Franconia by the state of Bavaria. Ansbach is the seat of ‘Middle Franconia’ (though it also includes Nuremberg), while Bayreuth is that for ‘Upper Franconia’.

(images from Wikimedia Commons)

Fouché d’Otrante: French Neapolitan dukes in Sweden

Some dukedoms are awarded to die-hard republicans, based on a territory not connected in any way to the grantee, the title formally removed by one country, then reclaimed by descendants living in another. Not often, it has to be admitted. But such is the story of the ancestors of one of the grandest Swedish aristocrats today, Charles-Louis Fouché, the 8th Duke of Otrante, owner of the palatial manorhouse Elghammar, on a large estate about 80 km to the southwest of Stockholm. His ancestor, the 1st Duke, was one of the most ruthless actors in the French Revolution, the Minister of Police Joseph Fouché.

Joseph Fouché, 1st Duc d’Otrante

The Fouché family were from a village near Nantes. Young Joseph (b. 1759) was educated in the church, but threw everything aside to rush to Paris in the autumn of 1792—the year things really started to get hot in the French Revolution—when he was elected as a deputy to the National Convention. An avid antimonarchist, he soon befriended Robespierre and joined the radical Jacobins and voted for the execution of Citizen Capet, the former King Louis XVI, in January 1793. His revolutionary zeal was noticed, and he was given the task that summer and the next of helping to put down the Royalist revolt in the Vendée, then bringing the city of Lyon to heel during the Terror, which he did with efficient ruthlessness: considering the Guillotine too slow, he used cannons filled with shot to mow down rows of insurrectionists. He returned to Paris in summer 1794 and shifted his allegiances just in time to help bring down his former ally Robespierre (and save his own skin) in the Coup of 9 Thermidor. Fouché survived the purges of the radicals that followed, and continued to work in the government (now known as the Directorate) thanks to the patronage of its most famous leader, Paul Barras, who appointed him to ambassadorial roles, first to the Cisalpine Republic (that is, Milan) in 1798, then Holland in 1799, both brief and fairly uneventful. But it was enough to impress those in power to appoint him Minister of Police in July 1799—with the task of shutting down the Jacobin Club and hunting down its remaining members. He established a massive spy network and was soon one of the most powerful men in France, allying himself to First Consul Napoleon Bonaparte.

Fouché at Lyon, a print from the 1830s, so deliberately anti-Jacobin

After the proclamation of the First Empire of the French, in April 1804, Joseph Fouché was re-appointed Minister of the Police. He was created Count of the Empire in 1808, and briefly Minister of the Interior in 1809. That same year he was created Duke of Otrante, a ‘duchy-grand fief of the Empire’, an honour given within the Kingdom of Naples, a satellite state of the French Empire (and taking its name from the city of Otranto, in the heel of Italy). Napoleon’s new aristocratic titles were of varying degrees of authority, from sovereign principalities given to his marshals to these ‘grand fiefs’ given mostly to government ministers. It gave him no lands or authority in Italy.

Fouché in ‘grand habit’ of Minster of Police in the First Empire (by Dubufe)

But the new Duke had a difficult relationship with the Emperor, who mistrusted (rightly) his extensive spy network, and after 1810 was sent on many missions in Italy to keep him away from Paris (for example, he was nominally appointed governor of Rome but never really took up his post there). He openly plotted against Bonaparte in 1814, but then re-joined him in the Hundred Days, only to immediately conspire from within. Deemed useful by the new Royalist government in the transition from Empire back to Kingdom in the Spring of 1815, he was (surprisingly) appointed once more as Minister of Police (March to June), and even acted as nominal head of the provisional government (as ‘President of the Executive Commission’, 22 June to 7 July), which some considered was at least nominally under the reign of ‘Napoleon II’. Louis XVIII’s restoration ministry led by Talleyrand named Fouché Minister of Police for a final time (July to September)—a necessity to ensure the loyalty of the police force in this unstable period—before both he and Talleyrand were removed from power at the end of the year.

The government of Louis XVIII was in its first months dedicated to being conciliatory, not divisive, so the Duc d’Otrante was merely kept away from centres of power, by being appointed ambassador to the Kingdom of Saxony. But by 1816, he was more formally ‘proscribed’ as a regicide, his titles were declared null, and he was exiled from France. He settled in Trieste, was naturalised as a subject of the Austrian Emperor, and died in 1820. According to the lists of 19th and 20th-century French nobility, this is where the dukedom of Otrante comes to an end. But the fallen Minister of Police had several sons, and the lineage continued.

Fouché d’Otrante coat-of-arms. The stars on red at the top indicate a duke of the Empire

Joseph-Liberté, born in the midst of the Revolution (as the second name suggests) in 1797, remained in France after the Restoration, married the daughter of another former Napoleonic minister (Jean-Baptiste, Comte de Sussy, Minister of Commerce) in 1824, but soon separated from her and lived a quiet life in Paris for the next decades. As far as I can see he didn’t call himself 2nd Duc d’Otrante, but used the lesser Napoleonic title ‘Comte Fouché’. He was known for his strange personality, but also as a learned man, generous and kind—seemingly weighed down by his father’s legacy of state terror. He specifically kept himself apart from the affairs of the Second Empire (proclaimed in January 1852) and died quietly in 1862. His one legacy was a box of letters, kept by his father for ‘insurance’ that were apparently damning messages between Talleyrand and Bonaparte.

The ephemeral 2nd Duke (as he is now reckoned) left behind two brothers—but these were both far from France. Both Armand and Paul-Athanase, who used the title ‘Comte Fouché’, travelled to Sweden in 1822 and obtained posts in the service of the new king of Sweden, also a Frenchman by birth, Carl XIV Johan, the former Jean-Baptiste Bernadotte, Marshal of the French Empire. Count Armand became an officer in the King’s Life Guard, cavalry, while Count Paul-Athanase became a Chamber Gentleman in the royal household. Though this title may have been purely honorific (it’s not certain he was active in service), he was noted as being presented at court in these early days, as not taking ceremonies seriously and offending more conservative Swedish courtiers. He was also appointed as an aide-de-camp and gentleman in the service of the King’s young son, Prince Oscar—a close bond was formed that would allow the Fouché family to embed itself within the Swedish court and its aristocracy for the next century.

Armand, 3rd Duke of Otrante

Armand left Sweden in 1843 and travelled to America where he became an explorer on the upper Missouri River and a collector of ethnographic objects. In 1862 he became head of the family, and probably began to use the title Duke of Otrante, though legally it meant nothing in Sweden. Once he was back in Sweden, Duke Armand bought Stjärnholms Castle in 1870, near the town of Oxelösund, in Södermanland County, on the coast a short distance southwest of Stockholm. He died unmarried in 1878. The Castle, built in the 1730s, was sold by the family in the 1920s and today is home to a sculpture park.

Stjärnholms Castle

The youngest of the three sons of Joseph Fouché, Paul-Athanase, thus became the 4th Duke of Otrante in 1878—and we know he did use the ducal title as it appears in his obituary in 1886. He went mostly by his second name of Athanase—the name of a 4th century bishop of Alexandria and saint, perhaps (?) given as a nod to Napoleon’s reconciliation with the Catholic Church in 1801, given that this was also the year of Athanase’s birth. As we’ve seen, by 1822, he had relocated to the new court of the formerly French Marshal Bernadotte, and by1824 was a Chamber Gentleman of the Swedish King. Also in 1824 he married a local noblewoman, Baroness Christina Palmstierna, though she died only two years later. A decade later he married another Swedish aristocrat, Baroness Adelaide (or Amélie) von Stedingk, with whom he had several children. Although he was recognised as noble (as ‘Comte Fouché d’Otrante’) by the King (Oscar I from 1844), he was not formally ‘introduced’ into the Swedish House of Nobles (the upper house of Parliament until the reforms of the mid-19th century). The ‘unintroduced nobility’ of Sweden had social recognition, but not legal rights or privileges. This did not stop Count Athanase from being appointed to the highest court offices, notably the King’s First Master of the Court Hunt, in 1858, and a promotion to Grand Chamber Gentleman in 1875. He was most known, however, as a patron of the music world, and a member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Music, to whom he donated a huge collection of opera scores in 1858. Late in life, as head of the family, he travelled to Paris where he married for the third time, a woman nearly 50 years his junior, though the validity of this marriage seems to be in doubt, and their son Paul, born more than a decade before in Ostende in Belgium, is not listed on all of the genealogy sites—he migrated to Buenos Aires in Argentina where he died in the 1930s. The 4th Duke also died in Paris, so perhaps he was not welcome back in conservative Swedish court society.

His son Gustaf, however, was by then fully integrated within Swedish high society, and now had a palatial estate in which to more firmly ground the family on Swedish soil. Born in 1840, he held a post within the Royal Stables from 1867, and by 1890 rose to the position of First Court Stable Master (second in command of the Royal Stables, behind the Chief Court Stable Master—roughly equivalent to the Master of the Horse in other countries). In 1865 he married Baroness Augusta Bonde, whose father was a Swedish nobleman but whose mother was Lady Augusta FitzClarence, a grand-daughter of King William IV of Great Britain. A few years later, he married one of his mother’s cousins, Baroness Theresa von Stedingk, who in 1875, inherited her family’s estate at Elghammar.

Gustaf, 5th Duke of Otrante

Elghammar was a manorhouse near Gnesta in Södermanland (southwest of Stockholm). Built picturesquely at the end of a promontory on a lake (Lockvattnet) in the 18th century by the local noble Kruse family, it was sold to the Von Stedingk family, in 1807, and rebuilt in the French Empire style. The barons von Stedingk (the eldest of whom bore the title Count from 1809) were originally from Swedish Pomerania, and rose to their greatest prominence under the Marshal Curt von Stedingk, whose career included a stint at Versailles where he befriended Marie-Antoinette, and service in the French forces aiding the Americans in their war against Great Britain. He was later ambassador to Saint Petersburg and Commander-in-Chief of the Swedish province of Finland. The Duchess of Otrante was the Marshal’s grand-daughter and co-heir. Today’s estate at Elghammar is still vast, over 2,000 hectares.

Marshal von Stedingk
Elghammar
Elghammar and Lockvattnet

The 5th Duke was succeeded in 1910 by his son, Charles-Louis, already serving at court as a Chamber Gentleman in the Household of the Queen. From 1929, he took over his father’s old post of First Court Stable Master, and was a close companion to the King (Gustav V) for the rest of the reign (both men dying in 1950). As an interesting further connection, Gustav’s queen, Victoria, was a descendent of Sweden’s former ruling house, the Vasas, through the grand dukes of Baden, while the Duke of Otrante’s wife, Countess Madeleine Douglas was also descended from the House of Baden (though not directly from the Vasas). The counts of Douglas, as their name suggests, were Scottish in origin, but had been part of the Swedish nobility since the mid-17th century.

Charles-Louis, 6th Duke of Otrante

The 20th-century family of Fouché d’Otrante continued to marry into the Swedish nobility, including another Stedingk, for Countess Victoria, and Countess Christina von Rosen for her brother the 7th Duke, another Gustaf. But the most prominent member of this generation, was Countess Margareta (1909-2005) whose marriage in 1934 to the 5th Prince of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg (whose family I’ve written about elsewhere on this site) made her a princess. The Prince went missing ten years later as a German officer in the invasion of Russia, but was not formally declared deceased until 1969. A year before, Princess Margareta’s eldest son, Richard, married the second daughter of King Frederick IX of Denmark, Princess Benedikte. A year after that, in 1970, a Fouché cousin Countess Marie (from a junior line) also married a German prince, Philipp Reinhard zu Solms-Hohensolms-Lich. For a family whose ducal title isn’t officially recognised anywhere, they were doing pretty well.

Wedding photo of Margareta and the Prince of Sayn-Wittgenstein
Princess Margareta in later life, wearing the sash of the Danish royal order

As cousin to the current Danish Crown Prince, therefore, the current Duke of Otrante, Charles-Louis (b. 1986, duke from 1995), is considered a member of the wider circle of the Danish royal family, and works to promote the image of his family on the scale of the truly grand—appearing for example in Le Figaro Magazine in August 2015. He certainly has the house for it (with the grand words above the entranceway, More Parentum, ‘according to the traditions of our ancestors’), which includes a ‘Chambre Fouché’, with the bed, uniform and decorations of the founder of the House, Napoleon’s spymaster, Joseph Fouché.

Charles-Louis, 8th Duke of Otrante

(images from Wikimedia and other online sources)

My thanks to Dr Fabian Persson for looking over this article and providing useful details about the modern Swedish court.

Radziwill—Princes sans frontières

Sometimes one single prominent marriage can bring an entire family lineage back into the popular consciousness, even if the details of the who, what, where remain fuzzy. Such is the case for His Serene Highness Prince Stanisław ‘Stas’ Radziwiłł, whose celebrated marriage to Lee Bouvier in March 1959 propelled him into the limelight as part of the world of ‘Camelot’ and the American Kennedys.

Prince and Princess Stanislaus Radziwill

Although before the second World War Prince Stanisław worked for the Polish delegation to the League of Nations and for the Polish Red Cross, the question of his ‘national identity’ is an interesting one. Was he a Pole? When he was born in 1914, at the Radziwill Palace of Szpanów, in Volhynia, he was a subject of the Russian Empire. This region became part of Poland when it regained its independence, then in 1939 it was incorporated into the Soviet Union as part of the Ukrainian SSR. But it had changed times several times even before that: joined to Lithuania in the 14th century, then transferred to Poland in the 16th, and from Poland to Russia at the end of the 18th century. Today most of the grandest former Radziwill properties are in Ukraine and Belarus, but in the past the family were usually considered Polish aristocrats—yet at the very start they were a Lithuanian noble family. While the world’s media focuses this month on the volatile Russo-Ukrainian border, a look at the fascinating history of the princely Radziwill clan can help us understand some of the quite fluid history of this region of the world.

To start with Ukraine, one of the challenges in establishing a national identity in the past hundred years has been a lack of a clearly identifiable historical ruling dynasty, around which most, with few exceptions, European countries were constructed in the medieval and early modern periods. Nationalist state builders of the late 19th and early 20th centuries knew this, hence the establishment of ‘imported’ royal families on the thrones of newly independent states from Greece to Romania, and the plan to do the same for countries emerging from the collapse of the Russian Empire in 1917-18, like Finland or Lithuania, and for Ukraine too: Archduke Wilhelm of Austria was briefly considered for the throne of an independent kingdom, according to the fascinating book by Timothy Snyder, The Red Prince. But centuries before, when this area of what is now Belarus and western Ukraine was part of the federated state of Poland-Lithuania, there was a saying: “There is a king in Warsaw, and a Radziwiłł in Nesvizh”.

Nesvizh, today’s Niasviž in Belarus, was for centuries the centre of a private princely estate that rivalled in size and wealth many western sovereign states. At their height, the aristocratic owners of this estate possessed 23 castles, 426 towns, 2,000 manors and 10,000 villages. They had a private army, which, by the 18th century, could muster 6,000 men. They had townhouses in most important cities in Poland and Lithuania (Warsaw, Lublin, Vilnius), and other regional centres further east (Minsk, Lviv), as well as the major European capitals, Paris, Vienna and Berlin. One of the most prominent in this last category was the Radziwill Palace in Berlin, on Wilhelmstraße near Potsdamer Platz, an 18th-century palais which was acquired by the Prussian government in 1869, and soon after became the seat of the Imperial Chancellor, and was the residence of Adolf Hitler before the building of the New Chancellery in 1939, and was mostly destroyed in World War II.

Palais Radziwill in Berlin before it became the Imperial Chancellery

The Radziwiłł family (properly spelled with two ł’s, which makes a w sound, but usually anglicised simply to Radziwill) were major landowners in what is now Ukraine, but they could never be seen as ‘Ukrainian’ princes, in part due to religion: throughout their history they were strong proponents of Catholicism or Calvinism, never Orthodoxy. Moreover, they were just one of several great princely families whose landholdings in this region were on a truly epic scale.

The lands of Radziwills (blue) and other eastern magnates

Instead, we need to see the Radziwills as representatives of an earlier, pre-nationalist, view of the world, a Lithuanian noble house who rose to power through merging its interests with the Polish monarchy (though sometimes strongly opposing it), and eventually asserting its own independent links to the other dominant powers in the region, Prussia and Russia. There are literally dozens of eminent members of this family, male and female, so this post will offer highlights, and as usual, will focus on dynastic links and built heritage—and there’s a lot of it, and much of it hidden from Western tourists for decades behind the Iron Curtain. So here we can do some virtual tourism thanks to the internet. I will start in Lithuania, then look at the two main branches of the family: the Biržai (Birże in Polish) line and the Nezvizh (Nieśwież) line. Though the latter is the senior branch, it’s the only one to continue into the present, so it makes more sense to finish with it. Across its history, the dynasty—raised to the level of princes in 1518—produced three bishops, two cardinals and one queen, plus eight grand chancellors and seven holders of the post of grand hetman (the highest military commander) of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.

So let’s start with Lithuania. The Lithuanians are a Baltic people—they are not Slavs like their neighbours to the east and south. They were amongst the last group of Europeans to convert to Christianity, in the late 14th century, but in the two centuries leading up to this the threat of Orthodox Slavic principalities to the east and crusading Catholic warriors from the west forced the Lithuanian nobles to consolidate tribal rule into a unified state, a Grand Duchy. One of the greatest of these Grand Dukes was Jogaila, who not only converted to Christianity, in 1386, but also married the young female ruler of Poland, Jadwiga, joining together the two principalities into one mega-state, Poland-Lithuania, which would stick together until the partitions of these lands between Russia, Prussia and Austria in the 1790s. As part of the dynastic merger agreements of the 1380s, many of the Lithuanian noble families were admitted to the Polish system of ‘heraldic families’, in which clusters of noble houses bore the same or similar coats of arms. The Radziwills’ arms would henceforth bear three horns (‘trąby’).

Poland (red) and Lithuania (pink) joined together in 1386

Grand Duke Jogaila changed his name to the Christian name Vladislav. At the same time, his greatest Lithuanian noble supporters did the same. One of these, Astikas, took the name Christian (or Kristinas). He was said to have descended from a younger brother of one of the early Lithuanian rulers. His son bore the name Radvila (and doesn’t seem to have used his baptised name, Nicholas), which, according to legend refers to a semi-mythical Lithuanian ancestor who was raised by wolves (rado vilko), the pagan high priest Lizdeika who went on to found the city of Vilnius (in an echo of the traditional founding of Rome story by Romulus and Remus). Another idea suggests that the name derives from an ancient Slavic name Radzivon, from the old Greek word for ‘pink’, linking the family to the earlier Slavic rulers of the area, and Greek Orthodoxy. These two contrasting ideas come from Lithuanian sources or Polish sources, so, as always, nationalism plays its part in the creation of history!

Radvila, a 19th-century imagined portrait

In any case, Radvila’s son, Nicholas (Mikalojus in Lithuanian or Mikołaj in Polish) adopted the name Radvilaitisas a surname, later polonised to Radziwiłł. All three of these founders were great landowners in the area of central Lithuania, including Musninkai, to the northwest of the Grand Ducal capital, Vilnius. In 1447, the Grand Duke Casimir granted Radvila the much larger town and estates of Kėdainiai (Kiejdany in Polish), further to the northwest, in a separate region of Lithuania known as Samogitia. This town would remain one of the main bases of the family in the centuries to come. They developed it into a commercial hub, with good water links to the Baltic Sea and to the Hanseatic League, and built one of the first Calvinist (ie, Evangelical Reformed) churches in the region at Kėdainiai, which still retains a family mausoleum.

The Evangelical Church in Kedainiai
The Radziwill palace at Kedainiai in the 19th century

But this extraordinary Protestant activity—one of the most interesting aspects of the Radziwill story—in mostly Catholic Lithuania is in the future. For now, Radvila and his son Mikalojus built up their dynastic power in the region by service to the Grand Duke: the father was Marshal of the Court from 1440, governor of Trakai (one of Lithuania’s former capitals), then castellan of Vilnius, in 1475; he served also as an envoy to the neighbouring Teutonic Order (Germans) and to the Golden Horde (Mongols). The son was also castellan of Trakai, governor of Vilnius, and rose to the post of Grand Chancellor of Lithuania (the top official after the Grand Duke) in 1492. The family would be governors (vaivada) of Vilnius for over 150 years, and one of their major urban palaces still stands in that city, whose history they dominated for so long. Originally a wooden house, then replaced with a baroque structure in the 1630s, Radvilas Palace was mostly unloved in the 18th and 19th centuries. Today it houses an art museum, and although when I visited a couple years ago it looked quite dilapidated, it is undergoing major renovations and has big plans for the future.

Vilnius Palace, my photo of the renovated and unrenovated wings

Mikalojus ‘the Old’ (d. 1509) had four sons, Mikalojus II, Vaitiekus, Jonas (John) and Jergis (George), and a daughter, Anna, who married a Polish prince (from a junior line of the former ruling house), showing how far the family had advanced in just a few generations. Of these sons, the second became Bishop of Vilnius (taking the name Albert), while the others each founded a branch of the family. The eldest son was given lands confiscated by a Lithuanian rebel, Prince Glinski, in 1509, notably Goniądz in the historic region of Podlachia or Podlasie in eastern Poland. Nothing remains of the castle here, but its name became prominent briefly in 1518 as part of the princely title created for Mikalojus II by the Holy Roman Emperor, Maximilian I, as recognition for his part in the King-Grand Duke Sigismund I’s visit to Vienna a few years before. He also still owned the family’s dynastic patrimony in central Lithuania, and acquired another property through marriage, Medilas, to the east (Medele in Polish, now Miadziel in Belarus). He took over his father’s post as Grand Chancellor of Lithuania in 1510, and was a key proponent of forging tighter political links between Poland and Lithuania (and was thus given the nickname ‘Amor Poloniae’).

Mikalojus, first Prince Radziwill

The title ‘Prince Radziwill of Goniądz and Medilas’ did not survive very long, however, as Mikalojus and his three sons were all dead by the 1540s. One son, Jonas, the 2nd Prince Radziwill, was ducal governor of the Duchy of Samogitia, while the other was the Bishop of Samogitia—a pretty good monopoly on local power, secular and sacred. Jonas had three daughters, who took with them the lands of the senior branch into other noble houses—each of these sons-in-law was a voivode or governor of one of the key provinces of Lithuania’s great eastern expansion (done mostly in the 14th and 15th centuries, but a source of enduring tension with Muscovy): Polotsk, Vitebsk and Ruthenia. These lands form today the nation known as Belarus, so it is here where we will ultimately shift our attention for the second branch (Nesvizh). But it’s also worth noting that at least one of these three daughters, Anna (d. 1600), converted to Calvinism, and later Unitarianism, and became known as a religious writer and supporter of the Polish Brethren.

Princess Anna Radziwillowna

Although Anna and her cousins in both the second and third branches of the Radziwill family initially joined the evangelical reform movement sweeping across Europe in the 1530s-40s, only the third branch, Biržai, retained it. This branch, at first known for its earlier seat of Dubingiai (Dubinki in Polish), was founded by Jurgis (Jerzy, or George), known as ‘Hercules’ for his great prowess in battle against the traditional enemies of the Grand Duchy to the east: Muscovy, the Cossacks and the Tatars. He was at various points governor of the Kiev province, as well as castellan of Trakai and Vilnius, and in 1531 was named Grand Hetman of Lithuania. The term ‘hetman’ is a curious title used in various states of Eastern Europe to denote a military commander; it was also used by the Cossacks to denote the leader of the tribes. It seems to come either from German Hauptmann, ‘captain’, or Turkic ataman, ‘father of men’. As leader of the Polish-Lithuanian armies, and in conjunction with the rising political power of his son Mikolaj the Red and his nephew Mikolaj the Black, the Radziwills dominated the Grand Duchy in almost every aspect.

Mikolaj ‘the Red’

Mikolaj II ‘the Red’ forged an alliance with his cousin Mikolaj ‘the Black’ (see below). Both were strong proponents of greater autonomy for Lithuania, within the dual Polish-Lithuanian monarchy, though the family itself was increasingly Polish in language and customs (and I’ll switch to Polish spellings for their names from here on). When the senior princely line of the family became extinct in 1542, the Holy Roman Emperor, Charles V, extended this great honour by making both cousins princes of the Empire, in 1547 (confirmed by the Polish king in 1549).

Emperor Charles V grants the princely title and arms to the Radziwills

This was a good move on the Emperor’s part and would secure a Habsburg ally—as we shall see—within Poland-Lithuania for years to come. The title of ‘imperial prince’ given to nobles who resided outside of the Empire was purely honorary and brought with it no legal rights within the Empire, such as a vote in the Imperial Diet. To mark their honour, both new princes were permitted to place their three-horned trąby arms onto a black eagle symbolising the Holy Roman Empire; the modern Radziwill coat-of-arms was born.

The full princely arms of the Radziwills

But another key element that propelled the Radziwills into the category of European princes was the fact that by 1547, Mikolaj’s sister Barbara was secretly married to a royal prince, who succeeded his father as King Sigismund II August of Poland (and Grand Duke of Lithuania) the next year, making Barbara Radziwillówna a queen. There was great opposition amongst the Polish nobility to allow her to be formally recognised, and some accused her of seducing the King or worse of bewitching him with spells or poisons. But through the great power of the two Radziwill cousins, Red and Black, she was crowned in Krakow in December 1550. She died only five months later, and her story soon evolved into one of true love and devotion triumphing over diversity, revived especially in the Romantic 19th century, as the subject of paintings, plays and novels, and again today (there have been two recent musicals based on her story).

Queen Barbara Radziwillowna

By this point Barbara’s brother Mikolaj the Red was the virtual ruler of Lithuania, second only to the King, as Grand Chancellor from 1566. After King Sigismund II died in 1572, the last of the House of Jagiello, the Radziwill princes demonstrated their loyalty to the Habsburgs by supporting a Habsburg candidate in the royal elections that followed (from 1573 onwards the Polish throne was elective, all the way into the 18th century). But the Radziwill-Habsburg alliance was unusual given that both of the new imperial princes had embraced the Evangelical Reform movement (the branch of Protestantism started by John Calvin) in the 1560s, and actively built Protestant schools and churches in their estates and towns. Mikolaj the Red was based at Dubingiai, in the forested area just north of Vilnius. The castle there had been built by the Lithuanian grand dukes in the early 15th century, and was rebuilt by the Radziwills in the early 16th. At its height it was the largest castle in Lithuania, and became an important centre for Calvinism. The family moved to Biržai early in the 17th century (below), and Dubingiai fell into ruin, but many of the members of this branch were buried in the Reformed church there, whose remains have recently been excavated.

the ruins of Dubingiai in the 19th century

The two sons of Mikolaj the Red (d. 1584) were Prince Mikolaj III (d. 1589) and Prince Krzysztof (d. 1603)—both are called ‘prince’ since the title ‘prince of the Empire’ extends to all sons and daughters (and all subsequent male descendants) of the original bearer, not just the eldest son. The elder brother, Mikolaj, followed his father’s footsteps and supported the establishment of Calvinist schools and churches in Lithuania, as well as the Habsburg candidates for the Polish throne (unsuccessfully). His son, Jerzy (d. 1613), castellan of Trakai, did much the same, but began to see his family’s influence decline as their clear lack of support for the new royal family, the Vasas, brought them increasingly into disfavour at court in Krakow. Krzysztof, on the other hand, made a great name for himself as one of the most celebrated military commanders of the era, in seemingly endless wars against Muscovy to the east and Sweden to the north, earning him the nickname ‘Piorun’, Polish for ‘thunderbolt’. Like his father and grandfather, he was also Grand Hetman of Lithuania.

Thunderbolt’s sons continued this military tradition, but also continued the Radziwill family’s trend to establish its own foreign policy, at the expense of its relationship with the ruling house of Poland. Prince Janusz (d. 1620) was part of a rebellion against King Sigismund III Vasa in 1606, which was badly defeated. He also grew the family’s reputation as ‘princely’ not merely noble, through two marriages: first to the heiress of one of the ancient Russian principalities, Slutsk (or Słuck in Polish); and second to a daughter of the Elector of Brandenburg. Religiously, these were interesting marriages, since Zofia Olelkowicz of Slutsk was Orthodox (and would be canonised by the Belarusian Orthodox Church in 1983) and Elisabeth Sophie von Hohenzollern was Calvinist. Slutsk brought with it 7 castles and 32 villages, now in south-central Belarus. Like the other Radziwill properties, it became a major centre for Calvinism, but also attracted large amounts of Jewish settlers (50% of the population by the late 19th century). The marriage with the Elector’s daughter brought with it closer ties to the emerging Duchy of Prussia, the secularised properties of the Teutonic Order (in 1525), wedged in between Poland and Lithuania.

The religious situation in Poland-Lithuania, 1573, with Calvinists in purple and Orthodox in green (and this map helpfully locates Nesvizh, Slutsk, Kletsk, Olyka and Kėdainiai (NB: Kijow is Polish for Kyiv)

Janusz’s brother, Prince Krzysztof II (d. 1640), also established his name fighting against the Russians and the Swedes, and like others in his family, became increasingly opposed to the rule of King Sigismund III. Alienated from the court, he established himself at this branch’s new seat, Biržai (Birże in Polish—both accent marks indicate a ‘zh’ sound), located in the northern regions of Lithuania. His residence was a new building, from the 1580s, in Renaissance style, with an artificial lake. Krzysztof renovated it again in the 1630s, along Italianate lines, and filled it with treasures and curiosities from all over the world. He developed his stables into one of the largest and most famous in Europe. Unfortunately Biržai was almost completely destroyed by Swedish armies in 1704, but it was reconstructed from the ruins in the 1980s and today houses a regional history museum.

The fortress of Birzai and its town in the 17th century
The ruins of Birzai in 1926
reconstructed Birzai today

The sons of Janusz and Krzysztof, Prince Bogusław and Prince Janusz II, took the family’s international reputation to new heights, very nearly achieved sovereignty of a sort, but then came crashing down again, and this branch itself became extinct by the end of the century. After studies in Leiden and stints as ambassador to Holland and England, the older (but junior) cousin, Janusz, rose to prominence first, as Chamberlain of Lithuania (1633), then Field Hetman (1646), Voivode of Vilnius (1653) and finally Grand Hetman (1654). His first marriage was to a prominent Polish noblewoman, but his second marriage, to the daughter of the Hospodar (‘prince’) of Moldavia, signified that he had higher ambitions. He assumed his family’s now traditional position as protector of Protestants throughout the Commonwealth, which may have led him towards closer association with the traditional enemy, Lutheran Sweden. In one of the episodes of the Northern Wars, Sweden defeated and occupied much of Lithuania, and in August 1655, Janusz signed a peace treaty with Sweden—unsanctioned by his sovereign the Grand Duke of Lithuania (King John II Casimir)—at his family’s residence at Kedainiai. This was followed by the ‘Union of Kedainiai’ in October, which proposed to create a semi-sovereign Radziwill duchy within the Swedish Empire. But the ink was barely dry before Janusz, already seriously ill, died and the Swedes were chased out of Lithuania. The Prince was regarded by the rest of the Polish and Lithuanian nobility as the grandest traitor that had ever been seen.

Prince Janusz, 1634

Prince Boguslaw (d. 1669) had supported his cousin’s ambitions, led a Swedish-backed army against the royalist forces of Poland-Lithuania, and shared his cousin’s downfall and shame in 1655. He retreated to the Prussian capital of his cousin, the Elector of Brandenburg. He set up residence in Königsberg, and was soon named Governor of Prussia (1657).

Prince Bogulaw

Before he left Lithuania, he had renovated yet another major palace in the region, this time in Poland (east-central): Starawieś, acquired by marriage in the 16th century. Boguslaw added towers and cupolas before he sold it in 1664. The palace passed through many noble hands before it was re-purchased by a Radziwill in 1912 (having been renovated again in the 1840s in neo-gothic style). Starawieś Palace was nationalised in 1945, and used as a school and a summer camp, before being bought and renovated by the National Bank of Poland in the 1960s, and used today as a training centre.

Starawies Palace

In 1665, Boguslaw married his cousin’s daughter and heir, Princess Maria Anna, to keep all the other titles and estates in the family. By now they were using the titles Prince of Slutsk and Duke of Biržai and Dubingiai. These were passed to his only child, Princess Ludowika Karolina, who spent most of her short life (1667-95) in Königsberg and Berlin, but took an active interest in maintaining ‘her’ Calvinists back in Lithuania and Slutsk.

Princess Ludowika Karolina
Slutsk Calvinist church

Princess Ludowika Karolina married two times, first to a younger son of the Elector of Brandenburg (Prince Ludwig), and then in 1688, to Karl Philipp, Count Palatine of Neuburg, who would later succeed to the title Elector Palatine. She had a daughter from this latter marriage, and the succession would be contested between different Polish families (supported by the Polish Crown), and the Neuburg family for many years. Princess Ludowika Karolina’s much later descendant, the Duke of Urach, used this link to advance his candidacy as king of an independent Lithuania in 1918 (see my blog on Teck and Urach). Much of the Neuburg succession, notably the Lithuanian lands of Biržai and Dubingiai, was re-acquired by the Nesvizh line of the Radziwills in the mid-18th century, but was later seized by the Russian authorities in 1811and sold to another noble family. This brings the story of the Biržai and Dubingiai branch to an end, and links us to the other main branch, that of Nesvizh, and the descendants of Prince Mikolaj the Black.

Nesvizh Castle is, by western European standards, a princely palace on an epic scale. But it is only one of the many stately homes built by the Radziwills in the 16th century in what is now southern Belarus (Polotsk) and northwest Ukraine (Volhynia). Nesvizh (Nieśwież in Polish, Niasviž in Belarusian, Nesvyžiaus in Lithuanian) was a large estate owned by Mikolaj the Black from 1533. Its importance was recognised in 1551 when it became one of the repositories for the state archives of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. This region had been known in the middle ages as the Principality of Polotsk, a vassal state of the princes of Rus’ in Kiev, but annexed by the Lithuanian dukes in the 13th century. By the 16th century, with these territories being so far from the royal court in Krakow, it was important to have powerful loyal families stationed here, particularly to defend the frontier in frequent wars with the rising power of Muscovy to the east. The castle of Nesvizh was largely rebuilt in the 1580s, on an immense scale, with an entire town attached. It was sacked by the Swedes in 1706, then refurbished and enlarged, with three separate buildings joined together around a courtyard. In 1792, it was seized by the Russians, its precious archive taken to St Petersburg and its massive art collection dispersed. It was abandoned by the family until a renewed interest in the late 19th century (and given an English style park). It became part of Poland again in 1920, then part of Soviet Union in 1939 and the family were expelled.

Nesvizh, central courtyard
Nesvizh from the lake

Back in the 16th century, the owner of Nesvizh, Mikolaj the Black, was not entirely subservient to the policies of the ruling Jagiellonian dynasty. As we have seen above, he and his cousin, Mikolaj the Red were elevated to the rank of imperial princes in 1547, and were also amongst the most prominent converts to Calvinism in this region. Prince Mikolaj the Black notably provided funds for the printing of the first complete translation of the Bible into Polish in 1563, and founded a Reformed church and college in Vilnius. He increased the power of the grand dukes of Lithuania (remember, these are also the kings of Poland) in the Baltic by acting as chief negotiator with the Grand Master of the Livonian Order to oversee its dissolution and transformation into a vassal state (Courland, now Latvia) in 1562. And he was one of the chief proponents of the increased polonisation of the area, in culture and language (it is noted that by now the family spoke Polish, not Lithuanian, or Ruthenian, the language of the elites in the Grand Duchy). He was a strong supporter of the Crown as Grand Marshal of Lithuania (1544), Grand Chancellor (1550), and Voivode of Vilnius (1551). But he was also a leader of the movement to strengthen the position of Lithuania relative to Poland within the dual monarchy.

Mikolaj ‘the Black’ (a mid-18th-century portrait)

Nevertheless, this branch of the family diverged from the Biržai branch, in returning to a mostly loyal position towards the Polish Crown, and indeed to a firm loyalty to the Catholic Church. Mikolaj the Black had four sons. Three of them became in turn Grand Marshal of Lithuania. A fourth, Jerzy (d. 1600), renounced Protestantism in 1572, studied abroad with the Jesuits, and became bishop of Vilnius (1580), cardinal (1584), and bishop of Krakow (1593). As one of the strong proponents of the Catholic Reformation, he created a seminary in Vilnius and helped gain university status for the Jesuit academy in that city (today’s Vilnius University, the oldest in the Baltics). As bishop of Krakow, he became one of the key advisors to King Sigismund III. He was even considered at one point as a candidate to become pope.

Cardinal Radziwill

Cardinal Radziwill’s ally in the importation of the Jesuit Order into Lithuania was his older brother, Mikolaj Sierotka (or ‘the Orphan’, so called by King Sigismund August who found him ‘abandoned’ and crying as a child and tried to hush him). He founded a printing press for the Jesuits in Vilnius, and built a large Jesuit church in Nesvizh, which became the family mausoleum for the next 250 years. He decided to make Nesvizh his permanent base, and built roads, hospitals and schools there. He also created what was called an ‘ordinat’ (ordynacja in Polish), or entail, in 1586, a legal framework adopted by many magnate families that ensured their estates would stay together and pass from generation to generation, rather than be divided amongst all the sons as was tradition. From this point, the head of the ordinat would usually use the title ‘duke’, with the princely qualifiers of ‘illustrious’ and even Dei gratia (‘by the grace of God’), something usually reserved only for sovereigns. Like others of his family, Mikolaj Sierotka had a semi-independent foreign policy, supporting the Habsburgs in several royal elections in Poland-Lithuania, and pressing the King to forge ahead with his plans to reunify the Catholic and Orthodox churches—resulting in the Union of Brest, 1596, which created the ‘Uniate Ruthenian Church’, whose members survive today as Belarusian Greek Catholics and Ukrainian Greek Catholics. These are churches that are still Orthodox in theology and ritual, but are in full communion with Rome.

Mikolaij ‘Sierotka’

Mikolaj Sierotka was also a scholar and a traveller: he had taken a pilgrimage to the Holy Land and Egypt in 1583-84, and converted in Rome on the journey. He then published a travel narrative in Latin in 1601. He was also a keen supporter of the emerging field of cartography and imported designers and architects to redesign his palace in Nesvizh in the 1580s, but also the nearby palace of Mir, about 18 miles to the northwest. The Radziwills had acquired this palace from the Ilyinich family in 1568, and Mikolaj transformed the old castle into a magnificent Renaissance palace. Famous for its five towers, it is (along with Nesvizh) a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Mir Palace

Ordinats were also created in 1586 for Sierotka’s younger brothers, one at Kletsk for Albrycht, and one at Olyka for Stanislaw. Mikolaj the Black had created a Calvinist church in Kletsk, but his son handed it back to the Catholic Church and founded a number of convents in his estates. The castle there was destroyed by the Russians in 1660, and again by Swedes in 1706, and never rebuilt. The Radziwills are remembered visually, however, in the coat of arms of the town, which still bears a curved black horn.

the arms of the town of of Kletsk today
Kletsk in the 17th century

Olyka was located further to the south, in the province of Volhynia, now in Ukraine. Like Polotsk, Volhynia had been an independent principality in the Middle Ages, then annexed by Lithuania in the 1300s. The town and castle of Olyka became Radziwill property in the 1560s, and Mikolaj the Black built a grand new palace there. It became one of the largest aristocratic residences in Ukraine. As a centre of revived Catholicism, a Collegiate Church was added later in the century, a replica of the Gesú church in Rome.

Olyka Castle
Olyka in the 19th century

The lines of Kletsk and Olyka both continued into the 17th century, but were both extinct by 1690, meaning their estates passed back to the main branch. Although the main line was based mostly in Nesvizh, they also naturally established bases further west in Poland, as they were frequently needed in Krakow or Warsaw to participate in assemblies of the nobles or elections of kings. The castle of Szydłowiec, a short distance southeast of Warsaw (which became the royal capital in the early 17th century with the permanent transferral of the royal court from Krakow), served as one of these. Brought in to the family by marriage in 1548, it was redeveloped as a baroque palace in the 1620s. It also became a key economic centre for the family’s interests, attracting numerous Jewish settlers in the 18th century, before passing out of Radziwill hands in the 19th. Disused until the 1960s, today Szydłowiec Castle houses a cultural centre and a museum of folk musical instruments.

Szydłowiec Castle

Not too far away from Szydłowiec was Biała Podlaska. Acquired in the 1560s, the castle here was rebuilt in the 1620s by Sierotka’s son Prince Aleksander Ludwik (d. 1654). This prince, a contemporary of the great hero/traitors Janusz and Boguslaw, stayed mostly out of politics. He developed Biała Podlaska (or ‘white town in Podlasie’) in part to stay safe when his eastern estates were under threat from Russian or Cossack invasions. He built an academy there—one of the oldest high schools in Poland still in existence—alongside hospitals and almshouses for the poor. A grand white tower was added in 1720. Most of this was pulled down in the 1880s and it became a Russian garrison.

Biała Podlaska Castle and Radziwill Square

Aleksander Ludwik’s son, Prince Michal Kazimierz (d. 1680), also brought this branch of the family into closer contact with the Polish court and the growing royal city of Warsaw. He married a sister of the King, Jan III Sobieski, and acquired a huge palace right in the centre of town, on the ‘Royal Avenue’ (aka Krawkowskie Przedmieście, or ‘Krakow Suburb’). This magnificent residence, built in the 1640s in Italian baroque style, was purchased from the Lubomirski family in 1674. A century later it was at the centre of Polish politics hosting meetings for a group that drew up Poland’s revolutionary constitution in May 1791. This branch became extinct in 1813, as we shall see, and by 1818 the building was confiscated by the new Russian rulers of Poland, and a viceroy was installed in the former Radziwill Palace. It was rebuilt in a Classical style (burned then restored in the 1850s), and became the seat of the Polish Prime Minister when independence was restored in 1918. Since 1994 it has been the seat of the President of Poland. It is fascinating to consider that between 1918 and 1939, the heads of government of both Germany and Poland resided in former Radziwill palaces!

Radziwill Palace in Warsaw in the 1760s
The Presidential Palace today

Prince Michal Kazimierz, duke of Nesvizh, was succeeded by his sons Prince Jerzy (d. 1689), then Prince Karol Stanislaw (d. 1719), who became yet another Radziwill Grand Chancellor of Lithuania. He had two sons, Michal Kazimierz ‘Rybenko’ and Hieronim Florian, who continued to amass an ever greater fortune for the dynasty. Rybenko (‘fish’, a term he liked to call people as a term of endearment, like ‘pet’, so it became his nickname) was not a great general or politician, but was known as a courtier, a great supporter of the new Saxon dynasty ruling Poland-Lithuania from the early 18th century. The younger brother, Prince Hieronim (d. 1760), managed to reacquire by mid-century the great lost succession of the Biržai-Dubingiai line, located mostly in Lithuania proper, but also including the principality of Slutsk in Belarus. Here he opened a factory to mass produce the famous ‘Slutsk sash’, by now the must-have element of a nobleman’s traditional attire and the symbol of the Polish, Lithuanian and Ruthenian nobilities.

A Slutsk sash from the 18th century

Hieronim is remembered as an eccentric, creating a large private army and a cadet school to train it, a ballet school, an Italian theatre, but also, supposedly, cruel torture chambers at Biała, and a prison for a mentally ill cousin. He has an amazing portrait, and you can see why there was a rumour that he was Peter the Great’s illegitimate son.

Prince Hieronim–maybe a monster, but had great style

When Prince Hieronim died his properties passed to his nephew Karol Stanislaw II (d. 1790), who became the richest magnate in Poland-Lithuania, and indeed possibly in Europe. He was known as ‘Panie Kochanku’ or ‘Beloved Sir’, apparently due to his reputation as a true gentleman of the old school, a noble patriot ready to defend Poland’s honour. Though he was a leader of the opposition to reform in the 1770s-80s (and thus against King Stanislas Poniatowski), he was also an ardent opponent of partition, and had to leave the country for a spell after several of his estates in the east became subject to Russia at the First Partition in 1772 and he refused to swear loyalty to Catherine the Great. His palace in Warsaw was ever a hub of political activity, and as a cosmopolitan prince, he also maintained a residence in Paris, the centre of the civilised world, on a street not too far from the Louvre, today called rue Radziwill.

Panie Kochanku

Both Panie Kochanku and his brother Hieronim Wincenty died before the partitions could really make their full impact and destroy the independence of Poland-Lithuania for the next century. The latter’s son, Dominik Hieronim, was very young when the Second and Third Partitions happened (1793, 1795), making most of Lithuania, Polotsk and Volhynia part of the Russian Empire. Properties closer to Warsaw, notably Biała, became part of the Austrian Empire. Prince Dominik (b. 1786), the 11th ‘ordinat’ or ‘duke’ of Nesvizh and Olyka, and the 8th lord of Biała, prince of Slutsk, count of Szydłowiec, etc, at first embraced the new situation, re-established himself in Nesvizh, and became a chamberlain in the household of Tsar Alexander in 1804. But by 1807 he became disaffected and returned to Warsaw where he joined the movement allied with Napoleon to push for restored Polish independence. He joined the French-Polish army in 1810, his estates were confiscated by the Tsar in 1811, and he took part in the invasion of Russia of 1812, as part of the Polish Regiment in the Imperial Guard. He was wounded the next year in battle near Hanau in Germany, and died.

Dominik Hieronim

Dominik left behind a contested succession. His son, Alexander, was born in the midst of a divorce from his first wife and before the marriage to his second wife took place. He was thus excluded from the succession, which fell entirely to his daughter (born after the second marriage) Stefania. Alexander was recognised as a prince and heir to the Radziwill properties by the Austrian Emperor, but not by the Tsar. There is much less biographical information on Alexander’s descendants, who lived in Austria and the now Austrian parts of Poland—the newly formed Kingdom of Galicia. They established themselves at a castle near Krakow called Grójec. The last, Princess Maria Maximiliana, was forcibly evicted from there in 1945, and died in 1981.

Grojec Palace

Princess Stefania, though barred from inheriting much of the estates by the terms of the entail, was nevertheless still heiress of over a million hectares, mostly in Lithuania and Ruthenia. She was married by the Tsar in 1828 to a German princeling who was also a Russian general, Ludwig of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg, but the lawsuits dragged on and on, and were not finally resolved until they belonged to her daughter, married to the Prince of Hohenlohe. By this point the family resided in Germany, where Hohenlohe was a rising politician (he would later become Chancellor of the Empire), and as non-nationals they were declared unable to possess property in Russia, and forced to sell it in 1893.

Princess Stefania

With the passing of the main line of the Nesvizh Branch in 1813, leadership of the family fell to a cadet line founded in the late 17th century by Prince Dominik Mikolaj, another Radziwill who served as Grand Chancellor of Lithuania (1690-97). This branch was based in Kletsk, one of the three ordinats set up in 1586. Dominik was succeeded by Prince Jan (d. 1729) then Prince Marcin (d. 1782) who was, like his cousin Hieronim Florian, quite the eccentric, and in the end was the one referred to above as being imprisoned by Hieronim due to his mental instability. The stories about his behaviour range quite widely, including imprisoning his wife and sons for many years, creating a harem for slave girls, acting as a local highway robber and arsonist, and getting involved in cultish study of the more mystical parts of Judaism.

Prince Marcin

Marcin’s son Prince Mikolaj Jozef of Kletsk (d. 1813) weathered the storms of the three partitions of Poland. Finding his lands now in the Russian Empire, he began to focus his line’s activities instead in a new estate acquired by the family in the 18th century, Przygodzice, in ‘Great Poland’ in the southwest near the border with Silesia and the city of Breslau (Wrocław). The real leader of the family at this time however was his youngest brother (and ultimate successor), Michal Hieronim (d. 1831), who was the last ever voivode of Vilnius—a title which became defunct after the third partition, 1795.

Prince Michal Hieronim

But he cannot be seen as a victim here—indications as early as the 1770s were that he was seen as a ‘reliable’ ally for Russian interests in the Polish Sejm (parliament), and is accused of receiving large sums from them in 1773 with which he acquired a major new estate, Nieborów, to the west of Warsaw. Nieborów was a baroque palace built in the 1690s by the Archbishop of Gniezno, with a French-style park. It had passed through several aristocratic hands in the 18th century, before being purchased by Michal Hieronim Radziwill. He and his wife, Helena, filled it with vast art collections, and built a much-admired garden feature, ‘Arkadia’. These passed to various family members in the 19th and 20th centuries, until taken over by the state in 1945. Today Nieborów Palace houses a museum of interior design and 18th-century furniture.

Nieborow Palace
Arkadia in the 19th century

Whatever the truth of his Russian secret connections, Prince Michal Hieronim did vote in favour of the 2nd Partition of 1793, and signed the document making it legal, as a representative of Lithuania. After 1813, he not only succeeded to his branch’s ordinat of Kletsk, but also managed to acquire the two ordinats of the main branch, Nesvizh and Olyka, all now situated in the Russian Empire. This huge windfall was granted by the Tsar not just due to his past loyalty to Russian, but also in part due to his second son’s increased favour with the Prussian royal family.

In 1796, Prince Antoni Henryk (d. 1833) had married Princess Luise of Prussia, daughter of Prince Ferdinand (younger brother of Frederick the Great) and thus first cousin of the King of Prussia (Frederick William III). The Radziwill lands in the west of Poland, notably Przygodzice, were now part of Prussia, and so Antoni founded the more ‘German’ branch of the Radziwill family.

Prince Antoni and Louise of Prussia

His elder brother, Ludwik, in contrast, moved further into Russian orbit, and based himself in Kletsk and the other territories in what was increasingly being called ‘White Russia’ (hence today’s Belarus, from ‘biela’ or ‘white’). Ludwik’s son in particular, Prince Leon (or Lev) (d. 1885) became a Russian diplomat and cavalry general, and was close to Tsar Nicolas I in particular, as his wife, Princess Sofia, was rumoured to be the Tsar’s mistress. As a Russian military commander, Leon helped put down the ‘November Uprising’ of 1830-31, in which Poles attempted to free themselves of Russian rule.

Prince Leon in the 1860s

In stark contrast, his uncle, the youngest brother of Ludwik and Antoni, Prince Michal Gedeon (d. 1850), was the commander-in-chief of the November Uprising. He had earned his stripes earlier in his career as a commander in the Polish army assembled by Napoleon in his fight against Russia. For his part in the Uprising he was imprisoned for five years in Russia, then retired from active service.

Prince Michal Gedeon

Michal Gedeon had acquired yet another new residence, through marriage in 1815: Szpanów, in Volhynia (today’s Shpaniv in Ukraine). This estate, near the town of Rivne (formerly Rovno), was not far from the family’s major estate of Olyka, and like it, was one of the grandest aristocratic estates in Volhynia. The Radziwills rebuilt it in the 19th century, and developed its park and gardens. It became part of Poland again after the First World War, then the estate was taken over by the Soviet army during the Second World War, and nothing remains of the buildings.

Returning to Prince Antoni Henryk, his Prussian connections were encouraged. He was appointed in 1815 as the first and only Statthalter (autonomous governor) of the Grand Duchy of Poznań (Posen in German), the new Prussian province acquired in the Third Partition of Poland and erected as a Grand Duchy after the Congress of Vienna. Fifteen years later he removed from this position when the Grand Duchy lost its autonomy after the November Uprising (which many of the Poles in Poznań had supported). Shifting his interests to Berlin, Antoni’s palace there became a major centre of art and culture, a representative space for Polishness within the Prussian capital. Himself a talented musician and composer, he entertained many prominent musicians here, like Beethoven and Mendelssohn, and had several compositions dedicated to him, notably by Polish composer Fryderyk Chopin, who also gave lessons to his daughter, Princess Wanda.

Chopin performs for the Radziwills

Chopin also stayed at Prince Antoni’s new country residence near the family estates at Przygodzice, a small hunting lodge made of wood, built in 1822-24 and named after its builder: Antonin. This would be the home base for this branch of the family into the mid-20th century, and still today hosts one of the major Chopin festivals in Poland.

Antonin

The Prussian connections remained in the next generation: Antoni’s other daughter, Princess Elisa, was ardently desired in marriage by the Crown Prince (the future Kaiser Wilhelm I), but was deemed of insufficient rank. Elisa’s two brothers, Wilhelm and Boguslas, were both Prussian generals, sat in the Prussian House of Lords, and tried to oppose as best they could Bismarck’s anti-Catholic and anti-Polish policies in the 1860s-70s. The successive princes of this branch continued to act as representatives of Poles within the German Empire, but also maintained the presence of the family in Russia—Nesvizh remained the preferred burial site well into the 20th century. Many were quick to support the re-emergence of an independent Polish state in 1918, though they were mostly advocates of the more conservative approach to re-forming a government, perhaps preferring a monarchy (and in fact their names were even suggested as potential kings of either Poland or Lithuania).

Nesvizh once again became an outpost in the eastern borderlands of Polish politics, particularly under Prince Antoni Albrecht, known as ‘Aba’ (d. 1935) who re-established it as his base. The Prince had social connections with the West, and in 1910 married an Anglo-American socialite, Dorothy Deacon, the sister of the scandalous Gladys, Duchess of Marlborough (the marriage ended soon after). He also maintained a residence in Warsaw. His uncle, Stanisław, pushed for Polish independence from the other side, as an officer of the Russian army and a founder of the ‘National and Preservation Party’ in 1917 in St Petersburg, and an early ally of Marshal Piłsudski, one of the founders of the newly independent Polish state in 1918.

Prince Antoni Albrecht
Dorothy, Princess Radziwill, 1913

In 1922, Prince Antoni Albrecht still owned about 80,000 hectares, while his brother Karol owned over 150,000 in the eastern reaches of Poland (now a borderland with the new Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic). The youngest brother, Prince Leon Władisław, was the last ordinat of Nesvizh (the 17th) and also of Kletsk (the 14th). When this part of Poland was annexed by Belarus in 1939, he moved abroad. His last male descendant, the lineal head of the House of Radziwill, Prince Jerzy, died in 2007.

The junior line of this branch, the branch of Przygodzice (a fourth ordinat, created formally in 1873)—or we might call them the ‘Prussian branch’—also took over one of the more ancient ordinats, that of Olyka. Prince Ferdynand (d. 1926) was the 12th ordinat of Olyka, and owned about 43,000 hectares in Western Poland and Volhynia in 1922. As a former long-term member of the Prussian Parliament, his reputation as an elder statesman was drawn on to help set up the new Polish Parliament in 1919. His eldest son Michal ‘the Red’ (d. 1955) was not so revered: his vocally pro-German views led even to him offering his residence of Antonin to Hitler as a form of appeasement; while his scandalous personal life led him to be ostracised by society and most of his family. Instead of thanked, Prince Michal’s ordinat of Przygodzice was nationalised by the Germans, and he ended up leaving very little to his heir, his nephew, also called Michal (d. 1974), whose grandson Marcin (b. 1965) is since 2007 the lineal head of the Radziwill family, though keeps a very low profile in the world of modern princes.

One ordinat remained, Olyka, which was given to the third son of Prince Ferdynand, Prince Janusz (d. 1967). He also owned Nieborów and Szpanów and a palace in Warsaw—these given by a cousin from another branch who had no heir (this Radziwill Palace, on Bielańska street, is now the Museum of Independence), and, unlike his older brother Michal, became one of the leading politicians of the new Polish republic in the 1920s, in particular as a leader of the aristocratic conservative movement, which considered possibly restoring a monarchy of some sort (perhaps even with himself as monarch). In the very early days of Polish independence, he acted as director of the new State Department, creating a revived diplomatic service.

Prince Janusz

In 1939, Prince Janusz attempted to use his international connections to soften the German occupation, but he was imprisoned by the Nazis in 1944, then briefly imprisoned by the Soviets in 1945. Olyka and his other estates in Volhynia (including Szpanów) had been transferred to the Soviet Union in 1939 and thus nationalised, as was Nieborów in Poland, in 1945. Janusz’s elder son, Edmund (d. 1971), was also imprisoned in Russia, for two years (1945-47), while his younger son was Stanisłas (d. 1976), with whom we began this post—in later life he resided in London where he set up a school for Polish refugees and a centre for Polish historical research.

There are in fact many more junior branches, following literally an explosion of Radziwill princes and princesses in the 18th and 19th centuries. One of these was called the line of Szydłowiec, named for the property the family had held south of Warsaw since the mid-16th century, though it was mostly administered from afar, until its own branch was formed in the early 18th century. Prince Maciej (d. 1800) was the last Grand Chancellor of Lithuania (from 1786) and the last Castellan of Vilnius under the old Polish-Lithuanian union (1790-95). He was part of the group trying to save Polish independence through the creation of a modern constitution, and was a hero of the military action against partition in 1792. Partition occurred nevertheless, and he found that his estates now were part of Austria, and their new province of Galicia. When he died, due to serious financial difficulties, much of the inheritance that should have passed to his underage son, including Szydłowiec, was instead auctioned by the Austrian government and purchased by another magnate family, the Sapieha.

Prince Maciej

The many descendants of this underage son Konstanty Mikołaj (d. 1863) can thus be considered the ‘Austrian branch’, and they maintained their main sphere of interest in Krakow, the capital of Galicia after 1849. In the 1880s, his 5th son, Prince Dominik, purchased Balice Palace, on the outskirts of Krakow, which became one of the main residences of this branch until it was nationalised in 1945—it is now part of the Jagiellonian University of Krakow.

Balice Palace

They also held Sichów Palace, to the northeast of the city. None are very prominent in the history of Austria or Galicia, though one, Prince Dominik’s son Hieronim, married into the Imperial family itself in 1909, the Archduchess Renata, a cousin of the Emperor. Their son, another Dominik, married in 1938 Princess Eugénie of Greece (a cousin of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh), but the family’s fortunes came to a halt when Hieronim was sent to a gulag in Russia where he died in 1945, and Dominik and his family moved abroad.

Prince Hieronim and Archduchess Renata

In contrast, another member of this family embraced the new communist regime in Poland: Prince Krzysztof (d. 1986), known as ‘The Red Prince’ who had been in a German concentration camp during the war, and later served as a member of Parliament in the Polish People’s Republic. His daughter, Dr Anna Radziwiłł (d. 2009), was not so convinced, and as a specialist in the teaching of history, published textbooks in an ‘underground library’ to try to ensure that Polish children learned about truth, not propaganda. In the new regime following the fall of Communism, she twice served as under-secretary of state in the Ministry of Education, 1989-92 and 2004-05.

Radziwills still operate in the government of Poland: Dr Konstanty Radziwiłł (b. 1958), a physician, was a senator, and Minister of Health, 2015-18, and currently is a Voivode of the Province of Masovia; his cousin Dr Artur Radziwiłł (b. 1974), an economist, was under-secretary of state in the Ministry of Finance, 2014-15, and tasked with introducing the Euro to Poland (which did not succeed), and for advancing financial reforms in Ukraine, emphasizing once more the ongoing Radziwill ties between Poland and the lands to the east—Lithuania, Belarus and Ukraine—and thus a fitting place to end this piece.

List of castles ‘visited’ in this post:

in Lithuania:

  • Kėdainiai
  • Dubingiai
  • Biržai

in Poland:

  • Goniądz
  • Starawieś
  • Szydłowiec
  • Biała Podlaska
  • Grójec
  • Przygodzice
  • Nieborów
  • Antonin
  • Balice

in Belarus:

  • Miadziel (Medilas, Medele)
  • Slutsk (Słuck)
  • Niasviž or Nesvizh (Nieśwież, Nesvyžiaus)
  • Mir
  • Kletsk (Kleck)

in Ukraine:

  • Olyka (Ołyka)
  • Shpaniv (Szpanów)

Special thanks to Dr Anna Kalinowska for reading through this very long and complicated post! Historical errors and opinions of course remain my own!

(images from Wikimedia Commons)

Seventy Years on the Throne—Europe’s Longest Reigns as Benefit or Burden?

On the 6th of February, 1952, in a treehouse in Kenya, Queen Elizabeth II formally began her long reign, in Britain, in Canada, in Australia, and so on. Few monarchs in world history have reigned for seventy years, and it is interesting to consider whether such long reigns in history have served as beneficial or burdensome. Different examples demonstrate that a long reign can be tremendous anchors for stability, as a kingdom passes through a turbulent or otherwise transformative time in its history. But other examples can be found where an overly long reign can stifle change when change is needed. I think most would agree, in this Jubilee year, even staunch republicans, that the long reign of Elizabeth II has provided useful continuity in a period that otherwise offered swift, and to many frightening, change, from technology to inflation to decolonisation to a deconstruction of the class system as it existed in 1952. Through it all, and in spite of dynastic tribulations—such as the annus horribilis of 1992—there has been a constant presence on the British throne, benevolent and apolitical. This blog never aims to be political, but to reflect on historical precedences and interesting stories, so I won’t say more than that. I was lucky to be in London for the Golden Jubilee in 2002, and enjoyed a rooftop party with friends where we witnessed the Royal Air Force flyover and the sky streaked with red, white and blue. Twenty years later, here’s hoping we can enjoy another uplifting celebration without the divisive intervention of politics.

Elizabeth II after her coronation in 1953, by Cecil Beaton

Several of the longest reigns in British history have been those of its regnant queens: Elizabeth I, 44 years, and Victoria, for nearly 64. Historians of both the Elizabethan Age and the Victorian Age would both argue that the stability offered by these long reigns was of great value to the nation, in both cases overseeing peace and stability in politics and society that translated into great expansion of wealth and economic power. This colonial and imperial expansion is now of course seen more critically as not necessarily something to be celebrated, particularly by those whose lands were being colonised. Domestically, however, the long reigns of Elizabeth and Victoria provided continuity in an era when ordinary people were tired of endless religious upheaval, fear, and even violence in one period, and revolutionary and military disruption and destruction in the other. Rightly or wrongly, the constant presence of Victoria (and her reluctance to meddle overtly in parliamentary politics) meant that British cities could concentrate on industrialisation while much of Europe went from revolution to revolution in the same time period, often leaving destruction and chaos in their wake. The benefits of liberty and equality are of course laudable, and are the highlights of our modern age, but from the perspective of ordinary people living through these tumultuous times, many felt they would rather run their shops and plow their fields without disruption and feed their children in peace.

young Victoria

Long reigns are not an exclusively female prerogative. One of the earliest examples is the Emperor Augustus. His presence at the helm of the Roman state for over forty years allowed it to move out of the turbulent period of civil wars and avoid the disintegration of its empire. Other long and stable reigns from English kings can be seen in Henry III (56 years) in the 13th century, and Edward III (50 years) in the 14th. Long reigns avoid the unpredictability and sometimes violence of a regime change when one monarch dies and another takes his or her place. The transition for Empress Elizabeth to Peter III to Catherine II is a good case study, as Russia careened from one diplomatic alliance to another and back in the space of a few years. And long stable reigns do not always of course mean permanence–the death of Edward III’s first and second sons before his long reign ended in 1377 had long-term effects in the quarrels of the next generation, and ultimately the Wars of the Roses the generation after that.

Edward III as an old man

In the 18th and early 19th centuries, George III reigned for a historic 59 years, and although of course for much of it he was not mentally sound enough to participate in government, it is probably exactly this distance from government, as with Victoria above, and his presence a non-changing, constant representational figurehead, that allowed the British government to weather the storms of the revolutionary era without descending into popular violence or civil war, as happened across the Channel in France.

Young George III

It is in France where we see counter-examples, where long reigns are not necessarily beneficial to the state or to its people. Most people remember that the majority of French kings are named Louis. In a sense, this is itself the idea of continuity—to many people, most unable to read, the fact that the king was always named Louis (regardless of the actual number) was a comfort, much like the unchanging rituals of religion, or the repetition of the seasons. And there was a remarkable continuity of the reigns of Louis XIV and Louis XV, just two reigns, stretching from 1643 to 1774. This hides of course much of the turbulent political struggles and foreign wars that damaged the Kingdom, and in many ways led France directly to revolution in 1789. And this love of continuity by much of the ruling classes in some sense also stifled necessary development and change. If we look at the reign of Louis XIV in particular, his 72 year reign witnessed the coming and going of two complete generations, and the birth of a third, where political and military figures eager for change and improvement were never given their chance, as the old king preferred to rule through people  and methods that he knew. Commentators at the time recognised this: writers like the Duke of Saint-Simon and the Archbishop Fénelon both noted that Louis XIV preferred to govern with men he had been raised with in the 1640s-50s, or their offspring and protégés: the Colberts, the Le Telliers, the Phélypeaux, the family of the duke of Villeroy (see my blog post on the Villeroy) and so on. By the turn of the 18th century, there were already two generations waiting in the wings: those born in the 1650s-60s, the generation of the King’s son, the Dauphin Louis, who never got his chance to rule (which included Fénelon); and those born in the 1670s-80s, the young guns who formed a cabale around the King’s grandsons, the dukes of Burgundy, Anjou and Berry, and to which Saint-Simon himself belonged. There was palpable relief when Louis XIV finally died, aged 76, in 1715. The new king, Louis XV, was a child, so Saint-Simon’s generation eagerly seized the moment under the command of one of their own, the Duke of Orléans (b. 1674), who acted as Regent of France, and ushered in a new age of Enlightenment.

Louis XIV and three generations of heirs

A similar scenario can be seen in Austria-Hungary, where by 1916, two generations of political leaders were anxious to modernise the Empire, and perhaps prevent its destruction. Emperor Franz Joseph had been ruling since December 1848. At the time, he was seen as a breath of fresh air, a handsome youth to rescue Austria from the chaos of the revolutions of 1848; someone who could sweep away the memory of the oppressive anti-revolutionary regime of old men like Prince Metternich and other ancient survivors of the Napoleonic age, half a century before. He married a beautiful Bavarian princess, ‘Sisi’, who even charmed the Hungarians and learned their language, thus facilitating in a small way the transformation of the Austrian Monarchy into the dual monarchy of Austria-Hungary. But it was not enough for this multi-ethnic state in an era of ever-increasing nationalism: the Poles, the Serbs, the Croats, all wanted their status in the Empire recognised on equal footing too. Franz Joseph did not see it that way. His generation still believed that the power of dynasticism was stronger than the power of nationalism. To him, the Habsburg dynasty was the only thing needed to form the nucleus of the state. Crown Prince Rudolf and others of the generation born in the 1850s, had more liberal ideas, and were drawn to the idea of a more loosely confederated empire, but they were kept away from power and turned instead into bored rich playboys. The equivalent can be seen in the eldest son and eldest grandson of Queen Victoria, ‘Bertie’ and ‘Eddie’. Rudolf had no children, and died of suicide, so the heirs of the increasingly elderly Franz Joseph became his nephews.

Franz Joseph in 1851

Archduke Franz Ferdinand is not remembered today as a liberal reformer, and he did push for an increasingly centralised military force, but he did indeed support plans for federalising the Empire and giving increasing devolved powers to the Croats, Serbs, Czechs and so on. It is ironic therefore that Serb nationalists brought about his death, and of course with it, World War I and the dissolution of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy and over 600 years of Habsburg rule. But old Franz Joseph soldiered on, pursuing the war no one wanted and which could probably have been prevented. He and his elderly advisors were unable to see that an ultimatum versus a small state like Serbia would bring the full weight of the Russian Empire down upon them. With Franz Ferdinand dead, the heir became the Emperor’s great-nephew, from the next generation, Carl (b. 1887). Carl and his generation also saw federalisation as the way forward, but were even stronger advocates of peace over sabre-rattling. When Carl finally succeeded as emperor in 1916, he tried at once to make peace, particularly with France, but it was too late, and his dynasty lost everything in November 1918. There are those who still believe today that a pan-Danubian federated state would be much more beneficial to the people of this region than fragmented states governed along ethnic and nationalist lines—and with nationalism ever on the rise in this region today, there is certainly nostalgia for a period when prime loyalties were to a dynasty that floated above ethnic division.

Franz Joseph at his desk, 1912, an untiring toiler

In 2022, the age of any monarchy in Europe wielding more than just symbolic power is past. Yet people from Denmark to the Netherlands do enjoy raising a glass to celebrate those figures who are always there in the national consciousness, when ministers and policies come and go. Today, many of the monarchs on European thrones are relatively young, and grew up in a modern media age. We shall see what the long-term legacy is from people like Felipe VI or Willem-Alexander (both born in the late 60s), or those who will take over in the coming years, like Victoria or Sweden or Haakon of Norway (both born in the 70s).

Crown Princess Victoria

(images Wikimedia Commons)

Dukes of Fife: heirs to Macduff

“Lay on, Macduff”, cries Macbeth as he challenges him towards the end of Shakespeare’s historical ‘Tragedie’ set in Scotland in the 11th century. By murdering the usurping tyrant Macbeth and restoring the proper royal line in the person of King Malcolm III, Macduff is the hero of the piece. 800 years later, if following a romanticised arc of the story, Macduff’s descendant, Alexander, Earl Macduff, was finally rewarded: with a dukedom and a royal bride, Princess Louise, the eldest daughter of the Prince of Wales.

The joining of the ducal arms of Duff of Fife and the royal arms of Saxe-Coburg: the Fife Arms Hotel, Braemar

But there’s more complexity to this story, both in the 11th century and in the 19th. By helping to place Malcolm, son of King Duncan, on the throne in place of his cousin Macbeth, Macduff, the Thane of Fife, was aiding in the process by which traditional Celtic practices of tanistry—by which the throne passed back and forth between different branches of the royal line—were abandoned in favour of primogeniture, the system favoured by the Normans then amassing power across the border in England. So it’s likely Macduff was within spitting distance of the throne himself, and willingly ‘demoted’ his lineage for the sake of greater unity within the Kingdom. At the other end of the story, the dukedom of Fife, created in 1889, is the last non-royal dukedom created in the United Kingdom. But since its creation, the descent of this title has been anything but straightforward, first passing to one woman then to the son of another, so that today its holder is from an altogether different Scottish family, Carnegie.

John Pritchard as Macduff, 1838

That the real Macduff of the 11th century was himself of royal blood can be inferred from the royal names borne by later members of his family: Kenneth, Duncan, Malcolm. His own name isn’t certain, but he was probably a son or grandson of King Dubh, meaning ‘the black’, anglicised as ‘Duff’ (d. 967). The ‘sons of Duff’ (ie, Mac Duff) were given the important region on the east coast of Scotland, Fife, to rule (as a ‘mormaer’ the Celtic term similar to ‘earl’), as well as the nearby abbacy of Abernethy, in Perthshire, as a hereditary position. Abernethy was an important ceremonial centre of medieval Scotland: it had once been a capital of the Pictish people and was an early Christian bishopric. And so, with its lands, came also the ceremonial honour of bearing the crown of Scotland at the royal coronation. Clan Macduff’s position as premier noble family amongst the Gaelic nobility, and its blood proximity to the royal line itself, can also be detected in the coat of arms attributed to them, a simpler version of the arms of Scotland itself, with a red rampant lion on gold.

Not much evidence remains of the rule of the Clan MacDuff in Fife and Perthshire. There is a ‘Cross of MacDuff’ on the north coast of Fife, the remains of an ancient monument (possibly mid-11th century) which supposedly served as the traditional place of refuge for anyone in the clan; some suggest this was Macduff’s castle as ‘thane’ (or king’s official) of Fife. On the south coast of Fife is ‘Macduff’s Castle’, also possibly from the 11th century, but remodelled in the 16th century by the Wemyss family, and now a ruin.

Cross of Macduff
Macduff’s Castle

During the wars of independence in the late 13th and early 14th centuries, the Macduff lords therefore saw themselves as potential contenders for the throne, and while the Bruce family were championing Scottish independence, Alexander, Lord of Abernethy, swore fealty to Edward I of England in 1291 and was given positions of authority in English-held Scotland. Meanwhile, his kinsman, Duncan IV, Earl of Fife, supported Robert the Bruce, who ultimately prevailed; his cousin Isabella married Bruce’s brother, Edward, and was thus nominally Queen of Ireland during his short reign there, 1315-18. The lines of both Fife and Abernethy died out later in that century, with both titles passing ultimately to the Stewarts. The hereditary honour of bearing the royal crown passed through them to the Douglas family who still hold it today in the person of the Duke of Hamilton. But the earldom of Fife remained extinct until it was revived in the mid-18th century—sort of.

In the 1750s, a man named William Duff put forward claims to be descended from one of the junior branches of the house of MacDuff of Fife. And although the Lord Lyon ruled in 1757 that the senior representative of the line of the ancient earls of Fife was the Wemyss family, who owned Macduff’s Castle (above) and lots of land in the area, nevertheless, Duff was rich and powerful enough to get himself a revived Fife earldom, in 1759—but with a twist: not wishing perhaps to offend the ancient nobility of the county of Fife (of which Duff was not a recognised member and where he owned little if any land), nor to give him a seat in the Parliament of Great Britain, his peerage was created in Ireland.

William Duff, 1st Earl Fife

The first Earl Fife (no ‘of’) had in fact already been created Baron Braco (of Kilbryde, in County Cavan—though Braco itself is a village in Perthshire), in 1735, but his chief landholdings were in the far northeast of Scotland, in Banffshire and Morayshire, notably the small estate at Dipple on the River Spey. The Earl’s father, William Duff of Dipple, was a very wealthy merchant, who built his business on the import and export trade in Aberdeen. They were nonetheless members of the old local gentry, with previous marriages within local powerful families, the Gordons, Ogilvies, Grants and Forbes. In the early 18th century, family lawyers worked out the means to acquire the feudal barony of Balvenie in Banffshire, with its medieval castle, to give the family greater polish in polite society. They were able to trace their lineage back to a certain John Duff, who had acquired land in the counties of Banff and Moray and around the river Spey in the early 15th century, but any real connection between John Duff and the early Clan Macduff is unprovable.

Balvenie Castle

The wealthy William Duff went into politics, and represented Banffshire in Parliament, 1727-34. He built a grand house for his burgeoning dynasty, Duff House, in 1740. Designed by William Adam, the family lived here until 1903, when it was given to the local town of Banff—it was subsequently used as a hotel, a sanatorium, a POW camp and barracks, and since 1995 forms part of the National Galleries of Scotland, in the care of Historic Environment Scotland.

Duff House, Banff

As Earl Fife (no ‘of’), and Viscount Macduff, William Duff added the ancient arms of the earls of Fife (the red lion on gold) to his own family’s mostly green coat of arms. He died only a few years later, and was succeeded by his son, James, who also had a long career as an MP—as an Irish peer, he could still sit in the British House of Commons, until he was made a member of the House of Lords with a British peerage (Baron Fife, in the County of Fife) in 1790. The second Earl was a man of his times and thus very interested in improving his estates. He rebuilt the harbour of a town on the north coast of Banffshire, across the bay from Banff town (and Duff House), and changed its name to Macduff (1783). In London, he lived at Fife House, in Whitehall, built in the 1760s, but this was sold on his death in 1809 to the Earl of Liverpool (the future Prime Minister), and demolished later in the century.

The new arms of Duff of Fife (incorporating the ancient Fife lions)

It was his nephew, the 4th Earl, who really struck gold—in liquid form—with the family’s lands in northeast Scotland. His father, the 3rd earl, had only held the titles for two years. James, 4th Earl Fife, followed in his uncle’s footsteps in founding a new town, Dufftown, on the lands of his barony of Balvenie, situated on a tributary (the Fiddich) that feeds into the river Spey, in 1817. This was a ‘planned town’, designed to give employment to soldiers returning from the Napoleonic Wars and to develop his estates into one of centres of whiskey production—today Glenfiddich is only one of the world-famous distilleries based in this town.

Dufftown

The 4th Earl himself had been a soldier in the wars, as a volunteer and later a commissioned officer in the Spanish armies fighting against Napoleon. Upon his return to Britain, he became an MP and a Lord-in-Waiting to King George IV, and was re-created Baron Fife (1827) since his uncle’s British peerage had expired with him. He retired to his Scottish estates in his later years, and continued to develop them, in part by selling off some of the estates further to the south, including Balmoral, which he sold to Prince Albert in 1852. The 4th Earl too died without children, in 1857, and the earlier (Irish) titles passed to his nephew, another James.

James, 4th Earl Fife, by Raeburn

James, 5th Earl Fife, was the son of a general, and had served as an MP for two decades before succeeding to the family titles. Yet another barony was created within the UK peerage, Baron Skene of Skene, at the same time, to allow him to sit in the House of Lords. The Skene estates, in Aberdeeenshire, had been inherited earlier in the century, and included a castle with a 12th-century core and 17th-century extensions. It was later sold to the Hamiltons.

The 5th Earl married higher into the Scottish nobility than his predecessors—Lady Agnes Hay was the daughter of the 18th Earl of Erroll and Lady Elizabeth FitzClarence. The latter was one of the many daughters of King William IV and Dorothea Jordan, thus bringing the Duff family closer in to the orbit of the royal family itself. It is through Lady Agnes that a great number of currently living British public figures can claim descent from the Hanoverian dynasty, including former prime minister David Cameron, television presenter Adam Hart-Davis, and the writer Artemis Cooper. The latter is the daughter of the popular historian John Julius Norwich, whose own father’s name reflects his connection to this clan: Duff Cooper (whom we have encountered before in another blog post, due to his wife, Lady Diana Manners of Rutland).

The only son of the 5th Earl and Countess, Alexander Duff was born in 1849 in Edinburgh, and after his father had become Earl Fife, was known as ‘Viscount Macduff’. In the 1870s, he was an MP for Elginshire, and Lord Lieutenant of that county (the former, formal name for Morayshire). After he succeeded as 6th Earl Fife and Baron Skene, he took his seat in the House of Lords and served in the Liberal governments of the 1880s, and became involved in the creation of the South Africa Company. In 1885, his Irish earldom was finally ‘normalised’ in a sense, by being re-created as ‘Earl of Fife’ in the UK peerage. Then at the end of the decade, in July 1889, he married Princess Louise of Wales, one of the grand-daughters of Queen Victoria. Two days later, he was created Duke of Fife, with the subsidiary title Marquess of Macduff (in the County of Banff).

Louise was nearly 20 years younger than her new husband. She and her sisters Victoria and Maud had spent much of their childhood away from court, in the summers at their father’s estate at Sandringham in Norfolk, or sometimes with their mother’s relatives in Denmark. Though the eldest, she was known to be shyer than the other two. Once she married Alexander Duff, the couple became a solid addition to the extended Victorian royal family, and in 1905, Louise was given the additional honour of the title ‘Princess Royal’, as eldest daughter of the sovereign (now Edward VII). As a widow, from 1912, however, the Duchess of Fife was mostly a recluse during the reign of her brother George V, appearing in public mainly as a companion to their widowed mother, Queen Alexandra.

The daughters of the Prince of Wales, Louise, Maud and Victoria, 1883, Prior Hall

The 1st Duke and Duchess of Fife lived on Portman Square when in London, or Fife House in Brighton, and at Montcoffer House when in Banff (formerly the residence of the Fife estate manager, they ducal couple moved here once they no longer resided at Duff House). For a country seat, they moved to Mar Lodge, near Braemar. This estate had formed a core part of the ancient earldom of Mar, one of the oldest and grandest medieval Scottish lordships, confiscated from the Jacobite 23rd Earl of Mar following the 1715 uprising. William Duff had purchased it back in the 1730s, and built a new residence, Dalmore House. That house was demolished in the 1830s and Mar Lodge was built as a hunting retreat. Much of this Lodge was destroyed in a fire in 1895, and a new Mar Lodge was built for the Duke and Duchess of Fife. It has a famous ballroom, notable for its thousands of deer antlers, and a private chapel, Saint Ninian’s, which became the family burial site. When the 2nd Duchess (below) died in 1959, the succession was divided, with the Mar estate passing to her nephew by marriage, Captain Alexander Ramsay, and then into various private hands until it was acquired by the National Trust for Scotland in 1995, which lets out holiday flats in the restored main house.

Mar Lodge estate
the ballroom antlers

In an interesting echo of the role played by his putative ancestors in Scottish coronations, the Duke of Fife acted as Lord High Constable at the coronations of 1902 and 1911. The following year, he became very ill following his family’s shipwreck off the coast of Morocco, and died in Egypt. All the 18th-century titles became extinct. But provisions had been made since he and Princess Louise had only daughters (one son had been stillborn in 1890): in 1900, he was re-created Duke of Fife and Earl Macduff, with his daughters named specifically as heirs, to be followed by their sons. In 1905, the daughters’ titles were raised from ‘Lady’ to ‘Her Highness, Princess of Great Britain and Ireland’. Of these, Alexandra would soon move up another step to HRH through her marriage, while Maud would remain the only member of the royal family with the style ‘HH’ after all others were removed following the dynastic changes made in 1917 and the birth of the House of Windsor.

The Duchess of Fife and her daughters

In 1912, therefore, Princess Alexandra became the 2nd Duchess of Fife. A year later, she became formally Princess Arthur of Connaught, by marriage to the son of Queen Victoria’s third son, Arthur, Duke of Connaught and Strathearn. She had initially hoped to marry another cousin, Prince Christopher of Greece and Denmark, but this idea was quashed by her parents. The Duchess and Prince Arthur (he was not referred to as the Duke of Fife) were important members of the working royal family in the first years of George V’s reign, as he had no living brothers and his children were still very young. She became known for her nursing activities during World War I, pursuing more formal qualifications in 1919, and becoming a specialist in gynaecology. This active, not just symbolic, service made her very popular, and she carried this popularity with her to South Africa where she accompanied her husband as Governor-General, 1920-24, and she continued to work on improving hospitals there.

Prince and Princess Arthur of Connaught, with son Alastair

Prince Arthur died before his father, in 1938, so their only son, Alastair, became 2nd Duke of Connaught in 1942. He had previously been known as the Earl of Macduff, as his mother’s heir, and was one of the first members of the dynasty to bear ‘Windsor’ as a surname, as a collateral great-grandchild of a sovereign (he had been born a prince, with ‘His Highness’, but these were removed in 1917 in the dynastic re-organisation). Alastair was stationed in Canada during World War II, and died in somewhat mysterious (or perhaps covered up) circumstances only a year after he had succeeded to his grandfather’s titles. It was whispered that the new Duke of Connaught had fallen out of a window, intoxicated, and died from hypothermia. Back in London, his mother continued to run her own Fife Nursing Home until bad health forced her to retire from public life in 1949, and she died in 1959.

The successor to the dukedom of Fife was not Princess Alexandra’s sister, Princess Maud, as she had died several years before. It was instead Maud’s son, James, Lord Carnegie (b. 1929), who became 3rd Duke of Fife in 1959, and ultimately 12th Earl of Southesk in 1992. Princess Maud, known as Lady Maud Carnegie from her marriage in 1923, then Countess of Southesk from 1941, was never in the spotlight like her elder sister and did not carry out royal duties. Her husband had served in the army in the First World War and as aide-de-camp to the Viceroy of India in 1917. He rarely engaged in politics, but in 1939-40 did take up with a Scottish far right pro-Nazi group, with a stated aim of preventing the coming war. He later downplayed his involvement, but the group’s evident antisemitism did not play well in the public eye and after the war, the Earl and Countess of Southesk remained mostly out of the spotlight. When he died in 1992, he was the oldest member of the House of Lords, at nearly 100. They lived at Elsick House, in Kincardineshire, on a large estate near the North Sea, south of Aberdeen. This house had come into the Earl’s possession from his mother’s family, the Bannermans of Elsick, and this family’s arms were added to his own.

Princess Maud and Lord Carnegie

Before continuing the story of the dukes of Fife, therefore, we need a gear shift, away from the family of Macduff, and towards another Scottish clan from the east coast, this time from across the Tay, in Angus, rather than Fife. There had been a Clan Carnegie in Angus since the mid-14th century, and by the early 15th century they had acquired lands of Kinnaird, near Brechin, and built a fortification on the site of a much older ruin.

From the mid-1500s, they began to assert the title of hereditary cupbearer of Scotland, and added this symbol to their coat of arms. Several generations were active in late 16th-century royal government, and in 1616, David Carnegie, a Lord of Session and member of the Scottish Privy Council, was created Baron Carnegie of Kinnaird, and later 1st Earl of Southesk, named for the river South Esk that runs through Angus. His younger brother, John, was created Earl of Ethie, for his seat at Ethie Castle, near Arbroath, but this was later exchanged for the Earldom of Northesk, in 1662. This junior branch spells the name Carnegy, and continues today. I don’t think, by the way, that the Scots-American industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie connects directly to this family.

Carnegie of Southesk, with the royal cup

The 17th-century Carnegies of Southesk were loyal supporters of the Stuarts: the 2nd Earl remained loyal to Charles II when he was in exile, and the 5th Earl supported ‘James III’ (the ‘Old Pretender’) during the Jacobite uprising known as the Fifteen. Indeed, the Pretender stayed at Kinnaird Castle for a short period towards the end of the rising. As a result, the 5th Earl was attainted, his property and titles confiscated. Claims to these passed to the junior branch, the Carnegie baronets of Pittarrow (cr. 1663, in County Kincardine), who in the 1760s managed to re-purchase Kinnaird and other family estates. Indeed, the 3rd Baronet (the claimed ‘6th Earl’) made his loyalties clear by fighting against the Jacobites at Culloden in 1745.

A century later, the 6th Baronet, James, a distinguished soldier, obtained a reversal of the attainder from Parliament, in 1855, and was recognised as the 9th Earl of Southesk and Baron Carnegie of Kinnaird and Leuchars. In 1869, he was created Baron Balinhard of Farnell, a name taken from the supposed ancient progenitors of the family. This was a UK peerage giving him a seat in the House of Lords in Westminster. His ancestral seat, Kinnaird Castle, though retaining its 15th-century core, was remodelled in Victorian baronial style, but mostly burned down in 1921.

Kinnaird Castle

Much of Kinnaird Castle was rebuilt by the 10th Earl of Southesk, known as a great collector of art, and is today used as holiday apartments; meanwhile his grandson the 12th Earl, aka the 3rd Duke of Fife, took up residence at Elsick House. A second cousin of Queen Elizabeth II through his grandmother, Princess Louise, James, 3rd Duke of Fife, lived most of his life in Scotland managing his estates in Angus; he also reconnected to the earlier parts of this story through his marriage to a daughter of one of the Dewars, of whiskey fame.

the 3rd Duke of Fife at Elsick House

Today the dukedom of Fife is held by his son, the 4th Duke, David (b. 1961), who is at present #81 in the line of succession to the British throne. His son and heir is known as the Earl of Southesk as his courtesy title.

the complete arms of the Duke of Fife, with ancient Fife, the Princess Royal, new Fife (Duff and Skene), and Bannerman, with Carnegie overall–it is interesting in that it displays both a duke’s and an earl’s coronet

(images from Wikimedia Commons)